Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al (US 20090164607 A1) in view of Riggs et al. (US 8015167 B1).
Claim 1 Clark teaches a control method of an information processing apparatus, the control method comprising:
downloading information relating to a content of a first category, information relating to a content of a second category, and information relating to a content of a third category to the information processing apparatus in sequence according to a predetermined download order; (Clark, ¶0038, downloading multiple files, wherein the files comprises the content of a category, i.e. the file is the category of its own contents, according to a predetermined download order according to their multiple interrupt priorities)
wherein a place of the information relating to the content of the first category in the predetermined download order is a first place, a place of the information relating to the content of the second category in the predetermined download order is a second place that is after the first place, and a place of the information relating to the content of the third category in the predetermined download order is a third place that is after the first place and the second place, (Clark, ¶0038, wherein files have multiple interrupt priorities, wherein the interrupt priority comprises a place in a predetermined download order)
in a case where the content of the third category is selected (Clark, FIG. 4a, step 401, ¶0033, receiving a request for file X, wherein the request comprises a selection of the third category) in a state where the information relating to the content of the first category is being downloaded and (Clark, ¶0033, FIG. 4a, step 402, ¶0033, checking if another fire is being downloaded, i.e. checking for a state where content of the first category is being downloaded) downloading of the information relating to the content of the second category and the information relating to the content of the third category is not completed yet, (Examiner interprets “downloading… is not completed yet” as within the scope of “being downloaded” as being downloaded indicates downloading is continuing, i.e. is not complete, Clark, ¶0033, FIG. 4a, step 402, ¶0033)
control is performed such that the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category is executed before the downloading of the information relating to the content of the second category, (Clark, FIG. 4, FIG. 4A, steps 404-408, ¶0039, wherein the received request for content of the third category is executed before content of the second category that is currently downloading having a higher interrupt priority and thus interrupting the download) and
in a case where the content of the third category is not selected (Clark, FIG. 4a, step 401, ¶0033, receiving a request for file X, wherein the request comprises a selection of not the third category, but instead the second category) in a state where the information relating to the content of the first category is being downloaded and (Clark, ¶0033, FIG. 4a, step 402, ¶0033, checking if another fire is being downloaded, i.e. checking for a state where content of the first category is being downloaded) downloading of the information relating to the content of the second category and the information relating to the content of the third category is not completed yet, (Examiner interprets “downloading… is not completed yet” as within the scope of “being downloaded” is not completed downloading, Clark, ¶0033, FIG. 4a, step 402, ¶0033)
control is performed such that the downloading of the information relating to the content of the second category is executed before the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category. (Clark, FIG. 4, FIG. 4A, steps 404-408, ¶0039, wherein the received request for content of the second category is executed before content of the third category that is currently downloading having a higher interrupt priority and thus interrupting the download)
However, Clark does not explicitly teach displaying a plurality of regions including a region corresponding to the content of the first category, a region corresponding to the content of the second category, and a region corresponding to the content of the third category; and
executing, in a case where one of the plurality of regions is selected, [a] display being based on information that relates to a content of a category corresponding to the selected one region and that is already downloaded to the information processing apparatus.
From a related technology, Riggs teaches displaying a plurality of regions including a region corresponding to the content of the first category, a region corresponding to the content of the second category, and a region corresponding to the content of the third category; (Examiner notes that “a region” is interpreted broadly as encompassing a display region, See Applicant’s Specification [0045] referencing as “display region,” FIG. 4, Col. 12, Lines 17-39, displaying a plurality of regions, wherein a regions comprises a display region of display 410, comprising displaying three regions corresponding to three categories of content, i.e., Friends, Heroes, 30 Rock) and
executing, in a case where one of the plurality of regions is selected, [a] display being based on information that relates to a content of a category corresponding to the selected one region and that is already downloaded to the information processing apparatus. (FIG. 4, Col. 12, Lines 17-39, wherein one of the regions is selected, i.e. #3, 30 Rock, is displayed based on information relating to a category corresponding to the selected one region that is already downloaded, wherein downloaded includes partial downloads)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark to corporate the interactive display elements of Riggs in order to better communication application processes to ensure efficient use of user and computing time and resources.
Claim 2 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein downloading of information whose place in the predetermined download order is the first place starts based on launch of a program. (Riggs, Col. 13, Lines 29-46, wherein the downloading occurs based on the launching of the download manager application 120-1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to further incorporate a download manager application, as taught in Riggs, controlling the download based on its launch in order to more effectively manage downloading of content.
