Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response of 6/26/2026. In that response, Applicant amended claims 1, 8, 17 and added new claims 18-22.
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/663,800 filed on 5/14/2024 is presented for examination by the Examiner.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 8, 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 11, 18 of co-pending U.S. Patent Application 18/914,697 of Lee (hereinafter “Lee”).
An explanation along with the listing of claim 1of the present application and claims 1, 3 of Lee is given below.
Instant claims: 18/663,800
Patent App. No. 18/914,697
1. A laminate for radiative cooling, the laminate comprising:
a first light reflecting layer having a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for near-infrared light with a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300 nm and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light with a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780 nm; wherein
the first light reflecting layer comprises a first polymer layer and a second polymer layer that has a lower refractive index than the first polymer layer;
a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, wherein a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer are sequentially stacked in the second light reflecting layer;
and an infrared radiating layer on the second light reflecting layer.
1. A colored laminate for radiative cooling, the colored laminate comprising:
a colored layer comprising a first thermoplastic resin;
a first light reflecting layer on the colored layer and having a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for light having a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300nm and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light having a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780nm;
a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, the second light reflecting layer comprising a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer sequentially stacked on the first light reflecting layer;
an adhesive layer on the second light reflecting layer; and
an infrared-ray radiating layer on the adhesive layer.
3. The colored laminate of claim 1, wherein the first light reflecting layer comprises a stack in which first layers including a first polymer and second layers including a second polymer having a lower refractive index than a refractive index of the first layers are alternately stacked on top of each other.
Claims 1, 3 of Lee disclose all the limitations of claim 1 of the present application.
An explanation along with the listing of claim 8 of the present application and claim 11 of Lee is given below.
Instant claims: 18/663,800
Patent App. No. 18/914,697
8. A radiative cooling material comprising:
a laminate comprising:
a first light reflecting layer having a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for near-infrared light with a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300 nm and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light with a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780 nm; wherein
the first light reflecting layer comprises a first polymer layer and a second polymer layer that has a lower refractive index than the first polymer layer;
a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, wherein a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer are sequentially stacked in the second light reflecting layer;
an infrared radiating layer on the second light reflecting layer; and
an adhesive layer between the second light reflecting layer and the infrared radiating layer,
11. A radiative cooling material comprising: a colored laminate comprising:
a colored layer comprising a first thermoplastic resin;
a first light reflecting layer on the colored layer and having a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for light having a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300nm and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light having a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780nm, wherein
the first light reflecting layer comprises a stack in which first layers including a first polymer and second layers including a second polymer having a lower refractive index than a refractive index of the first layers are alternately stacked on top of each other;
a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer,
the second light reflecting layer comprising a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer sequentially stacked on the first light reflecting layer;
an adhesive layer on the second light reflecting layer; and
an infrared-ray radiating layer on the adhesive layer, the infrared-ray radiating layer comprising a second thermoplastic resin having different optical properties from optical properties of the first thermoplastic resin.
Claim 11 of Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 8 of the present application.
An explanation along with the listing of claim 17 of the present application and claim 18 of Lee is given below.
Instant claims: 18/663,800
Patent App. No. 18/914,697
17. A mobility comprising:
a radiative cooling material comprising a laminate, the laminate comprising:
a first light reflecting layer having a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for near-infrared light with a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300 nm and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light with a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780 nm;
a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, wherein a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer are sequentially stacked in the second light reflecting layer; and
an infrared radiating layer on the second light reflecting layer.
18. A mobility comprising: a mobility body; and a radiative cooling material disposed on the mobility body, the radiative cooling material comprising a colored laminate comprising: a colored layer comprising a first thermoplastic resin; a first light reflecting layer on the colored layer and having a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for light having a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300nm and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light having a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780nm;
a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, the second light reflecting layer comprising a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer sequentially stacked on the first light reflecting layer; an
adhesive layer on the second light reflecting layer; and
an infrared-ray radiating layer on the adhesive layer.
