DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
A preliminary amendment was received on 07/02/2024. Presently, claims 19-38 are pending.
Double Patenting
In each of the below rejections based upon non-statutory double patenting rejections the reference patent claims a hearing device (in the reference patents the term “circuit for…output of combined audio” is used) determining volume settings and then adjusting to the new volume setting after a delay as claimed in the present set of claims.
Claims 19-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,226,695. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as explained above the present claims are broader than the reference claims in that the reference claims contain all of the limitations presented in the current claims.
Claims 19-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,013,989. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as explained above the present claims are broader than the reference claims in that the reference claims contain all of the limitations presented in the current claims.
Claims 19-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,660,530. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as explained above the present claims are broader than the reference claims in that the reference claims contain all of the limitations presented in the current claims.
Claims 19-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,809. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as explained above the present claims are broader than the reference claims in that the reference claims contain all of the limitations presented in the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19, 20, 25, 27-30, 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0140539 to Urup.
With regard to claim 19, Urup discloses a system, the system comprising: a hearing device operable to adaptively control a first signal, according to a setting, to provide an audio output, (fig. 2; 0021; 0025-0029); generate a new value of the setting according to an input that is received at a particular time (0025-0029); adjust the setting from an old value to the new value according to a delay with respect to the particular time (0025-0029).
With regard to claim 20, Urup discloses that the hearing device is a headset (fig. 2; 0021).
With regard to claim 25, Urup discloses that the adaptive controlling comprises a volume adjustment of the audio output according to the setting (0025-0029).
With regard to claim 27, Urup discloses that the adjustment of the setting comprises a change of the setting form the old value to the new value after the delay (0025-0029).
With regard to claim 28, Urup discloses that the setting is adjusted according to a data set characterizing the hearing device (0025-0029; wherein this would necessarily be true as the volume of any speaker can only go so high or only go so low).
Claims 29, 30, 35, 37, and 38 are mirrored claims to claims 19, 20, 25, 27, and 28 and are rejected in like manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21-24, 26, 29, 31-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0052948 to Soelberg in view of Urup.
With regard to claim 19, Soelberg discloses a system, the system comprising: a hearing device operable to adaptively control a first signal, according to a setting, to provide an audio output, (fig. 1; 0013); generate a new value of the setting according to an input that is received at a particular time (fig. 5; 0019-0021).
Soelberg is not explicitly clear about adjusting the setting according to a delay. However, Urup teaches adjust the setting from an old value to the new value according to a delay with respect to the particular time (0025-0029).
With regard to claim 21, Soelberg discloses that the adaptive controlling comprises mixing the first signal with a second signal according to the setting (fig. 5; 0019-0021).
With regard to claim 22¸Soelberg discloses that the second signal is generated via a game console (fig. 5; 0011; 0019-0021).
With regard to claim 23, Urup teaches that the second signal is generated via a smartphone (0021).
With regard to claim 24, Soelberg discloses adaptive controlling further comprises applying a volume adjustment to the audio output according to the setting (fig. 5; 0019-0021).
With regard to claim 26, Soelberg discloses that the adjustment of the setting comprises applying incremental changes of the setting, during the delay, from the old value to the new value (fig. 5; 0019-0021).
Claims 29, 31-34, and 36 are mirrored claims to claims 19, 21-24; and 26 and are rejected in like manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of application to combine the teachings of Urup with the disclosure of Soelberg in order to ensure that a real change in noice level can be detected before the speaker volume level is adjusted (Urup at 0005).
Conclusion
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715