DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application is a continuation of now-allowed U.S. patent application Ser. No. 17/590,571, filed Feb. 1, 2022; which is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 16/944,818, filed Jul. 31, 2020, and patented as U.S. Pat. No. 11,273,038; which is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US19/50231, filed Sep. 9, 2019; which claims priority to U.S. Patent Application No. 62/728,346, filed Sep. 7, 2018.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: a period is missing at the end of claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the delivery catheter" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purpose, this limitation has been interpreted as “a delivery catheter.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duhay et al. (US 2012/0271411, which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 21, 2024, hereinafter “Duhay”).
Referring to claim 1, Duhay discloses a delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) 12 to a subject (FIGS. 9A-9B and para. [0009]), the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter that is sized for housing the THV 12 therein (FIG. 1; para. [0038]: “Note that the catheter distal portion may include a sheath configured to be slid over the prosthetic valve in its unexpanded/delivery diameter.” FIG. 8A-8B shows sheath 70 covers the prosthetic valve; para. [0051]: “For example, a prosthetic valve 12 or other implant may be a self-expanding device restrained by a sheath 70 configured to be slid over all or a portion of the implant holding section 30 to restrain the prosthetic valve 12 therein, as depicted in FIG. 8A, for delivery of the prosthetic valve 12 to the treatment site. The retractable members 36 can be extended to assist in accurately positioning the prosthetic valve 12, and the sheath 70 can then be slidingly retracted from the implant holding section to release the prosthetic valve 12, which then self-expands, as depicted in FIG. 8B.”);
an elongated member (elongated member 62 as shown in FIGS. 6A-6B, which are reproduced below; para. [0049]. Catheter 14, which includes an implant holding section 30 for receiving THV 12 as shown in FIGS. 1-5 and 7A-8B can be interpreted as an elongated member) for receiving the THV 12 thereon (FIGS. 6A-6B shows prosthetic valve 12 surrounded elongated shaft 62. Catheter 14, which includes an implant holding section 30 for receiving THV 12 as shown in FIGS. 1-5 and 7A-8B); and
a plurality of projections 36 extending radially relative to the THV 12 and spaced apart from the THV 12 during delivery thereof (FIGS. 3A-4B, 6A-6B and 8A-8B), wherein the projections 36 rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV 12 (Duhay discloses the projections 36 is configured to allow the surgeon to align the prosthetic valve 12 with a location on the native valve (para. [0049]: “In a method of using such an embodiment, the user can extend the retractable member(s) 36 to an expanded/deployed position, depicted in FIG. 6A, and use the deployed member(s) 36 to properly position the implant holding section 30 and/or balloon 32 (with prosthetic valve 12 thereon) at the desired deployment location.”). In FIG. 1 and paragraphs [0035]-[0036] Duhay discloses handle 26 has one or more controls 27, 28, 29 to control the movement of distal portion of the catheter. Thus, rotating the handle 26 would rotate the distal portion of the catheter to align the commissure of the prosthetic valve 12 and projections with respect to the commissure of the native heart valve).
Referring to claim 3, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the projections 36 include substantially linear portions (FIGS. 3B and 6A-6B).
Referring to claim 4, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the projections 36 include portions that are integral with the elongated member (FIG. 6B shows projections 36 are attached to the distal portion of elongated member 62).
Referring to claim 5, Duhay discloses a delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter (see rejection of claim 1 above) that is sized for housing the THV 12 therein;
an elongated member for receiving the THV 12 thereon (Catheter 14, which includes an implant holding section 30 for receiving THV 12 as shown in FIGS. 1-5 and 7A-8B can be interpreted as an elongated member); and
a plurality of projections 36 (see rejection of claim 1 above) extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof, wherein at least some of the projections are disposed proximally relative to the THV 12 during delivery (FIGS. 11A-11B shows projections 36 located proximally relative to the THV 12; para. [0056]), and wherein the projections 36 rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Referring to claim 7, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 5, wherein the projections include substantially linear portions (FIGS. 3B and 6A-6B).
