DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed May 14, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Highstrom et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0324816 (referred to hereafter as Highstrom).
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, Highstrom teaches a method, medium and device comprising:
providing, by a navigation application, a first graphical user interface comprising a first type of navigation presentation of a route and a first label including first information relating to the route (see fig. 3 and para. 36);
receiving a first selection by a user of the first label (see para. 36);
responsive to receiving the first selection by the user of the first label:
providing, by the navigation application, a second graphical user interface comprising a second type of navigation presentation of the route and a second label including second information relating to the route (see fig. 4 and para. 37);
receiving a second selection by the user of the second label (see para. 36-39 and fig. 3-6); and
responsive to receiving the second selection by the user of the second label: providing, by the navigation application, the first graphical user interface comprising the first type of navigation presentation of the route and the first label including third information relating to the route (see para. 36-39 and fig. 3-6, user can switch back and forth from detailed instructions to fewer instructions. If detailed instructions is selected, then the map shows detailed instructions and shows “fewer directions” button. When fewer instructions is selected, then map shows fewer instructions and “detailed instructions” button).
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, Highstrom teaches the method, medium and device of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first type of navigation presentation comprises a non-prompting navigation presentation (see para. 18).
As to claims 3, 10 and 17, Highstrom teaches the method, medium and device of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the second type of navigation presentation comprises a turn-by-turn navigation presentation (see para. 18).
As to claims 4, 11 and 18, Highstrom teaches the method, medium and device of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first type of navigation presentation comprises a non-prompting navigation presentation, and wherein the second type of navigation presentation comprises a turn-by-turn navigation presentation (see para. 36-39).
As to claims 5, 12 and 19, Highstrom teaches the method, medium and device of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first label includes a presentation of a first set of route attribute values and a first set of maneuver attributes for an imminent maneuver of the route, wherein the first set of route attribute values includes a value for at least one of an estimated time of arrival to a destination of the route, a first distance to the destination, or a first travel time to the destination from the first location, and wherein the first set of maneuver attributes includes at least one of a first distance to the imminent maneuver, a first maneuver instruction, a first route segment identifier associated with the imminent maneuver, and a first graphical indicator that represents the imminent maneuver (see para. 41-42).
As to claims 6,13 and 20, Highstrom teaches the method, medium and device of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first label does not include navigation instructions and the second label includes one or more navigation instructions (see para. 41-42 and fig. 3-6).
As to claims 7 and 14, Highstrom teaches the method, medium and device of claims 1 and 8, wherein receiving the first selection by a user of the first label includes receiving the first selection via a touch screen (see para. 19).
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669