DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20, based solely on the limitations as amended, has been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references including prior art being used in the current rejection (see below for detail) under new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 101
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites the method steps of based on a user touch for a first pulse wave sensor included in the electronic apparatus being detected, obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor and receiving a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor included in a wearable device from the wearable device; removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter; obtaining a cross-correlation signal indicating a correlation between denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal; and authenticating a user based on the cross-correlation signal, wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises: transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, and wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
The limitations of obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor and receiving a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor; removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter; obtaining a cross-correlation signal indicating a correlation between denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal; and authenticating a user based on the cross-correlation signal, wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises: transmitting time stamp information, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by one or more processors,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by one or more processors” language, “obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor and receiving a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor; removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter; obtaining a cross-correlation signal indicating a correlation between denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal; and authenticating a user based on the cross-correlation signal, wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises: transmitting time stamp information” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receive first pulse wave signal and second pulse wave signal to determine authentication of a user based on a cross-correlation signal between the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using one or more processors to perform the obtaining, removing , obtaining, authenticating, and transmitting steps. The one or more processors in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of the obtaining, removing , obtaining, authenticating, and transmitting steps steps) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using one or more processors to perform the obtaining, removing , obtaining, authenticating, and transmitting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon – WO 2019/208923 A1) in view of Genicot et al. (Genicot – US 2020/0359922 A1), Chen et al. (Chen – US 2019/0332757 A1), and Nepveu et al. (Nepveu – US 11,496,723 B1). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of WO 2019/208923 A1 publication by computer.
As to claim 1, Jeon discloses a method of controlling an electronic apparatus, the method comprising:
based on a user touch for a first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110) included in the electronic apparatus being detected (Jeon: FIG. 1 the electronic device 100) being detected (Jeon: [0039] and FIG. 1: For example, if the processor 120 performs an operation of detecting a touch on the display of the display unit 140, it may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. Alternatively, if an event occurs by which the sensor 110 determines that the skin of the user is in proximity, the processor 120 may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may receive biometric information and convert it into a biometric signal. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may transmit the biometric signal to the display unit 140), obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0048], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the sensor 11: the electronic device 100 according to an example may start measuring biometric information. If an analysis unit 122 determines that the user is carrying the electronic device 100, the electronic device 100 may measure biometric information by using the sensor 110. For example, the biometric information may be a PPG signal waveform or an ECG signal waveform measured using the electronic device 100) and receiving a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor (Jeon: FIG. 1 the sensor 210) included in a wearable device (Jeon: FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200) from the wearable device (Jeon: [0049]-[0050], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200 and FIG. 2 S104: the electronic device 100 according to an example may receive the first information from the first wearable device 200. The communication unit 230 of the first wearable device 200 may output a signal including the first information. The communication unit 130 of the electronic device 100 may receive the first information and transmit it to the processor 120);
removing noise of the first pulse wave signal (Jeon: [0076]) using a pass filter (Jeon [0076] and FIG. 5 the low pass filterS302: In operation S302, the electronic device 100 according to an example may pass the biometric information 401 through a filter. The biometric information 401 may pass through a low-pass filter in order to remove noise. The biometric information 401 passing through the low-pass filter may consist of only a preset biometric signal among biometric signals of the user. For example, the biometric information 401 passing through the low-pass filter may consist of only the PPG signal);
obtaining a cross-correlation signal indicating a correlation between denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal (Jeon: Abstract, [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0072], FIG. 4, FIG. 9-14: the processor calculates a correlation between the first biometric information and the second biometric information, grant, to at least one wearable device, an authenticated authority based on the correlation, the authenticated authority being an authority to approve performance of a specified operation, and sets an authenticated authority level that is a step classified based on reliability of the authenticated authority. In addition to the above, various embodiments identified using the specification are possible); and
authenticating a user based on the cross-correlation signal (Jeon: Abstract, [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0072], FIG. 4, FIG. 9-14: the processor calculates a correlation between the first biometric information and the second biometric information, grant, to at least one wearable device, an authenticated authority based on the correlation, the authenticated authority being an authority to approve performance of a specified operation, and sets an authenticated authority level that is a step classified based on reliability of the authenticated authority. In addition to the above, various embodiments identified using the specification are possible).
Jeon does not explicitly disclose removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter,
wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device,
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, and
wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of processing biometric information to implement removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter, as suggested by Genicot, which discloses removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter (Genicot: Abstract, [0034]-[0037], [0100]-[0104], and FIG. 1: In a second step 102, interpolation is performed between video frames to ensure an equal sampling of all video frames. Thereafter, in step 103, each PPG signal is filtered, typically bandpass filtered to remove noise and obtain PPG signals within the frequency band of interest. The frequency band of interest may be determined by the medical application. In case of heartbeat, heartrate or heartrate variation analysis, the frequency band of interest for instance is a frequency band ranging from 30 Hz to 200 Hz. It is noticed that the step 101 of obtaining PPG signals, the interpolation step 102 and the filtering step may jointly form part of pre-processing that is executed remotely, e.g. on the smartphone or other electronic device worn by the person whereon contact PPG is applied).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon and Genicot, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the authentication system of Jeon to include removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter, as suggested by Genicot. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for processing biometric signals to receive the biometric signals within a frequency band of interest.
