DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
After carefully considering the claim and updated search, the allowability of those claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Suri et al 2004/0141486 in view of Wokhlu et al US 2017/0031689.
As per claim 3, Suri discloses A wireless communication device, comprising:
a host (0033 Host module 54 ); a wireless chip coupled to the host (0017 on-chip processor); and
after a first startup delay of the hardware component, enabling the hardware component in an active state during a predetermined period for pre-fetching a part of the payload from the host into the data buffer under a first mode ( [0058] 6. Cut-Through and Store-Forward Modes 0059] In one embodiment, ASIC 10 provides two modes of operation. With the first mode, referred to herein as the Store-Forward mode, frames are received in their entirety from the POS interface 12 before they are sent out on the Fibre Channel 14. Alternatively, a Cut-Through Mode may be used, as described in co-pending U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/435,214, entitled "Method and Apparatus for Implementing a Data Frame Processing Model," filed on May 8, 2003, the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference. After a frame header and a programmable number of payload bytes have been received from the POS interface 12 in this mode, the frame may be output on the Fibre Channel 14. Thus, receiving and sending operations may overlap. In one embodiment, Cut-through mode may be enabled on a frame-by-frame basis);
transiting the hardware component from the active state into an inactive state( [0129] If, on the other hand, Cut-Through Mode is enabled, the hardware may start sending the POS frame out before the FC receive error has been detected. The error will typically be detected, however, before the end of the POS frame has been transmitted. When this situation occurs, the hardware may be given the option (programmable) of either corrupting the outgoing POS frame CRC, or indicating a `Receive Frame` error on the POS interface 12. In either case, the status field of the entry in the POS HQM 24 may be updated with information about the error. In one embodiment, the entry is also turned over to the software and the hardware state machine halted. In such a case, the software may then decide how to recover from the error. );
in response that the processor issues a begin request to the data buffer, activating the hardware component when there is a remaining part of the payload in the host( [0084] One additional error condition may occur if Cut-Through mode is improperly set up. An error (e.g., `buffer under run`) can occur when a frame is being simultaneously received on the POS interface 12 and sent out on the Fibre 14. The error occurs if the speed on the sending side is greater than the speed on the receiving side and the buffer runs out of data to send. If this occurs, the logic that generates the FC Frame may terminate the frame with an EOFni (End of Frame, Normal Invalid). The status field of the FC HQM 24 entry that originated the frame may then be filled in with information indicating the action taken, and the entry may be turned over to the software. In one embodiment, the processing of FC frames from the Pass-through path is then halted. The software then has the option of re-transmitting the frame using the original HQM 24 entry, re-transmitting it using a new HQM 24 entry, or executing a recovery protocol); and
after a second startup delay of the hardware component, enabling the hardware component in the active state for fetching the remaining part of the payload, switching the data buffer to a second mode and sending the remaining part of the payload from the data buffer to the antenna under the second mode ( [0081] If Cut-Through mode is enabled, the system may start sending out FC frame before the POS CRC error is detected. Such an error will typically be detected, however, before the end of the FC frame has been transmitted. When this occurs, the hardware will end the FC frame with an EOFni (End of Frame, Normal Invalid), according to one embodiment. In another embodiment, the status field of the entry in the FC HQM 24 may be updated with information about the error, the entry turned over to the software, and the hardware state machine halted. It should be appreciated that the software may then decide how to recover from the error.
[0084] One additional error condition may occur if Cut-Through mode is improperly set up. An error (e.g., `buffer under run`) can occur when a frame is being simultaneously received on the POS interface 12 and sent out on the Fibre 14. The error occurs if the speed on the sending side is greater than the speed on the receiving side and the buffer runs out of data to send. If this occurs, the logic that generates the FC Frame may terminate the frame with an EOFni (End of Frame, Normal Invalid). The status field of the FC HQM 24 entry that originated the frame may then be filled in with information indicating the action taken, and the entry may be turned over to the software. In one embodiment, the processing of FC frames from the Pass-through path is then halted. The software then has the option of re-transmitting the frame using the original HQM 24 entry, re-transmitting it using a new HQM 24 entry, or executing a recovery protocol).
