DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regards to application # 18/663, 335 that was filed on 05/29/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, the preamble recites “A launch system for launching a vessel…”, without positively claiming the “vessel” to be launched (the recitation after ‘for’ is functional limitation). In line 6-8 of the claim recites “…, wherein the plurality of coils are positioned external to a bore in the continuous guideway and configured to generate a magnetic field within the bore that levitates and propels the vessel within the bore…”. It is not clear to the examiner if the ‘vessel’ is required and is part of the claimed launch system or not. Appropriate correction/clarification required.
In Claim 15, the preamble recites “A launch system for launching a vessel…”, without positively claiming the “vessel” to be launched (the recitation after ‘for’ is functional limitation). In line 3-5 of the claim recites “…, wherein the plurality of coils are positioned external to a bore in the continuous guideway and configured to generate a magnetic field within the bore that levitates and propels the vessel within the bore…”. It is not clear to the examiner if the ‘vessel’ is required and is part of the claimed launch system or not. Appropriate correction/clarification required.
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are also rejected under the same rational as the rejections independent claims 1 and 15 due to their sole dependency from the rejected independent claims 1 and 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al. (US 11,073,357) in view of Fiske (WO2006/088584) (Listed on IDS dated 09/08/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Hartman discloses a launch system for launching a vessel (abstract), comprising:
a plurality of cylinders that form a continuous guideway (i.e. the guideway 12 may be in the shape of a toroid, circle, oval, or other closed-loop shape, Col.4, Ln. 8-9), wherein each of the plurality of cylinders include at least one lobe and one overlapping portion (such as a figure eight or an infinity-symbol shape, Col. 4, Lns. 9-10), wherein the at least one lobe of each of the plurality of cylinders are substantially aligned (In some embodiments of the invention, the spiral-shaped guideway 212 may also have a vertical slope upward with a constant radius 222, forming a helical helix, Col. 11, Lns. 5-8);
a plurality of coils that comprise one or more superconducting materials(the conductive material of the stator coils 26 may be any material that is known in the art to be conductive of electrical current including but not limited to metals, metal alloys, carbon reinforced metals, copper, silver, aluminum, superconductors, semiconductors, and the like, Col. 4, Lns. 27-32), wherein the plurality of coils are positioned external to a bore in the continuous guideway (the stator coils 26 may be placed on an inside surface of the guideway 12, placed on an outside surface of the guideway 12, or embedded within the material of the guideway 12, Col. 4, Lns. 34-37) and configured to generate a magnetic field within the bore that levitates and propels the vessel within the bore (In some embodiments of the invention, the projectile 214 may comprise a permanent magnet that levitates within the guideway 212, col. 11, Lns. 25-28).
Hartman fails to explicitly disclose a cooling system configured to cool the plurality of coils to or below a transition temperature at which the one or more superconducting materials in the plurality of coils transition to a superconducting state.
