DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 12, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 12 and 20 are independent.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding rejections directed to amended claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but respectfully found not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 20, applicant amended independent claim 1 further specify:
store the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters in the digital twin and relate the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters to representations of entities of the building provided by the digital twin;
generate an overall building score of the building using the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters stored in the digital twin.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance that Viengkham teaches a building monitoring datastore 116 storing building monitoring data and/or information derived therefrom alone, does not teach storing the generated parameters that representing entities of the building provided by the digital twin. Therefore, the combination of Viengkham and Park Y does not teach storing the generated parameters that representing entities of the building provided by the digital twin.
While the examiner agrees that Viengkham teaches a building monitoring datastore 116 storing building monitoring data and/or information derived therefrom alone, does not teach storing the generated parameters that representing entities of the building provided by the digital twin. However, the examiner respectfully submit that applicant has overlooked the fact that Park Y, as a new ground rejection, explicitly teaches storing the generated parameters that representing entities of the building provided by the digital twin (Fig. 8 [0274] [0284] the dynamic attribute of the data entity that stored to the representations of entities of the building provided by the digital twin including the generated analytic operation results based on data from data sources). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The teachings of VIENGKHAM, Park Y, Park, Granger and Dillon as disclosed in the previous office action are hereby incorporated by references to the extent applicable to the amended claims.
Another iteration of claim analysis has been made. Referring to the corresponding sections of the claim analysis below for details.
Priority
This application is filed as CIP of abandoned prior Application No. 17354583, and claims domestic benefit of prior application 63113019, foreign priority of IN 202021035549 and IN 202121004000.
The disclosures of prior-filed application 63113019 and IN 202021035549 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application: claims 1-20.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application 63113019 and IN 202021035549
The filed claims 1-20 are entitled ONLY to priority date of the filing date of the IN 202121004000: 01/29/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIENGKHAM US 20210225529 A1 in view of Park Y US 20190158309 A11.
Regarding claim 1, VIENGKHAM teaches a building system of a building comprising one or more storage devices storing instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors (Figs. 1-2 [0099] [0115] monitored building environment processing system 102) to:
receive building data from one or more building systems of the building (Fig. 1 [0100] building data received form corresponding monitored building environment with different equipment and infrastructures);
store the building data (Fig. 1 [0103] building monitoring data is stored in building monitoring datastore 16);
generate, using the building data, one or more space parameters that indicate health levels of spaces of the building (Fig. 3 [0027] [0028] [0129] the process and assets metric and corresponding building operations score representing the efficiency of processes and maintenance, health, efficiency and life of the monitored building environment and infrastructure of the monitored building environment), one or more planet health parameters relating to an effect of the building on environmental pollution (Fig. 3 [0030] [0129] the environment metric and corresponding building operation score representing consumption metric and emission metric), and one or more people parameters relating to at least one of a physical health or a mental health of occupants of the building (Fig. 3 [0026] [0129] the people metric and corresponding building operations score represent the wellness, happiness and productivity of occupants within the monitored building environment);
generate an overall building score of the building using the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters (Fig. 3 [0128] [0129] [0135] the overall building operation score 308 is based on the score sets of building operation metric set 306 based on stored building data); and
control the one or more building systems of the building using at least one of the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, or the one or more people parameters to cause the overall building score to improve ([0136] [0137] determining changes to the operations that one or more building sub-metric could be improved to have the largest impact on improving the overall building operational score, providing the change action and perform corresponding actions to improve).
VIENGKHAM does not explicitly further teach:
the building data is stored in a digital twin, the digital twin comprising a contextual representation of the building comprising a plurality of nodes interconnected by a plurality of edges;
store the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters in the digital twin and relate the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters to representations of entities of the building provided by the digital twin.
Park Y explicitly teaches in an analogous art that
the building data is stored in a digital twin, the digital twin comprising a contextual representation of the building comprising a plurality of nodes interconnected by a plurality of edges (Fig. 13 [0328] – [0329] [0331] building data is stored in digital twin of a building comprising nodes and edges as a contextual representation of the building);
store the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters in the digital twin and relate the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters to representations of entities of the building provided by the digital twin (Fig. 8 [0274] [0284] the dynamic attribute of the data entity that stored to the representations of entities of the building provided by the digital twin including the generated analytic operation results based on data from data sources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified VIENGKHAM to incorporate the teachings of Park Y, because they all directed to building management, to make the system wherein the building data is stored in a digital twin, the digital twin comprising a contextual representation of the building comprising a plurality of nodes interconnected by a plurality of edges; store the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters in the digital twin and relate the one or more space parameters, the one or more planet health parameters, and the one or more people parameters to representations of entities of the building provided by the digital twin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to use the space graph as a data contextualization layer for all traditional and/or artificial intelligence applications, as Park Y teaches in [0331].
