DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to Applicant’s response filed 04/13/2026.
Application filed: 05/14/2024
Applicant’s PgPUB: 2024/0388611
Claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are independent.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16-18 are amended.
IDS:
Previous IDS:
IDS filed 09/06/2024 has been considered.
IDS filed 09/06/2024 has been considered.
Continuity/Priority Data:
This Application claims priority to Korean Application No. KR10-2023-0062651 filed 05/15/2023.
This Application claims priority to Korean Application No. KR10-2023-0103075 filed 08/07/2023.
History:
NFOA filed on 07/01/2025
NOA filed on 01/13/2026
RCE filed on 04/13/2026 with amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0220082 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0119460 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang2”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 5939 – SDP Capability Negotiation” to Andreasen (“Andreasen”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0211628 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang3”).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses:
a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem application server (IMS AS), a registration request message including capability information for a data channel (DC) multiplexing (¶0032, ¶0033, ¶0056, ¶0057 - Zhang teaches transmission of capability requirement information or network node capability information between a UE 115 and a data channel server 120 may require use of network resources. One option for transmission of such information is during an IMS registration procedure, while a connection between the UE 115 and the data channel server 120 is being established.);
receiving, from the IMS AS, a registration response message in response to the registration request message (¶0057 – Zhang teaches The data channel server 120 may transmit an HTTP response including application information to the UE 115. The application information may include respective capability requirement information for one or more applications detailing hardware and/or software functionality required to use the respective applications or parts of the respective applications);
Zhang2 discloses what Zhang does not expressly disclose.
Zhang discloses:
transmitting, to an IMS AS, a session description protocol (SDP) offer on bootstrap DC, the SDP offer including a first bootstrap media description for a first bootstrap DC establishment (Fig. 4, ¶0052, ¶0053 – Zhang2 teaches UE may transmit, and the IMS-AS 408 may receive, an initial session description protocol (SDP) offer for a data channel that includes a data channel media description for one or more bootstrap data channels. A bootstrap data channel is a data channel that is established based at least in part on session description protocol information. The session description protocol information includes authentication information so that the bootstrap data channel can be used to distribute update data channel applications (and/or application updates) to a UE associated with the authentication information. In some aspects, the initial SDP offer for the data channel may be carried with an audio/video media description in an IMS session establishment communication. In some aspects, the initial SDP offer for the data channel may be carried in a separate invite request after an audio/video media channel is established successfully. And, the IMS-AS 408 may determine to establish a bootstrap data channel. The IMS-AS 408 may determine to establish the bootstrap data channel based at least in part on UE subscription information and/or a network operator policy.); and
receiving, from the IMS AS, a response message corresponding to the SDP offer for multiplexing the first bootstrap DC establishment between the UE and a DC media function (DCMF) (Fig. 4, ¶0054 – Zhang2 IMS-AS 408 may transmit an SDP offer response to the UE 402, indicating an acceptance of the initial SDP offer.),
Zhang and Zhang2 are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SDP and data channel establishment.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SDP offers and bootstrap channels as discussed in Zhangs with a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system as discussed in Zhang by adding the functionality of Zhang2 to the system/method of Zhang in order to improve services that facilitate communications between network nodes associated with a telecommunication network like internet protocol multimedia subsystems (IMSs) which facilitates multimedia content transmission, reception, and delivery through a network (Zhang2, ¶0003).
Andreasen discloses what Zhang and Zhang2 does not expressly disclose.
