DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication(s) filed on June 22, 2026.
Claim 7 was objected.
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 have been amended.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
The objection to “TITILE” is withdrawn in view of amendment with a new title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0070375 A1), and further in view of Christiansen (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0196470 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to an image processing apparatus that distributes raster image processor (RIP) processing of a print job that is divided into pages to the image processing apparatus itself and another image processing apparatus with which there is a network connection (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 3, disclose the host 302, and further in para. 51-52 and etc., disclose that “[0051] In the embodiments discussed above in connection with FIGS. 1 and 2, an RIP control unit was located on the host. In contrast, the system 300 shown in FIG. 3 includes a print server 334, and the RIP control unit 314 is located on the print server 334. The print server 334 is in electronic communication with the host 302 and the printing device 304 via the network 338. [0052] As before, the host 302 includes an RIP unit 316, and the printing device 304 includes an RIP unit 328. In addition, there are several other RIP units in the system 300 shown in FIG. 3. In particular, the print server 334 includes an RIP unit 336. Also, one or more RIP units 342 may be included on one or more additional hosts 340 that are connected to the network 338. Also, one or more RIP units 346 may be included on one or more side servers 344 that are connected to the network 338…”; in addition, in fig. 4, fig. 5 and etc., disclose the host 402, and in para. 53, disclose that “[0053] FIG. 4 illustrates the operation of various components in an embodiment of a system 400 for heuristics-based load balancing of hybrid PDL/raster printing that is similar to the system 300 shown in FIG. 3. When an application 406 on the host 402 is instructed to print one or more documents on the printing device 404 (e.g., by a user, a scheduled task, etc.), the application 406 generates a print job 408. The print job 408 includes graphics commands 410. The graphics commands 410 are provided to a driver 412 for the printing device 404….”), the image processing apparatus comprising:
a hardware processor (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, disclose the host 402; and further see fig. 9, para. 75, disclose the processor 903 and etc.), wherein
the hardware processor (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 9, processor 903) is configured to:
predict, for each page of the print job, a state of a RIP-processed image of the page when the other image processing apparatus is allocated the page for RIP processing (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 56, and etc., disclose that “[0056] More specifically, the RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 on the host 402 to rasterize the graphics commands 410 that correspond to a single print job segment 426, and to render the graphics commands 410 that correspond to N-1 print job segments 426 into PDL data 422 (where N is the number of available RIP units). In the illustrated embodiment, there are five RIP units, namely the RIP unit 416 on the host 402, the RIP unit 436 on the print server 434, the RIP unit 428 on the printing device 404, the RIP unit 442 on the additional host 440, and the RIP unit 446 on the side server 444. The RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 to rasterize the first set of graphics commands 410a that corresponds to the first print job segment 426a. In addition, the RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 to render the following sets of graphics commands into PDL data 422: the second set of graphics commands 410b that corresponds to the second print job segment 426b, the third set of graphics commands 410c that corresponds to the third print job segment 426c, the fourth set of graphics commands 410d that corresponds to the fourth print job segment 426d, and the fifth set of graphics commands 410e that corresponds to the fifth print job segment 426e…”); and
allocate, for each page of the print job, RIP processing of the page to the image processing apparatus itself or the other image processing apparatus based on the state of a RIP-processed image of the page (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 57-58 and etc., discloses that “[0057] In response to the instructions 424 provided by the RIP control unit 414, the first set of graphics commands 410a that corresponds to the first print job segment 426a is provided to the RIP unit 416 of the driver 412. The RIP unit 416 rasterizes the first set of graphics commands 410a, thereby generating raster data 420. The raster data 420 is provided to the print server 434, which sends the raster data 420 to the printing device 404. The second set of graphics commands 410b, third set of graphics commands 410c, fourth set of graphics commands 410d, and fifth set of graphics commands 410e are provided to the PDL unit 418. The PDL unit 418 renders these sets of graphics commands 410b, 410c, 410d, 410e into PDL data 422. The PDL data 422 is provided to the print server 434. The print server 434 sends the PDL data 422 corresponding to different print job segments 426 to the various RIP units in the system 400 for rasterization. [0058] As before, the RIP control unit 414 does not initially instruct the driver 412 about how to process all of the segments 426 of the print job 408. Rather, the RIP control unit 414 only provides instructions for processing enough print job segments 426 so that all of the RIP units in the system are busy. In the illustrated embodiment, because there are five RIP units in the system 400, the RIP control unit 414 does not initially instruct the driver 412 how the graphics commands 410f that correspond to the sixth print job segment 426f should be processed. As will be explained below, the instructions that the RIP control unit 414 provides about how this print job segment 426f should be processed may depend on which RIP unit first becomes available to rasterize this print job segment 426f…”; also see fig. 6, steps, 604, 612 and etc.);
wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is either a data size of the page or a compression ratio of the page (see teachings of Christiansen supplemented below).
