DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 07/21/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. An action on the merits of claims 1-20 is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley-Trochimczyk (US 20190223766) in view of Parikh (US 20170049962).
Regarding independent claim 1, Harley-Trochimczyk teaches a system (Abstract: “This document discusses, among other things, systems and methods to compensate for the effects of temperature on sensors, such as analyte sensor”) comprising:
a first sensor arranged to produce a first signal stream indicating a level of a first analyte ([0343]: “The system 100 may include a continuous analyte sensor system 8 including sensor electronics 12 and a continuous analyte sensor 10.”; [0170]: “An example (“Example 160) of subject matter (e.g., method, system, or device) may determine a glucose concentration level by … receiving a glucose sensor signal”. The continuous analyte sensor is the first sensor and the first signal stream is the glucose sensor signal.);
a second sensor arranged to produce first physiological data ([0343]: “The system 100 may include other devices and/or sensors”; [0170]: “An example (“Example 160) of subject matter (e.g., method, system, or device) may determine a glucose concentration level by receiving a temperature sensor signal”. The temperature sensor is the second sensor, and the first physiological data is the temperature sensor signal.);
a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory ([0088]: “In Example 78, the subject matter of any one or any combination of Examples 71-77 may further include a memory circuit including executable instructions to determine a pattern from the temperature signal and to determine a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level based on the pattern, the processor being configured to retrieve the instructions from memory and execute the instructions”), the processor configured to:
determine, based on a signal stream and the first physiological data, a wear location of the first sensor ([0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. This feature discloses using additional sensor data into the determination of anatomical location).
Harley-Trochimczyk discloses using additional data into the determination of wear location, but Harley-Trochimczyk does not teach specifically using the first signal stream (glucose).
Parikh discloses infusion devices such as insulin pumps. Specifically, Parikh teaches determining, based on a glucose signal stream, a wear location of the first sensor (Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”). Harley-Trochimczyk and Parikh are analogous art as they are related to the same field of endeavor of devices that monitor blood glucose levels of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the glucose measurements in the determination of wear location as Harley-Trochimczyk discloses using additional sensor data in the determination of wear location, and Parikh discloses suitable sensor data that can be used in the determination. Additionally, using the glucose measurements from Parikh does not require any additional sensors, since glucose is already being measured, therefore does not require any additional sensing steps and can allow for more data for analysis, providing a more accurate result.
Therefore, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches determining, based on the first signal stream and the first physiological data, a wear location of the first sensor (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. This feature discloses using additional sensor data into the determination of anatomical location, which can be the sensor data from Parikh; Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”. For example, using the stored historical data maintaining an association between sensor lag and site locations (e.g., task 810), the pump control system 520, 600 may detect or otherwise identify the current sensor site location based on the entry for a site location having an associated lag time that is closest to or equal to the calculated delay time for the current sensor site location); and make an adjustment related to at least one of the first sensor or the first signal stream based on the wear location of the first sensor (Harley-Trochimczyk; [0539]: “temperature compensation may be based at least in part on the anatomical location. For example, a temperature compensation algorithm may account for the fact that a subcutaneous temperature in the abdomen or lower back may change more slowly than a subcutaneous temperature in an arm, which may have a lower mass to act as a heat sink or heat source.”; Abstract: “An example method may include determining a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level by receiving a temperature signal indicative of a temperature parameter of an external component, receiving a glucose signal indicative of an in vivo glucose concentration level, and determining a compensated glucose concentration level based on the glucose signal, the temperature signal, and a delay parameter.”. The temperature compensation can be based at least in part on the anatomical location (which is the wear location), which can then be used to determine the temperature-compensated glucose concentration (which is the first signal stream).).
Regarding claim 3, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the first physiological data indicates at least one of physical activity, sleep, consumption of a meal, administration of medication, or occurrence of a glycemic event (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0537]: “A sensor worn on an arm may also experience more variability in temperature, especially during sleep”; [0552]: “the exercise state of the host can affect the temperature compensation model”. The temperature, which is the first physiological data, can be indicative of sleep and/or exercise state.).
Regarding claim 4, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein determining the wear location comprises determining a responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data, and wherein the wear location is determined based on the responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data ( Parikh, Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”. Step 906 involves detecting lag based on the glucose measurements, and since glucose measurement values can change based on temperature, it can be the responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data.).
