DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action in response to the amendment filed 8/12/2026.
Claims 1-14 were previously canceled and claims 15-23 added.
Claims 15-23 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torii(JP3977736; cited on PTO 892).
Torii discloses an automatic tensioning side track assembly(see Fig. 3) for maintaining a retractable screen(1/4) of a retractable screen enclosure assembly at a desired state, said automatic tensioning side track assembly comprising:
a base track(3);
a screen receiver(14/15) adjustably disposed at said base track and including a plurality of first prongs(adjacent 12);
wherein said base track includes a plurality of second prongs(12/13) positioned along associated travel paths of said first prongs, respectively;
wherein said first prongs are configured to releasably engage said second prongs as said screen receiver is reciprocated along a bi-directional travel path inside said base track(the prongs engage one another with movement of the receiver in the track meeting the claim limitation);
wherein said first prongs and said second prongs each have a curvilinear shape(each of the prongs is curved in as much as the discloses prongs are curved and considered to meet the claim limitation) configured to be hooked and unhooked when said first prongs selectively engage and disengage said second prongs(the prongs are adjacent one another considered hooked and when moved away from one another considered unhooked meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Torii discloses the automatic tensioning side track assembly of claim 15, wherein said prongs have a substantial L-shape(see Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Torii discloses the automatic tensioning side track assembly of claim 15, wherein said first prongs have a hook shape(the prongs extend from the receiver body 14/15 in a hook shape meeting the claim limitation) and said second prongs(12/13) have a substantial hook shape.
Regarding claim 21. (New) The automatic tensioning side track assembly of claim 15, wherein each of said first prongs has a first terminal portion aligned substantially parallel to rectilinear side walls of said base track(see Fig. 3); wherein each of said second prongs has a second terminal portion aligned substantially parallel to said rectilinear side walls of said base track(see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Torii discloses the automatic tensioning side track assembly of claim 21, wherein said first terminal portion and said second terminal portion are registered substantially parallel to a bi- directional travel path of said screen receiver within said base track as well as to a tensioned state of said screen(see Fig. 3).
Claims 15, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elinson(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2012/0012260; cited on PTO 892).
Elinson discloses an automatic tensioning side track assembly(see Fig. 1) for maintaining a retractable screen(52/53) of a retractable screen enclosure assembly at a desired state, said automatic tensioning side track assembly comprising:
a base track(22);
a screen receiver(47) adjustably disposed at said base track and including a plurality of first prongs(flanges at sides of grooves 58 for 56, and 56);
wherein said base track includes a plurality of second prongs(63) positioned along associated travel paths of said first prongs, respectively;
wherein said first prongs(flanges and 56) are configured to releasably engage said second prongs as said screen receiver is reciprocated along a bi-directional travel path inside said base track(the prongs engage one another with movement of the receiver in the track meeting the claim limitation);
wherein said first prongs and said second prongs each have a curvilinear shape(each of the prongs is curved in as much as the disclosed prongs are curved and considered to meet the claim limitation) configured to be hooked and unhooked when said first prongs selectively engage and disengage said second prongs(the prongs are adjacent one another considered hooked and when moved away from one another considered unhooked meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 20, Elinson discloses the automatic tensioning side track assembly of claim 15, wherein said second prongs(63) define a plurality of pockets configured to releasably receive said first prongs(56), respectively, as said receiver is displaced within said base track(see Fig. 1);
wherein said first prongs ingress and egress said pockets as said receiver is reciprocated towards and away from said second prongs, respectively(the prongs can engage and disengage one another with movement of the receiver in the track meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 23, Elinson discloses the automatic tensioning side track assembly of claim 20, wherein said first prongs(56) are seated within said pockets such that a first terminal portion of said first prongs are positioned beyond a second terminal portion of said second prongs(the curves of 63 extend around prongs 56 such that the outermost/end portion, considered terminal portion, of 56 is beyond the end portion, considered terminal portion, of 63 meeting the claim limitation).
Response to Amendment
The filing of the Terminal Disclaimer has overcome the Double Patenting rejection.
After an updated search, several references were found that the claims are anticipated by, as specified above.
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/