In interest of compact prosecution, with regard to “wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is either a data size of the page or a compression ratio of the page”, the teachings of Christiansen are supplemented below.
In details, Christiansen discloses an analogous invention relates to a raster image processing (RIP) manager is configured to distribute partitions of a print job to a RIP pipeline to be RIPed. If the RIP manager anticipates a delay in the RIP pipeline, the RIP manager adds a RIP engine to the RIP pipeline (see Christiansen, i.e. abstract and etc.). More specifically, in Christiansen, i.e. in para. 19-21, and etc., disclose that “[0019] The job server 106 generates a print job 108 from the print data 104. This is accomplished using any combination of known automated and/or administrator directed techniques for generating print jobs from print data. A print job includes, for example, the print data, an analysis of the complexity of the print data, page size, associated color spaces, etc. The job server 106 provides this information to the RIP manager via the print job 108. [0020] Each of the plurality 112 of RIP pipelines 114 may includes a plurality 116 RIP engines 118 for translating (i.e. raster image processing, typically referred to as "RIPing") the vector image or high-level page description language (PDL) data expressed in the print job 108 into bitmapped data. The information in a print job 108 is assigned by the RIP manager 110 to one or more partitions 126. Partitions can be a segment or subset of a print job, and can be of a smaller and more manageable size than an un-partitioned print job. Accordingly, partitions can facilitate the division of a print job for possibly simultaneous RIPing by a plurality of RIP engines. For example, the RIP manager 110 may encapsulate print data 104 into multiple partitions 126. The number of partitions into which the print data is divided is a function of print data size, the availability of RIP resources in one or more pipelines 108 to process the print job, and/or other print shop workflow criteria. Thus, a partition may include a wide range of pages of print data (e.g., tens, hundreds, or thousands of pages of print data). Each partition is sent to a RIP pipeline 114 selected from among the plurality of pipelines 112, where a RIP engine 118 selected from among the plurality of RIP engines 116 performs the RIPing. [0021] The RIP manager 110 distributes partitions 126 across the RIP engines 116 in the pipeline 114. Partition distribution may be based on any number of different criteria such as resource availability, partition size, current and/or anticipated print shop workflow, and so on. Responsive to receiving a partition, a RIP engine attempts to RIP the partition. If the partition is successfully RIPed, the RIP engine communicates corresponding RIPed data 128 to the RIP manager. Each partition 126 which is successfully RIPed will have a corresponding set of RIPed data 128”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Owen to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Christiansen, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Owen by the teachings of Christiansen, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Christiansen, thereby have “… efficient systems and techniques to configure, re-configure and manage pipelines with appropriate RIP resources, and to manage failures resulting from the RIP processes, are greatly desired to enhance print shop workflow” (see Christiansen, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is predicted based on object configuration information, the object configuration information including attribute information of an object that constitutes said page, resolution, and a number of one or more objects of said page (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 6, para. 65-68 and etc., disclose that “[0065] The method 600 begins when the RIP control unit 114 receives 602 a request from a printing device driver 112 for instructions regarding how to process graphics commands 110 for a print job 108. The graphics commands 110 have been sorted into segments 126 by a sorting component 107. Each segment 126 may be a page band, i.e., a portion of a page of the print job 108. In response to the request, the RIP control unit 114 identifies 604 the RIP units that are available to assist with rasterization of the print job 108. [0066] The RIP control unit 114 arbitrarily distributes 608 raster image processing of an initial set of print job segments 126 among the available RIP units. In some embodiments, this step may involve instructing the driver 112 on the host 102 to rasterize the graphics commands 110 that correspond to a single print job segment 126, and to render the graphics commands 110 that correspond to N-1 print job segments 126 into PDL data 122 (where N is the number of available RIP units). [0067] The RIP control unit 114 monitors 610 the availability of the RIP units. In some embodiments, the RIP control unit 114 may perform this task by sending availability inquiries to the RIP units. Alternatively, the RIP control unit 114 may perform this task by simply waiting to receive availability notification