DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the second to last line of the claim, the term “ABS tone ring” should read –ABS tone ring apparatus—to be consistent with the previous claim terminology. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Publication No. 2022/0178962 to Crepas et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Crepas et disclose an anti-lock braking (ABS) tone ring apparatus (see Figure 1) for a wheel end system (see paragraphs 0018 and 0022) having all the features of the instant invention including: a body 100; a tone ring portion 120 of the body to interact with an ABS sensor (see paragraphs 0018 and 0022); a mounting portion 130 of the body configured to be clamped between components of the wheel end system (see Figure 2); and a plurality of through openings 136 of the mounting portion 130 of the body configured to receive studs of the wheel end system that extend between the components as the components clamp the mounting portion 130 of the body therebetween (see Figure 2 and paragraph 0023).
Regarding Claim 2, Crepas et al further disclose that the body is rotatable around a central axis 102; and wherein the mounting portion 130 of the body includes a flange extending radially outward to be clamped between the components of the wheel end system (note that portion 130 is a flange itself and extends outwardly from element 134 to 132 as shown in Figures 3A and 3B), the flange including the through openings 136.
Regarding Claim 3, Crepas et al further disclose that the mounting portion 130 comprises a plurality of flange portions (see Figure 2, wherein each portion defining holes 136 is readable as a flange portion) spaced apart from one another about the body; and wherein each of the flange portions have at least one of the through openings 136 formed therein (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Crepas et al further disclose that the body includes a releasable connection 140 for connecting the tone ring portion 120 and the mounting portion 130, the releasable connection 140 configured to permit the tone ring portion 120 to be disconnected from the mounting portion 130 while the mounting portion 130 is clamped between the components of the wheel end system (see paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 5, Crepas et al further disclose that the body comprises a support 140 including the mounting portion 130 of the body (see Figure 2); wherein the body comprises a sensor ring (inherently part of element 120) to be connected to the support 140, the sensor ring including the tone ring portion 120 (see paragraph 0024); and wherein the support 140 is rotatable around a central axis 102, the support 140 including an axial spacer portion 134 that provides an axial spacing between the tone ring portion 120 and the mounting portion 130 when the sensor ring is connected to the support 140 (see Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 6, Crepas et al further disclose that the body comprises a support 140 including the mounting portion 130 (see Figure 2); wherein the body comprises a sensor ring (inherently part of ring portion 120) including the tone ring portion 120 (see paragraph 0024); and wherein the support 140 and the sensor ring have annular wall portions configured to form a press-fit connection between the support 140 and the sensor ring (see Figures 2, 3A, and 3B and paragraphs 0024 and 0031, wherein the inner wall of ring portion 120 is press-fit on support wall 244).
Regarding Claim 7, Crepas et al further disclose that the body has a central opening 150 to receive a vehicle spindle and an axis of rotation extending through the central opening 150 (see Figure 1); and wherein the through openings 136 are radially outward of the central opening 150 (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Crepas et al further disclose that the body is rotatable around a central axis 102 and the tone ring portion 120 and the mounting portion 130 have a spacing therebetween along the central axis 102 to receive one of the components between the tone ring portion 120 and the mounting portion 130 (see Figure 3B and the spacing between portions 132 and 122 that forms a space); wherein the body includes a spacer portion for connecting the tone ring portion 120 and the mounting portion 130 (see Figure 1 and the spacer portion defined as the portion of element 130 extending from element 134 towards element 122); and wherein the mounting portion 130 extends radially outward from the spacer portion of the body (see Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 9, Crepas et al further disclose that the spacer portion of the body is annular (see Figures 2 and 3B).
Regarding Claim 10, Crepas et al further disclose that the body is rotatable around a central axis 102; and wherein the mounting portion 130 includes a flange having a flange base portion and a flange free end portion, the flange free end portion radially outward of the flange base portion (in Figure 3B, the flange is defined as the portion between elements 132 and 134, with flange base portion being element 134 and flange free end portion being element 132, wherein flange end portion 13 is radially outwards of flange base portion 134).
Regarding Claim 11, Crepas et al further disclose that the tone ring portion 120 includes a tone ring base portion and a tone ring free end portion, the tone ring free end portion radially outward of the tone ring base portion (see Figure 2, wherein the tone ring base portion is defined radially inwards of element 226 and the tone free end portion is defined radially outwards of element 226).
Regarding Claim 12, Crepas et al further disclose that the mounting portion 130 extends radially outward of the tone ring portion 120 of the body (see Figure 2); and wherein at least a portion of each of the through openings 136 are radially outward of the tone ring portion 120 of the body (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Crepas et al further disclose that the through openings 136 are circular (see Figures 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 26-27 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Publication No. 2021/0348662 to Pileggi et al.