Fiske is in the field of electromagnetic launchers (abstract) and teaches a cooling system configured to cool the plurality of coils to or below a transition temperature at which the one or more superconducting materials in the plurality of coils transition to a superconducting state (cooling the superconducting coil to the superconducting state to create a high-force magnetic suspension and accelerating the carriage to high speed around the circular track, Para. [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the cooling system of Fiske with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of cooling the superconducting coils of Hartman to a transition temperature in order to achieve superconductivity.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 1, wherein the one or more of the plurality of coils include propulsion coils, wherein the propulsion coils are configured to generate an increase in the magnetic field at a predetermined position in the bore to accelerate the vessel (such that the contacts thereof provide current to rotor coils 538 on the projectile 514 and stator coils 526 on the guideways 512,513, inducing electromagnetic fields. The use of the two guideways 512,513 may greatly increase the electromagnetic propulsion of the projectile 514 caused by their respective electromagnetic fields, Col. 12, Lns. 59-64).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 2, further comprising: a power source configured to provide power to the propulsion coils, wherein an increase in the power to the propulsion coils increases the magnetic field at the predetermined position in the bore to increase a velocity of the vessel (in use, a power source (not shown) may provide power to a contact system, similar to any of the embodiments described above, such that the contacts thereof provide current to rotor coils 538 on the projectile 514 and stator coils 526 on the guideways 512,513, inducing electromagnetic fields. The use of the two guideways 512,513 may greatly increase the electromagnetic propulsion of the projectile 514 caused by their respective electromagnetic fields, Col. 12, Lns. 57-64).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 1, further comprising: at least one entry portal into the bore of the continuous guideway; and an autoloader for loading the vessel into the continuous guideway (the method 500 may comprise a step of loading the projectile 14 into the guideway 12, as depicted in block 502. The loading may be done through the launch site 18 or through another entrance/aperture of the guideway 12. The loading may be accomplished through the use of actuators 40, such as the actuators 40 described above, Col. 9, Lns. 24-29).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 7, wherein the surface of the vessel comprises one or more superconducting materials (the projectile 14 may comprise a solid object and rotor coils 38 wrapped around the solid object. The solid object may comprise a solid, nonconducting material of similar type mentioned above for the guideway 12. The rotor coils 38 may be made of a conductive material wrapped around, wound inside, or embedded within the nonconducting material of the solid object. The conductive material may be of the same kind mentioned above (i.e., metals, metal alloys, carbon reinforced metals, copper, silver, aluminum, superconductors, semiconductors, and the like) for the stator coils 26, Col. 4, Lns. 41-50) such that a superconductivity of the surface of the vessel repels the magnetic field within the bore (in some embodiments of the invention, the projectile 214 may comprise a permanent magnet that levitates within the guideway 212, Col. 11, Lns. 25-28).
Hartman fails to explicitly teach a chamber configured to coat a surface of the vessel with
Cryogenic liquid. Fiske is in the field of electromagnetic launchers (abstract) and teaches using cryogenic fluid to cool the superconductors (the stator cables (not shown) in acceleration tube 242 are themselves typically cooled with liquid or gaseous helium, if low temperature superconductors are employed, or may be cooled with other cryogenic fluids, Para. [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the cryogenic fluid of Fiske for the purpose of coating the superconducting coils on the surface of the vessel of Hartman with the cryogenic fluid with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the coils to achieve superconductivity.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of cylinders comprises: the at least one lobe; a second lobe; and at least one overlapping portion that connects the at least one lobe and the second lobe ((the guideway 12 may be in the shape of a toroid, circle, oval, or other closed-loop shape, such as a figure eight or an infinity-symbol shape, Col. 4, Lns 8-10).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hartman et al. (US 11,073,357) in further view of Minovitch (US 4,795,113).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system of claim 1, further comprising: a pressure controller configured to decrease a pressure within the bore.
Minovitch is in the field of electromagnetically propelled space transportation systems (abstract) and teaches a pressure controller configured to decrease a pressure within the bore ([w]hen the pressure inside the chamber 484 falls below that of the vacuum tube 434, the second pressure door 488 is opened. A second plurality of very low pressure vacuum pumps 500 are also located on the other side of the second pressure door 488. These pumps 500 are connected to the inside end of the vacuum tube 434 and operate continuously, 24 hours a day in order to compensate for any air leakage that passes into the main vacuum tube 434 from the pressure door 488, Col. 68, Lns. 4-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the vacuum pumps of Minovitch with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of deceasing a pressure within the guideway to an optimal range.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system of claim 7, wherein the autoloader comprises: a pressure chamber configured to receive the vessel and adjust a pressure within the pressure chamber to approximately a pressure in the bore of the continuous guideway.
