DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on September 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups II and III expressly incorporate the same DMCT/reactive silane/catalyst coating composition and there is no serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because the inventions have different classifications and require a different field of search and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schuette et al (US Patent Application 2019/0240635).
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, 9, Schuette et al teaches corrosion resistant composition comprising zirconium propoxide, acetic acid and 3-glycidyloxypropyl trimethoxysilane and 0.39wt% of a dimercapto-1,3,4-thiadiazole (Paragraphs 71-74, Tables 1-2). Schuette et al further teaches zirconium isopropoxide (Claim 15). Schuette et al further teaches further corrosion inhibitors including thiadiazoles and imidazoles (Table 1).
Schuette et al teaches the limitations of the instant claims; hence, Schuette anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuette et al (US Patent Application 2019/0240635) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 9 above, and in further view of Kinlen et al (US Patent Application 2016/0145443).
Regarding claim 2, Schuette et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Schuette et al teaches the features above. However, Schuette et al fails to specifically disclose tetraethoxysilane.
In the same field of endeavor, Kinlen et al teaches a corrosion inhibiting coating material comprising a sol-gel (Abstract). Kinlen et al further teaches the metal species in sol solutions that are configured to form sol-gels include organosilanes including tetraethoxysilane and 3-glycidyoxypropyltrimethoxysilane (Paragraph 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided/substituted tetraethoxysilane in Schuette et al in view of Kinlen et al in order to form the sol-gel anti-corrosive coating. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Likewise, it is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuette et al (US Patent Application 2019/0240635) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 9 above, and in further view of Bergman et al (US Patent Application 2023/0075785).
Regarding claim 8, Schuette et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Schuette et al teaches the features above. However, Schuette et al fails to specifically disclose a first and second silane and the weight ratio.
In the same field of endeavor, Bergman et al teaches an anticorrosion composition comprising a silane, acid and metal compound such as zirconium alkoxides (Abstract, Paragraphs 13-16, 50). Bergman et al further teaches two different silanes at a ratio of from 0.1 to 0.9 (which overlaps the claimed ratio) (Paragraphs 131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first and second silane at a weight ratio as instantly claimed in Schuette et al in view of Bergman et al in order to provide a corrosion inhibiting coating composition. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Likewise, it is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 September 18, 2026