Regarding claim 5, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 4, wherein the responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data comprises at least one of a degree of change in the first signal stream, a delay in change in the first signal stream, or a rate of change of the first signal stream (Parikh, Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”. The lag is the delay in change of the first signal stream.).
Regarding claim 6, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein determining the wear location is further based on a mapping of historical data for the first analyte and historical physiological data (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0559]: “a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level may be determined using a previous temperature signal value in lieu of a temperature signal value that associated with a sudden change in temperature. In some examples, a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level may be determined using an extrapolated temperature signal value based on prior temperature signal values and using the extrapolated temperature signal value in lieu of a temperature signal value that associated with a sudden change in temperature”; Parikh, Fig. 9; [0078]: “For example, using the stored historical data maintaining an association between sensor lag and site locations (e.g., task 810), the pump control system 520, 600 may detect or otherwise identify the current sensor site location based on the entry for a site location having an associated lag time that is closest to or equal to the calculated delay time for the current sensor site location”).
Regarding claim 7, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1, further comprising a third sensor arranged to produce second physiological data different from the first physiological data (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0448]: “The method 700 may include at 706 receiving a third sensor signal. Receiving a third sensor signal may include, for example, receiving a heart rate signal, receiving a pressure signal, receiving an activity signal or accelerometer signal (e.g., to detect exercise)”), wherein determining the wear location is further based on the second physiological data Harley-Trochimczyk, [0538]: “the method may further include receiving an accelerometer signal, and determining an anatomical location may include determining the anatomical location based on the accelerometer signal .).
Regarding claim 9, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the adjustment comprises changing a mode of the first sensor to a mode specific to the wear location (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0537]: “While specific “arm” and “abdomen” locations are shown, other locations or classes may also be used (e.g., a lower back location may be determined, or a “torso” location may include both abdomen and lower back)”; [0539]: “At 1406, in some examples, temperature compensation may be based at least in part on the anatomical location. For example, a temperature compensation algorithm may account for the fact that a subcutaneous temperature in the abdomen or lower back may change more slowly than a subcutaneous temperature in an arm, which may have a lower mass to act as a heat sink or heat source.”. The system uses different temperature compensations for different locations such as the arm or the abdomen, which indicates different modes for different wear locations.).
Regarding independent claim 10, Harley-Trochimczyk teaches a method (Abstract: “This document discusses, among other things, systems and methods to compensate for the effects of temperature on sensors, such as analyte sensor”) comprising:
producing, by a first sensor, a first signal stream indicating a level of a first analyte ([0343]: “The system 100 may include a continuous analyte sensor system 8 including sensor electronics 12 and a continuous analyte sensor 10.”; [0170]: “An example (“Example 160) of subject matter (e.g., method, system, or device) may determine a glucose concentration level by … receiving a glucose sensor signal”. The continuous analyte sensor is the first sensor and the first signal stream is the glucose sensor signal.);
producing, by a second sensor, first physiological data ([0343]: “The system 100 may include other devices and/or sensors”; [0170]: “An example (“Example 160) of subject matter (e.g., method, system, or device) may determine a glucose concentration level by receiving a temperature sensor signal”. The temperature sensor is the second sensor, and the first physiological data is the temperature sensor signal.);
determining, based on a signal stream and the first physiological data, a wear location of the first sensor ([0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. This feature discloses using additional sensor data into the determination of anatomical location).
Harley-Trochimczyk discloses using additional data into the determination of wear location, but Harley-Trochimczyk does not teach specifically using the first signal stream (glucose).
Parikh discloses infusion devices such as insulin pumps. Specifically, Parikh teaches determining, based on a glucose signal stream, a wear location of the first sensor (Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”). Harley-Trochimczyk and Parikh are analogous art as they are related to the same field of endeavor of devices that monitor blood glucose levels of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the glucose measurements in the determination of wear location as Harley-Trochimczyk discloses using additional sensor data in the determination of wear location, and Parikh discloses suitable sensor data that can be used in the determination. Additionally, using the glucose measurements from Parikh does not require any additional sensors, since glucose is already being measured, therefore does not require any additional sensing steps and can allow for more data for analysis, providing a more accurate result.