Minovitch is in the field of electromagnetically propelled space transportation systems (abstract) and teaches a pressure chamber configured to receive the vessel and adjust a pressure within the pressure chamber to approximately a pressure in the bore of the continuous guideway ([i]n order to enable a launch vehicle to enter the vacuum tube 434 from a loading platform in the open atmosphere, the entrance passageway leading into the vacuum tube 434 is equipped with a long air-lock. Referring to FIGS. 22 and 23 this air-lock 482 comprises a relatively long chamber 484 with air- tight pressure doors 486, 488 at each end. A launch vehicle 490, that is to be launched by the electromagnetic accelerator, is rolled into the chamber 484 from the outside atmosphere by passing through the first pressure door 486, Col. 67, Lns. 43-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the air-lock chamber of Minovitch with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a mechanism to load the vessel into the pressurized guideway without compromising the pressure in the sealed guideway.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hartman et al. (US 11,073,357) in further view of CN 114353589 (Xian University et al. (hereinafter, "Xian") (IDS dated 09/08/2025) (see attached English translation on PTO-892).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 1, further
comprising: at least one exit hatch for launching the vessel from the continuous guideway ([t]he launch sites 18 may be a door that opens on one of the walls of the guideway 12 so that the projectile 14 exits tangent to a curvature of the guideway 12, Col. 4, Lns. 12-15).
Hartman fails to explicitly disclose one or more lasers for generating one or more laser
beams into a flight trajectory of the vessel.
Xian is in the field of tracking a missile after launch (Abstract) and teaches one or more
lasers for generating one or more laser beams into a flight trajectory of the vessel (the multi-line laser radar 4 is used for acquiring three-dimensional point cloud data of a missile launching stage in multiple measurement modes and sending the three-dimensional point cloud data to the optical fiber transceiver 5, para. [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the laser radar of Xian with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of tracking the flight trajectory of the vessel.
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hartman et al. (US 11,073,357) in further view of Takacs (US 2022/0127017).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system of
claim 1, wherein the launch system is positioned on an aircraft.
Takács is in the field of systems for launching space rockets from high altitudes (abstract) and teaches the launch system is positioned on an aircraft ([t]he platform 10 is adapted to launch space rockets 100 from an altitude (several kilometers above sea level). In the context of the present invention, space rocket 100 refers to a device which works on reactive principle as previously described, with a solid or liquid propellant, such as a known type of rocket (Falcon, Atlas, Delta, etc.) or a rocket specially designed to be launched from the atmosphere in the future, Para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the floating platform of Takács with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of launching the vessel from a high altitude thereby requiring less velocity for the vessel to reach space than would be required if the vessel was launched from the surface of the earth.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system of
claim 11, wherein the aircraft is configured to operate in a stratosphere of Earth. Takács is in the field of systems for launching space rockets from high altitudes (abstract) and teaches the aircraft is configured to operate in a stratosphere of Earth (the platform 10 and the rocket 100 according to the above example can rise to the bottom of the stratosphere at an altitude of 13 km, Para. [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the floating platform of Takács with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of launching the vessel from the stratosphere thereby requiring less velocity for the vessel to reach space than would be required if the vessel was launched from the surface of the earth.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system of
claim 11, wherein a portion of the plurality of cylinders is external to the aircraft, wherein the portion includes at least one-third to one-half of a height of the plurality of cylinders.
Takács is in the field of systems for launching space rockets from high altitudes (abstract)
and teaches wherein a portion of the plurality of cylinders is external to the aircraft, wherein the portion includes at least one-third to one-half of a height of the plurality of cylinders ([t]he platform 10 of the present invention comprises a support structure 20 which is removably coupled to the rocket 100, Para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the floating platform of Takács with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of coupling at least a portion of the guideway (plurality of cylinders) of Hartman externally to the support structure (aircraft) of Takács to optimize the dimensions and mass of the aircraft, thereby improving the fuel efficiency of the aircraft.