While the combination of Jeon and Genicot to disclose based on a user touch for a first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110) included in the electronic apparatus (Jeon: FIG. 1 the electronic device 100) being detected (Jeon: [0039] and FIG. 1: For example, if the processor 120 performs an operation of detecting a touch on the display of the display unit 140, it may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. Alternatively, if an event occurs by which the sensor 110 determines that the skin of the user is in proximity, the processor 120 may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may receive biometric information and convert it into a biometric signal. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may transmit the biometric signal to the display unit 140), obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0048], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the sensor 11: the electronic device 100 according to an example may start measuring biometric information. If an analysis unit 122 determines that the user is carrying the electronic device 100, the electronic device 100 may measure biometric information by using the sensor 110. For example, the biometric information may be a PPG signal waveform or an ECG signal waveform measured using the electronic device 100) and send a request to a wearable device (Jeon: [0048]-[0049] and FIG. 1: the first wearable device 200 may receive a request from the electronic device 100 and generate first information) to receive a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor (Jeon: FIG. 1 the sensor 210) included in the wearable device (Jeon: FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200) from the wearable device (Jeon: [0049]-[0050], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200 and FIG. 2 S104: the electronic device 100 according to an example may receive the first information from the first wearable device 200. The communication unit 230 of the first wearable device 200 may output a signal including the first information. The communication unit 130 of the electronic device 100 may receive the first information and transmit it to the processor 120), the combination of Jeon and Genicot does not include the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal including timestamp information as recited in the limitations of wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device,
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information.
However, it has been known in the art of authenticating users to implement wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device,
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, as suggested by Chen, which discloses wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises: transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information (Chen: Abstract, [000043]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 16: Embodiments of the invention provide a complete set of tools to check the consistency of two photoplethysmograms for liveness detection. Specifically, given the face or fingertip video, the corresponding photoplethysmogram (PPG) is extracted as a time series (wherein each frame of the respective video streams is one of a sequence of frames, each timestamped), according to the principle of PPG. As a result, two time series can be obtained by using similar computer vision tools. After that, a set of features such as estimated heart rates and cross correlation of the two photoplethysmograms can be calculated by combining the two time series).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, and Chen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the authentication system of Jeon and Genicot to include wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises: transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, as suggested by Chen. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating users based on time related user information.
While the combination of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen discloses the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal are obtained close-in-time (Chen: [0044]: Embodiments of the invention check the consistency of two close-in-time, e.g., simultaneous, concurrent, or sequential, and independently extracted, photoplethysmograms of the user as the live, or real-time, indicator), the combination of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of collecting sensing data to implement wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor, as suggested by Nepveu, which discloses wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time (column 11 lines 56-column 12 lines 12, column 12 lines 61-column 13 lines 27, and FIG. 1-5: the first device 100 transmits a request for the second sensor data to the second device 150. In one or more embodiments, the request may indicate one or more sensors or type of sensors from which sensor data should be obtained on the second device 150. Further, the request may include a timestamp at which the indication was detected, and/or may indicate a time or time window for which the sensor data should be obtained) from a time when a user’s touch is detected (Nepveu: column 2 lines 30-45, column 12 lines 61-column 13 lines 12 and FIG. 1-5: the request may indicate one or more sensors or type of sensors from which sensor data should be obtained on the second device 150. Further, the request may include a timestamp at which the indication was detected, and/or may indicate a time or time window for which the sensor data should be obtained) and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor (Nepveu: column 7 lines 50-column 8 lines 27, and FIG. 1-5: As described above, the time at which the scene should be captured may be at the time at which the indication is detected, or may be a time before or after the indication is detected. Moreover, the time at which the scene should be captured may include a time window).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen to include wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor, as suggested by Nepveu. The motivation for this is to obtain a predetermined time period of sensing data from a plurality of sensing devices across a network.
As to claim 2, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the authenticating of the user comprises, based on a peak value of the cross-correlation signal being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticating the user (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
As to claim 3, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining a deviation score between the denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed) by comparing a peak-to-peak interval between the denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal, a pulse interval or a systolic peak (Jeon: [0071], [0079]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0092]-[0093], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the biometric information 401 is the PPG signal, the amplitude of the waveform of the biometric information 401 may include parameters such as a systolic peak, a diastolic peak, a dicrotic notch, a ratio between peaks, and a ratio of peak differences. The interval of the waveform of the biometric information 401 may include parameters such as a pulse interval, an interval between systolic peaks, a systolic peak time, a dicrotic notch time, a diastolic peak time, and a time between systolic and diastolic peaks. The area of the biometric information 401 may include parameters such as a blood flow rate and an area ratio of a systolic section and a diastolic section. The electronic device 100 may determine whether the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person by comparing the extracted parameters with the parameters transmitted from the first wearable device 200); and
authenticating the user based on the deviation score (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
As to claim 4, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the method of claim 2, wherein the authenticating of the user comprises, based on a deviation score being less than a second threshold value, authenticating the user (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
As to claim 11, Jeon discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
a first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110);
a communication interface (Jeon: FIG. 1 the communication unit 130);
memory storing one or more computer programs; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the first pulse wave sensor, the communication interface, and the memory (Jeon: FIG. 1 the memory 150 and the processor 120),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