Claim 18 of Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 17 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20220130443A, hereinafter, “Lee”) in view of Watanabe et al. (US 2016/0003989, hereinafter, “Watanabe”) and Yang et al. (US 2023/0081992, hereinafter, “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (paragraphs herein refer to the English translation and figures refer to the original) a laminate 200 for radiative cooling (Fig. 2, [0001], [0065]), the laminate comprising:
a first light reflecting layer 220 having a reflectance for near-infrared light with a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300 nm and a transmittance for visible light with a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780 nm (Fig. 6, [0120], [0122]); and
an infrared radiating layer 230 (Fig. 2, [0082]).
Lee does not disclose a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for infrared light in the claimed wavelength range and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light in the claimed wavelength range.
However, Lee discloses the first light reflecting layer having transmittance in the range between 400 and 780 nm (visible) between around 70% and 50% with peaks around 80% and reflectance in the range between 780 and 1300 nm (near infrared) around 90% (Fig. 6, [0122]).
The parameters of the transmittance and the reflectivity of the incident light are result-effective variables, i.e., they are recognized to achieve a recognized result, for example, reflecting sunlight in the near infrared region and emitting radiant heat while allowing external viewing ([0001], [0006] in Lee).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for R>80% in near infrared and T>70% in visible. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee so that T and R lie within the claimed ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, T and R are art recognized result-effective variables in that they help realize the effective cooling of the interior and viewing of the exterior, as taught by Lee.
Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize T and R because they are an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process”.
Moreover, Lee does not disclose a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, wherein a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer are sequentially stacked in the second light reflecting layer.
Watanabe discloses an infrared laminate film 100 comprising a first metal oxide (aka protective) layer 21, a metal layer 25 and a second metal oxide (aka protective) layer 22 arranged in this order on a base layer 10 (Fig. 2, [0019]).
Lee and Watanabe disclose radiative cooling laminates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee so that the radiative cooling laminate of Lee includes a laminate metal oxide/metal/metal oxide laminate formed on the first light reflecting layer, as taught by Watanabe, for achieving additional heat insulating properties ([0001] in Watanabe).
Finally, Lee/Watanabe does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer comprises a first polymer layer and a second polymer layer that has a lower refractive index than the first polymer layer.
Yang discloses a reflective multilayer optical film 200 (Fig. 1, [0017]). In one embodiment, the reflective film 200 comprises a reflective stack 20 of alternating polymer films 21, 22 ([0022], [0023]). The materials of the two polymer films are different and they have different refractive indices, one lower than the other [0023]).
Both Lee and Yang disclose reflective multilayer optical films.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/ Watanabe so that the first light reflecting layer comprises a stack of alternating polymer films with unequal refractive indices, as taught by Yang, for selecting desired reflection at a specific wavelength ([0023] in Yang).
Regarding claim 4, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the laminate of claim 1.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang does not disclose wherein each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 15 to 200 nm; and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 1 to 100 nm.
However, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 80 nm and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 50 nm ([0039] in Watanabe).
Here, the claimed ranges for the thickness of the first and second metal protective layer and the metal layer overlap with the ranges disclosed by Lee/Watanabe/Yang. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the thickness of the first and second metal protective layer and the metal layer lie within the claimed ranges, for the purpose of allowing the infrared reflective layer to transmit visible rays while selectively reflecting near-infrared rays, see [0039] of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 5, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the laminate of claim 1, wherein
each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of indium-doped tin oxide, aluminum-doped zinc oxide, fluorine-doped tin oxide, titanium dioxide, neodymium oxide, and silicon dioxide ([0002] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 6, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the laminate of claim 1, wherein
the metal layer comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of silver, aluminum, gold, aluminum oxide, chromium, and copper ([0002] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 7, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the laminate of claim 1, wherein
the infrared radiating layer has an average thickness in a range from 10 to 1,000 μm (thickness being 50 μm, [0085] in Lee).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a radiative cooling material comprising:
a laminate 200 for radiative cooling (Fig. 2, [0001], [0065]), the laminate comprising:
a first light reflecting layer 220 having a reflectance for near-infrared light with a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300 nm and a transmittance for visible light with a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780 nm (Fig. 6, [0120], [0122]); and
an infrared radiating layer 230 (Fig. 2, [0082]).
