DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 07/30/2026 and 08/26/2026. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (USPG Pub No. 2016/0252709), hereinafter “Lin”, in view of Noda et al. (USPG Pub No. 2015/0124333), hereinafter “Noda”.
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1) comprising: a first lens (110) having a negative refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a second lens (120) having a refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a third lens (130) having a refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a fourth lens (140) having a refractive power and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a fifth lens (150) having a refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); and a sixth lens (160) having a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1), wherein a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the sixth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Table 1), wherein f3 is within a range of 1 .8 mm to 4.20 mm (Table 1), where f3 is a focal length of the third lens, wherein 90° ≤ FOV (Table 1), where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system, and wherein a thickness of the fourth lens is greater than a thickness of the third lens (Table 1). Lin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens is 55 or less. The Abbe number of a lens is contingent upon the selected material for said lens. In the same field of endeavor, Noda discloses wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens is 55 or less (Table 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Lin with wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens is 55 or less of Noda for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system having a wide angle of view and a shortened total length while realizing improved image quality (Paragraph 7). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Lastly, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 1) comprising: a first lens (110) having a negative refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a second lens (120) having a refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a third lens (130) having a refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a fourth lens (140) having a refractive power and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a fifth lens (150) having a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); and a sixth lens (160) having a refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1), wherein a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the sixth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Table 1), wherein f3 is within a range of 1.8 mm to 4.20 mm (Table 1), where f3 is a focal length of the third lens, wherein 90° ≤ FOV (Table 1), where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system, and wherein a thickness of the fourth lens is greater than a thickness of the third lens (Table 1). Lin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens is 55 or less. The Abbe number of a lens is contingent upon the selected material for said lens. In the same field of endeavor, Noda discloses wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens is 55 or less (Table 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Lin with wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens is 55 or less of Noda for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system having a wide angle of view and a shortened total length while realizing improved image quality (Paragraph 7). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Lastly, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Lin further discloses wherein the first lens (110) has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Lin further discloses wherein the second lens (120) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Lin further discloses wherein the second lens (120) has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Lin further discloses wherein the third lens (130) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Table 11).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Lin further discloses wherein the third lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Lin and Noda teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claims 1 and 8, Noda further discloses wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Table 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Lin with the teachings of Noda for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/27/2026