messages from the RIP units. [0068] The RIP control unit 114 continues to monitor 610 the availability of the RIP units until the RIP control unit 114 determines 612 that one of the RIP units is available to perform additional raster image processing. When this occurs, the RIP control unit 114 effects 614 rasterization of the next print job segment by the available RIP unit…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor is configured to: measure a network communication speed between the image processing apparatus itself and the other image processing apparatus; and allocate, for each page of the print job, RIP processing of the page to the image processing apparatus itself or the other image processing apparatus based on the measured network communication speed and the state of a RIP-processed image of the page (see Owen, i.e. in para. 10 and etc., disclose that “[0010] Some known techniques for load balancing the raster image processing of a print job involve the use of complex algorithms that take into consideration various factors, such as the host's capabilities, the printing device's capabilities, a print server's capabilities, the status of the available RIP units, RIP unit statistics, network capacity, network performance, graphics commands statistics, and so forth. However, known approaches suffer from various drawbacks. Accordingly, benefits may be realized by improved systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job. Some exemplary systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job are described herein….”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the hardware processor is configured to:
calculate, as predicted RIP-processing time, time taken to perform RIP processing of each page of the print job by the other image processing apparatus (see Owen, i.e. in para. 10 and etc., disclose that “[0010] Some known techniques for load balancing the raster image processing of a print job involve the use of complex algorithms that take into consideration various factors, such as the host's capabilities, the printing device's capabilities, a print server's capabilities, the status of the available RIP units, RIP unit statistics, network capacity, network performance, graphics commands statistics, and so forth. However, known approaches suffer from various drawbacks. Accordingly, benefits may be realized by improved systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job. Some exemplary systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job are described herein….”); and
allocate, to the other image processing apparatus, a page that may be transmitted in time for a transmission timing of transmitting RIP-processed images to a printer based on the network communication speed, the state of a RIP-processed image of each page of the print job, and the calculated, predicted RIP-processing time of each page of the print job (see Owen, i.e. in para. 10 and etc., disclose that “[0010] Some known techniques for load balancing the raster image processing of a print job involve the use of complex algorithms that take into consideration various factors, such as the host's capabilities, the printing device's capabilities, a print server's capabilities, the status of the available RIP units, RIP unit statistics, network capacity, network performance, graphics commands statistics, and so forth. However, known approaches suffer from various drawbacks. Accordingly, benefits may be realized by improved systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job. Some exemplary systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job are described herein….”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the hardware processor is configured to determine an upper limit of a number of pages to be allocated to the other image processing apparatus in accordance with a ratio of computing power of the image processing apparatus itself to computing power of the other image processing apparatus (see Owen, i.e. in para. 10 and etc., disclose that “[0010] Some known techniques for load balancing the raster image processing of a print job involve the use of complex algorithms that take into consideration various factors, such as the host's capabilities, the printing device's capabilities, a print server's capabilities, the status of the available RIP units, RIP unit statistics, network capacity, network performance, graphics commands statistics, and so forth. However, known approaches suffer from various drawbacks. Accordingly, benefits may be realized by improved systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job. Some exemplary systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job are described herein….”