Lee does not disclose a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for infrared light in the claimed wavelength range and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light in the claimed wavelength range.
However, Lee discloses the first light reflecting layer having transmittance in the range between 400 and 780 nm (visible) between around 70% and 50% with peaks around 80% and reflectance in the range between 780 and 1300 nm (near infrared) around 90% (Fig. 6, [0122]).
The parameters of the transmittance and the reflectivity of the incident light are result-effective variables, i.e., they are recognized to achieve a recognized result, for example, reflecting sunlight in the near infrared region and emitting radiant heat while allowing external viewing ([0001], [0006] in Lee).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for R>80% in near infrared and T>70% in visible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee so that T and R lie within the claimed ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, T and R are art recognized result-effective variables in that they help realize the effective cooling of the interior and viewing of the exterior, as taught by Lee.
Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize T and R because they are an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process”.
Moreover, Lee does not disclose a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, wherein a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer are sequentially stacked in the second light reflecting layer.
Watanabe discloses an infrared laminate film 100 comprising a first metal oxide (aka protective) layer 21, a metal layer 25 and a second metal oxide (aka protective) layer 22 arranged in this order on a base layer 10 (Fig. 2, [0019]).
Lee and Watanabe disclose radiative cooling laminates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee so that the radiative cooling laminate of Lee includes a laminate metal oxide/metal/metal oxide formed on the first light reflecting layer, as taught by Watanabe, for achieving additional heat insulating properties ([0001] in Watanabe).
Lee/Watanabe does not disclose an adhesive layer between the second light reflecting layer and the infrared radiating layer.
Lee/Watanabe discloses an adhesive layer between various components, such as, the infrared reflective layer and the glass where it is attached ([0058] in Watanabe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe so that the second reflecting layer is attached to the infrared radiating layer with an adhesive layer, as taught by Watanabe, for achieving durability such as weather resistance ([0058] in Watanabe).
Finally, Lee/Watanabe does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer comprises a first polymer layer and a second polymer layer that has a lower refractive index than the first polymer layer.
Yang discloses a reflective multilayer optical film 200 (Fig. 1, [0017]). In one embodiment, the reflective film 200 comprises a reflective stack 20 of alternating polymer films 21, 22 ([0022], [0023]). The materials of the two polymer films are different and they have different refractive indices, one lower than the other [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/ Watanabe so that the first light reflecting layer comprises a stack of alternating polymer films with unequal refractive indices, as taught by Yang, for selecting desired reflection at a specific wavelength ([0023] in Yang).
Regarding claim 9, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 8.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang does not disclose wherein the radiative cooling material is a radiative cooling film for a vehicle roof.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses that the infrared reflective film may be used on a window glass ([0001] in Watanabe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the radiative cooling material is attached to a window glass, for example, on a vehicle roof, as taught by Watanabe, for achieving improved heat insulating property ([0001] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 13, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 8.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang does not disclose wherein each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 15 to 200 nm; and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 1 to 100 nm.
However, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 80 nm and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 50 nm ([0039] in Watanabe).