Regarding claim 7, VIENGKHAM further teaches:
determine, based on the building data, one or more space health scores for the one or more space parameters of the building (Fig. 3 [0027] [0028] [0129] the process and assets metric and corresponding building operations score representing the efficiency of processes and maintenance, the health, efficiency and life of the monitored building environment and infrastructure of the monitored building environment);
determine, based on the building data, one or more planet health scores for the one or more planet health parameters of the building (Fig. 3 [0030] [0129] the environment metric and corresponding building operation score representing consumption metric and emission metric); and
determine, based on the building data, one or more people health scores for the one or more people parameters of the building (Fig. 3 [0026] [0129] the people metric and corresponding building operations score represent the wellness, happiness and productivity of occupants within the monitored building environment).
Regarding claim 8, VIENGKHAM further teaches:
generate the overall building score of the building based on the one or more space health scores, the one or more planet health scores, and the one or more people health scores (Figs. 3 [0128] [0129] [0135] the overall building operation score 308 is based on the score sets of building operation metric set 306); and
cause the one or more processors to generate a user interface including an overall building score element comprising an indication of the overall building score ([0010] [0111] user interface dash board including overall building operation scores, building operations score set and benchmark operational score set, which including the environment metric and scores).
Regarding claim 9, VIENGKHAM further teaches one or more space health score elements comprising one or more indications of the one or more space health scores ([0010] [0111] user interface dash board including overall building operation scores, building operations score set and benchmark operational score set, which including the process and asset metric and scores), indications of alerts associated with the one or more space health scores (Fig. 15 [0098] [0226] notification action including information indication a building operations score is likely caused by a problem that requires addressing is presented to user interface dashboard), and indications of one or more recommendations to perform actions to improve the one or more space health scores ([0136] notification action recommendation is presented to a user via a user interface to improve the operation score at all levels).
Regarding claim 10, VIENGKHAM further teaches one or more planet health score elements comprising one or more indications of the one or more planet health scores ([0010] [0111] user interface dash board including overall building operation scores, building operations score set and benchmark operational score set, which including the environment metric and scores), indications of alerts associated with the one or more planet health scores (Fig. 15 [0098] [0226] notification action including information indication a building operations score is likely caused by a problem that requires addressing is presented to user interface dashboard), and indications of one or more recommendations to perform actions to improve the one or more planet health scores ([0136] notification action recommendation is presented to a user via a user interface to improve the operation score at all levels).
Regarding claim 11, VIENGKHAM further teaches one or more people health score elements comprising one or more indications of the one or more people health scores ([0010] [0111] user interface dash board including overall building operation scores, building operations score set and benchmark operational score set, which including the people metric and scores), indications of alerts associated with the one or more people health scores (Fig. 15 [0098] [0226] notification action including information indication a building operations score is likely caused by a problem that requires addressing is presented to user interface dashboard), and indications of one or more recommendations to perform actions to improve the one or more people health scores ([0136] notification action recommendation is presented to a user via a user interface to improve the operation score at all levels).
Regarding claims 12 and 15-19, they are directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 7-11, respectively. Since VIENGKHAM and Park teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claims 2, 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIENGKHAM in view of Park Y as applied to claims 1, 7-12 and 15-20 above, further in view of Granger US 20200200416 A12.
Regarding claim 2, VIENGKHAM further teaches the effect of the building on the environmental pollution is based on operations performed by the one or more building systems ([0277] caron emission equivalence from energy consumption, garbage sent to landfill and water waste).
Neither VIENGKHAM nor Park Y explicitly further teaches the physical or mental health of the occupants of the building is caused by the operations of the one or more building systems.
Granger explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the physical or mental health of the occupants of the building is caused by the operations of the one or more building systems ([0053] [0056] – [0058] [0083] assessing the health of the occupants of the built environment through a physical assessment i.e. “physical heath” and a psychological assessment i.e. “metal health”, the built environment can be designed to improve the user’s overall physical activity level including improving the user’s health and activity levels, wherein the problems with the user’s physical health are the result of the built environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified VIENGKHAM and Park Y to incorporate the teachings of Granger, because they all directed to building management, to make the system wherein the physical or mental health of the occupants of the building is caused by the operations of the one or more building systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to include actions aimed at impacting health and well-being, as Granger teaches in [0054].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, VIENGKHAM further teaches the one or more space parameters of the building indicating health levels of the spaces of the building include at least one of:
process health parameters indicating health of processes performed within the spaces of the building ([0027] [0028] [0129] the process and assets metric and corresponding building operations score representing the efficiency of processes and maintenance, the health, efficiency and life of the monitored building environment and infrastructure of the monitored building environment);
system health parameters indicating the health of the one or more building systems (Fig. 3 assets metric including equipment health and infrastructure utilization).