Referring to claim 8, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 5, wherein the projections include portions that are integral with the elongated member 14 (FIGS. 7A-7B is attached to body 18 of catheter 14).
Referring to claim 9, Duhay discloses a delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) 12 to a subject (FIGS. 9A-9B and para. [0009]), the delivery system comprising:
an elongated member (see rejection of claims 1 and 5 above) for receiving the THV 12 thereon; and
a plurality of projections 36 (see rejection of claims 1 and 5 above) extending radially relative to the THV 12 and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof and being configured to extend from and retract within a delivery catheter (FIG. 1; para. [0038]: “Note that the catheter distal portion may include a sheath configured to be slid over the prosthetic valve in its unexpanded/delivery diameter.” FIG. 8A-8B shows sheath 70 covers the prosthetic valve, para. [0051]), wherein the projections 36 rotate during delivery of the THV 12 for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Referring to claim 11, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 9, wherein the projections include substantially linear portions (FIGS. 3B, 6A-6B and 8A-8B).
Referring to claim 12, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 9, wherein at least some of the projections 36 are disposed proximally relative to the THV 12 during delivery (FIGS. 7A-7B are reproduced below).
Referring to claim 13, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claim 9, wherein the projections 36 include portions that are integral with the elongated member (FIG. 6B shows projections 36 are attached to the distal portion of elongated member 62. FIGS. 7A-7B is attached to body 18 of catheter 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duhay et al. (US 2012/0271411, which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 21, 2024, hereinafter “Duhay”).
Referring to claims 2, 6, and 10, Duhay discloses the delivery system according to claims 1, 5 and 9, respectively, but fails to disclose wherein the projections 36 include loop shaped portions. In paragraph [0042] Duhay discloses free end 46 of projection 36 is rounded at the tip to prevent unnecessary trauma to tissue. In view of this disclosure, examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that making the free end 46 of the projection 36 in the form of a rounded loop would also provide an atraumatic tip. Examiner notes that modifying a rounded tip to a loop shape is viewed as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious and it does not require a leap of inventiveness.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duhay et al. (US 2012/0271411, which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 21, 2024, hereinafter “Duhay”) in view of O’Connell et al. (US 2015/00138944, hereinafter “O’Connell”).
Referring to claim 14, Duhay discloses a method for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) 12 to a subject (FIGS. 11A-11B, which are reproduced above) comprising:
providing an elongated member (catheter 14 as shown in FIG. 1 or catheter 62 as shown in FIGS. 6A-6B) for receiving the THV 12 thereon and a plurality of projections 36 extending radially relative to the THV 12 and spaced apart from the THV 12 during delivery thereof (FIGS. 3A and 5-6B);
extending the projections 36 radially relative to the THV 12 (FIGS. 3A and 5-6B);
deploying the elongated member and THV from the delivery catheter at the native valve location (FIG. 1; para. [0038]: “Note that the catheter distal portion may include a sheath configured to be slid over the prosthetic valve in its unexpanded/delivery diameter.” FIG. 8A-8B shows sheath 70 covers the prosthetic valve; para. [0051]: “For example, a prosthetic valve 12 or other implant may be a self-expanding device restrained by a sheath 70 configured to be slid over all or a portion of the implant holding section 30 to restrain the prosthetic valve 12 therein, as depicted in FIG. 8A, for delivery of the prosthetic valve 12 to the treatment site. The retractable members 36 can be extended to assist in accurately positioning the prosthetic valve 12, and the sheath 70 can then be slidingly retracted from the implant holding section to release the prosthetic valve 12, which then self-expands, as depicted in FIG. 8B.”)