Claim 3 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, and further teaches further comprising specifying the predetermined download order based on order information indicating the predetermined download order, wherein the information relating to the content of the first category, the information relating to the content of the second category, and the information relating to the content of the third category are downloaded to the information processing apparatus in sequence according to the specified predetermined download order. (Clark, ¶0038, downloading multiple files, wherein the files comprises the content of a category, i.e. the file is the category of its own contents, according to a predetermined download order according to their multiple interrupt priorities)
Claim 4 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 3, and further teaches wherein the order information is obtained from a predetermined server outside the information processing apparatus. (Clark, FIG. 5, Content Manager 540, ¶0063, wherein the priority information is obtained from Content Manager server 540 outside of the audio control module)
Claim 6 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 3, and further teaches wherein the order information is obtained based on launch of a program. (Riggs, Col. 13, Lines 29-46, wherein the downloading occurs based on launching of download manager application 120-1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to further incorporate a download manager application, as taught in Riggs, controlling the download based on its launch in order to more effectively manage downloading of content.
Claim 7 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 3, and further teaches wherein the order information is information held in advance by a program. (Clark, FIG. 5, Content Manager 540, ¶0063, wherein the priority information is held in the Content Manager server 540 outside of the audio control module)
Claim 8 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the plurality of regions are displayed on a top screen of a program displayed based on launch of the program. (Riggs, FIG. 4, Col. 12, Lines 17-39, displaying a plurality of regions, wherein a regions comprises a display region of display 410, comprising displaying three regions corresponding to three categories of content, i.e., Friends, Heroes, 30 Rock, at the top of the display screen based on the download manager being launched)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to further incorporate a display as taught in Riggs in order to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 9 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein in the case where the region corresponding to the content of the third category is selected in the state (Riggs, FIG. 4, Col. 12, Lines 17-39, displaying a plurality of regions, wherein a regions comprises a display region of display 410, comprising displaying three regions corresponding to three categories of content, i.e., Friends, Heroes, 30 Rock, wherein the third category is selected) where the information relating to the content of the first category is being downloaded and the downloading of the information relating to the content of the second category and the information relating to the content of the third category is not completed yet, (Riggs, FIG. 4, Col. 12, Lines 17-39, wherein the first category is being downloaded and the second category and the third category are not completed yet)
a screen corresponding to non-completion of the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category is displayed, (Riggs, FIG. 4, Col. 12, Lines 17-39, wherein Progress Bar 420-4 comprises a screen corresponding to the non-completion) and
in a case where the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category is completed after the display of the screen corresponding to non-completion of the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category, display based on the information relating to the content of the third category is executed. (Riggs, FIG. 4, 420-5, Col. 12, Lines 37-45, displaying information relating to the third category after the display of the progress screen and the download is completed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to further incorporate a display as taught in Riggs in order to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 10 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 9, and further teaches wherein, in the case where the region corresponding to the content of the third category is selected in a state where the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category is completed, the display based on the information relating to the content of the third category is executed without the display of the screen corresponding to non-completion of the downloading of the information relating to the content of the third category. (Riggs, FIG. 4, 420-5, Col. 12, Lines 37-45, displaying information relating to the third category after the display of the progress screen, but not any indications that the downloading is continuing, i.e. that the download is non-completed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to further incorporate a display as taught in Riggs in order to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 17 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the predetermined download order is controlled such that information relating to a content of a category corresponding to a function more frequently used in a program is downloaded earlier. (Clark, ¶0021, wherein priority is granted to files needed for performances with a higher urgency, i.e. used more frequently)
Claim 19 is taught by Clark in view of Riggs as described for Claim 1.
Claim 20 is taught by Clark in view of Riggs as described for Claim 1.
2. Claims 5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al (US 20090164607 A1) in view of Riggs et al. (US 8015167 B1) and in further view of Chan et al. (US 20140289225 A1).
Claim 5 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined server that provides the order information to the information processing apparatus is a server that causes the information processing apparatus to download the plurality of contents.
From a related technology, Chan teaches a predetermined server that provides the order information to the information processing apparatus is a server that causes the information processing apparatus to download the plurality of contents. (Chan, ¶0032, wherein the server 110 identifies the priority files causing them to be downloaded to the computing device)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to incorporate a server that causes priority downloading as described in Chan in order to synchronized files efficiently.