Granger further teaches safety and security health parameters indicating health of safety and security systems of the one or more building systems ([0219] indicators related to smoking ban, health entrance, toxic material reduction measures, ventilation control capabilities, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified VIENGKHAM and Park Y to incorporate the teachings of Granger, because they all directed to building management, to make the system/method wherein safety and security health parameters indicating health of safety and security systems of the one or more building systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to include actions aimed at impacting health and well-being, as well as comfort and satisfaction outcomes in the built environment, as Granger teaches in [0054].
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIENGKHAM in view of Park Y and Granger as applied to claims 2, 4 and 14 above, further in view of Park US 20190094827 A1 3.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Granger further teaches:
an update to an operating setting of the one or more building systems controlling an environmental condition of the building ([0029] [0032] determining sensor measurements fall out of the target parameter, adjusting the lighting, temperature, and air quality); and
an update to add a new system or service to the one or more building systems ([0066] adding amenity);
The combination of VIENGKHAM, Park Y and Granger does not explicitly further teach a work order to perform maintenance on the one or more building systems.
Park explicitly teaches in an analogous art that a work order to perform maintenance on the one or more building systems ([0166] work order to request service on an equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified VIENGKHAM, Park Y and Granger to incorporate the teachings of Park and Granger, because they all directed to building management, to make the system/method wherein an update to an operating setting of the one or more building systems controlling an environmental condition of the building; a work order to perform maintenance on the one or more building systems; and an update to add a new system or service to the one or more building systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to include actions aimed at impacting health and well-being, as well as comfort and satisfaction outcomes in the built environment, as Granger teaches in [0054], and to identify the equipment requiring service, as Park teaches in [0166].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VIENGKHAM in view of Park Y as applied to claims 1, 7-12 and 15-20 above, further in view of Dillon US 20210310070 A14.
Regarding claim 5, neither VIENGKHAM nor Park Y explicitly further teaches:
determine occupancy levels of a plurality of spaces of the building at a plurality of times; and
generate a user interface including at least one of:
one or more elements indicating the occupancy levels of the plurality of spaces; or
one or more elements indicating occupancy level trends based on the occupancy levels of the plurality of spaces of the building at the plurality of times.
Dillon explicitly teaches in an analogous art:
determine occupancy levels of a plurality of spaces of the building at a plurality of times ([0015] [0211] occupant density and occupied hours); and
generate a user interface including at least one of:
one or more elements indicating the occupancy levels of the plurality of spaces ([0077] the level of risk can he communicated via computer display as the output of the analysis, wherein the analysis includes [0211] valuating a number of rooms for risk, wherein the rooms are evaluated based on Occupied hours and 'Occupant diversity” [0206] teaches annual occupied hours are rated from low, medium, and high); or
one or more elements indicating occupancy level trends based on the occupancy levels of the plurality of spaces of the building at the plurality of times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified VIENGKHAM and Park Y to incorporate the teachings of Dillon, because they all directed to building management, to make the system wherein determine occupancy levels of a plurality of spaces of the building at a plurality of times; and generate a user interface including at least one of: one or more elements indicating the occupancy levels of the plurality of spaces; or one or more elements indicating occupancy level trends based on the occupancy levels of the plurality of spaces of the building at the plurality of times. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to address the high level of risk, as Dillon teaches in [0015].
Regarding claim 6, VIENGKHAM further teaches:
determine, based on the building data, at least one of indoor air quality of indoor air of the building ([0093] [0133] air quality monitoring with air pollutant maximum thresholds) or infectious disease risk indicating a risk level of occupants of the building contracting an infectious disease; and
cause the user interface to include at least one of an indication of the indoor air quality ([0093] [0133] air quality monitoring with air pollutant maximum thresholds) or the infectious disease risk ([0093] [0133] air quality monitoring with air pollutant maximum thresholds).
Conclusion
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 VIENGKHAM and Park Y is the prior arts of record
2 Granger is the prior arts of record
3 Park is the prior arts of record
4 Dillon is the prior arts of record