DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2019/0049847) in view of Smirnov (Structural modification of titanium surface…) in view of Oke (Atomic layer deposition and other thin film deposition techniques…).
Claims 1-3:
Cha teaches the claimed method for fabricating calcite channels in a nanofluidic device (Fig. 4) [0003] except using ALD to deposit calcite (step 410).
Cha does not teach using pulsed laser deposition to deposit calcite.
However, Smirnov teaches the use of PLD to deposit calcite (i.e., calcium carbonate) (sec. 2.2).
Additionally, Oke teaches ALD and PLD including a comparison of the techniques (Table 4). In particular, PLD offers a better deposition rate compared to ALD (Id.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Cha substituting a PLD process for the ALD process. Smirnov establishes PLD of calcium carbonate is known and Oke explains why one of ordinary skill in the art would select from the different deposition methods.
Claim 4:
Cha teaches the photoresist is PDMS or SU-8 [0015].
Claims 5-6:
Cha teaches the developing solvents are PGMEA, etc. [0017].
Claims 7-8:
Cha teaches the structure of the device (Fig. 2A).
Claim 9:
Oke teaches a schematic of a conventional PLD system (Fig. 7) including where the substrate faces the target.
Claims 10-11:
Smirnov teaches the laser source operates at a wavelength of 532 nm, pulse width of 7nm, and frequency of 10 Hz (sec 2.2).
Claim 12:
Oke teaches the PLD process occurs in a vacuum chamber (Fig. 7). The range of 100 Pa or less is the normal range for the vacuum.
Claims 13-15:
Cha teaches the critical dimensions of the calcite structures are 50-100 nm [0019].
Claim 16:
Cha teaches a window made of SiN (Fig. 2A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues against the references individually (Cha does not teach PLD, Smirnov does not teach the channel pattern, Oke does not teach the channel pattern) when the rejection is based on the combination of the references. The examiner maintains it would have been obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention for the stated reasons. In particular, Cha does teach the channel pattern and it would have been obvious to form these channel patterns by any suitable method including ALD, PLD, etc. Smirnov is relevant prior art because it establishes that calcite is known to be deposited by PLD. The question of “How to deposit calcite?” is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759