Suri does not disclose an antenna coupled to the wireless chip, the wireless chip includes a hardware component , a processor and a data buffer, the hardware component is coupled to the host , the processor is coupled to the hardware component and the data buffer, the data buffer is coupled to the antenna, wherein the processor is configured for: activating the hardware component of the wireless communication device when the host informs to send payload to the hardware component.
However, Wokhlu discloses an antenna coupled to the wireless chip, the wireless chip includes a hardware component , a processor and a data buffer, the hardware component is coupled to the host , the processor is coupled to the hardware component and the data buffer, the data buffer is coupled to the antenna, wherein the processor is configured for: activating the hardware component of the wireless communication device when the host informs to send payload to the hardware component ( [0016] FIG. 1 is a diagram of a data-flow system 100 The data-flow system 100 illustrates operations occurring during vector computations in a wireless baseband system. Each element in the vector may have the same computations performed on it when an instruction is executed. As such, a vector computation system may be referred to as including multiple lanes, where each lane executes instructions for an element of the vector. The data-flow system 100 includes an antenna space, a beam space, and a user space. Data flows through each space during a transmission. For example, vector data first flows through the antenna space, where an antenna is selected. The vector data then flows through the beam space, where a beam for the antenna is selected. The vector data then flows through the user space, where a broadcast code or sequence is selected. Different computations are performed in the antenna space, the beam space, and the user space. As such, the vector data in the data-flow system 100 must be manipulated and/or reorganized at points 102 and 104 of the data-flow system 100, e.g., between each space. The vector data is manipulated so that it can be prepared for algorithms in each subsequent space. For example, algorithms in each space may operate on data vectors of different sizes. Additionally, data may need to be pre-fetched at points 102 and 104. Although the present discussion is presented in the context of a wireless baseband system, it should be appreciated that the data-flow system 100 may be part of any system.);
Suri and Wokhlu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suri to incorporate the teachings of Wokhlu and provide pre-fetching for the data flows.
As per clam 4, Suri and Wokhlu disclose The wireless communication device according to claim 3, wherein the first mode is a store-and-forward mode and the second mode is a cut-through mode ( Suri [0058] 6. Cut-Through and Store-Forward Modes 0059]).
As per claim 1, Suri discloses a wireless communication method for a wireless communication device, the wireless communication device comprising a host (0033 Host module 54), an antenna and a data processing chip coupling to the host, the data processing chip having a hardware component and a data buffer (0017 on-chip processor ), the wireless communication method comprising:
after a first startup delay of the hardware component, enabling the hardware component in an active state during a predetermined period for pre-fetching a part of the payload from the host into the data buffer under a first mode ( [0058] 6. Cut-Through and Store-Forward Modes 0059] In one embodiment, ASIC 10 provides two modes of operation. With the first mode, referred to herein as the Store-Forward mode, frames are received in their entirety from the POS interface 12 before they are sent out on the Fibre Channel 14. Alternatively, a Cut-Through Mode may be used, as described in co-pending U.S. patent application Ser. No. 10/435,214, entitled "Method and Apparatus for Implementing a Data Frame Processing Model," filed on May 8, 2003, the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference. After a frame header and a programmable number of payload bytes have been received from the POS interface 12 in this mode, the frame may be output on the Fibre Channel 14. Thus, receiving and sending operations may overlap. In one embodiment, Cut-through mode may be enabled on a frame-by-frame basis);
transiting the hardware component from the active state into an inactive state( [0129] If, on the other hand, Cut-Through Mode is enabled, the hardware may start sending the POS frame out before the FC receive error has been detected. The error will typically be detected, however, before the end of the POS frame has been transmitted. When this situation occurs, the hardware may be given the option (programmable) of either corrupting the outgoing POS frame CRC, or indicating a `Receive Frame` error on the POS interface 12. In either case, the status field of the entry in the POS HQM 24 may be updated with information about the error. In one embodiment, the entry is also turned over to the software and the hardware state machine halted. In such a case, the software may then decide how to recover from the error. );
