DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2025/0337036 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 June 2025 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers and letters identifying the views are underlined. Numbers and letters identifying the views must be simple and clear and must not be used in association with brackets, circles, or inverted commas. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters (e.g., 432) of FIG. 4 intermingle with each other and/or lines. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 1–7 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
FIGS. 4 and 7 use shading that reduces legibility or solid black shading that is not used to represent bar graphs or color. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color. See 37 CFR 1.84 (m).
FIG. 4 includes a lead line without a corresponding reference character. Lead lines are required for each reference character except for those which indicate the surface or cross section on which they are placed. They must originate in the immediate proximity of the reference character and extend to the feature indicated. Lead lines must be executed in the same way as lines in the drawing. See 37 CFR 1.84 (q).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY PACK INCLUDING COOLING PLATE BELOW BATTERY CELLS AND COOLING FLUID CHANNELS BETWEEN ROWS OF BATTERY CELLS FOR CORNER COOLING AND HEATING.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 216 is referred to as a left side face in paragraph [0049]. Reference character 208 is used to designate a left side face; and reference character 216 is used to designate a front side face. Reference character 208 should be used to designate a left side face in paragraph [0049].
The use of the terms JAVA, JAVASCRIPT, FLASH, VISUAL BASIC, and PYTON (e.g., [0084]), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms are not accompanied by the generic terminology The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the direction of the linear space" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2–12 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–12 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the battery pack of claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the cool air" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the cool air." The term "cool" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "cool" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "the cool air" is indefinite.
Claim 15 is directly dependent from claim 14 and includes all the limitations of claim 14. Therefore, claim 15 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "cool refrigerant." The term "cool" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "cool" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "cool refrigerant" is indefinite.
Claim 17 is directly dependent from claim 16 and includes all the limitations of claim 16. Therefore, claim 17 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the battery pack of claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is directly dependent from claim 18 and includes all the limitations of claim 18. Therefore, claim 19 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the direction of the linear space" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (US 2024/0363919 A1, hereinafter Jin).
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses a battery pack (10, [0019]) comprising:
prismatic battery cells (12) arranged in two linear rows (FIG. 1, [0019]);
a cooling plate (32) disposed vertically below the battery cells (12, [0021]);
a thermal interface material (42) disposed between the battery cells (12) and the cooling plate (32, [0022]);
a thermal insulation material (34, [0020]) disposed at vertical bottoms of a linear space between the two linear rows of battery cells (12, FIG. 3);
a first cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive a cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the first cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 6, [0026]), and
the first cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]); and
a second cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive the cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the second cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space and parallel to the first cooling fluid channel (60, [0026]), and
the second cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first and second cooling fluid channels (60) have a triangular cross-section (FIG. 9, [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the first and second cooling fluid channels (60) have a cross-sectional shape of a triangular frustum (FIG. 6, [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack further comprising:
a second thermal insulation material (28, [0020]) that extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 3, [0021]),
the second thermal insulation material (28) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0020]), and
the second thermal insulation material (28) is disposed between the first and second cooling fluid channels (60, [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the second thermal insulation material (28) has a triangular cross-section (FIG. 9, [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the second thermal insulation material (28) has a cross-sectional shape of a triangular frustum (FIG. 6, [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack further comprising:
second thermal interface material (62) disposed directly between the first cooling fluid channel (60) and first faces of the battery cells (12) of a first one of the two linear rows (FIG. 6, [0026]); and
third thermal interface material (62) disposed directly between the second cooling fluid channel (60) and second faces of the battery cells (12) of a second one of the two linear rows (FIG. 6, [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the battery cells (12) are rectangular prismatic battery cells (12, [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Jin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the cooling fluid includes one of water and a refrigerant (see dielectric fluid, [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Jin discloses a vehicle (FIG. 1, [0019]) including a battery pack (10), wherein the battery pack (10) comprises:
prismatic battery cells (12) arranged in two linear rows (FIG. 1, [0019]);
a cooling plate (32) disposed vertically below the battery cells (12, [0021]);
a thermal interface material (42) disposed between the battery cells (12) and the cooling plate (32, [0022]);
a thermal insulation material (34, [0020]) disposed at vertical bottoms of a linear space between the two linear rows of battery cells (12, FIG. 3);
a first cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive a cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the first cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 6, [0026]), and
the first cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]); and
a second cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive the cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the second cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space and parallel to the first cooling fluid channel (60, [0026]), and
the second cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, Jin discloses a battery pack (10, [0019]) comprising:
prismatic battery cells (12) arranged in two linear rows (FIG. 1, [0019]);
a cooling plate (32) disposed vertically below the battery cells (12, [0021]);
a thermal interface material (42) disposed between the battery cells (12) and the cooling plate (32, [0022]);
a thermal insulation material (34, [0020]) disposed at vertical bottoms of a linear space between the two linear rows of battery cells (12, FIG. 3);
a first cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive a cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the first cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 6, [0026]), and
the first cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]); and
a second cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive the cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the second cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space and parallel to the first cooling fluid channel (60, [0026]), and
the second cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]); and
a second thermal insulation material (28, [0020]) that extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 3, [0021]),
the second thermal insulation material (28) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0020]), and
the second thermal insulation material (28) is disposed between the first and second cooling fluid channels (60, [0026]).
