DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 15th, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on April 24th 2026 which have been entered and made of record.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues The amendment above introduces the limitation of the displayed system user interface (e.g., "an interface generated by ... a first party application provided by the developer/provider of the operating system" per paragraph [0222]) being generated by an operating system that is different than the application that generates the extended reality content (e.g., "a non-operating system application" or "a third party application" per paragraph [0220]). Paragraph [0146] of Rudman teaches a user interface 612 that presents a drop down "View" menu presenting a "New Window" element 614 to view a copy of information 604. Rudman does not teach, however, that "New Window" element 614 is generated by an operating system that is different than the application that generates the rest of the displayed extended reality content in Rudman, as required by the amended claim.
Thus, for the reasons presented above, representative claim 1, as amended, is novel over
Rudman and therefore is allowable. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) of claim 1 be withdrawn and that the claim be allowed.
Examiner respectable disagrees While Rudman doesn’t explicitly teach if the new window element 614 is a user interface element of the XR operating system or is user interface element for an application (Para. 0177 and 0179). Rudman teaches a variety of user interfaces elements that are one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as commonly generated by the operating system. For example a task bar (Para. 0143 and 0146) which is made up of icons relating to different software applications. When an icon is invoked, the application is opened. This task bar appears in Fig. 6A as user interface element 616 (Para. 0146) and three-dimensional application tray 624 in Fig. 6B If elements 604 and 604A are portions of the application currently being display. Clicking on one of the icons of the task bar will open a new application which can be overlayed onto the current application, opened in its own window (Para. 0142), or minimize the previous application (Para. 0172-0173). All of these actions modify the display of the current extended reality (XR) content of the application.
Another example is the user interface settings to modify the display parameters of the XR system (Para. 0404). These display parameters directly control the different display modes of the XR system utilizing user interface settings (Para. 0139). Each of these modes can have different software applications associated with them (Para. 0165). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these display parameters are part of the settings for the XR system and are generated by the operating system. Thus, a user switching to a different display mode can directly can change the current software application (Para. 0139).
Regarding the remaining arguments applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-12, 19, 26, 29, 33, 37, 39-47, 49- 51, 53- 61, 63- 65, and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudman et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20240119682 A1 (hereinafter Rudman)
Regarding claim 1, Rudman teaches a computer system (System 200, Para. 0072) configured to communicate with a display generation component (Extended Reality Appliance 110, Para. 0064 and 0071) and an input device (Button, Key, Keyboard, Mouse, touchpad, touchscreen, joystick, virtual cursers, gestures, etc.…., Para. 0065), the
computer system comprising:
one or more processors (Processing Device 360, Para. 0097);
and memory (Memory Interface 310) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (Para. 0083)
while displaying, via the display generation component (Extended Reality Appliance 110, Para. 0064 and 0071), extended reality content (Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) generated by an application, receiving, via the input device (Button, Key, Keyboard, Mouse, touchpad, touchscreen, joystick, virtual cursor, gestures etc., …, Para. 0065 and 0071), a first input (Key Presses, Tactile Data, Motion Data, Position Data, Gestures Data, Direction Data, etc.…. Para. 0065) that corresponds to a request to invoke an operation of a first type; (A User interacting with the Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment by pressing a button, performing a gesture, or any input to open a User Interface to modify a setting, Para. 0404)
in response to receiving the first input; (Key Presses, Tactile Data, Motion Data, Position Data, Gestures Data, Direction Data, etc.…. Para. 0065)
applying a modification (Opening a New Layer or Disabling a Layer of Virtual Content Para. 0219, Minimizing or closing a Virtual Application or a User Interface Para. 0139 and 0172, Modifying a Setting of a Layer or Virtual Content Para. 0146 and 0404, Displaying Information Like Warnings/Alerts/Notifications, Para. 0138 and 0140, etc.… ) to the display of the extended reality content (Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) of the application;
and displaying, via the display generation component (Extended Reality Appliance 110, Para. 0064 and 0071), a system user interface (GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) that includes a first set of one or more user interface objects (Menus, Links, Text Boxes, Objects, Bars, Forms, Images, Icons, etc.….) for performing the operation of the first type (Changing a Setting, Purchasing a Product, Closing/Opening a Virtual Application/Layer/Content, Minimizing Virtual Application/Layer/Content, etc.…), wherein the system user interface(GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266 or Task Bar Para. 0143 and 0146 or System Display Parameters Para. 0404 or Any User Interface Associated with the System) is generated by an operating system (Para. 0068, 0092, 0138, and 0142) that is different from the application (Application User Interface Any Menus, Links, Text Boxes, Objects, Bars, Forms, Images, Icons, Settings, Pop-up Windows etc.….).