based on a user touch for the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110) being detected (Jeon: [0039] and FIG. 1: For example, if the processor 120 performs an operation of detecting a touch on the display of the display unit 140, it may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. Alternatively, if an event occurs by which the sensor 110 determines that the skin of the user is in proximity, the processor 120 may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may receive biometric information and convert it into a biometric signal. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may transmit the biometric signal to the display unit 140), obtain a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0048], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the sensor 11: the electronic device 100 according to an example may start measuring biometric information. If an analysis unit 122 determines that the user is carrying the electronic device 100, the electronic device 100 may measure biometric information by using the sensor 110. For example, the biometric information may be a PPG signal waveform or an ECG signal waveform measured using the electronic device 100) and receive a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor (Jeon: FIG. 1 the sensor 210) included in a wearable device (Jeon: FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200) from the wearable device (Jeon: [0049]-[0050], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200 and FIG. 2 S104: the electronic device 100 according to an example may receive the first information from the first wearable device 200. The communication unit 230 of the first wearable device 200 may output a signal including the first information. The communication unit 130 of the electronic device 100 may receive the first information and transmit it to the processor 120),
remove noise of the first pulse wave signal (Jeon: [0076]) using a pass filter (Jeon: [0076] and FIG. 5 the low pass filterS302: In operation S302, the electronic device 100 according to an example may pass the biometric information 401 through a filter. The biometric information 401 may pass through a low-pass filter in order to remove noise. The biometric information 401 passing through the low-pass filter may consist of only a preset biometric signal among biometric signals of the user. For example, the biometric information 401 passing through the low-pass filter may consist of only the PPG signal),
obtain a cross-correlation signal indicating a correlation between denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal (Jeon: Abstract, [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0072], FIG. 4, FIG. 9-14: the processor calculates a correlation between the first biometric information and the second biometric information, grant, to at least one wearable device, an authenticated authority based on the correlation, the authenticated authority being an authority to approve performance of a specified operation, and sets an authenticated authority level that is a step classified based on reliability of the authenticated authority. In addition to the above, various embodiments identified using the specification are possible), and
authenticate a user based on the cross-correlation signal (Jeon: Abstract, [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0072], FIG. 4, FIG. 9-14: the processor calculates a correlation between the first biometric information and the second biometric information, grant, to at least one wearable device, an authenticated authority based on the correlation, the authenticated authority being an authority to approve performance of a specified operation, and sets an authenticated authority level that is a step classified based on reliability of the authenticated authority. In addition to the above, various embodiments identified using the specification are possible).
Jeon does not explicitly disclose removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to transmit time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, and
wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of processing biometric information to implement removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter, as suggested by Genicot, which discloses removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter (Genicot: Abstract, [0034]-[0037], [0100]-[0104], and FIG. 1: In a second step 102, interpolation is performed between video frames to ensure an equal sampling of all video frames. Thereafter, in step 103, each PPG signal is filtered, typically bandpass filtered to remove noise and obtain PPG signals within the frequency band of interest. The frequency band of interest may be determined by the medical application. In case of heartbeat, heartrate or heartrate variation analysis, the frequency band of interest for instance is a frequency band ranging from 30 Hz to 200 Hz. It is noticed that the step 101 of obtaining PPG signals, the interpolation step 102 and the filtering step may jointly form part of pre-processing that is executed remotely, e.g. on the smartphone or other electronic device worn by the person whereon contact PPG is applied).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon and Genicot, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the authentication system of Jeon to include removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter, as suggested by Genicot. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for processing biometric signals to receive the biometric signals within a frequency band of interest.
While the combination of Jeon and Genicot to disclose based on a user touch for a first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110) included in the electronic apparatus (Jeon: FIG. 1 the electronic device 100) being detected (Jeon: [0039] and FIG. 1: For example, if the processor 120 performs an operation of detecting a touch on the display of the display unit 140, it may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. Alternatively, if an event occurs by which the sensor 110 determines that the skin of the user is in proximity, the processor 120 may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may receive biometric information and convert it into a biometric signal. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may transmit the biometric signal to the display unit 140), obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0048], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the sensor 11: the electronic device 100 according to an example may start measuring biometric information. If an analysis unit 122 determines that the user is carrying the electronic device 100, the electronic device 100 may measure biometric information by using the sensor 110. For example, the biometric information may be a PPG signal waveform or an ECG signal waveform measured using the electronic device 100) and send a request to a wearable device (Jeon: [0048]-[0049] and FIG. 1: the first wearable device 200 may receive a request from the electronic device 100 and generate first information) to receive a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor (Jeon: FIG. 1 the sensor 210) included in the wearable device (Jeon: FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200) from the wearable device (Jeon: [0049]-[0050], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200 and FIG. 2 S104: the electronic device 100 according to an example may receive the first information from the first wearable device 200. The communication unit 230 of the first wearable device 200 may output a signal including the first information. The communication unit 130 of the electronic device 100 may receive the first information and transmit it to the processor 120), the combination of Jeon and Genicot does not include the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal including timestamp information as recited in the limitations of wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to transmit time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information.
However, it has been known in the art of authenticating users to implement wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to transmit time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, as suggested by Chen, which discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to transmit time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information (Chen: Abstract, [000043]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 16: Embodiments of the invention provide a complete set of tools to check the consistency of two photoplethysmograms for liveness detection. Specifically, given the face or fingertip video, the corresponding photoplethysmogram (PPG) is extracted as a time series (wherein each frame of the respective video streams is one of a sequence of frames, each timestamped), according to the principle of PPG. As a result, two time series can be obtained by using similar computer vision tools. After that, a set of features such as estimated heart rates and cross correlation of the two photoplethysmograms can be calculated by combining the two time series.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, and Chen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the authentication system of Jeon and Genicot to include wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to transmit time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, as suggested by Chen. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating users based on time related user information.