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2023/0291026 A1, hereinafter Yoo).
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses a battery pack (10, [0068]) comprising:
prismatic battery cells (2100) arranged in two linear rows (FIG. 2, [0086]);
a cooling plate (710) disposed vertically below the battery cells (2100, [0069]);
a thermal interface material (740) disposed between the battery cells (2100) and the cooling plate (710, [0072]);
a thermal insulation material (2210) disposed at vertical bottoms of a linear space between the two linear rows of battery cells (2100, [0123]);
a first cooling fluid channel (723) that is configured to receive a cooling fluid (FIG. 2, [0077]),
the first cooling fluid channel (723) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 2, [0077]), and
the first cooling fluid channel (723) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (2210, [0123]); and
a second cooling fluid channel (722) that is configured to receive the cooling fluid (FIG. 2, [0240]),
the second cooling fluid channel (722) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space and parallel to the first cooling fluid channel (723, [0240]), and
the second cooling fluid channel (723) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (2210, [0123]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack further comprising:
a second thermal insulation material (320) that extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 3, [0091]),
the second thermal insulation material (320) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (FIG. 3, [0091]), and
the second thermal insulation material (320) is disposed between the first and second cooling fluid channels (722, 723, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the second thermal insulation material (320) includes mica (see heat insulating member, [0233]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the thermal insulation material (2210)includes aerogel (see second heat insulating member, [0124]).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the cooling fluid is air (FIG. 2, [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (US 2024/0363919 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0415593 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 14–19, Jin discloses a cooling system comprising a battery pack (10, [0019]), wherein the battery pack comprises:
prismatic battery cells (12) arranged in two linear rows (FIG. 1, [0019]);
a cooling plate (32) disposed vertically below the battery cells (12, [0021]);
a thermal interface material (42) disposed between the battery cells (12) and the cooling plate (32, [0022]);
a thermal insulation material (34, [0020]) disposed at vertical bottoms of a linear space between the two linear rows of battery cells (12, FIG. 3);
a first cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive a cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the first cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 6, [0026]), and
the first cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]); and
a second cooling fluid channel (60) that is configured to receive the cooling fluid (FIG. 6, [0026]),
the second cooling fluid channel (60) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space and parallel to the first cooling fluid channel (60, [0026]), and
the second cooling fluid channel (60) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (34, [0026]).
Jin does not explicitly disclose a cooling system comprising:
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system configured to cool air and input cool air to first and second cooling fluid channels, or
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system configured to input cool refrigerant to first and second cooling fluid channels,
a chiller configured to input a coolant to the cooling plate,
a charging station configured to charge the battery pack; and input a cooling fluid to first and second cooling fluid channels,
wherein the charging station includes an inlet connector configured to fluidly connect to an input port to the first and second cooling fluid channels; and
an outlet connector configured to fluidly connect to an output port from the first and second cooling fluid channels.
Lee discloses a cooling system (FIG. 1, [0046]) comprising a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system (140) configured to cool air and input cool air to first and second cooling fluid channels (176, [0047]), and a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system (120) configured to input cool refrigerant to first and second cooling fluid channels (176, [0047]), a chiller (125) configured to input a coolant to a cooling plate (176), a charging station (200) configured to charge a battery pack (176, [0050]); and input a cooling fluid to first and second cooling fluid channels (176, [0075]), wherein the charging station (200) includes an inlet connector (211) configured to fluidly connect to an input port (120) to the first and second cooling fluid channels (176, [0075]); and an outlet connector (212) configured to fluidly connect to an output port from the first and second cooling fluid channels (120, [0075]) to improve cooling and heating efficiencies of a vehicle (see thermal management system, [0014]). Jin and Lee are analogous because they are directed to cooling systems for battery packs used in vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the cooling system of Jin with the charging station and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems of Lee in order to improve cooling and heating efficiencies of a vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reibling (US 2024/0079685 A1) discloses a battery pack (18, [0039]) comprising prismatic battery cells (22) arranged in two linear rows (FIG. 2, [0039]); a cooling plate (52) disposed vertically below the battery cells (22, [0048]); a thermal interface material (62) disposed between the battery cells (22) and the cooling plate (52, [0053]); a thermal insulation material (60) disposed at vertical bottoms of a linear space between the two linear rows of battery cells (22, [0052]); a first cooling fluid channel (42) that is configured to receive a cooling fluid (FIG. 2, [0045]), the first cooling fluid channel (42) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space (FIG. 2, [0045]), and the first cooling fluid channel (42) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (60, [0051]); and a second cooling fluid channel (42) that is configured to receive the cooling fluid (FIG. 2, [0045]), the second cooling fluid channel (42) extends linearly in the direction of the linear space and parallel to the first cooling fluid channel (42, [0051]), and the second cooling fluid channel (42) is disposed vertically above the thermal insulation material (60, [0051]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725