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the hardware processor is configured to determine the following as an upper limit of a total value of data sizes of compressed data after RIP processing that may be processed by the other image processing apparatus: data size that may be processed by the other image processing apparatus at the network communication speed of the other image processing apparatus within processing time of RIP processing when all pages of the print job are to be processed by the image processing apparatus itself (see Owen, i.e. in para. 10 and etc., disclose that “[0010] Some known techniques for load balancing the raster image processing of a print job involve the use of complex algorithms that take into consideration various factors, such as the host's capabilities, the printing device's capabilities, a print server's capabilities, the status of the available RIP units, RIP unit statistics, network capacity, network performance, graphics commands statistics, and so forth. However, known approaches suffer from various drawbacks. Accordingly, benefits may be realized by improved systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job. Some exemplary systems and methods for load balancing the raster imaging processing of a print job are described herein….”).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to an image processing method of an image processing apparatus that distributes raster image processor (RIP) processing of a print job that is divided into pages to the image processing apparatus itself and another image processing apparatus with which there is a network connection (see Owen, i.e.in fig. 6, para. 17 and etc., disclose that “[0017] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram that illustrates an embodiment of a method for heuristics-based load balancing of hybrid PDL/raster printing…”), the image processing method comprising:
predicting, for each page of the print job, a state of a RIP-processed image of the page when the other image processing apparatus is allocated the page for RIP processing (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 56, and etc., disclose that “[0056] More specifically, the RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 on the host 402 to rasterize the graphics commands 410 that correspond to a single print job segment 426, and to render the graphics commands 410 that correspond to N-1 print job segments 426 into PDL data 422 (where N is the number of available RIP units). In the illustrated embodiment, there are five RIP units, namely the RIP unit 416 on the host 402, the RIP unit 436 on the print server 434, the RIP unit 428 on the printing device 404, the RIP unit 442 on the additional host 440, and the RIP unit 446 on the side server 444. The RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 to rasterize the first set of graphics commands 410a that corresponds to the first print job segment 426a. In addition, the RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 to render the following sets of graphics commands into PDL data 422: the second set of graphics commands 410b that corresponds to the second print job segment 426b, the third set of graphics commands 410c that corresponds to the third print job segment 426c, the fourth set of graphics commands 410d that corresponds to the fourth print job segment 426d, and the fifth set of graphics commands 410e that corresponds to the fifth print job segment 426e…”); and
allocating, for each page of the print job, RIP processing of the page to the image processing apparatus itself or the other image processing apparatus based on the state of a RIP-processed image of the page (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 57-58 and etc., discloses that “[0057] In response to the instructions 424 provided by the RIP control unit 414, the first set of graphics commands 410a that corresponds to the first print job segment 426a is provided to the RIP unit 416 of the driver 412. The RIP unit 416 rasterizes the first set of graphics commands 410a, thereby generating raster data 420. The raster data 420 is provided to the print server 434, which sends the raster data 420 to the printing device 404. The second set of graphics commands 410b, third set of graphics commands 410c, fourth set of graphics commands 410d, and fifth set of graphics commands 410e are provided to the PDL unit 418. The PDL unit 418 renders these sets of graphics commands 410b, 410c, 410d, 410e into PDL data 422. The PDL data 422 is provided to the print server 434. The print server 434 sends the PDL data 422 corresponding to different print job segments 426 to the various RIP units in the system 400 for rasterization. [0058] As before, the RIP control unit 414 does not initially instruct the driver 412 about how to process all of the segments 426 of the print job 408. Rather, the RIP control unit 414 only provides instructions for processing enough print job segments 426 so that all of the RIP units in the system are busy. In the illustrated embodiment, because there are five RIP units in the system 400, the RIP control unit 414 does not initially instruct the driver 412 how the graphics commands 410f that correspond to the sixth print job segment 426f should be processed. As will be explained below, the instructions that the RIP control unit 414 provides about how this print job segment 426f should be processed may depend on which RIP unit first becomes available to rasterize this print job segment 426f…”; also see fig. 6, steps, 604, 612 and etc.);
wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is either a data size of the page or a compression ratio of the page (see teachings of Christiansen supplemented below).
