DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3, “The two” should be --the two-- for consistency;
Similarly for line 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "both sides" in line 27. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As seats have more than two sides, the reference to “both” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0290007) in view of Frankel et al. (US 2019/0104850).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Chen discloses a folding swing chair comprising:
a folding mechanism comprising:
two uprights (21);
two oblique support mechanisms, each comprising an oblique support rod (24), a bottom frame rod (242), a first connection piece (22) and a rear support foot (at 23); and
a linkage mechanism comprising two linkage rods (1) configured to be crossed and hinged to each other (as seen in e.g. Fig 1; [0009]);
wherein upper ends of the oblique rods and upper ends of the linkage rods are hinged to the respective connection pieces (Figs 1 and 3), lower ends of the linkage rods and first ends of the bottom rods are hinged to respective rear support feet (directly to 23, indirectly to rear base of 24), second ends of the bottom rods are hinged to oblique rods, and lower ends of the support rods are hinged to the linkage rods (Fig 1);
wherein the oblique rods and bottom rods form a triangular structure (Fig 1) while the upright rods are tilted toward the front of the chair body (Fig 4); and
the first connection pieces are slidably sleeved on the upright rods via combination through holes (Fig 2), the holes having two columnar holes with central axes intersecting (at eth very least, colinear, which intersect at all locations).
Chen discloses a seat cushion supported by the upright rods (Fig 4), but does not disclose the seat supported by support rods fitting into the upright rods.
Frankel teaches removable support rods (32) fitting into upright rods (31).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Chen to use removable support rods as taught by Frankel for the predictable advantage of decreasing the size, particularly the length, of the chair when in the collapsed (stowed) state for storage, and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 6:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Chen discloses the connection piece comprising an accommodation chamber (3), a control block (4), a spring ([0047]), and a lock pin (6), and the locking arrangement as depicted in Fig 2 and described in [0047] is generally identical to the arrangement depicted in applicant’s Fig 8.
Regarding claims 3 and 7:
The discussion above regarding claims 1 and 6 is relied upon.
Chen discloses suspension straps (9) connected to the sides of the seat cushion (Fig 4), and the upright rods connected to and held against the straps through second connection pieces (91; [0051]).
Regarding claims 4 and 8:
The discussion above regarding claims 1 and 7 is relied upon.
Chen discloses a third connection piece hingedly connecting the linkage rods and the upright rods (Figs 1 and 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 9:
The discussion above regarding claims 1 and 8 is relied upon.
Chen discloses the lower ends of the oblique rods hinged to foot pads (Figs 1 and 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that references do not disclose each of the oblique support mechanism including a single oblique support rod and a single bottom frame rod, Chen provides for an arrangement on each side having a single forward-facing oblique rod and frame rod. The mirrored arrangement on the rear would be considered two additional support mechanisms. The claim uses open language (“comprising”) and thus does not preclude the use of additional supports mechanisms.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619