While the combination of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen discloses the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal are obtained close-in-time (Chen: [0044]: Embodiments of the invention check the consistency of two close-in-time, e.g., simultaneous, concurrent, or sequential, and independently extracted, photoplethysmograms of the user as the live, or real-time, indicator), the combination of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of collecting sensing data to implement wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor, as suggested by Nepveu, which discloses wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time (column 11 lines 56-column 12 lines 12, column 12 lines 61-column 13 lines 27, and FIG. 1-5: the first device 100 transmits a request for the second sensor data to the second device 150. In one or more embodiments, the request may indicate one or more sensors or type of sensors from which sensor data should be obtained on the second device 150. Further, the request may include a timestamp at which the indication was detected, and/or may indicate a time or time window for which the sensor data should be obtained) from a time when a user’s touch is detected (Nepveu: column 2 lines 30-45, column 12 lines 61-column 13 lines 12 and FIG. 1-5: the request may indicate one or more sensors or type of sensors from which sensor data should be obtained on the second device 150. Further, the request may include a timestamp at which the indication was detected, and/or may indicate a time or time window for which the sensor data should be obtained) and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor (Nepveu: column 7 lines 50-column 8 lines 27, and FIG. 1-5: As described above, the time at which the scene should be captured may be at the time at which the indication is detected, or may be a time before or after the indication is detected. Moreover, the time at which the scene should be captured may include a time window).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen to include wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor, as suggested by Nepveu. The motivation for this is to obtain a predetermined time period of sensing data from a plurality of sensing devices across a network.
As to claim 12, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 11 further comprising the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to, based on a peak value of the cross-correlation signal being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticate the user (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
As to claim 13, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 11 further comprising the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
obtain a deviation score between the denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed) by comparing a peak-to-peak interval between the denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal, a pulse interval or a systolic peak (Jeon: [0071], [0079]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0092]-[0093], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the biometric information 401 is the PPG signal, the amplitude of the waveform of the biometric information 401 may include parameters such as a systolic peak, a diastolic peak, a dicrotic notch, a ratio between peaks, and a ratio of peak differences. The interval of the waveform of the biometric information 401 may include parameters such as a pulse interval, an interval between systolic peaks, a systolic peak time, a dicrotic notch time, a diastolic peak time, and a time between systolic and diastolic peaks. The area of the biometric information 401 may include parameters such as a blood flow rate and an area ratio of a systolic section and a diastolic section. The electronic device 100 may determine whether the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person by comparing the extracted parameters with the parameters transmitted from the first wearable device 200), and
authenticate the user based on the deviation score (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
As to claim 14, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to, based on the deviation score being less than a second threshold value, authenticate the user (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
As to claim 19, Jeon discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic apparatus, cause the electronic apparatus to perform operations, the operations comprising:
based on a user touch for a first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110) included in the electronic apparatus (Jeon: FIG. 1 the electronic device 100) being detected (Jeon: [0039] and FIG. 1: For example, if the processor 120 performs an operation of detecting a touch on the display of the display unit 140, it may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. Alternatively, if an event occurs by which the sensor 110 determines that the skin of the user is in proximity, the processor 120 may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may receive biometric information and convert it into a biometric signal. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may transmit the biometric signal to the display unit 140), obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0048], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the sensor 11: the electronic device 100 according to an example may start measuring biometric information. If an analysis unit 122 determines that the user is carrying the electronic device 100, the electronic device 100 may measure biometric information by using the sensor 110. For example, the biometric information may be a PPG signal waveform or an ECG signal waveform measured using the electronic device 100) and receiving a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor (Jeon: FIG. 1 the sensor 210) included in a electronic apparatus (Jeon: FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200) from a wearable device (Jeon: [0049]-[0050], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200 and FIG. 2 S104: the electronic device 100 according to an example may receive the first information from the first wearable device 200. The communication unit 230 of the first wearable device 200 may output a signal including the first information. The communication unit 130 of the electronic device 100 may receive the first information and transmit it to the processor 120);
removing noise of the first pulse wave signal (Jeon: [0076]) using a pass filter (Jeon: [0076] and FIG. 5 the low pass filterS302: In operation S302, the electronic device 100 according to an example may pass the biometric information 401 through a filter. The biometric information 401 may pass through a low-pass filter in order to remove noise. The biometric information 401 passing through the low-pass filter may consist of only a preset biometric signal among biometric signals of the user. For example, the biometric information 401 passing through the low-pass filter may consist of only the PPG signal);
obtaining a cross-correlation signal indicating a correlation between denoised first pulse wave signal and the denoised second pulse wave signal (Jeon: Abstract, [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0072], FIG. 4, FIG. 9-14: the processor calculates a correlation between the first biometric information and the second biometric information, grant, to at least one wearable device, an authenticated authority based on the correlation, the authenticated authority being an authority to approve performance of a specified operation, and sets an authenticated authority level that is a step classified based on reliability of the authenticated authority. In addition to the above, various embodiments identified using the specification are possible); and
authenticating a user based on the cross-correlation signal (Jeon: Abstract, [0052]-[0053], [0055], [0063]-[0072], FIG. 4, FIG. 9-14: the processor calculates a correlation between the first biometric information and the second biometric information, grant, to at least one wearable device, an authenticated authority based on the correlation, the authenticated authority being an authority to approve performance of a specified operation, and sets an authenticated authority level that is a step classified based on reliability of the authenticated authority. In addition to the above, various embodiments identified using the specification are possible).
Jeon does not explicitly disclose removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter,
wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device,
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, and
wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of processing biometric information to implement removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter, as suggested by Genicot, which discloses removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter (Genicot: Abstract, [0034]-[0037], [0100]-[0104], and FIG. 1: In a second step 102, interpolation is performed between video frames to ensure an equal sampling of all video frames. Thereafter, in step 103, each PPG signal is filtered, typically bandpass filtered to remove noise and obtain PPG signals within the frequency band of interest. The frequency band of interest may be determined by the medical application. In case of heartbeat, heartrate or heartrate variation analysis, the frequency band of interest for instance is a frequency band ranging from 30 Hz to 200 Hz. It is noticed that the step 101 of obtaining PPG signals, the interpolation step 102 and the filtering step may jointly form part of pre-processing that is executed remotely, e.g. on the smartphone or other electronic device worn by the person whereon contact PPG is applied).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon and Genicot, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the authentication system of Jeon to include removing noise of the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal using a band pass filter, as suggested by Genicot. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for processing biometric signals to receive the biometric signals within a frequency band of interest.