In interest of compact prosecution, with regard to “wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is either a data size of the page or a compression ratio of the page”, the teachings of Christiansen are supplemented below.
In details, Christiansen discloses an analogous invention relates to a raster image processing (RIP) manager is configured to distribute partitions of a print job to a RIP pipeline to be RIPed. If the RIP manager anticipates a delay in the RIP pipeline, the RIP manager adds a RIP engine to the RIP pipeline (see Christiansen, i.e. abstract and etc.). More specifically, in Christiansen, i.e. in para. 19-21, and etc., disclose that “[0019] The job server 106 generates a print job 108 from the print data 104. This is accomplished using any combination of known automated and/or administrator directed techniques for generating print jobs from print data. A print job includes, for example, the print data, an analysis of the complexity of the print data, page size, associated color spaces, etc. The job server 106 provides this information to the RIP manager via the print job 108. [0020] Each of the plurality 112 of RIP pipelines 114 may includes a plurality 116 RIP engines 118 for translating (i.e. raster image processing, typically referred to as "RIPing") the vector image or high-level page description language (PDL) data expressed in the print job 108 into bitmapped data. The information in a print job 108 is assigned by the RIP manager 110 to one or more partitions 126. Partitions can be a segment or subset of a print job, and can be of a smaller and more manageable size than an un-partitioned print job. Accordingly, partitions can facilitate the division of a print job for possibly simultaneous RIPing by a plurality of RIP engines. For example, the RIP manager 110 may encapsulate print data 104 into multiple partitions 126. The number of partitions into which the print data is divided is a function of print data size, the availability of RIP resources in one or more pipelines 108 to process the print job, and/or other print shop workflow criteria. Thus, a partition may include a wide range of pages of print data (e.g., tens, hundreds, or thousands of pages of print data). Each partition is sent to a RIP pipeline 114 selected from among the plurality of pipelines 112, where a RIP engine 118 selected from among the plurality of RIP engines 116 performs the RIPing. [0021] The RIP manager 110 distributes partitions 126 across the RIP engines 116 in the pipeline 114. Partition distribution may be based on any number of different criteria such as resource availability, partition size, current and/or anticipated print shop workflow, and so on. Responsive to receiving a partition, a RIP engine attempts to RIP the partition. If the partition is successfully RIPed, the RIP engine communicates corresponding RIPed data 128 to the RIP manager. Each partition 126 which is successfully RIPed will have a corresponding set of RIPed data 128”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Owen to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Christiansen, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Owen by the teachings of Christiansen, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Christiansen, thereby have “… efficient systems and techniques to configure, re-configure and manage pipelines with appropriate RIP resources, and to manage failures resulting from the RIP processes, are greatly desired to enhance print shop workflow” (see Christiansen, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to perform operations of an image processing apparatus that distributes raster image processor (RIP) processing of a print job that is divided into pages to the image processing apparatus itself and another image processing apparatus with which there is a network connection (in addition to the discussions of claims 1 and 10 above, further in para. 28, disclose that “[0028] A computer system that is configured to implement a method for heuristics-based load balancing of hybrid PDL/raster printing is also disclosed. The computer system includes a processor, and memory in electronic communication with the processor. Instructions are stored in the memory. The instructions are executable to implement the method described above for heuristics-based load balancing of hybrid PDL/raster printing. A computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions for implementing a method for heuristics-based load balancing of hybrid PDL/raster printing is also disclosed…”), the operations comprising:
