DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/14/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 05/14/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindstrom et al. (US 2019/0140235 A1; hereinafter “Lindstrom”).
Regarding claim 1, Lindstrom discloses a battery pack assembly (Title) comprising:
a thermal exchange device (as shown in Fig 1, structures forming cooling air pathway 22 and thermal runaway gas pathway 29) positioned between a first cell stack on a first tier (as shown in Fig 1, lowest battery module 12) and a second cell stack on a second tier (as shown in Fig 1, middle battery module 12), the thermal exchange device including at least one coolant channel (cooling air channel 19) that communicates a coolant to manage thermal energy in the first cell stack and the second cell stack (as shown in Fig 1; see also [0028]), the thermal exchange device further including at least one vent channel (thermal runaway gas channel 24) that is configured to receive vent byproducts from at least one battery cell in the first cell stack and the second cell stack (as shown in Fig 1; see also [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lindstrom further discloses that the first tier is a lower tier and the second tier is an upper tier (as shown in Fig 1 and as noted above).
Regarding claim 4, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
With respect to “wherein the thermal exchange device is an extruded thermal exchange device” (emphasis added), in accordance with MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. "The patentability of a product, i.e.----, does not depend on its method of production, i.e.----." In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985). Because patentability of product claims are based on the product’s structure, and Lindstrom discloses the claimed structure (as noted above), the process limitations are not afforded patentable weight since such limitations do not appear to provide the claimed product with patentably distinct structure.
Regarding claim 5, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lindstrom further discloses that the at least one vent channel opens downward to the first cell stack (as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lindstrom further discloses that the thermal exchange device extends in a first direction past the first tier and the second tier (as shown in Fig 1, first direction is vertical) and in a second direction past the first tier and the second tier (as shown in Fig 1, second direction is horizontal).
Regarding claim 13, Lindstrom discloses aa battery pack venting method (Title) comprising:
supporting a cell stack (12) with a thermal exchange device (as shown in Fig 1, structures forming cooling air pathway 22 and thermal runaway gas pathway 29) such that the thermal exchange device can receive vent byproducts from at least one battery cell of another cell stack (as shown in Fig 1; see also [0025]), the vent byproducts received with at least one vent channel (thermal runaway gas channel 24) of the thermal exchange device (as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lindstrom further discloses that the at least one vent channel opens downward (as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 15, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lindstrom further discloses that the cell stack that is supported is an upper tier cell stack (as shown in Fig 1, upper battery module 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindstrom et al. (US 2019/0140235 A1; hereinafter “Lindstrom”), as applied to claims 1 or 13 above, in view of Park et al. (US 2024/0332668 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 16-18, Lindstrom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lindstrom discloses using a coolant ([0028]), and discloses circulating coolant through at least one coolant channel (cooling air channel 19 and cooling air pathway 22), but does not disclose that:
(claims 3 and 17) the coolant is a liquid coolant;
(claim 8); the thermal exchange device is a cold plate;
(claim 16) the at least one vent channel opens to a first horizontally facing side of the thermal exchange device, and opens to an opposite, second horizontally facing side of the thermal exchange device; and
(claim 18) the at least one vent channel and the at least one coolant channel each extend from a first end of the thermal exchange device to an opposite second end of the thermal exchange device.
Park teaches a battery module having a gas venting channel combined with a cooling channel (Title). Park teaches that a battery module (10) includes a cooling and venting unit (300) to dissipate heat from the battery module and vent gas while preventing leakage of flames in the event of thermal runaway ([0050]). Park teaches that a gas venting channel (312) and a cooling channel (314) are integrated together in a single channel plate (310) (as shown in Figs 5 and 6; see also [0073; 0075]). Park teaches that such a configuration cools the gas by indirect contact with cooling water while the gas moves along the gas venting channel, thereby lowering the temperature of the gas and preventing serious thermal damage to adjacent battery modules ([0066]).
Lindstrom and Park are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely thermal exchange devices.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the channel plate of Park into the battery system of Lindstrom with the reasonable expectation that doing so would cools the (vent) gas by indirect contact with cooling water while the gas moves along the gas venting channel, thereby lowering the temperature of the gas and preventing serious thermal damage to adjacent battery modules, as suggested by Park.
Accordingly, the skilled artisan would find it obvious that:
(claims 3 and 17) the coolant is a liquid coolant (Park: cooling water, [0070]);
(claim 8); the thermal exchange device is a cold plate (Park channel plate 310, which reads on a “cold plate” because the channel plate circulates cooling water to lower the temperature of vent gases, [0066]);
(claim 16) the at least one vent channel opens to a first horizontally facing side of the thermal exchange device, and opens to an opposite, second horizontally facing side of the thermal exchange device (Park: as shown in Figs 5 and 6, first and second sides are the ends in the X direction); and
(claim 18) the at least one vent channel and the at least one coolant channel each extend from a first end of the thermal exchange device to an opposite second end of the thermal exchange device (Park: as shown in Figs 5 and 6, first and second ends are the ends in the X direction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 and 9-12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention is related to, inter alia, a battery pack assembly comprising:
(claim 6) at least one manifold configured to route liquid coolant through the at least one vent channel; and/or
(claim 9) a battery pack enclosure assembly wherein the thermal exchange device extends outside the battery pack enclosure assembly in a first direction past the first tier and the second tier, and in a second direction past the first tier and the second tier.
Lindstrom et al. (US 2019/0140235 A1; hereinafter “Lindstrom”) is considered to be the closest relevant prior art to dependent claims 6 and 9. Lindstrom discloses most of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lindstrom does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the above noted limitations. To the contrary, Lindstrom explicitly discloses that the thermal runaway gas pathway and the cooling air pathway are physically separated, such that thermal runaway gas does not mix with the cooling air ([0011]), and further discloses that a rack assembly (14) houses the entirety of the battery modules and “thermal exchange device” (as shown in Fig 1). Accordingly, there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the structure of Lindstrom and be directed towards the above noted limitations because doing so would significantly structurally alter the disclosed system, and would reasonably appear to be only in impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hooper et al. (US 2023/0141771 A1) discloses battery module thermal management;
Dilberovic (US 2022/0361367 A1) discloses a cold plate assembly; and
Tasiopoulos et al. (US 2019/0229384 A1) discloses a battery cooling plate with integrated air vents.
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/15/2026