While the combination of Jeon and Genicot to disclose based on a user touch for a first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], FIG. 1 the sensor 110) included in the electronic apparatus (Jeon: FIG. 1 the electronic device 100) being detected (Jeon: [0039] and FIG. 1: For example, if the processor 120 performs an operation of detecting a touch on the display of the display unit 140, it may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. Alternatively, if an event occurs by which the sensor 110 determines that the skin of the user is in proximity, the processor 120 may determine that the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may receive biometric information and convert it into a biometric signal. If the user is holding the electronic device 100 in his or her hand normally, the processor 120 may transmit the biometric signal to the display unit 140), obtaining a first pulse wave signal through the first pulse wave sensor (Jeon: [0029]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0048], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the sensor 11: the electronic device 100 according to an example may start measuring biometric information. If an analysis unit 122 determines that the user is carrying the electronic device 100, the electronic device 100 may measure biometric information by using the sensor 110. For example, the biometric information may be a PPG signal waveform or an ECG signal waveform measured using the electronic device 100) and send a request to a wearable device (Jeon: [0048]-[0049] and FIG. 1: the first wearable device 200 may receive a request from the electronic device 100 and generate first information) to receive a second pulse wave signal detected through a second pulse wave sensor (Jeon: FIG. 1 the sensor 210) included in the wearable device (Jeon: FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200) from the wearable device (Jeon: [0049]-[0050], [0060]-[0061], FIG. 1 the first wearable device 200 and FIG. 2 S104: the electronic device 100 according to an example may receive the first information from the first wearable device 200. The communication unit 230 of the first wearable device 200 may output a signal including the first information. The communication unit 130 of the electronic device 100 may receive the first information and transmit it to the processor 120), the combination of Jeon and Genicot does not include the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal including timestamp information as recited in the limitations of wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, and
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information.
However, it has been known in the art of authenticating users to implement wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, and
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, as suggested by Chen, which discloses wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, and
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information (Chen: Abstract, [000043]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 16: Embodiments of the invention provide a complete set of tools to check the consistency of two photoplethysmograms for liveness detection. Specifically, given the face or fingertip video, the corresponding photoplethysmogram (PPG) is extracted as a time series (wherein each frame of the respective video streams is one of a sequence of frames, each timestamped), according to the principle of PPG. As a result, two time series can be obtained by using similar computer vision tools. After that, a set of features such as estimated heart rates and cross correlation of the two photoplethysmograms can be calculated by combining the two time series.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, and Chen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the authentication system of Jeon and Genicot to include wherein the receiving of the second pulse wave signal comprises:
transmitting time stamp information corresponding to the first pulse wave signal and a signal for requesting the second pulse wave signal to the wearable device, and
wherein the second pulse wave signal is obtained based on time stamp information, as suggested by Chen. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating users based on time related user information.
While the combination of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen discloses the first pulse wave signal and the second pulse wave signal are obtained close-in-time (Chen: [0044]: Embodiments of the invention check the consistency of two close-in-time, e.g., simultaneous, concurrent, or sequential, and independently extracted, photoplethysmograms of the user as the live, or real-time, indicator), the combination of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor.
However, it has been known in the art of collecting sensing data to implement wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor, as suggested by Nepveu, which discloses wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time (column 11 lines 56-column 12 lines 12, column 12 lines 61-column 13 lines 27, and FIG. 1-5: the first device 100 transmits a request for the second sensor data to the second device 150. In one or more embodiments, the request may indicate one or more sensors or type of sensors from which sensor data should be obtained on the second device 150. Further, the request may include a timestamp at which the indication was detected, and/or may indicate a time or time window for which the sensor data should be obtained) from a time when a user’s touch is detected (Nepveu: column 2 lines 30-45, column 12 lines 61-column 13 lines 12 and FIG. 1-5: the request may indicate one or more sensors or type of sensors from which sensor data should be obtained on the second device 150. Further, the request may include a timestamp at which the indication was detected, and/or may indicate a time or time window for which the sensor data should be obtained) and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor (Nepveu: column 7 lines 50-column 8 lines 27, and FIG. 1-5: As described above, the time at which the scene should be captured may be at the time at which the indication is detected, or may be a time before or after the indication is detected. Moreover, the time at which the scene should be captured may include a time window).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, and Chen to include wherein the time stamp information includes a time after a predetermined time from a time when a user’s touch is detected and a time when the first pulse wave signal begins to be obtained through the first pulse sensor, as suggested by Nepveu. The motivation for this is to obtain a predetermined time period of sensing data from a plurality of sensing devices across a network.
As to claim 20, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 19 further comprising the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 19, wherein the authenticating of the user comprises, based on a peak value of the cross-correlation signal being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticating the user (Jeon: [0065]-[0068], [0113], [0179], [0183], FIG. 9, and FIG. 11: if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are the same person, a correlation of 0.8 or more and 0.95 or less may be calculated when a simple correlation versus analysis is performed. On the other hand, if the user of the electronic device 100 and the wearer of the first wearable device 200 are different people, the correlation may be calculated to be less than 0.7 when the simple correlation versus analysis is performed).
Claims 6-7, 10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon – WO 2019/208923 A1) in view of Genicot et al. (Genicot – US 2020/0359922 A1), Chen et al. (Chen – US 2019/0332757 A1) and Nepveu et al. (Nepveu – US 11,496,723 B1) and further in view of Hong et al. (Hong – US 9,223,956 B2).