predicting, for each page of the print job, a state of a RIP-processed image of the page when the other image processing apparatus is allocated the page for RIP processing (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 56, and etc., disclose that “[0056] More specifically, the RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 on the host 402 to rasterize the graphics commands 410 that correspond to a single print job segment 426, and to render the graphics commands 410 that correspond to N-1 print job segments 426 into PDL data 422 (where N is the number of available RIP units). In the illustrated embodiment, there are five RIP units, namely the RIP unit 416 on the host 402, the RIP unit 436 on the print server 434, the RIP unit 428 on the printing device 404, the RIP unit 442 on the additional host 440, and the RIP unit 446 on the side server 444. The RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 to rasterize the first set of graphics commands 410a that corresponds to the first print job segment 426a. In addition, the RIP control unit 414 instructs the driver 412 to render the following sets of graphics commands into PDL data 422: the second set of graphics commands 410b that corresponds to the second print job segment 426b, the third set of graphics commands 410c that corresponds to the third print job segment 426c, the fourth set of graphics commands 410d that corresponds to the fourth print job segment 426d, and the fifth set of graphics commands 410e that corresponds to the fifth print job segment 426e…”); and
allocating, for each page of the print job, RIP processing of the page to the image processing apparatus itself or the other image processing apparatus based on the state of a RIP-processed image of the page (see Owen, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 57-58 and etc., discloses that “[0057] In response to the instructions 424 provided by the RIP control unit 414, the first set of graphics commands 410a that corresponds to the first print job segment 426a is provided to the RIP unit 416 of the driver 412. The RIP unit 416 rasterizes the first set of graphics commands 410a, thereby generating raster data 420. The raster data 420 is provided to the print server 434, which sends the raster data 420 to the printing device 404. The second set of graphics commands 410b, third set of graphics commands 410c, fourth set of graphics commands 410d, and fifth set of graphics commands 410e are provided to the PDL unit 418. The PDL unit 418 renders these sets of graphics commands 410b, 410c, 410d, 410e into PDL data 422. The PDL data 422 is provided to the print server 434. The print server 434 sends the PDL data 422 corresponding to different print job segments 426 to the various RIP units in the system 400 for rasterization. [0058] As before, the RIP control unit 414 does not initially instruct the driver 412 about how to process all of the segments 426 of the print job 408. Rather, the RIP control unit 414 only provides instructions for processing enough print job segments 426 so that all of the RIP units in the system are busy. In the illustrated embodiment, because there are five RIP units in the system 400, the RIP control unit 414 does not initially instruct the driver 412 how the graphics commands 410f that correspond to the sixth print job segment 426f should be processed. As will be explained below, the instructions that the RIP control unit 414 provides about how this print job segment 426f should be processed may depend on which RIP unit first becomes available to rasterize this print job segment 426f…”; also see fig. 6, steps, 604, 612 and etc.);
wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is either a data size of the page or a compression ratio of the page (see teachings of Christiansen supplemented below).
In interest of compact prosecution, with regard to “wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is either a data size of the page or a compression ratio of the page”, the teachings of Christiansen are supplemented below.
