DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 3, Figures 11-15 in the reply filed on 5/21/2026 is acknowledged.
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/21/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,274. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,781,028. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-46 of U.S. Patent No. 11,407,579. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,685,589. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 10,384,855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,143,282. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,029,842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claims with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail; except the patented claims do not expressly disclose the particular thermal conductivity of the insulation materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to have the specific thermal conductivity as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witt et al. (US 2009/0184143, hereinafter ‘Witt’).
Witt discloses an insulating device, comprising: an outer shell (para 0002 weatherproof material); an inner liner forming a storage compartment (para 0027 surface material); an insulating closed cell foam layer (para 0027) positioned in between the outer shell and the inner liner; an opening configured to allow access to the storage compartment (see Fig. 2); and a closure configured to seal the opening (102), except does not expressly disclose the specific thermal conductivity of the materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to gain between 0.5 and 1.5 0F/hr from 0 °F to 50 °F while the insulating device is in an approximately 100 °F ambient environment and the opening is sealed by the closure, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials which configure the storage compartment to gain between 0.5 and 1.5 0F/hr from 0 °F to 50 °F while the insulating device is in an approximately 100 °F ambient environment and the opening is sealed by the closure, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Witt as modified above further discloses a plurality of loops (131, 132) coupled to the outer shell; at least two carry handles (left side 112, 122) affixed to the outer shell; and the closure is secured in a sealed position via a metal or plastic clamp (136).
Witt discloses an insulating device, comprising: an outer shell (para 0002 weatherproof material); an inner liner forming a storage compartment (para 0027 surface material); an insulating closed cell foam layer (para 0027) positioned in between the outer shell and the inner liner; an opening configured to allow access to the storage compartment (see Fig. 2); and a closure configured to seal the opening (102), and wherein the insulating closed cell foam layer covers greater than 80% of the inner liner (of the insulated compartment) except does not expressly disclose the specific thermal conductivity of the materials as claimed.
However, it is noted that varying the insulative ability of the material used for constructing a cooler device has long been within the general knowledge of those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the Witt device wherein the insulating closed cell foam layer has a thermal conductivity between 0.16-0.32 BTU- in/(hr-sqft-°F.), wherein the insulating closed cell foam layer has a thermal conductivity between 0.9 and 5 lbs/ ft3, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the Witt device wherein the insulating closed cell foam layer has a thermal conductivity between 0.16-0.32 BTU- in/(hr-sqft-°F.), wherein the insulating closed cell foam layer has a thermal conductivity between 0.9 and 5 lbs/ ft3, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witt et al. (US 2009/0184143, hereinafter ‘Witt’) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 14-16, and 20 above, and further in view of Harris et al. (US 6336577, hereinafter ‘Harris’).
Witt as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the closure comprising a zipper as claimed.
However, Harris teaches a similar device wherein the top flap closure comprises a zipper (52) as claimed.
Because Witt as modified above and Harris both teach closure mechanisms for the opening of a backpack cooler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the zipper closure taught by Harris for the buckle closure taught by Witt as modified above to achieve the predictable result of securely closing the flap of the backpack.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-13, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witt et al. (US 2009/0184143, hereinafter ‘Witt’) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 14-16, and 20 above, and further in view of Collie (US Des. 397,273).
Witt as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the closure comprising a roll-down seal as claimed.
However, Collie is one of myriad references teaching using a roll-down seal secured in a sealed position via a clamp to close the opening of a backpack (see Figs. 1-8), Collie specifically teaching its use on a backpack cooler.
Because Witt as modified above and Collie both teach closure mechanisms for the opening of a backpack cooler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the clamped roll-down seal closure taught by Collie for the buckle closure taught by Witt as modified above to achieve the predictable result of securely closing the flap of the backpack.
Witt as modified above further results in a device wherein the plurality of loops are capable of attachment of items (functional/intended use recitation); and a shoulder strap removably connected to the outer shell (right side 112).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
July 9, 2026