As to claim 6, Jeon, Genicot, Chen and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying whether the user is in a sleeping state; and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated.
However, it has been known in the art of user authentication to implement identifying whether the user is in a sleeping state; and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, a suggested by Hong, which discloses identifying whether the user is in a sleeping state (Hong: column 2 lines 49-column 3 lines 20, column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: the first mobile terminal 100 may analyze a biometric signal received from the second mobile terminal 300 to determine a wearer's status, for example, whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. In addition, the first mobile terminal 100 may control the processing of an information input for a user interface corresponding to the presented authentication method to be varied according to the determined wearer's current status. For example, when the determined wearer's current status is recognized to be sleeping, or in a coercive, intimidated, stress state, the information input is regarded to be carried out contrary to the user's intention, it may be implemented not to actually perform an authentication process for the information input or present another authentication method); and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated (Hong: column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: even when confirmed that the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100 as a result of the wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 may receive and analyze a wearer's biometric signal from the second mobile terminal 300 to control processing of an information input for the presented authentication method to be varied according to whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. For example, when determined that the wearer is in a threatening, intimidating or sleeping state according to the analysis of the wearer's biometric signal, it may be possible to perform a process for disallowing authentication processing to be carried out in actuality even if there is an information input matched to previously registered user information).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hong, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include identifying whether the user is in a sleeping state; and based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, as suggested by Hong. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating whether the same user having a first and second mobile terminal devices based on a condition of a user.
As to claim 7, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a heart rate of the user (Jeon: [0030], [0034], [0057]-[0058], [0070], [0094]-[0099], [0101], [0105], [0117]-[0127], and FIG. 8: the heart rates HR of the electronic device 100 and the first wearable device 200 may change from a first heart rate HR1, which is the lowest heart rate, to a second heart rate HR2, in the first section R1, which is a section from a first time point D1 to a second time point D2. The heart rates HR of the electronic device 100 and the first wearable device 200 may change by a first amount of charge ΔHR1, which is the difference between the first heart rate HR1 and the second heart rate HR2, during the first section R1. The heart rates HR of the electronic device 100 and the first wearable device 200 may change from the second heart rate HR2 to a third heart rate HR3, which is the highest heart rate, in a second section R2, which is a section from the second time point D2 to a third time point D3, and then may change from the third heart rate HR3 to the first heart rate HR1); except for the claimed limitations of
based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value, performing a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus;
identifying whether the user is conscious based on the face scan; and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated.
However, it has been known in the art of user authentication to implement based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value, performing a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus;
identifying whether the user is conscious based on the face scan; and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, as suggested by Hong, which discloses based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value (Hong: column 22 lines 28-42, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 17-31, and FIG. 1), performing a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus (Hong: column 22 lines 28-42, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 17-31, and FIG. 1: when a wearer's stress index corresponding to a change of biometric signal is around a threshold value, a camera 321 provided in the second mobile terminal 300 may be activated to collect a wearer's facial data such as facial expression, eye blink, smile, frown, squinting, eyebrow movement, head motion, and the like, for example. The collected facial data may be transmitted to the controller 180 of the first mobile terminal 100 and used to determine a wearer's psychological state);
identifying whether the user is conscious based on the face scan (Hong: column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: even when confirmed that the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100 as a result of the wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 may receive and analyze a wearer's biometric signal from the second mobile terminal 300 to control processing of an information input for the presented authentication method to be varied according to whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. For example, when determined that the wearer is in a threatening, intimidating or sleeping state according to the analysis of the wearer's biometric signal, it may be possible to perform a process for disallowing authentication processing to be carried out in actuality even if there is an information input matched to previously registered user information); and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated (Hong: column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: even when confirmed that the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100 as a result of the wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 may receive and analyze a wearer's biometric signal from the second mobile terminal 300 to control processing of an information input for the presented authentication method to be varied according to whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. For example, when determined that the wearer is in a threatening, intimidating or sleeping state according to the analysis of the wearer's biometric signal, it may be possible to perform a process for disallowing authentication processing to be carried out in actuality even if there is an information input matched to previously registered user information).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hong, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value, performing a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus;
identifying whether the user is conscious based on the face scan; and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, as suggested by Hong. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating whether the same user having a first and second mobile terminal devices based on a condition of a user.
As to claim 10, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a user by comparing the first pulse wave signal or the second pulse wave signal with a third pulse wave signal stored in the electronic apparatus.
However, it has been known in the art of user authentication to implement identifying a user by comparing the first pulse wave signal or the second pulse wave signal with a third pulse wave signal stored in the electronic apparatus, a suggested by Hong, which discloses identifying a user by comparing the first pulse wave signal or the second pulse wave signal with a third pulse wave signal stored in the electronic apparatus (Hong: column 20 lines 45 – column 21 lines 3, column 21 lines 30-44, column 24 lines 30-44, column 34 lines 16-33, and FIG. 3: as a result of the execution of wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 compare the received biometric signal with a biometric signal contained in the previously registered user information to determine whether or not the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hong, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen , and Nepveu, to include identifying a user by comparing the first pulse wave signal or the second pulse wave signal with a third pulse wave signal stored in the electronic apparatus, as suggested by Hong. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating whether the same user having a first and second mobile terminal devices.
As to claim 16, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 11 except for the claimed limitations of the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
identify whether the user is in a sleeping state, and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintain a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated.