In details, Christiansen discloses an analogous invention relates to a raster image processing (RIP) manager is configured to distribute partitions of a print job to a RIP pipeline to be RIPed. If the RIP manager anticipates a delay in the RIP pipeline, the RIP manager adds a RIP engine to the RIP pipeline (see Christiansen, i.e. abstract and etc.). More specifically, in Christiansen, i.e. in para. 19-21, and etc., disclose that “[0019] The job server 106 generates a print job 108 from the print data 104. This is accomplished using any combination of known automated and/or administrator directed techniques for generating print jobs from print data. A print job includes, for example, the print data, an analysis of the complexity of the print data, page size, associated color spaces, etc. The job server 106 provides this information to the RIP manager via the print job 108. [0020] Each of the plurality 112 of RIP pipelines 114 may includes a plurality 116 RIP engines 118 for translating (i.e. raster image processing, typically referred to as "RIPing") the vector image or high-level page description language (PDL) data expressed in the print job 108 into bitmapped data. The information in a print job 108 is assigned by the RIP manager 110 to one or more partitions 126. Partitions can be a segment or subset of a print job, and can be of a smaller and more manageable size than an un-partitioned print job. Accordingly, partitions can facilitate the division of a print job for possibly simultaneous RIPing by a plurality of RIP engines. For example, the RIP manager 110 may encapsulate print data 104 into multiple partitions 126. The number of partitions into which the print data is divided is a function of print data size, the availability of RIP resources in one or more pipelines 108 to process the print job, and/or other print shop workflow criteria. Thus, a partition may include a wide range of pages of print data (e.g., tens, hundreds, or thousands of pages of print data). Each partition is sent to a RIP pipeline 114 selected from among the plurality of pipelines 112, where a RIP engine 118 selected from among the plurality of RIP engines 116 performs the RIPing. [0021] The RIP manager 110 distributes partitions 126 across the RIP engines 116 in the pipeline 114. Partition distribution may be based on any number of different criteria such as resource availability, partition size, current and/or anticipated print shop workflow, and so on. Responsive to receiving a partition, a RIP engine attempts to RIP the partition. If the partition is successfully RIPed, the RIP engine communicates corresponding RIPed data 128 to the RIP manager. Each partition 126 which is successfully RIPed will have a corresponding set of RIPed data 128”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Owen to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Christiansen, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Owen by the teachings of Christiansen, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Christiansen, thereby have “… efficient systems and techniques to configure, re-configure and manage pipelines with appropriate RIP resources, and to manage failures resulting from the RIP processes, are greatly desired to enhance print shop workflow” (see Christiansen, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen and Christiansen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harris et al. (U.S Patent No. 8,314,961 B1, hereinafter as “Harris”).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is a compression ratio when the RIP-processed image is compressed.
The teachings of Owen and Christiansen do not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is a compression ratio when the RIP-processed image is compressed”.
However, Harris discloses an analogous invention relates to method and apparatus for printing raster page. More specifically, in Harris, i.e. in col. 8, ll 44-49, discloses that “In addition, a compression ratio criterion can be used to evaluate the printable raster page. For pages of different resolution, the compression ratio criterion can be different. Pages having larger resolution may need larger compression ratio to shrink data size to ensure successful printing…”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Owen and Christiansen to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Harris, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Owen and Christiansen by the teachings of Harris, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Harris, thereby allowing “… the method can compare the compression ratio of the printable raster page data with a compression ratio criterion that is associated with the print resolution, the communication link transfer rate and the print rate” (see Harris, i.e. in col. 2, ll 25-29).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of a RIP-processed image of the page is a data size of compressed data obtained by compressing the RIP-processed image (see Harris, i.e. in col. 2, ll 16-29 and etc., discloses that “According to aspects of the disclosure, the method can compare a data size of the printable raster page with a size criterion associated with the print rate and the transfer rate of the communication link, to determine whether the printable raster page can be transferred to the printer fast enough to satisfy the print rate of the printer,. Alternatively, the method can compare print rate and a page transfer rate that is associated with data size of the printable raster page and the communication link transfer rate. Further, the method can compare the compression ratio of the printable raster page data with a compression ratio criterion that is associated with the print resolution, the communication link transfer rate and the print rate”).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claim 7, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 7, the closest prior arts of record, Owen and Harris, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “the image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the hardware processor is configured to: perform the following operations for pages of the print job starting with a page with the highest compression ratio: determine whether the page may be transmitted in time for the transmission timing of transmitting RIP-processed images to the printer; and allocate the page to the other image processing apparatus when the page may be transmitted in time for the transmission timing of transmitting RIP-processed images to the printer”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by prior art(s) of record.
Therefore, claim 7 is objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681