Duhay discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing the step of effecting rotation of the projections to align the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, which is a method for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve to a subject (abstract), O’Connell discloses incorrect positioning of a heart valve prosthesis can lead to patient complications (para. [0002]). O’Connell further discloses markers are incorporate to the prosthetic heart valve to allow the surgeon to view the prosthetic heart valve and to rotate the heart valve to align the commissural posts of the prosthetic heart valve with the commissure of the native valve under a fluoroscopic image (para. [0021])
Examiner notes that Duhay discloses the projections 36, which includes maker 58 at the free end of each projection (para. [0048]), are configured to allow the surgeon to align the prosthetic valve 12 with a location on the native valve (para. [0049]: “In a method of using such an embodiment, the user can extend the retractable member(s) 36 to an expanded/deployed position, depicted in FIG. 6A, and use the deployed member(s) 36 to properly position the implant holding section 30 and/or balloon 32 (with prosthetic valve 12 thereon) at the desired deployment location.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the application, to have provided markers to the prosthetic heart valve 12 of Duhay to allow the surgeon to view the prosthetic heart valve under fluoroscopic image and to rotationally align the commissural posts of the prosthetic heart valve 12 with the commissure of the native valve under a fluoroscopic image.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5 and 19, of U.S. Patent No. 11,273,038 (hereinafter “the patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitation in claims 1, 2, 5, 9, and 14 can be found in claims 1, 2, 5 and 19 of the patent.
The claims match-up with respect to one another as listed below:
US Patent Application No. 18/663,189
US Patent No. 11,273,038
Claim 1. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter that is sized for housing the THV therein;
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon; and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof, wherein the projections rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV.
Claim 1. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter sized for housing the THV therein;
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and having an accessory extending from the distal portion thereof, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections disposed distally from the THV during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV, the elongated member and accessory independently rotatable with respect to the delivery catheter, wherein the projections are configured to be extended from the elongated member and retracted within the elongated member; and
a rotational member connected to the elongated member to rotate the accessory and THV together to align with a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 2. The delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the projections include loop shaped portions.
Claim 5. The delivery system of claim 1, wherein the projections are loop-shaped projections.
Claim 5. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter that is sized for housing the THV therein;
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon; and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof, wherein at least some of the projections are disposed proximally relative to the THV during delivery, and wherein the projections rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV.
Claims 1 and 2.
Claim 1. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter sized for housing the THV therein;
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and having an accessory extending from the distal portion thereof, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections disposed distally from the THV during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV, the elongated member and accessory independently rotatable with respect to the delivery catheter, wherein the projections are configured to be extended from the elongated member and retracted within the elongated member; and a rotational member connected to the elongated member to rotate the accessory and THV together to align with a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 2. The delivery system of claim 1, further comprising projections disposed at a proximal portion of the THV during delivery of the THV.
Claim 9. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon; and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof and being configured to extend from and retract within a delivery catheter, wherein the projections rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV.
Claim 1. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
a delivery catheter sized for housing the THV therein;
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and having an accessory extending from the distal portion thereof, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections disposed distally from the THV during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV, the elongated member and accessory independently rotatable with respect to the delivery catheter, wherein the projections are configured to be extended from the elongated member and retracted within the elongated member; and
a rotational member connected to the elongated member to rotate the accessory and THV together to align with a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 10. The delivery system according to claim 9, wherein the projections include loop shaped portions.
Claim 5. The delivery system of claim 1, wherein the projections are loop-shaped projections.
Claim 14. A method for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject comprising:
providing an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof;
extending the projections radially relative to the THV;
deploying the elongated member and THV from the delivery catheter at the native valve location; and,
effecting rotation of the projections to align the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 19. A method for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject comprising:
providing an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and
having an accessory extending from the distal portion thereof, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections disposed at a distal portion of the THV, the elongated member and accessory housed within and independently rotatable with respect to a delivery catheter wherein the projections are configured to be extended from the elongated member and retracted within the elongated member;
deploying the elongated member and THV from the delivery catheter at the native valve location;
rotating the accessory to align the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle; and
expanding the THV in the valve location.
Referring to claim 14, claim 19 of the patent fails to positively recite the step of extending the projections radially relative to the THV. However, claim 19 of the patent discloses “the projections are configured to be extended from the elongated member and retracted within the elongated member” (underline text in claim 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to perform the step of extending the projections radially outward relative to the THV to allow the surgeon to view the projections with respect to a desired location on the native valve to ensure that the prosthetic valve is position at a correct location with respect to the native valve be fore releasing of the prosthetic valve.