However, it has been known in the art of user authentication to implement wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
identify whether the user is in a sleeping state, and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintain a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, a suggested by Hong, which discloses
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
identifying whether the user is in a sleeping state (column 2 lines 49-column 3 lines 20, column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: the first mobile terminal 100 may analyze a biometric signal received from the second mobile terminal 300 to determine a wearer's status, for example, whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. In addition, the first mobile terminal 100 may control the processing of an information input for a user interface corresponding to the presented authentication method to be varied according to the determined wearer's current status. For example, when the determined wearer's current status is recognized to be sleeping, or in a coercive, intimidated, stress state, the information input is regarded to be carried out contrary to the user's intention, it may be implemented not to actually perform an authentication process for the information input or present another authentication method); and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated (Hong: column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: even when confirmed that the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100 as a result of the wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 may receive and analyze a wearer's biometric signal from the second mobile terminal 300 to control processing of an information input for the presented authentication method to be varied according to whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. For example, when determined that the wearer is in a threatening, intimidating or sleeping state according to the analysis of the wearer's biometric signal, it may be possible to perform a process for disallowing authentication processing to be carried out in actuality even if there is an information input matched to previously registered user information).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hong, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
identify whether the user is in a sleeping state, and
based on identifying that the user is in a sleeping state, maintain a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, as suggested by Hong. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating whether the same user having a first and second mobile terminal devices based on a condition of a user.
As to claim 17, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 11 further comprising the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
identify a heart rate of the user (Jeon: [0030], [0034], [0057]-[0058], [0070], [0094]-[0099], [0101], [0105], [0117]-[0127], and FIG. 8: the heart rates HR of the electronic device 100 and the first wearable device 200 may change from a first heart rate HR1, which is the lowest heart rate, to a second heart rate HR2, in the first section R1, which is a section from a first time point D1 to a second time point D2. The heart rates HR of the electronic device 100 and the first wearable device 200 may change by a first amount of charge ΔHR1, which is the difference between the first heart rate HR1 and the second heart rate HR2, during the first section R1. The heart rates HR of the electronic device 100 and the first wearable device 200 may change from the second heart rate HR2 to a third heart rate HR3, which is the highest heart rate, in a second section R2, which is a section from the second time point D2 to a third time point D3, and then may change from the third heart rate HR3 to the first heart rate HR1) except for the claimed limitations of
based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value, perform a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus,
identify whether the user is conscious based on the face scan, and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintain a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated.
However, it has been known in the art of user authentication to implement based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value, perform a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus,
identify whether the user is conscious based on the face scan, and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintain a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, as suggested by Hong, which discloses based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value (Hong: column 22 lines 28-42, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 17-31, and FIG. 1), performing a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus (Hong: column 22 lines 28-42, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 17-31, and FIG. 1: when a wearer's stress index corresponding to a change of biometric signal is around a threshold value, a camera 321 provided in the second mobile terminal 300 may be activated to collect a wearer's facial data such as facial expression, eye blink, smile, frown, squinting, eyebrow movement, head motion, and the like, for example. The collected facial data may be transmitted to the controller 180 of the first mobile terminal 100 and used to determine a wearer's psychological state);
identifying whether the user is conscious based on the face scan (Hong: column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: even when confirmed that the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100 as a result of the wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 may receive and analyze a wearer's biometric signal from the second mobile terminal 300 to control processing of an information input for the presented authentication method to be varied according to whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. For example, when determined that the wearer is in a threatening, intimidating or sleeping state according to the analysis of the wearer's biometric signal, it may be possible to perform a process for disallowing authentication processing to be carried out in actuality even if there is an information input matched to previously registered user information); and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintaining a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated (Hong: column 4 lines 20-32, column 21 lines 30-44, column 25 lines 52-column 26 lines 16, column 28 lines 32-53, column 29 lines 11-47, column 30 lines 1-63, and FIG. 3: even when confirmed that the wearer of the second mobile terminal 300 is the user himself or herself of the first mobile terminal 100 as a result of the wearer authentication, the first mobile terminal 100 may receive and analyze a wearer's biometric signal from the second mobile terminal 300 to control processing of an information input for the presented authentication method to be varied according to whether the wearer is awake or not and his or her psychological state. For example, when determined that the wearer is in a threatening, intimidating or sleeping state according to the analysis of the wearer's biometric signal, it may be possible to perform a process for disallowing authentication processing to be carried out in actuality even if there is an information input matched to previously registered user information).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hong, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include based on identifying that the heart rate of the user is equal to or less than a third threshold value or equal to or greater than a fourth threshold value, perform a face scan of the user using a camera of the electronic apparatus,
identify whether the user is conscious based on the face scan, and
based on identifying that the user is unconscious, maintain a locked state of the electronic apparatus regardless of whether the user is authenticated, as suggested by Hong. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for authenticating whether the same user having a first and second mobile terminal devices based on a condition of a user.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon – WO 2019/208923 A1) in view of Genicot et al. (Genicot – US 2020/0359922 A1), Chen et al. (Chen – US 2019/0332757 A1) and Nepveu et al. (Nepveu – US 11,496,723 B1) and further in view of Hirabayashi et al. (Hirabayashi – US 2017/0116402 A1).
As to claim 8, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu discloses the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state, switching the electronic apparatus to a locked state.