Therefore, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches determining, based on the first signal stream and the first physiological data, a wear location of the first sensor (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. This feature discloses using additional sensor data into the determination of anatomical location, which can be the sensor data from Parikh; Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”); and; and
making an adjustment related to at least one of the first sensor or the first signal stream based on the wear location of the first sensor (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0539]: “temperature compensation may be based at least in part on the anatomical location. For example, a temperature compensation algorithm may account for the fact that a subcutaneous temperature in the abdomen or lower back may change more slowly than a subcutaneous temperature in an arm, which may have a lower mass to act as a heat sink or heat source.”; Abstract: “An example method may include determining a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level by receiving a temperature signal indicative of a temperature parameter of an external component, receiving a glucose signal indicative of an in vivo glucose concentration level, and determining a compensated glucose concentration level based on the glucose signal, the temperature signal, and a delay parameter.”. The temperature compensation can be based at least in part on the anatomical location (which is the wear location), which can then be used to determine the temperature-compensated glucose concentration (which is the first signal stream).).
Regarding claim 12, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein the first physiological data indicates at least one of physical activity, sleep, consumption of a meal, administration of medication, or occurrence of a glycemic event (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0537]: “A sensor worn on an arm may also experience more variability in temperature, especially during sleep”; [0552]: “the exercise state of the host can affect the temperature compensation model”. The temperature, which is the first physiological data, can be indicative of sleep and/or exercise state.).
Regarding claim 13, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein determining the wear location comprises determining a responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data, and wherein the wear location is determined based on the responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data ( Parikh, Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”. Step 906 involves detecting lag based on the glucose measurements, and since glucose measurement values can change based on temperature, it can be the responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data.).
Regarding claim 14, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 13, wherein the responsiveness of the first signal stream to the first physiological data comprises at least one of a degree of change in the first signal stream, a delay in change in the first signal stream, or a rate of change of the first signal stream ( Parikh, Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”. The lag is the delay in change of the first signal stream.).
Regarding claim 15, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein determining the wear location is further based on a mapping of historical data for the first analyte and historical physiological data (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0559]: “a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level may be determined using a previous temperature signal value in lieu of a temperature signal value that associated with a sudden change in temperature. In some examples, a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level may be determined using an extrapolated temperature signal value based on prior temperature signal values and using the extrapolated temperature signal value in lieu of a temperature signal value that associated with a sudden change in temperature”; Parikh, Fig. 9; [0078]: “For example, using the stored historical data maintaining an association between sensor lag and site locations (e.g., task 810), the pump control system 520, 600 may detect or otherwise identify the current sensor site location based on the entry for a site location having an associated lag time that is closest to or equal to the calculated delay time for the current sensor site location”).
Regarding claim 16, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10, further comprising producing, by a third sensor, second physiological data different from the first physiological data (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0448]: “The method 700 may include at 706 receiving a third sensor signal. Receiving a third sensor signal may include, for example, receiving a heart rate signal, receiving a pressure signal, receiving an activity signal or accelerometer signal (e.g., to detect exercise)”), wherein determining the wear location is further based on the second physiological data (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0538]: “the method may further include receiving an accelerometer signal, and determining an anatomical location may include determining the anatomical location based on the accelerometer signal”).
Regarding claim 18, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein the adjustment comprises changing a mode of the first sensor to a mode specific to the wear location (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0537]: “While specific “arm” and “abdomen” locations are shown, other locations or classes may also be used (e.g., a lower back location may be determined, or a “torso” location may include both abdomen and lower back)”; [0539]: “At 1406, in some examples, temperature compensation may be based at least in part on the anatomical location. For example, a temperature compensation algorithm may account for the fact that a subcutaneous temperature in the abdomen or lower back may change more slowly than a subcutaneous temperature in an arm, which may have a lower mass to act as a heat sink or heat source.”. The system uses different temperature compensations for different locations such as the arm or the abdomen, which indicates different modes for different wear locations.).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Murtuza (“Is there an association between body temperature and serum lactate levels in hip fracture patients?”).
Regarding claim 2, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1.
However, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination does not teach wherein the first physiological data comprises a second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte different from the first analyte.
Murtuza discloses a study relating lactate levels and body temperature. Specifically, Murtuza teaches wherein the first physiological data comprises a second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte different from the first analyte (Page 517: “This is the first study demonstrating that low body temperature is associated with an increased mean lactate level” Lactate levels can be associated with temperature, therefore can be a measured analyte to assist in temperature detection. Harley-Trochimczyk discloses a sensor measuring lactate ([0354]: “Although the disclosure herein refers to some implementations that include a continuous analyte sensor 10 that includes a glucose sensor, the continuous analyte sensor 10 may include other types of analyte sensors as well … other analytes may be used as well including, for example, ketone bodies (e.g., acetone, acetoacetic acid and beta hydroxybutyric acid, lactate, etc.)”)). Harley-Trochimczyk and Murtuza are analogous art as they are both related to systems that use temperature and lactate to determine physiological parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte from Murtuza into the system from the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as it allows the system to measure an additional parameter that can be used to determine the wear location, as the lactate level can be used to confirm the temperature measurement, which can provide a more accurate and comprehensive analysis of the wear location and adjustment of the first signal stream.
Regarding claim 11, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10.
However, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination does not teach wherein the first physiological data comprises a second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte different from the first analyte.
Murtuza discloses a study relating lactate levels and body temperature. Specifically, Murtuza teaches wherein the first physiological data comprises a second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte different from the first analyte (Page 517: “This is the first study demonstrating that low body temperature is associated with an increased mean lactate level” Lactate levels can be associated with temperature, therefore can be a measured analyte to assist in temperature detection. Harley-Trochimczyk discloses a sensor measuring lactate ([0354]: “Although the disclosure herein refers to some implementations that include a continuous analyte sensor 10 that includes a glucose sensor, the continuous analyte sensor 10 may include other types of analyte sensors as well … other analytes may be used as well including, for example, ketone bodies (e.g., acetone, acetoacetic acid and beta hydroxybutyric acid, lactate, etc.)”)). Harley-Trochimczyk and Murtuza are analogous art as they are both related to systems that use temperature and lactate to determine physiological parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte from Murtuza into the system from the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as it allows the method to measure an additional parameter that can be used to determine the wear location, as the lactate level can be used to confirm the temperature measurement, which can provide a more accurate and comprehensive analysis of the wear location and adjustment of the first signal stream.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley-Trochimczyk in view of Parikh and Murtuza.
Regarding independent claim 19, Harley-Trochimczyk teaches a system (Abstract: “This document discusses, among other things, systems and methods to compensate for the effects of temperature on sensors, such as analyte sensor”) comprising:
a first sensor arranged to produce a first signal stream indicating a glucose level ([0343]: “The system 100 may include a continuous analyte sensor system 8 including sensor electronics 12 and a continuous analyte sensor 10.”; [0170]: “An example (“Example 160) of subject matter (e.g., method, system, or device) may determine a glucose concentration level by … receiving a glucose sensor signal”. The continuous analyte sensor is the first sensor and the first signal stream is the glucose sensor signal.);
a second sensor arranged to produce a second signal stream ([0354]: “Although the disclosure herein refers to some implementations that include a continuous analyte sensor 10 that includes a glucose sensor, the continuous analyte sensor 10 may include other types of analyte sensors as well … other analytes may be used as well including, for example, ketone bodies (e.g., acetone, acetoacetic acid and beta hydroxybutyric acid, lactate, etc.)”);
a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory ([0088]: “In Example 78, the subject matter of any one or any combination of Examples 71-77 may further include a memory circuit including executable instructions to determine a pattern from the temperature signal and to determine a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level based on the pattern, the processor being configured to retrieve the instructions from memory and execute the instructions”), the processor configured to:
determine, based on a signal stream and a second signal stream, a wear location of the first sensor ([0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. This feature discloses using additional sensor data into the determination of anatomical location).
Harley-Trochimczyk discloses using additional data into the determination of wear location, but Harley-Trochimczyk does not teach specifically using the first signal stream (glucose).
