DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed on 05/14/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --VOLTAGE CONVERSION DEVICE COMPRISING SWITCHING REGULATOR AND LINEAR REGULATOR--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2010/0026250; (hereinafter Petty).
Regarding claim 1, Petty [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a voltage conversion device comprising: a first regulator [e.g. T102, T103, L135, C150, X110] configured to convert an input voltage of an input node [e.g. VDD] into a first output voltage in a first mode e.g. high-current mode; Abstract recites “a switching regulator sub-circuit configured to supply current to the load in a high-current mode”] and to provide the first output voltage to an output node [e.g. OUTPUT]; a second regulator [e.g. T101] configured to convert the input voltage of the input node into a second output voltage [e.g. voltage at lower terminal of the pass transistor] in a second mode [e.g. Abstract recites “A multimode voltage regulator circuit includes a linear regulator sub-circuit configured to supply current to a load in a low-current mode”] and to provide the second output voltage to the output node [e.g. paragraph 07 recites “Combining a switching regulator, for use when a required load current is high, with a linear regulator, for use when the load current is low”. Examiner note: The linear regulator is well known in the art to be a transistor in series with the load, in this case corresponding to the pass transistor T101]; a first resistor and a second resistor [e.g. R140 and R142] connected in series between the output node and a ground node; and an error amplifier [e.g. A125] configured to receive a feedback voltage of a node between the first resistor and the second resistor [e.g. VFEEDBACK] and a reference voltage [e.g. Output of X130], to amplify [e.g. A125] a difference between the feedback voltage [e.g. at inverting input of A125] and the reference voltage [e.g. at non-inverting input of A125] to generate an error voltage [e.g. output of A125], to provide the error voltage to the first regulator in the first mode, and to provide the error voltage to the second regulator in the second mode [e.g. paragraph 021 recites “In low-current mode, i.e., when the load's current needs are below a pre-determined threshold, the error signal produced by error amplifier A125 is routed, via switch S160, to the control path for the linear regulator sub-circuit. In high-current mode, i.e., when the load requires an operating current above the threshold, the error signal is instead routed to the control path for the switching regulator”].
Regarding claim 4, Petty [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the first regulator includes a switching regulator, and wherein the second regulator includes a linear regulator [e.g. as stated above with respect to claim 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petty in view of US Pub. No. 2007/0069703; (hereinafter Kokubun).
Regarding claim 2, Petty [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein, in the first mode [e.g. high-current mode], the error amplifier is configured to amplify a value obtained by subtracting the feedback voltage from the reference voltage to generate the error voltage [e.g. output of A125], and wherein, in the second mode [e.g. low-current mode], the error amplifier is configured to amplify the value obtained by subtracting the feedback voltage from the reference voltage [e.g. at inputs of A125].
Petty fails to disclose to invert the amplified value to generate the error voltage.
Kokubun teaches a first mode (PWM mode) which operates as a switching regulator and a second mode corresponding to a linear mode, and an error amplifier 31 that invert [e.g. at output S1b] the amplified value [e.g. output of amplifier 31] to generate the error voltage [e.g. S1b] corresponding to the second mode [e.g. paragraph 038 recites “The second error signal S1b changes in an inverse manner with respect to the first error signal S1a.” Paragraph 064 recites “the DC-DC converter 12 operates as a linear regulator when the second error signal S1b output to the inverting output terminal of the error amplifier 31 is provided to the gate of the output transistor T1”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Petty by to invert the amplified value to generate the error voltage as taught by Kokubun in order of being able to provide different control operations with the same error signal.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petty in view of US Pub. No. 2017/0279359; (hereinafter Goncalves).
Regarding claim 5, Petty [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the first regulator includes: a voltage converter connected to the input node and the output node and including a plurality of switches [e.g. T102, T103], at least one inductor [e.g. L135], and at least one capacitor [e.g. C150]; a control circuit [e.g. X110] configured to generate control signals [e.g. output of X110] corresponding to the plurality of switches such that the input voltage of the input node is converted into the first output voltage, the first output voltage being transferred to the output node [e.g. paragraph 08 recites “a switching regulator sub-circuit configured to supply current to the load in a high-current mode, responsive to a second control signal from a second control path”].
Petty fails to disclose a power stage configured to control the plurality of switches based on the control signals.
Goncalves [e.g. Fig. 12A] teaches a power stage [e.g. 1242] configured to control the plurality of switches [e.g. 1204, 1206] based on the control signals [e.g. 1266, 1268].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Petty by a power stage configured to control the plurality of switches based on the control signals as taught by Goncalves in order of being able to provide proper control of the power switches of the voltage converter so as to improve efficiency, Abstract.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 – 20 are allowed.
Claims 3 and 6 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 3 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “a second switch configured to transfer the error voltage to the second regulator in the second mode and to block the error voltage from being transferred to the second regulator in the first mode”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 6 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, when a transition from the second mode to the first mode is made, the control circuit is configured to preset the error voltage and switching timings of the control signals based on the error voltage, the input voltage, and the first output voltage”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 12 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, in the first mode, the control circuit is configured to: generate emulated duty signals based on the input voltage and the first output voltage; control a ramp signal based on the emulated duty signals; and control switching timings of the control signals based on the error voltage and the ramp signal, wherein the emulated duty signals include an emulated buck duty signal and an emulated boost duty signal, and wherein the control signals include a buck duty signal and a boost duty signal.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 17 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein, in the first mode, the control circuit is configured to: generate emulated duty signals based on the input voltage and the first output voltage; control a ramp signal based on the emulated duty signals; and control switching timings of the control signals based on an error voltage and the ramp signal.”
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 20is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “when a transition from the second mode to the first mode is made, presetting switching timings while the output voltage is not provided by the switching regulator and is not provided by the linear regulator.”
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838