While Rudman does not explicitly teach the system user interface is generated by an operating system that is different from the application. As stated above Rudman teaches a variety of user interfaces elements that are one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as commonly generated by the operating system . For example a task bar (Para. 0143 and 0146) which is made up of icons relating to different software applications. When an icon is invoked, the application is opened. This task bar appears in Fig. 6A as user interface element 616 (Para. 0146) and three-dimensional application tray 624 in Fig. 6B If elements 604 and 604A are portions of the application currently being display. Clicking on one of the icons of the task bar will open a new application which can be overlayed onto the current application, opened in its own window (Para. 0142), or minimize the previous application (Para. 0172-0173). All of these actions modify the display of the current extended reality (XR) content of the application.
Another example is the user interface settings to modify the display parameters of the XR system (Para. 0404). These display parameters directly control the different display modes of the XR system utilizing user interface settings (Para. 0139). Each of these modes can have different software applications associated with them (Para. 0165). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these display parameters are part of the settings for the XR system and are generated by the operating system. Thus, a user switching to a different display mode can directly can change the current software application (Para. 0139). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudman’s XR System to incorporate Rudman’s Own teaching of User Interface Elements Generated by the Operating System or User Interface Elements by the Application. Since doing so would provide the benefit of following standards in designing applications and systems. As systems have their own user interfaces different from the applications user interface.
Regarding claim 2, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the modification (Changing a Setting of the Virtual Content Application, Para. 0146) is a visual effect (Changing Brightness, Color, etc..) that is applied to at least a portion of the extended reality content.(Changing just the brightness of an image or changing the color of text, Para. 0146).
Regarding claim 5, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the modification (Closing or Opening a Layer that is Transparent or Semi-Transparent to be viewed, each layer can be different content types, Para. 0219) includes displaying a representation of a physical environment (Content Behind Layer) along with the extended reality content (Content of a Semi-Transparent Layer) of the application. A layer can contain different content, can be transparent or semi-transparent, and can block other content, Para. 0219. Thus, the layer opened can be a semi-transparent, which would allow the user to view the extended reality content and the physical environment behind the content as the layer is semi-transparent.
Regarding claim 6, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the first type is a secure operation (Modifying Secure Information using a Menu or other User Interfaces, Para. 0138 and 0143). Modifying Secure Information can involve Secure Privacy Settings, Encryption, Signatures, and Watermarks.
Regarding claim 9, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the first input (Key Presses, Tactile Data, Motion Data, Position Data, Gestures Data, Direction Data, etc.…. Para. 0065) is an input directed to the application (Inputs to a User Interface to Invoke or Termination Application, Edit Information in the Application, Organize one or more Windows presenting Application Information, etc.… , Para. 0138).
Regarding claim 10, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the first input (Key Presses, Tactile Data, Motion Data, Position Data, Gestures Data, Direction Data, etc.…. Para. 0065) is an input processed by an operating system of the computer system. (Para. 0068 and 0138) The operating system can be configured to receive inputs to modify display content, Para. 0068.
Regarding claim 11, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the system user interface(GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) is displayed over at least a portion of the extended reality content(Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) of the application. (Para. 0138, Fig.10 Floating Menu or Fig 6A)
Regarding claim 12, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the extended reality content (Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment)of the application, while displayed without the modification, has a first level of brightness (Default Settings for the Application or Display Region, Para. 0140 and 0142); The extended reality content would have a default brightness it would display its content at.
and the modification (Changing a Setting of the Virtual Content Application, Para. 0146) includes displaying the extended reality content of the application with a second level of brightness (Changing the Brightness of the Application to be lower than the default brightness) that is lower than the first level of brightness (Default Settings for the Application or Display Region, Para. 0140 and 0142).