Regarding Claim 15, Hartman discloses a launch system for launching a vessel (abstract), comprising:
a plurality of coils that comprise one or more superconducting materials ([t]he conductive material of the stator coils 26 may be any material that is known in the art to be conductive of electrical current including but not limited to metals, metal alloys, carbon reinforced metals, copper, silver, aluminum, superconductors, semiconductors, and the like, Col. 4, Lns. 27-32), wherein the plurality of coils are positioned external to a bore in a guideway ([t]he stator coils 26 may be placed on an inside surface of the guideway 12, placed on an outside surface of the guideway 12, or embedded within the material of the guideway 12, Col. 4, Lns. 34-37) and configured to generate a magnetic field within the bore that levitates and accelerates the vessel within the bore ([i]n some embodiments of the invention, the projectile 214 may comprise a permanent magnet that levitates within the guideway 212, Col. 11, Lns. 25- 28), and
a launch system controller configured to initiate a launch of the vessel from the guideway in response to the vessel reaching at least a predetermined speed within the guideway ([t]he projectile 14 may continue to accelerate until a desired speed is achieved and/or sensed by the controller 28 (e.g., sensors may send signals indicative of projectile speed to the controller 28). Once the desired speed is sensed, the controller 28 may then command one of the actuators 40 that orients the guideway 12 to orient the guideway 12 in a desired position for releasing the projectile 14 in a desired direction, Col. 8, Ln. 66 - Col. 9, Ln. 6), wherein the predetermined speed is sufficient for the vessel to reach space ([t]he projectile 14 may take numerous forms for different applications including but not limited to a bullet, artillery shell, missile, transportation vehicle, aircraft, spacecraft, or amusement park ride, Col. 4, Lns. 62-65).
Hartman fails to explicitly disclose a cooling system configured to cool the plurality of coils to at least a transition temperature at which the one or more superconducting materials in the plurality of coils transition to a superconducting state.
Fiske is in the field of electromagnetic launchers (abstract) and teaches a cooling system configured to cool the plurality of coils to at least a transition temperature at which the one or more superconducting materials in the plurality of coils transition to a superconducting state (cooling the superconducting coil to the superconducting state to create a high-force magnetic suspension and accelerating the carriage to high speed around the circular track, Para. [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the cooling system of Fiske with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of cooling the superconducting coils of Hartman to a transition temperature in order to achieve superconductivity.
Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system being implemented on an aircraft and the vessel reaches space from an altitude of the aircraft.
Takács is in the field of systems for launching space rockets from high altitudes (abstract)
and teaches a launch system being implemented on an aircraft and the vessel reaches space from an altitude of the aircraft ([t]he platform 10 is adapted to launch space rockets 100 from an altitude (several kilometers above sea level). In the context of the present invention, space rocket 100 refers to a device which works on reactive principle as previously described, with a solid or liquid propellant, such as a known type of rocket (Falcon, Atlas, Delta, etc.) or a rocket specially designed to be launched from the atmosphere in the future, Para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hartman with the floating platform of Takács with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of launching the vessel from a high altitude thereby requiring less velocity for the vessel to reach space than would be required if the vessel was launched from the surface of the earth.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 15, further comprising: a plurality of twisted cylinders that form the guideway, wherein each of the plurality of cylinders have an infinity-type shape including a first lobe, a second lobe and an overlapping portion ([t]he guideway 12 may be in the shape of a toroid, circle, oval, or other closed-loop shape, such as a figure eight or an infinity symbol shape, Col. 4, Lns. 8-10), wherein at least the first lobe of each of the plurality of cylinders are substantially aligned ([i]n some embodiments of the invention, the spiral-shaped guideway 212 may also have a vertical slope upward with a constant radius 222, forming a helical helix, Col. 11, Lns. 5-8).
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al. (US 11,073,357) in view of Takacs (US 2022/0127017).