Claim 11 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the information relating to the content of the third category includes a thumbnail image corresponding to the content of the third category, and display based on the information relating to the content of the third category is display of the thumbnail image corresponding to the content of the third category.
From a related technology, Chan teaches information relating to the content of the category includes a thumbnail image corresponding to the content of the category, (Chan, FIG. 9, ¶0049, wherein there is thumbnails corresponding to the content) and display based on the information relating to the content of the third category is display of the thumbnail image corresponding to the content of the third category. (Chan, FIG. 9, ¶0049, displaying the thumbnails corresponding to the content)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to incorporate thumbnails into the system in order to more effective manage network resources.
Claim 12 Clark in view of Riggs and Chan teaches Claim 11, and further teaches wherein the content of the category includes a plurality of contents, and the display based on the information relating to the content of the category is display of a plurality of thumbnail images corresponding, respectively, to the plurality of contents included in the content of the category. (Chan, FIG. 9, ¶0049, displaying a plurality of thumbnails corresponding to the plurality of content)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to incorporate thumbnails into the system in order to more effective manage network resources.
Claim 13 Clark in view of Riggs and Chan teaches Claim 12, and further teaches further comprising downloading, after selection of one of the plurality of thumbnail images, a content corresponding to the selected thumbnail image to the information processing apparatus. (Chan, FIG. 9, ¶0049, downloading content after thumbnail selection)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs to incorporate thumbnails into the system in order to more effective manage network resources.
Claim 14 Clark in view of Riggs and Chan teaches Claim 13, and further teaches wherein the information relating to the content of the third category includes information for downloading the content of the third category to the information processing apparatus. (Clark, ¶0038, wherein the files comprises the content of a category, i.e. the file is the category of its own contents, for downloading the content of categories)
3. Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al (US 20090164607 A1), Riggs et al. (US 8015167 B1), and Chan et al. (US 20140289225 A1), and in further view of Sato (US 20210232356 A1).
Claim 15 Clark in view of Riggs and Chan teaches Claim 13, and further teaches
displaying, after the selection of one of the plurality of thumbnail images, a print setting screen based on the content that corresponds to the selected thumbnail image and that is downloaded to the information processing apparatus; and
after display of the print setting screen, sending a print job that causes a printing apparatus to perform printing based on the content corresponding to the selected thumbnail image, to the printing apparatus.
From a related technology, Sato teaches displaying, after the selection of one of the plurality of thumbnail images, a print setting screen based on the content that corresponds to the selected thumbnail image and that is downloaded to the information processing apparatus; (Sato, FIG. 3, S12/S13, ¶0045, selecting of a thumbnail image, displaying a print setting screen corresponding to the selected thumbnail to download) and
after display of the print setting screen, sending a print job that causes a printing apparatus to perform printing based on the content corresponding to the selected thumbnail image, to the printing apparatus. (Sato, FIG. 3, S12/S13, ¶0045, transmitting the print job that causes the printing of the content selected)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs and Chan to incorporate printing options from Sato to more efficiently document content acquired for user purposes.
Claim 16 Clark in view of Riggs and Chan teaches Claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein after the selection of one of the plurality of thumbnail images, print setting information for printing the content corresponding to the selected thumbnail image is further downloaded, and the print setting screen is displayed based also on the print setting information.
From a related technology, Sato teaches after the selection of one of the plurality of thumbnail images, print setting information for printing the content corresponding to the selected thumbnail image is further downloaded, and the print setting screen is displayed based also on the print setting information. (Sato, FIG. 3, S12/S13, ¶0045, downloading and displaying a print setting screen corresponding to the selected thumbnail)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs and Chan to incorporate printing options from Sato to more efficiently document content acquired for user purposes.
Claim 18 Clark in view of Riggs teaches Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the contents of the plurality of categories include contents of at least one of categories of photograph layout, ID photograph, disc label, card, calendar, sticker, business card, collage, scrapbook, and poster.
From a related technology, Sato teaches contents of at least one of categories of photograph layout, ID photograph, disc label, card, calendar, sticker, business card, collage, scrapbook, and poster. (Examiner notes that examiner interprets a “poster” broadly, as any printed document as a poster is more of a term of use, rather than substance, as such Examiner interprets the printing job as being a type of poster, Sato, FIG. 3, S12/S13, ¶0045, wherein the printing job comprises a poster)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Clark in view of Riggs and Chan to incorporate printing options from Sato to more efficiently document content acquired for user purposes.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444