Regarding claim 19, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the modification (Opening a New Layer or Disabling a Layer of virtual content Para. 0219, Minimizing or closing a virtual application or a User Interface Para. 0139 and 0172, Modifying a Setting of a Layer or Virtual Content Para. 0146 and 0404, Displaying Information Like Warnings/Alerts/Notifications, Para. 0138 and 0140, etc.… ) is applied to the extended reality content (Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) of the application, detecting dismissal of the system user interface (Turning off a Layer of Content Para. 0219 and 0220 or Minimizing/Closing User Interface Para. 0172-0173 and 0138) and/or completion of the operation of the first type;
and in response to detecting dismissal (Closing/Minimizing Layer/User Interface/Menu/Settings, etc..) of the system user interface (GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) and/or completion of the operation of the first type, ceasing to apply the modification(Opening a New Layer or Disabling a Layer of virtual content Para. 0219, Minimizing or closing a virtual application or a User Interface Para. 0139 and 0172, Modifying a Setting of a Layer or Virtual Content Para. 0146 and 0404, Displaying Information Like Warnings/Alerts/Notifications, Para. 0138 and 0140, etc.… ) to the extended reality content (Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) of the application. Closing/Minimizing a Layer/User Interface/Menu/Settings stops displaying said Layer/User Interface/Menu/Settings, which is a modification to the current extended reality content.
Regarding claim 26, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while displaying the extended reality content(Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) component generated by the application (Application in the First Display Region, Para. 0135), receiving a third input (Key Presses, Tactile Data, Motion Data, Position Data, Gestures Data, Direction Data, etc.…. Para. 0065) that corresponds to a request to perform an operation of a second type (Opening an Application in a Second Display Region, Para. 0147), different from the first type (Purchasing a Product, Para. 0233) The first type and second type operations can be any of the following operations and are not limited to those listed. (Changing a Setting, purchasing a Product, Closing/Opening a Virtual Application/Layer/Content, Minimizing Virtual Application/Layer/ Content, etc.…) Extended Reality Application can handle a variety of operations.
displaying a third user interface (GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) corresponding to the operation of the second type (Opening an Application in a Second Display Region, Para. 0147) without applying the modification to the extended reality content(Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) of the application(Application in the First Display Region, Para. 0135). The modification is not applied to the first display region’s extended reality content, but to the second display region’s extended reality content. As a second application is being opened in the second display region.
Regarding claim 29, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the system user interface(GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) is reactive (Change in Rection to Actions of Users Para. 0068 and How the User Interface is Graphically Presented to the Users Interactions, Para. 0139) to one or more interactive inputs (Eye Gestures or Eye Motion, Para. 0241 and 0267).
Regarding claim 33, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the first type(Changing a Setting, purchasing a Product, Closing/Opening a Virtual Application/Layer/Content, Minimizing Virtual Application/Layer/ Content, etc.…) is an operation that requires providing biometric authentication (Biometric Sensor or Biometric Token, Para. 0103 and 0281).
Regarding claim 37, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the first type(Changing a Setting, purchasing a Product, Closing/Opening a Virtual Application/Layer/Content, Minimizing Virtual Application/Layer/ Content, etc.…) is an operation that requires providing a hardware input (Button, Key, Computer Mouse, Touchpad, Joystick, etc.…., Para. 0065).
Regarding claim 39, Rudman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Para. 0083) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors (Processing Device 360, Para. 0097) of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component(Extended Reality Appliance 110, Para. 0064 and 0071) and an input device (Button, Key, Keyboard, Mouse, touchpad, touchscreen, joystick, virtual cursers, gestures, etc.…., Para. 0065), the one or more programs including instructions for performing the computer system of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 40, has similar limitations as of claims 1 and 39, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 39.
Regarding claim 41, has similar limitations as of claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 42, has similar limitations as of claim 5, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 43, has similar limitations as of claim 6, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 44, has similar limitations as of claim 9, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 45, has similar limitations as of claim 10, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10.
Regarding claim 46, has similar limitations as of claim 11, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 11.