However, it has been known in the art of controlling operations of an electronic device to implement based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state, switching the electronic apparatus to a locked state, as suggested by Hirabayashi, which discloses based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state (Hirabayashi: Abstract, [0043], [0052], and FIG. 4: The user authentication unit 1011 determines whether or not the user is an authorized user by comparing the static biometric information acquired through the static biometric information acquisition unit 1110 when the handheld device 1 is used with the static biometric information 1031. When the user is authenticated to be the authorized user, the lock control unit 1013 is controlled such that the handheld device 1 is unlocked), switching the electronic apparatus to a locked state (Hirabayashi: Abstract, [0043]-[0046], [0052], [0061]-[0064], and FIG. 4: When the state of the user is determined to be the sleep state, the handheld device 1 is locked (S410), and the process ends (the permission level 0). For example, when the user is asleep in a station, a park, or the like, although another person causes the handheld device 1 to touch the finger of the user and perform the fingerprint authentication, if the heart rate, the blood pressure, and the body temperature are equal to or less than the lower limit values in the normal state, the state of the user is determined to be the sleep state, and thus the handheld device 1 can be locked).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hirabayashi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state, switching the electronic apparatus to a locked state, as suggested by Hirabayashi. The motivation for this is to control operations of terminal devices based on a condition of a user.
As to claim 18, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu discloses the limitations of claim 11 except for the claimed limitations of the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state, switch the electronic apparatus to a locked state.
However, it has been known in the art of controlling operations of an electronic device to implement wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state, switch the electronic apparatus to a locked state, as suggested by Hirabayashi, which discloses
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state (Hirabayashi: Abstract, [0043], [0052], and FIG. 4: The user authentication unit 1011 determines whether or not the user is an authorized user by comparing the static biometric information acquired through the static biometric information acquisition unit 1110 when the handheld device 1 is used with the static biometric information 1031. When the user is authenticated to be the authorized user, the lock control unit 1013 is controlled such that the handheld device 1 is unlocked), switch the electronic apparatus to a locked state (Hirabayashi: Abstract, [0043]-[0046], [0052], [0061]-[0064], and FIG. 4: When the state of the user is determined to be the sleep state, the handheld device 1 is locked (S410), and the process ends (the permission level 0). For example, when the user is asleep in a station, a park, or the like, although another person causes the handheld device 1 to touch the finger of the user and perform the fingerprint authentication, if the heart rate, the blood pressure, and the body temperature are equal to or less than the lower limit values in the normal state, the state of the user is determined to be the sleep state, and thus the handheld device 1 can be locked).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Hirabayashi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic apparatus to:
based on user authentication being failed while the electronic apparatus is in an unlocked state, switch the electronic apparatus to a locked state, as suggested by Hirabayashi. The motivation for this is to control operations of terminal devices based on a condition of a user.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon – WO 2019/208923 A1) in view of Genicot et al. (Genicot – US 2020/0359922 A1), Chen et al. (Chen – US 2019/0332757 A1), and Nepveu et al. (Nepveu – US 11,496,723 B1) and further in view of Gong et al. (Gong – US 2021/0319782 A1).
As to claim 9, Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining fingerprint information of the user through a fingerprint sensor included in the electronic apparatus (Jeon: [0033], [0151], [0187], [0209], and FIG. 15 the fingerprint sensor module 1576: In some embodiments, at least one (e.g., the display device 1560 or the camera module 1580) of the components may be omitted from the electronic device 1501, or one or more other components may be added in the electronic device 1501. In some embodiments, some of the components may be implemented as single integrated circuitry. For example, the sensor module 1576 (e.g., a fingerprint sensor, an iris sensor, or an illuminance sensor) may be implemented as embedded in the display device 1560 (e.g., a display) ), except for the claimed limitations of
wherein the authenticating the user comprises, based on the fingerprint information matching fingerprint information stored in the electronic apparatus and a peak value being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticating the user.
However, it has been known in the art of controlling operations of an electronic device to implement wherein the authenticating the user comprises, based on the fingerprint information matching fingerprint information stored in the electronic apparatus and a peak value being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticating the user, as suggested by Gong, which discloses wherein the authenticating the user comprises, based on the fingerprint information matching fingerprint information stored in the electronic apparatus (Gong: [0156]-[0159]m [0213]-[0216], [0223], and FIG. 7: If it is detected that the user taps the Bluetooth headset 1 on the management interface 601, as shown in FIG. 7, the mobile phone may display a management interface 701 of the Bluetooth headset 1. On the management interface 701, the user may add one or more fingerprints as a fingerprint of the Bluetooth headset 1. The fingerprint may be entered by the user by using a fingerprint sensor on the mobile phone, or by using a fingerprint sensor on the Bluetooth headset 1. The fingerprint entered by the user may be stored in the mobile phone, or may be stored in the Bluetooth headset 1.) and a peak value being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticating the user (Gong: [0156]-[0159], [0213]-[0216], [0223], [0245], [0258], FIG. 7 and FIG. 9-10: For example, the mobile phone may compare the fingerprint pattern in the target image with one or more pre-stored authorized fingerprints. When a degree of overlapping between the fingerprint pattern in the target image and a specific authorized fingerprint is greater than a threshold, it indicates that the user wearing the Bluetooth headset in this case is an authorized user, in other words, the authentication on the user identity succeeds).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Jeon, Genicot, Chen, Nepveu, and Gong, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to implement in the authentication system of Jeon, Genicot, Chen, and Nepveu to include wherein the authenticating the user comprises, based on the fingerprint information matching fingerprint information stored in the electronic apparatus and a peak value being equal to or greater than a first threshold value, authenticating the user, as suggested by Gong. The motivation for this is to control operations of terminal devices based on a result of fingerprint authentication of a user.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Hinastu, US 12,511,359 B2, discloses authentication device, authentication method, and computer readable medium using biological signals to authenticate.
Clifton-Climas et al., US 2021/0290081 A1, discloses monitoring system comprising a plurality of portable devices and a control unit.
Ban et al., US 2021/0274454 A1, discloses method and device for measuring amount of user physical activity.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685