Parikh discloses infusion devices such as insulin pumps. Specifically, Parikh teaches determining, based on a glucose signal stream, a wear location of the first sensor (Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”). Harley-Trochimczyk and Parikh are analogous art as they are related to the same field of endeavor of devices that monitor blood glucose levels of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the glucose measurements in the determination of wear location as Harley-Trochimczyk discloses using additional sensor data in the determination of wear location, and Parikh discloses suitable sensor data that can be used in the determination. Additionally, using the glucose measurements from Parikh does not require any additional sensors, since glucose is already being measured, therefore does not require any additional sensing steps and can allow for more data for analysis, providing a more accurate result.
Therefore, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches determine, based on the first signal stream and the first physiological data, a wear location of the first sensor (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. This feature discloses using additional sensor data into the determination of anatomical location, which can be the sensor data from Parikh; Fig. 9; steps 902-908 disclose using the glucose measurements to determine the site location (wear location); [0078]: “Based on the sensor lag associated with the current sensor site location, the site recommendation process 900 automatically detects or otherwise identifies the current sensor site location (task 908)”. For example, using the stored historical data maintaining an association between sensor lag and site locations (e.g., task 810), the pump control system 520, 600 may detect or otherwise identify the current sensor site location based on the entry for a site location having an associated lag time that is closest to or equal to the calculated delay time for the current sensor site location); and
The Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination discloses using glucose levels and temperature levels to determine a wear location, however, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination does not teach using the lactate levels (the second signal stream) to determine the wear location.
Murtuza discloses a study relating lactate levels and body temperature. Specifically, Murtuza teaches using the lactate levels to determine the wear location of the first sensor (Page 517: “This is the first study demonstrating that low body temperature is associated with an increased mean lactate level” Lactate levels can be associated with temperature, therefore can be a measured analyte to assist in temperature detection.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second signal stream indicating a level of a second analyte from Murtuza into the system from the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as it allows the method to measure an additional parameter that can be used to determine the wear location, as the lactate level can be used to confirm the temperature measurement, which can provide a more accurate and comprehensive analysis of the wear location and adjustment of the first signal stream.
The Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh/Murtuza combination teaches making an adjustment related to at least one of the first sensor or the first signal stream based on the wear location of the first sensor (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0539]: “temperature compensation may be based at least in part on the anatomical location. For example, a temperature compensation algorithm may account for the fact that a subcutaneous temperature in the abdomen or lower back may change more slowly than a subcutaneous temperature in an arm, which may have a lower mass to act as a heat sink or heat source.”; Abstract: “An example method may include determining a temperature-compensated glucose concentration level by receiving a temperature signal indicative of a temperature parameter of an external component, receiving a glucose signal indicative of an in vivo glucose concentration level, and determining a compensated glucose concentration level based on the glucose signal, the temperature signal, and a delay parameter.”. The temperature compensation can be based at least in part on the anatomical location (which is the wear location), which can then be used to determine the temperature-compensated glucose concentration (which is the first signal stream).).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Carpenter (WO 2007075410).
Regarding claim 8, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the system of Claim 1.
However, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a tissue composition at the wear location, and wherein the adjustment is further based on the tissue composition.
Carpenter discloses a glucose monitor. Specifically, Carpenter teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a tissue composition at the wear location, and wherein the adjustment is further based on the tissue composition ([0047]: “applying bioelectric impedance analysis simultaneously to determine a correction factor based on monitored changes in tissue composition; and applying the correction factor”). Harley-Trochimczyk and Carpenter are analogous art as they are both related to glucose sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the determination of tissue compensation from Carpenter into the system from the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as it allows the system to compensate for different tissue compositions in different locations, which can allow for a more accurate measurement of the analytes.
Regarding claim 17, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination teaches the method of Claim 10.
However, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a tissue composition at the wear location, and wherein the adjustment is further based on the tissue composition.
Carpenter discloses a glucose monitor. Specifically, Carpenter teaches further comprising determining a tissue composition at the wear location, and wherein the adjustment is further based on the tissue composition ([0047]: “applying bioelectric impedance analysis simultaneously to determine a correction factor based on monitored changes in tissue composition; and applying the correction factor”). Harley-Trochimczyk and Carpenter are analogous art as they are both related to glucose sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the determination of tissue compensation from Carpenter into the method from the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh combination as it allows the method to compensate for different tissue compositions in different locations, which can allow for a more accurate measurement of the analytes.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh/Murtuza as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Carpenter.