Andreasen discloses:
identifying whether the IMS AS supports the DC multiplexing (p. 32, sec. 3.6 - Offer/Answer Model Extension, p. 32-35 - sec. 3.6.1 – Generating the Initial Offer, p. 35-41, sec. 3.6.2 – Generating the Answer – Andreasen teaches the answerer MUST first ensure that it supports any required capability negotiation extensions (see p. 35), and teaches that only attribute capabilities that are known or supported are included in the answer and unknown or unsupported attributed capabilities are not included (see p. 40-41));
Zhang, Zhang2 and Andreasen are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SDP and data channel establishment.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SDP capability negotiations as discussed in claim Andreasen with SDP offers and bootstrap channels as discussed in Zhang2 with a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system as discussed in Zhang by adding the functionality of Zhang2 to the system/method of Zhang and Zhang2 in order to extend SDP with capability negotiation parameters and associated offer/answer procedures (Andreasen,p. 1, Abstract).
Zhang3 discloses what Zhang, Zhang2 and Andreasen do not expressly disclose. However, Zhang and Zhang2
Zhang3 discloses:
multiplexing of channels (¶0069 of Zhang3)
Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SDP and data channel establishment.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate multiplexing as discussed in Zhang3 with SDP capability negotiations as discussed in claim Andreasen with SDP offers and bootstrap channels as discussed in Zhang2 with a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system as discussed in Zhang by adding the functionality of Zhang3 to the system/method of Zhang, Zhang2 and Andreasen in order to demonstrate that multiplex is usable within an IMS system (Zhang3, ¶0069).
As to claim 6, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 11, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 16, similar rejection as to claim 1.
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0220082 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0119460 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang2”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 5939 – SDP Capability Negotiation” to Andreasen (“Andreasen”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0211628 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang3”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0202958 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang4”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 8864 – Negotiation Data Channels Using the Session Description Protocol (SDP)” to Drage (“Drage”).
As to claim 2, Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Zhang4 and Drage discloses what Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 do not expressly disclose.
Zhang4 and Drage discloses:
wherein the SDP offer comprises a DC stream identifier of at least one bootstrap DC and a first attribute related to DC multiplexing (¶0270 – Zhang4 teaches the SDP Offer information includes the media information (for example, an IP address and a port, a TLS ID and a certificate, and a DC stream ID) used by the UE 1 to establish the bootstrap data channel #1 and the bootstrap data channel #2.; Sections 5.2, 6 – Drage teaches use of dcsa attributes within the SDP offer/answer procedures. Section 5.2.2 – Drage teaches the multiplexing category of the "a=dcsa:" attribute is SPECIAL.);
wherein the first attribute included in the SDP offer has an attribute value indicating that the UE supports the DC multiplexing (Sections 5.2, 6 – Drage teaches use of dcsa attributes within the SDP offer/answer procedures. Section 5.2.2 – Drage teaches the multiplexing category of the "a=dcsa:" attribute is SPECIAL.).
Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3, Zhang4 and Drage are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SDP and data channel establishment.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SDP offer/answer parameters as discussed in Zhang4 and Drage with multiplexing as discussed in Zhang3 with SDP capability negotiations as discussed in claim Andreasen with SDP offers and bootstrap channels as discussed in Zhang2 with a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system as discussed in Zhang by adding the functionality of Zhang4 and Drage to the system/method of Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen and Zhang3 in order to demonstrate nable the communication parties to perform communication in addition to the voice call or the video call by using the data channel applications that can communicate with each othe (Zhang4, ¶0005) and specify how SDP offer/answer exchange is use to establish data channels (Drage, Abstrat).
As to claim 3, Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 discloses:
method of claim 1, and
Zhang4 and Drage discloses what Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 do not expressly disclose.
Zhang4 and Drage discloses:
wherein an SDP answer includes access information of a network entity and the first attribute (¶0353 – Zhang4 teaches SDP Answer information, and the IP address (i.e., access information) and/or the port information that are/is carried in the SDP Answer information and that are/is used by the UE 2 to interconnect with the application data channel with the stream ID; Sections 5.2, 6 – Drage teaches use of dcsa attributes within the SDP offer/answer procedures. Section 5.2.2 – Drage teaches the multiplexing category of the "a=dcsa:" attribute is SPECIAL.)
wherein the first attribute included in the SDP answer has an attribute value indicating that the network entity supports the DC multiplexing (Sections 5.2, 6 – Drage teaches use of dcsa attributes within the SDP offer/answer procedures. Section 5.2.2 – Drage teaches the multiplexing category of the "a=dcsa:" attribute is SPECIAL.). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 2.