Regarding Claim 17, Hartman discloses a method for launching a vessel (abstract), comprising:
generate a magnetic field within a guideway of the launch system (and stator coils 26 for generation of an electromagnetic field in or around the guideway 12, Col. 3, Lns. 61-62), wherein the magnetic field repels the vessel and causes the vessel to levitate within a bore of the guideway ([i]n some embodiments of the invention, the projectile 214 may comprise a permanent magnet that levitates within the guideway 212, Col. 11, Lns. 25-28);
accelerate the vessel within the bore of the guideway ([t]hus, the electromagnetic field of the stator coil 26 attracts the electromagnetic field of the rotor coils 38, thereby accelerating the projectile 14 along the guideway 10, Col. 7, Lns. 19-22);
determine the vessel has reached a predetermined velocity ([t]he projectile 14 may continue to accelerate until a desired speed is achieved and/or sensed by the controller 28 (e.g., sensors may send signals indicative of projectile speed to the controller 28). Once the desired speed is sensed, the controller 28 may then command one of the actuators 40 that orients the guideway 12 to orient the guideway 12 in a desired position for releasing the projectile 14 in a desired direction, Col. 8, Ln. 66 - Col. 9, Ln. 6), wherein the predetermined velocity is sufficient for the vessel to reach space ([t]he projectile 14 may take numerous forms for different applications including but not limited to a bullet, artillery shell, missile, transportation vehicle, aircraft, spacecraft, or amusement park ride, Col. 4, Lns. 62-65) and launch the vessel from the guideway (the electromagnetic launcher 10 may comprise a guideway 12 for receiving and launching the projectile 14, Col. 3, Lns. 59-61).
Hartman fails to explicitly disclose the launch system being positioned on an aircraft, determining the aircraft is at a stratospheric altitude, and launching the vessel from the stratospheric altitude of the aircraft.
Takács is in the field of systems for launching space rockets from high altitudes (abstract)
and teaches a launch system being positioned on an aircraft ([t]he platform 10 of the present invention comprises a support structure 20 which is removably coupled to the rocket 100, Para. [0026]), determining the aircraft is at a stratospheric altitude (the platform 10 and the rocket 100 according to the above example can rise to the bottom of the stratosphere at an altitude of 13 km, Para. [0035]), and launching the vessel from the stratospheric altitude of the aircraft ([t]he platform 10 is adapted to launch space rockets 100 from an altitude (several kilometers above sea level). In the context of the present invention, space rocket 100 refers to a device which works on reactive principle as previously described, with a solid or liquid propellant, such as a known type of rocket (Falcon, Atlas, Delta, etc.) or a rocket specially designed to be launched from the atmosphere in the future, Para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to of the invention to modify Hartman with the floating platform of Takács with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of launching the vessel from the stratosphere thereby requiring less velocity for the vessel to reach space than would be required if the vessel was launched from the surface of the earth.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Hartman discloses the launch system of claim 17, wherein launching the vessel from the guideway, comprises: adjusting one or more actuators at an exit hatch to a predetermined launch angle; and launching the vessel from the exit hatch at the
predetermined launch angle ([s]pecifically, a direction in which the projectile 14 is launched may be controlled by a three dimensional orientation of the guideway 12, adjusted by rotating the guideway 12 about its center, as well as angling the guideway 12 relative to the ground. The adjusting of the orientation of the guideway 12 may be accomplished manually and/or via the one or more actuators 40, Col. 5, Lns. 16-22).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hartman et al. (US 11,073,357) in further view of Fiske (WO2006/088584).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Hartman discloses the method of claim 17, wherein generating the magnetic field within the guideway of the launch system, comprises: the plurality of coils are positioned external to the bore in the guideway (and stator coils 26 for generation of an electromagnetic field in or around the guideway 12, Col. 3, Lns. 61-62) and configured to generate the magnetic field within the bore that causes the vessel to levitate ([i]n some embodiments of the invention, the projectile 214 may comprise a permanent magnet that levitates within the guideway 212, Col. 11, Lns. 25-28) and be propelled within the bore ([t]hus, the electromagnetic field of the stator coil 26 attracts the electromagnetic field of the rotor coils 38, thereby accelerating the projectile 14 along the guideway 10, Col. 7, Lns. 19-22).
Modified Hartman fails to explicitly disclose cooling a plurality of coils to or below a transition temperature at which one or more superconducting materials in the plurality of coils transition to a superconducting state.
