DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant remarks that claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 13, & 14 read on the elected species (i.e. Figs. 1 & 2). However, examiner disagrees with the analysis: claim 14, which recites ‘the first conduit being open radially into the third conduit’, is seen in non-elected Species D-F (Figs. 5-7); claim 11 is drawn to the first conduit opening shown in Fig. 8, which was not elected. Examiner believes that perhaps applicant meant to recite claim 15 instead of claim 14 in this listing, as claim 15 reads on Species A. Claim 10 reads on the first conduit openings of Species A (Fig. 1) and is believed to be elected in place of claim 11. Claim 12 also recites a generic limitation and is believed to be also included in said election. For the purpose of examination, according to the election made, examiner will examine claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 15.
Claims 6, 9, 11, & 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/7/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 25 - ‘outat’ should be amended to read --out at--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 1 & 2 - ‘the injection orifices’ should be amended to read --the one or more injection orifices-- to mimic the language used in claim 1, furthermore, the ‘one or more injection orifices’ has not been further limited to definitively be more than one, making the recitation ‘the injection orifices’ be a cause for confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘outat’ and ‘andat’ should be amended to read --out at-- and --and at--, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by St. Goar et al. (US Pat. No. 6,090,096).
Regarding claim 1, St. Goar et al. disclose an angioplasty device 20, 80 (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9) configured for local widening of a narrowed segment of an internal lumen of a blood vessel including atheromatous deposits on walls of the blood vessel, the angioplasty device comprising a flexible tubular body 22, 82 (Figs. 1 & 8) extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the flexible tubular body 22, 82 comprises a proximal part that includes the proximal end, and a distal part that includes the distal end, the tubular body 22, 82 further comprising: an inflatable angioplasty balloon 28/84,110 arranged radially about the tubular body in the distal part, wherein the angioplasty balloon 28/84,110 is such that an inflation of the angioplasty balloon in the narrowed segment of the blood vessel causes the internal lumen of the blood vessel to widen, the atheromatous deposits to compress against the walls of the blood vessel and a stenosis to be durably rectified; a first internal conduit 44, 98 (Figs. 1 & 8) extending parallel to the longitudinal axis at least in the distal part, to enable an insertion of a guidewire having a predetermined external diameter into the first conduit and a sliding of the tubular body along a guide wire (conduit 44, 98 extends from a proximal conduit opening 46, 100 to a distal conduit opening 48, 102 which would allow for a guidewire to extend therethrough and allow the tubular body/catheter to be slide thereover; column 9, lines 63-67) ; a leaktight second internal conduit 50, 112 (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9) extending parallel to the longitudinal axis and opening out at the proximal end 52 and opening out into the balloon 28, 110 (via port 54, 116) in such a way as to permit an injection of a fluid into the balloon; a third internal conduit 30, 86 (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9) opening out at the proximal end and into one or more injection orifices 34, 90 (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9) situated in the distal part, at least one of which is less than 5 cm away from the angioplasty balloon (column 6, lines 58-60), wherein the third conduit has a cross-section dimension based on an amount and a viscosity of a contrast agent to be injected therethrough and into a patient's blood (fluid intended to be delivered therethrough - column6, lines 63-64); a fourth internal conduit 38, 92 (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9) for injecting medicaments or substances into the patient’s blood.
Regarding claim 2, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the first 44(98), second 50(112) and third conduits 30(86) are leaktight with respect to one another (Figs. 2 & 9).
Regarding claim 3, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the injection orifices 34 (90) (Figs. 1 & 8) are distributed radially about the tubular body 22,82 (on a radial location).
Regarding claim 4, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the one or more injection orifices 90 (Fig. 8) include at least one downstream injection orifice situated between the angioplasty balloon 110 and the distal end (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the one or more injection orifices 34 (Fig. 1) include at least one upstream injection orifice situated between the proximal part and the angioplasty balloon 28 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the first 44(98), second 50(112) and third conduits 30(86) are arranged side by side (Figs. 2 & 9).
Regarding claim 8, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the first conduit 44 (98) has a circular cross section (at the proximal end where the ports link up to the tubular body 22 (82) and has a diameter substantially equal to that of the guide wire 68 (column 9, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 10, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein the first conduit 44 (98) opens out at the proximal end and at the distal end (conduit 44, 98 extends from a proximal conduit opening 46, 100 to a distal conduit opening 48, 102; column 9, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 12, St. Goar et al. further disclose wherein each of the one or more injection orifices 34, 90 (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9) is located less than 5 cm away from the angioplasty balloon (column 6, lines 58-60)
Regarding claim 13, St. Goar et al. further disclose further comprising a guide wire 68 (column 9, lines 63-67) of said predetermined external diameter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the following is a list of the most pertinent prior art with respect to the claims: US Pat. Nos. 6,723,070; 6,322,577*; 6,090,096*; 5,637,086*; 4,909,258*; 4,777,951*; 4,763,654*. (*IDS reference) The closest prior art to claim 15 is found to be US Pat. No. 6,322,577 which has a multipurpose conduit 16 and inflation conduit 13 as claimed in claim 15 (Fig. 1), but fails to further disclose, teach, or suggest an additional conduit for injecting medicaments or substances into a patient’s blood.
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 February 7, 2026