Regarding Claim 26, Pileggi et al disclose a method of assembling a wheel end system (see Figure 2), the method having all the features of the instant invention including: positioning studs 52 of the wheel end system in through openings 64 of a mounting portion 62 of a support (in Figure 2, the support being defined as the element containing elements 62 and 64) of anti-lock braking system (ABS) tone ring apparatus, securing the mounting portion 62 of the support between components of the wheel end system (see Figure 2), connecting a sensor ring to the support (see paragraph 0036) secured between the components of the wheel end system (see Figure 2), the sensor ring including a tone ring portion for interacting with an ABS sensor (see paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 27, Pileggi et al further disclose that the components of the wheel end system include a wheel hub body 14 and a brake rotor 12 and wherein securing the mounting portion 62 of the support between the components includes securing the support between the wheel hub body 14 and the brake rotor 12 (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 29, Pileggi et al further disclose connecting the sensor ring to the support comprises engaging a press-fit connection between the sensor ring and the support (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 30, Pileggi et al further disclose securing the support between the components of the wheel end system includes clamping the mounting portion 62 of the support between the components (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 31, Pileggi et al further disclose connecting the sensor ring to the support comprises connecting the sensor ring to the support while mounting portion 62 of the support is clamped between the components of the wheel end system (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Publication No. 2022/0178962 to Crepas et al.
Regarding Claim 13, Crepas et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the tone ring portion including a first material and the mounting portion including a second material having a lower thermal conductivity than the first material.
Crepas et al teach the tone ring being formed of a material such as a metal, known in the art to have a relatively higher thermal conductivity, and teaches providing adjacent components made of a material such as nylon, known in the art to have a relatively lower thermal conductivity (see paragraph 0052). The tone ring shield of Crepas et al provides several advantages. For example, it prevents metal to metal contact between a shaft and a tone ring during installation of an axle shaft in a vehicle axle (see paragraph 0021). The tone ring shield 110 may be made of a high impact polymeric material such as polyamide 6 (nylon) This reinforced polymer matrix may provide increased strength, stiffness, resistance to abrasion, and thermal stability to the tone ring shield 110, and further, it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various engineering design choices could have been used in order to have arrived at the tone ring portion including a first material and the mounting portion including a second material having a lower thermal conductivity than the first material.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the tone ring portion of Crepas et al to be formed of a first material and the mounting portion to formed of a second material having a lower thermal conductivity than the first material in order to provide better physical and thermal protection to the tone ring.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Publication No. 2022/0178962 to Crepas et al in view of PG Publication No. 2007/0175715 to Pahle.
Regarding Claim 14, Crepas et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the components comprising a brake rotor and a nut or a wheel hub body.
Pahle is relied upon merely for his teachings of an ABS tone ring apparatus 4 having a mounting portion 5 with through holes therein to mount elements 6 having a brake rotor 2 and a wheel hub body 1 (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the ABS tone ring apparatus of Crepas et al with a brake rotor and wheel hub body as taught by Pahle in order to provide an overall better mounting connection between the tone ring apparatus and a brake/hub assembly.
Claim(s) 16-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Publication 2007/0175715 to Pahle in view of PG Publication No. 2022/0178962 to Crepas et al.
Regarding Claim 16, Pahle discloses a wheel end system (see Figures 1 and 2) having most all the features of the instant invention including: a wheel hub 1, a brake rotor 2 to be mounted to the wheel hub 1, an anti-lock braking system (ABS) tone ring apparatus 4 comprising a portion configured to be clamped between the wheel hub 1 and the brake rotor 2 (see Figure 1), and a tone ring portion 4 positioned to be sensed by an ABS sensor with the portion clamped between the wheel hub 1 and the brake rotor 2.
However, Pahle does not disclose a separate and distinct mounting portion to be clamped between the wheel hub and the brake rotor, wherein the tone ring portion is positioned to be sensed by an ABS sensor with the mounting portion clamped between the wheel hub and the brake rotor.
Crepas et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of a wheel end system (see Figure 2) having a separate mounting portion 130 configured to be clamped between components of a wheel end system and a tone ring portion 120 positioned to be sensed by an ABS sensor with the mounting portion 130 clamped between the components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the wheel end system of Pahle to include a separate mounting portion as taught by Crepas et al in order to provide a better connection means between the tone ring and the wheel hub and rotor components.
Regarding Claim 17, Pahle, as modified, further disclose that the mounting portion 130 of the ABS tone ring apparatus includes through openings 136 to receive studs of a wheel hub (see Figure 2 of Crepas et al).
