DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2015/0338613), hereinafter “Tang”, in view of Tang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2015/0260952), hereinafter “Tang ‘952”.
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 8A) comprising: a first lens (810) having a negative refractive power (Paragraph 211, Table 15); a second lens (820) having a refractive power; a third lens (830) having a refractive power; a fourth lens (840) having a refractive power and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Paragraph 214, Table 15); a fifth lens (850) having a refractive power; and a sixth lens (860) having a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Paragraph 216, Table 15), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 8A, Table 15), wherein a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the sixth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Table 15), wherein f3 is within a range of 1.8 mm to 4.20 mm, where f3 is a focal length of the third lens (Table 15). Tang discloses the claimed invention except for and wherein 90° ≤ FOV, where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system. In the same field of endeavor, Tang ‘952 discloses and wherein 90° ≤ FOV, where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system (Figs. 24, 38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with and wherein 90° ≤ FOV, where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system of Tang ‘952 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system that is lightweight, has low production cost, increase in shooting view, has high resolution and image quality (Paragraphs 7, 117).
Regarding claim 8, Tang discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 8A) comprising: a first lens (810) having a negative refractive power (Paragraph 211, Table 15); a second lens (820) having a refractive power; a third lens (830) having a refractive power; a fourth lens (840) having a refractive power and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Paragraph 214, Table 15); a fifth lens (850) having a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Paragraph 215, Table 15); and a sixth lens (860) having a refractive power, wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 8A, Table 15), wherein a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the sixth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Table 15), wherein f3 is within a range of 1.8 mm to 4.20 mm, where f3 is a focal length of the third lens (Table 15). Tang discloses the claimed invention except for and wherein 90° ≤ FOV, where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system. In the same field of endeavor, Tang ‘952 discloses and wherein 90° ≤ FOV, where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system (Figs. 24, 38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with and wherein 90° ≤ FOV, where FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging system of Tang ‘952 for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system that is lightweight, has low production cost, increase in shooting view, has high resolution and image quality (Paragraphs 7, 117).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Tang further discloses wherein the first lens (810) has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 8A, Table 15).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Tang further discloses wherein the second lens (820) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 8A, Table 15).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Tang further discloses wherein the second lens (820) has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 8A, Table 15).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Tang further discloses wherein the third lens (830) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 8A, Table 15).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Tang and Tang ‘952 teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claims 1 and 8, Tang ‘952 further discloses wherein the third lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figs. 24, 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with the teachings of Tang ‘952 for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1 and 8.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Tang further discloses wherein the fifth lens (850) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 8A, Table 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Tang ‘952 cures the deficiencies of Tang and addresses the subject matter challenged by Applicant.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 4/2/2026