As to claim 7, similar rejection as to claim 2.
As to claim 8, similar rejection as to claim 3.
As to claim 12, similar rejection as to claim 2.
As to claim 13, similar rejection as to claim 3.
As to claim 17, similar rejection as to claim 2.
As to claim 18, similar rejection as to claim 3.
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0220082 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0119460 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang2”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 5939 – SDP Capability Negotiation” to Andreasen (“Andreasen”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0211628 A1 Zhang et al. (“Zhang3”) in further view of Printed Publication, “3GPP TS 26.114 v18.2.0 – 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS); Multimedia Telephony; Media handling and interaction (Release 18) to 3GPP (“3GPP”)”.
As to claim 4, Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 discloses:
method of claim 1, and
3GPP discloses what Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 do not expressly discloses.
3GPP discloses:
wherein the UE has a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) association with another network entity than the network entity (6.2.10.2, 6.2.10.3, 6.1.10.4 – 3GPP teaches providing suitable SCTP "a=dcmap" parameters and an SCTP association as a result of session modification and an offering DCMTSI client in terminal receiving an SDP answer where the data channel SCTP association is accepted (port is not 0) may use any offered stream ID that has a corresponding "a=dcmap" line in the SDP answer).
Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 and 3GPP are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SDP and data channel establishment.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SDP bootstrap as discussed in 3GPP with multiplexing as discussed in Zhang3 with SDP capability negotiations as discussed in claim Andreasen with SDP offers and bootstrap channels as discussed in Zhang2 with a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system as discussed in Zhang by adding the functionality of 3GPP to the system/method of Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen and Zhang3 in order to establish multimedia communications between terminals with and in-between operator networks (3GPP, p. 18, Introduction).
As to claim 5, Zhang, Zhang2, Andreasen, Zhang3 and 3GPP discloses:
method of claim 4, and
3GPP discloses:
wherein, for the SCTP association, the network entity and the another network entity are connected through a datagram transport layer security (DTLS) session (p. 38, Section 6.2.1 – 3GPP teaches The session setup for data channel (SCTP over DTLS over UDP transported) media shall determine for each media: IP address(es), UDP port number(s), SCTP port number(s), DTLS server/client role(s), DTLS ID(s), DTLS certificate fingerprint(s), and ICE-related information for data channel media as described in clause 6.2.10. The session setup may also determine use of ICE Lite for data channel media and may determine additional session parameters; p. 75, Section 7.1 – 3GPP teaches Real-time interaction is using data channels over SCTP/DTLS/UDP/IP.). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 4.
As to claim 9, similar rejection as to claim 4.
As to claim 10, similar rejection as to claim 5.
As to claim 14, similar rejection as to claim 4.
As to claim 15, similar rejection as to claim 5.
As to claim 19, similar rejection as to claim 4.
As to claim 20, similar rejection as to claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Printed Publication, “RFC 8859 - A Framework for Session Description Protocol (SDP) Attributes When Multiplexing” to Nandakurmar - The purpose of this specification is to provide a framework for analyzing the multiplexing characteristics of Session Description Protocol (SDP) attributes when SDP is used to negotiate the usage of a single 5-tuple for sending and receiving media associated with multiple media descriptions.
PgPUB 2025/0365324 to Zhang et al. – This document is related to internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) and the data channel communications associated with an IMS.
PgPUB 2024/0430313 to Zhang et al. – This document is related to data channel technology based on an internet protocol multimedia system (IMS) network and how to complete a negotiation of the data channel through a service discovery protocol (SDP).
/TAYLOR A ELFERVIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445