Fiske is in the field of electromagnetic launchers (abstract) and teaches cooling a plurality of coils to or below a transition temperature at which the one or more superconducting materials in the plurality of coils transition to a superconducting state (cooling the superconducting coil to the superconducting state to create a high-force magnetic suspension and accelerating the carriage to high speed around the circular track, Para. [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hartman with the cooling system of Fiske for the purpose of cooling the superconducting coils of Hartman to a transition temperature in order to achieve superconductivity.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Hartman discloses the method of claim 18, wherein accelerating the levitating vessel within the bore of the guideway, comprises: increasing current to the plurality of coils at a predetermined position in the bore to increase the magnetic field and increase a velocity of the vessel ([i]n use, the controller 28 may activate the power supply 16, which may supply power to the rails 32. For example, DC power may be supplied to the rails 32. The controller 28 then may activate the contacts 33,34, causing them to electrically connect the stator coils 26 and the rotor coils 38 to the rails 32. As current travels through the stator coils 26 and rotor coils 38, two electromagnetic fields may be created that interact, causing the projectile 14 to accelerate along the guideway 12, Col. 8, Lns. 58- 66), wherein the magnetic field interacts and repels a surface of the vessel ([i]n some embodiments of the invention, the projectile 214 may comprise a permanent magnet that levitates within the guideway 212, Col. 11, Lns. 25-28), wherein the surface of the vessel includes superconducting material with at least a partial coverage of cryogenic liquid nitrogen or a ferromagnetic material ([t]he projectile 14 may comprise a solid object and rotor coils 38 wrapped around the solid object. The solid object may comprise a solid, nonconducting material of similar type mentioned above for the guideway 12. The rotor coils 38 may be made of a conductive material wrapped around, wound inside, or embedded within the nonconducting material of the solid object. The conductive material may be of the same kind mentioned above (i.e., metals, metal alloys, carbon reinforced metals, copper, silver, aluminum, superconductors, semiconductors, and the like) for the stator coils 26, Col. 4, Lns. 41-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record, individually or in combination, does not teach or fairly suggest the launch system of claim 1, wherein each pair of adjacent cylinders of the plurality of cylinders are coupled by at least one cylinder pathway bridge, wherein the at least one cylinder pathway bridge between the each pair of adjacent cylinders forms a portion of the continuous guideway.
Hartman teaches each pair of adjacent cylinders forms a portion of the continuous guideway ([t]he guideway 12 may be in the shape of a toroid, circle, oval, or other closed-loop shape, such as a figure eight or an infinity-symbol shape, Col. 4, Lns. 8-10), but fails to explicitly teach each pair of adjacent cylinders of the plurality of cylinders are coupled by at least one cylinder pathway bridge, wherein the at least one cylinder pathway bridge between the each pair of adjacent cylinders forms a portion of the continuous guideway.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, individually or in combination, does not teach or fairly suggest the launch system of claim 7, wherein the autoloader comprises: a spin generator that initiates the vessel to spin and propel prior to entering the at least one entry portal, wherein the spin generator includes a flipper accelerator.
Hartman teaches an autoloader for loading the vessel ([t]he method 500 may comprise a step of loading the projectile 14 into the guideway 12, as depicted in block 502. The loading may be done through the launch site 18 or through another entrance/aperture of the guideway 12. The loading may be accomplished through the use of actuators 40, such as the actuators 40 described above, Col. 9, Lns. 24-29), but fails to explicitly teach the autoloader comprises a spin generator that initiates the vessel to spin and propel prior to entering the at least one entry portal, wherein the spin generator includes a flipper accelerator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Powell (US 2016/0297548) discloses a system and method for magnetically launching projectiles or spacecraft includes an electromagnetic launcher including a launch tube, and a launch craft. The launch tube includes electrically conducting rails energized along the length of the rails, and a transverse direct current magnetic field is generated along the launch tube, and upper and lower conductors and loops of conducting material on the launch craft are provided for magnetic levitation, stabilization and propulsion of the launch craft in cooperation with the transverse direct current magnetic field. A transverse direct current magnetic field is applied to the launch tube and the launch craft during launching of the launch craft, and the launch craft is magnetically levitated and stabilized to minimize contact between the launch craft and the launch tube as the launch craft travels within the launch tube.
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642