Regarding Claim 18, see Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 19, see Claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 20, see Claim 13 above and note sensor ring including the tone ring portion 120 (see Figure 2 of Crepas et al) and a support 140 including the mounting portion 130 (see Figure 2 of Crepas et al).
Regarding Claim 24, see Claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 22, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Publication 2007/0175715 to Pahle in view of PG Publication No. 2022/0178962 to Crepas et al. as applied to claims 16-20 above, and further in view of PG Publication No. 2021/0348662 to Pileggi et al.
Regarding Claim 22, Pahle, as modified, discloses most all the features of the instant invention as applied above and further including that the brake rotor 2 includes a central portion having through openings (i.e., the openings for elements 6) to receive studs of the wheel hub 1 (see Figures 1 and 2 of Pahle).
However, Pahle, as modified, do not disclose that the mounting portion and the tone ring portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus are on opposite sides of the central portion of the brake rotor with the mounting portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus clamped between the brake rotor and the wheel hub.
Pileggi et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of a wheel end system (see Figure 2) having a mounting portion 62 and a tone ring portion (see paragraph 0036) of an ABS tone ring apparatus which are on opposite sides of a central portion of a brake rotor 12 with the mounting portion 62 of the ABS tone ring apparatus clamped between the brake rotor 12 and a wheel hub 14 (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 0035 and 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the wheel end system of Pahle, as modified, so that the mounting portion and the tone ring portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus are on opposite sides of the central portion of the brake rotor with the mounting portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus clamped between the brake rotor and the wheel hub as taught by Pileggi et al as an alternate connection configuration means for the wheel end components. Aligning the mounting portion between the rotor and the wheel hub allows for a stronger connection between the moving parts to better withstand excessive braking forces imparted thereto.
Regarding Claim 23, Pahle, as modified, discloses most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the wheel hub including a wheel mounting portion; wherein the brake rotor is inboard of the wheel mounting portion with the brake rotor mounted to the wheel hub; and wherein the tone ring portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus is inboard of the brake rotor with the mounting portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus clamped between the brake rotor and the wheel hub.
Pileggi et al is relied upon merely for their teachings of a wheel end system (see Figure 2) having a wheel hub 14 including a wheel mounting portion 60; wherein the brake rotor 12 is inboard of the wheel mounting portion 60 with the brake rotor 12 mounted to the wheel hub 14; and wherein the tone ring portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus is inboard of the brake rotor (i.e., mounted within the rotor 12 as shown in Figure 2) with the mounting portion 62 of the ABS tone ring apparatus clamped between the brake rotor 12 and the wheel hub 14 (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the wheel end system of Pahle, as modified, so that the wheel hub includes a wheel mounting portion; wherein the brake rotor is inboard of the wheel mounting portion with the brake rotor mounted to the wheel hub; and wherein the tone ring portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus is inboard of the brake rotor with the mounting portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus clamped between the brake rotor and the wheel hub as taught by Pileggi et al as an alternate connection configuration means for the wheel end components. Aligning the components in this manner allows for a stronger connection between the moving parts to better withstand excessive braking forces imparted thereto.
Regarding Claim 25, Pahle, as modified, discloses most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, except for the wheel hub including threaded studs; and wherein the mounting portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus includes through openings to receive the threaded studs, the wheel end system further comprising: nuts configured to threadingly engage the studs of the wheel hub and urge the brake rotor and the wheel hub together.
Pileggi et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of a wheel end system (see Figure 2) with a wheel hub including threaded studs 52; and wherein the mounting portion 62 of the ABS tone ring apparatus includes through openings 64 to receive the threaded studs 52, the wheel end system further comprising: nuts 68 configured to threadingly engage the studs 52 of the wheel hub 14 and urge the brake rotor 12 and the wheel hub 14 together (see Figure 2 and paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the wheel end system of Pahle, as modified, to include the wheel hub having threaded studs; and wherein the mounting portion of the ABS tone ring apparatus includes through openings to receive the threaded studs, the wheel end system further comprising: nuts configured to threadingly engage the studs of the wheel hub and urge the brake rotor and the wheel hub together as taught by Pileggi et al . Aligning the components in this manner allows for a stronger connection between the moving parts to better withstand excessive braking forces imparted thereto.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PG Publication No. 2015/0021128 to White et al., PG Publication No. 2018/0126782 to Sinka et al., PG Publication No. 2018/0313417 to White et al., and PG Publication No. 2019/0120312 to White et al all disclose anti-lock braking system tone ring apparatus similar to applicant’s.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 06/03/26