in response that the processor issues a begin request to the data buffer, activating the hardware component when there is a remaining part of the payload in the host( [0084] One additional error condition may occur if Cut-Through mode is improperly set up. An error (e.g., `buffer under run`) can occur when a frame is being simultaneously received on the POS interface 12 and sent out on the Fibre 14. The error occurs if the speed on the sending side is greater than the speed on the receiving side and the buffer runs out of data to send. If this occurs, the logic that generates the FC Frame may terminate the frame with an EOFni (End of Frame, Normal Invalid). The status field of the FC HQM 24 entry that originated the frame may then be filled in with information indicating the action taken, and the entry may be turned over to the software. In one embodiment, the processing of FC frames from the Pass-through path is then halted. The software then has the option of re-transmitting the frame using the original HQM 24 entry, re-transmitting it using a new HQM 24 entry, or executing a recovery protocol); and
after a second startup delay of the hardware component, enabling the hardware component in the active state for fetching the remaining part of the payload, switching the data buffer to a second mode and sending the remaining part of the payload from the data buffer to the antenna under the second mode ( [0081] If Cut-Through mode is enabled, the system may start sending out FC frame before the POS CRC error is detected. Such an error will typically be detected, however, before the end of the FC frame has been transmitted. When this occurs, the hardware will end the FC frame with an EOFni (End of Frame, Normal Invalid), according to one embodiment. In another embodiment, the status field of the entry in the FC HQM 24 may be updated with information about the error, the entry turned over to the software, and the hardware state machine halted. It should be appreciated that the software may then decide how to recover from the error.
[0084] One additional error condition may occur if Cut-Through mode is improperly set up. An error (e.g., `buffer under run`) can occur when a frame is being simultaneously received on the POS interface 12 and sent out on the Fibre 14. The error occurs if the speed on the sending side is greater than the speed on the receiving side and the buffer runs out of data to send. If this occurs, the logic that generates the FC Frame may terminate the frame with an EOFni (End of Frame, Normal Invalid). The status field of the FC HQM 24 entry that originated the frame may then be filled in with information indicating the action taken, and the entry may be turned over to the software. In one embodiment, the processing of FC frames from the Pass-through path is then halted. The software then has the option of re-transmitting the frame using the original HQM 24 entry, re-transmitting it using a new HQM 24 entry, or executing a recovery protocol).
Suri does not disclose activating the hardware component when the host informs to send payload to the hardware component.
However, Wokhlu discloses activating the hardware component when the host informs to send payload to the hardware component ([0016] FIG. 1 is a diagram of a data-flow system 100 The data-flow system 100 illustrates operations occurring during vector computations in a wireless baseband system. Each element in the vector may have the same computations performed on it when an instruction is executed. As such, a vector computation system may be referred to as including multiple lanes, where each lane executes instructions for an element of the vector. The data-flow system 100 includes an antenna space, a beam space, and a user space. Data flows through each space during a transmission. For example, vector data first flows through the antenna space, where an antenna is selected. The vector data then flows through the beam space, where a beam for the antenna is selected. The vector data then flows through the user space, where a broadcast code or sequence is selected. Different computations are performed in the antenna space, the beam space, and the user space. As such, the vector data in the data-flow system 100 must be manipulated and/or reorganized at points 102 and 104 of the data-flow system 100, e.g., between each space. The vector data is manipulated so that it can be prepared for algorithms in each subsequent space. For example, algorithms in each space may operate on data vectors of different sizes. Additionally, data may need to be pre-fetched at points 102 and 104. Although the present discussion is presented in the context of a wireless baseband system, it should be appreciated that the data-flow system 100 may be part of any system.);
Suri and Wokhlu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suri to incorporate the teachings of Wokhlu and provide pre-fetching for the data flows.
As per clam 2 , Suri and Wokhlu disclose The wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the first mode is a store-and-forward mode and the second mode is a cut-through mode ( Suri [0058] 6. Cut-Through and Store-Forward Modes 0059]).
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496