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 11, of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,775 (hereinafter “the patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitation in claims 1, 5, 9 and 14 can be found in claims 1, 2 and 11 of the patent.
The claims match-up with respect to one another as listed below:
US Patent Application No. 18/663,189
US Patent No. 12,016,775
Claim 1. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon; and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof, wherein the projections rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV;
a delivery catheter that is sized for housing the THV therein;
Claim 1. A medical device for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the device comprising:
an elongated member;
a THV;
an accessory for receiving the THV thereon and extending from a distal portion of the elongated member, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections configured and spaced to align with a leaflet or a commissure of a native or bioprosthetic valve and disposed distally and spaced apart from the THV during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV and wherein the radially outwardly extending projections are spaced apart from the THV, the medical device further comprising projections disposed at a proximal portion of the THV during delivery of the THV, and a rotational member connected to the elongated member to rotate the accessory and THV together to align with the native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or the valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 2. The medical device of claim 1, further comprising a delivery catheter housing the THV therein, wherein the delivery catheter and the accessory are independently rotatable.
Claim 5. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon; and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof, wherein at least some of the projections are disposed proximally relative to the THV during delivery, and wherein the projections rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV;
a delivery catheter that is sized for housing the THV therein;
Claim 1. A medical device for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the device comprising:
an elongated member;
a THV;
an accessory for receiving the THV thereon and extending from a distal portion of the elongated member, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections configured and spaced to align with a leaflet or a commissure of a native or bioprosthetic valve and disposed distally and spaced apart from the THV during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV and wherein the radially outwardly extending projections are spaced apart from the THV, the medical device further comprising projections disposed at a proximal portion of the THV during delivery of the THV, and a rotational member connected to the elongated member to rotate the accessory and THV together to align with the native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or the valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 2. The medical device of claim 1, further comprising a delivery catheter housing the THV therein, wherein the delivery catheter and the accessory are independently rotatable.
Claim 9. A delivery system for a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the delivery system comprising:
an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon; and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof and being configured to extend from and retract within
a delivery catheter, wherein the projections rotate during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV at a desired angle relative to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV.
Claim 1. A medical device for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject, the device comprising:
an elongated member;
a THV;
an accessory for receiving the THV thereon and extending from a distal portion of the elongated member, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections configured and spaced to align with a leaflet or a commissure of a native or bioprosthetic valve and disposed distally and spaced apart from the THV during delivery of the THV for alignment of the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle during delivery of the THV and wherein the radially outwardly extending projections are spaced apart from the THV, the medical device further comprising projections disposed at a proximal portion of the THV during delivery of the THV, and a rotational member connected to the elongated member to rotate the accessory and THV together to align with the native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or the valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 2. The medical device of claim 1, further comprising a delivery catheter housing the THV therein, wherein the delivery catheter and the accessory are independently rotatable.
Claim 14. A method for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject comprising:
providing an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and
a plurality of projections extending radially relative to the THV and spaced apart from the THV during delivery thereof; extending the projections radially relative to the THV;
deploying the elongated member and THV from the delivery catheter at the native valve location; and,
effecting rotation of the projections to align the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle.
Claim 11. A method for delivery of a transcatheter heart valve (THV) to a subject comprising:
providing an elongated member for receiving the THV thereon and having an accessory extending from the distal portion thereof, the accessory comprising a plurality of radially outwardly extending projections disposed at a distal portion of the THV and spaced apart therefrom, the elongated member and accessory housed within and independently rotatable with respect to a delivery catheter;
deploying the elongated member and THV from the delivery catheter at the native valve location;
extending the projections from the elongated member;
rotating the accessory to align the THV with respect to a native or bioprosthetic valve commissure or a valve leaflet at a desired angle; and
expanding the THV in the valve location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tuval et al. (US 2009/0138079) discloses handle 50 includes a knob 52 to allow the surgeon to rotate tip 102 of the delivery catheter to align commissures of prosthetic valve with commissures of native valve.
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771