Regarding claim 47, has similar limitations as of claim 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Regarding claim 49, has similar limitations as of claim 19, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 19.
Regarding claim 50, has similar limitations as of claim 26, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 26.
Regarding claim 51, has similar limitations as of claim 29, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 29.
Regarding claim 53, has similar limitations as of claim 33, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 33.
Regarding claim 54, has similar limitations as of claim 37, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 37.
Regarding claim 55, has similar limitations as of claims 2 and 41, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 2 and 41.
Regarding claim 56, has similar limitations as of claims 5 and 42, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 5 and 42.
Regarding claim 57, has similar limitations as of claims 6 and 43, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 6 and 43.
Regarding claim 58, has similar limitations as of claims 9 and 44, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 9 and 44.
Regarding claim 59, has similar limitations as of claims 10 and 45, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 10 and 45.
Regarding claim 60, has similar limitations as of claims 11 and 46, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 11 and 46.
Regarding claim 61, has similar limitations as of claims 12 and 47, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 12 and 47.
Regarding claim 63, has similar limitations as of claims 19 and 49, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 19 and 49.
Regarding claim 64, has similar limitations as of claims 26 and 50, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 26 and 50.
Regarding claim 65, has similar limitations as of claims 29 and 51, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 29 and 51.
Regarding claim 67, has similar limitations as of claims 33 and 53, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 33 and 53.
Regarding claim 68, has similar limitations as of claims 37 and 54, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 37 and 54.
Claim(s) 13, 48, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudman et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20240119682 A1 (hereinafter Rudman) in view of Fein et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20140267410 A1(hereinafter Fein).
Regarding claim 13, Rudman fails to teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the extended reality content(Virtual Content and Extended Reality Environment) is actively displayed content; (Para. 0061) The extended reality content can contain a live view of the physical environment and virtual content displayed in real time.
However, Rudman fails to teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
Rudman and Fein are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of displaying AR/VR content.
Fein teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the extended reality content (AR Scene or Live Scene, Para. 0110 and 0138) is actively displayed content; (Augmented Reality content is content that has incorporated virtual content into a physical environment. Displaying the physical environment with virtual content is displaying a live scene.)
and the modification includes suspending (Pausing Scene, Para. 0112-0113) display of the extended reality content(AR Scene or Live Scene, Para. 0110 and 0138) of the application. (Para. 0106, 0109, and 0112)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudman’s XR Content to incorporate Fein’s Ability to Pause Content. Since doing so would provide the benefit of pausing content to allow users to interact with the content that would otherwise be difficult to interact with. (Fein et al. , Para. 0112)
Regarding claim 48, has similar limitations as of claim 13, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13.
Regarding claim 62, has similar limitations as of claims 13 and 48, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 13 and 48.
Claims 32, 52, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudman et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20240119682 A1 (hereinafter Rudman) in view of Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication US 20200320794 A1 (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 32, Rudman teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the system user interface(GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) exhibits(GUI, User Interface, Menus, Tabs, etc.… Para. 0266) being moved and/or in response to a viewpoint of the user shifting. Virtual Display following the movement of input unit 202 (Para. 0101) where the input unit 202 is input received from the user (Para. 0073). Such as a user dragging a user interface using an electronic mouse (Para. 0185) or a virtual screen following the gaze of the user (Para. 0151).
However, Rudman fails to explicitly teach the system user interface exhibits
Huang teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the system user interface exhibits (Virtual Applications, Para 0147) lazy follow behavior (follow/lazy headlock or follow based on external sensor, Para. 0176) in response to the system user interface(Virtual Applications, Para 0147) being moved and/or in response to a viewpoint of the user shifting. Application Content following the user and remaining positionally consistent with the user, Para. 0159. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudman’s Follow Behavior to incorporate Huang’s Lazy Follow Behavior. Since doing so would provide the benefit of utilizing a common feature in developing XR/MR/AR/VR environments. As lazy follow behavior enhances user interactions with XR applications.
Regarding claim 52, has similar limitations as of claim 32, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 32.
Regarding claim 66, has similar limitations as of claims 32 and 52, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claims 32 and 52.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIANNA RENAE COCHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615