Regarding claim 20, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh/Murtuza combination teaches the system of Claim 19.
However, the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh/Murtuza combination does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a tissue composition at the wear location, and wherein the adjustment is further based on the tissue composition.
Carpenter discloses a glucose monitor. Specifically, Carpenter teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a tissue composition at the wear location, and wherein the adjustment is further based on the tissue composition ([0047]: “applying bioelectric impedance analysis simultaneously to determine a correction factor based on monitored changes in tissue composition; and applying the correction factor”). Harley-Trochimczyk and Carpenter are analogous art as they are both related to glucose sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the determination of tissue compensation from Carpenter into the system from the Harley-Trochimczyk/Parikh/Murtuza combination as it allows the system to compensate for different tissue compositions in different locations, which can allow for a more accurate measurement of the analytes.
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s argument regarding the rejections and objections previously set forth have been fully considered and are persuasive unless directly addressed subsequently.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant also argues that Murtuza does not teach determining where a sensor is worn nor using a lactate signal stream to determine a sensor wear location. This argument is not persuasive, however, since Murtuza is not relied on entirely to teach this limitation. Murtuza is merely relied on to teach that lactate levels (a second analyte) can be used to determine body temperature. Harley-Trochimczyk is relied upon to teach using additional signals in the determination of temperature and anatomical location, and additionally the inclusion of a lactate sensor, and Murtuza is simply used to teach that lactate can show different values at different locations in the body, therefore leading a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the lactate sensor as the additional signal, therefore the argument against only Murtuza is not persuasive (Harley-Trochimczyk, [0152]: “the subject matter of Example 141 may be configured such that the anatomical location is determined at least in part based on a sensed temperature”; [0537]: “the example temperature methods may be combined with information from other sensors to further increase the sensitivity and specificity”. The other sensors such as the analyte sensor can be incorporated into the determination of the wear conditions, therefore can teach on this limitation; Fig. 2B; [0358]: “FIG. 2B depicts a more-detailed illustration of example sensor electronics 12. The sensor electronics may, for example, be part of a system of devices as shown in FIG. 1. The sensor electronics 12 may include sensor electronics that are configured to process sensor information, such as sensor data, and generate transformed sensor data and displayable sensor information, e.g., via a processor module 214. For example, the processor module 214 may transform sensor data into one or more of the following: temperature-compensated data, … location information”; [0363]: “The potentiostat 210 may also provide via data line 212 a voltage to an analyte sensor such as the continuous analyte sensor 10 (shown in FIG. 5) or the sensors shown in FIGS. 2C, 3, 4, 5A, or 5B, to bias the sensor for measurement of a value”; [0354]: “Although the disclosure herein refers to some implementations that include a continuous analyte sensor 10 that includes a glucose sensor, the continuous analyte sensor 10 may include other types of analyte sensors as well … other analytes may be used as well including, for example, ketone bodies (e.g., acetone, acetoacetic acid and beta hydroxybutyric acid, lactate, etc.)”). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant additionally argues that there is no rationale for combining Murtuza with Harley-Trochimczyk, as the combination would not teach the required limitations. Applicant states that Harley-Trochimczyk would need to be modified to measure lactate as an additional analyte, however this limitation is already discloses in Harley-Trochimczyk and would not require any modification to include the measurement of lactate ([0354]: “Although the disclosure herein refers to some implementations that include a continuous analyte sensor 10 that includes a glucose sensor, the continuous analyte sensor 10 may include other types of analyte sensors as well … other analytes may be used as well including, for example, ketone bodies (e.g., acetone, acetoacetic acid and beta hydroxybutyric acid, lactate, etc.)”). Therefore, Murtuza only teaches the specific use of the lactate measurement, which Harley-Trochimczyk is silent about, therefore it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to another reference such as Murtuza to identify the specific use and benefits of the lactate measurement that is already being measured in Harley-Trochimczyk.
Applicant also argues that Carpenter does not teach the limitations of claims 1 and 10, however Carpenter is not relied upon to teach the limitations in claims 1 and 10, therefore this argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment did not necessitate the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791