Here, the claimed ranges for the thickness of the first and second metal protective layer and the metal layer overlap with the ranges disclosed by Lee/Watanabe/Yang. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the thickness of the first and second metal protective layer and the metal layer lie within the claimed ranges, for the purpose of allowing the infrared reflective layer to transmit visible rays while selectively reflecting near-infrared rays,, see [0039] of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 14, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 8,
wherein each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of indium-doped tin oxide, aluminum-doped zinc oxide, fluorine-doped tin oxide, titanium dioxide, neodymium oxide, and silicon dioxide ([0002] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 15, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 14, wherein
the metal layer comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of silver, aluminum, gold, aluminum oxide, chromium, and copper ([0002] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 16, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 8, wherein
the infrared radiating layer has an average thickness in a range from 10 to 1,000 μm (thickness being 50 μm, [0085] in Lee).
Claims 3, 10, 12, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Watanabe, Yang in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0011209, hereinafter, “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the laminate of claim 1.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang does not disclose wherein the second light reflecting layer has an average thickness in a range from 30 to 300 nm.
However, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 80 nm and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 50 nm ([0039] in Watanabe), thus a range would be from 9 to 210 nm.
Here, the claimed range for the thickness of the second light reflecting layer overlaps with the range disclosed by Lee/Watanabe/Yang. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the thickness of the second light reflecting layer lies within the claimed range, for the purpose of allowing the infrared reflective layer to transmit visible rays while selectively reflecting near-infrared rays,, see [0039] of Watanabe.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses that the thickness of the first layer of the first light reflecting layer may be 63, 70, 71 nm and the thickness of the second layer of the first light reflecting layer may be 174 nm ([0091] in Lee).
Nakamura discloses a laminate for radiative cooling (Abstract). In one embodiment, the laminate comprises a multi-layer infrared reflective film 5 comprising multiple alternating polymer layers of different refractive index, and having a thickness of less or equal to 120 μm and equal or greater than 80 μm (Fig. 2, [0023], [0054], [0060]).
Both Lee and Nakamura disclose radiative cooling laminates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the first light reflecting layer (comprising multiple polymer layers) has a thickness in the range of 80 to 120 μm, as taught by Nakamura, for better rigidity ([0054] in Nakamura).
Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer has an average thickness in a range from 50 to 300 μm.
Here, the claimed ranges for the thickness of the first light reflecting layer overlaps with the range disclosed by Nakamura. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura so that the thickness of the first light reflecting layer lies within the claimed range, for the purpose of better performance, e.g., better rigidity,, see [0054] of Nakamura.
Regarding claim 10, Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 9.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer of the laminate is disposed on an exterior of the vehicle roof.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang discloses that the infrared reflective film may be used on a window glass ([0001] in Watanabe).
Nakamura discloses a laminate for radiative cooling that is placed on a window of a door glass of a vehicle (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the radiative cooling material is attached to an exterior of a vehicle (e.g., a glass roof), as taught by Nakamura, for achieving improved heat insulating property ([0001] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 12, Lee/Watanabe/Wang discloses the radiative cooling material of claim 8.
Lee/Watanabe/Wang does not disclose wherein the second light reflecting layer has an average thickness in a range from 30 to 300 nm.
However, Lee/Watanabe/Wang discloses each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 80 nm and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 50 nm ([0039] in Watanabe), thus a range would be from 9 to 210 nm.
Here, the claimed range for the thickness of the second light reflecting layer overlaps with the range disclosed by Lee/Watanabe/Wang. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Wang so that the thickness of the second light reflecting layer lies within the claimed range, for the purpose of allowing the infrared reflective layer to transmit visible rays while selectively reflecting near-infrared rays, see [0039] of Watanabe.
Moreover, Lee/Watanabe/Wang discloses that the thickness of the first layer of the first light reflecting layer may be 63, 70, 71 nm and the thickness of the second layer of the first light reflecting layer may be 174 nm ([0091] in Lee).
Nakamura discloses a laminate for radiative cooling (Abstract). In one embodiment, the laminate comprises a multi-layer infrared reflective film 5 comprising multiple alternating polymer layers of different refractive index, and having a thickness of less or equal to 120 μm and equal or greater than 80 μm (Fig. 2, [0023], [0054], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Wang so that the first light reflecting layer (comprising multiple polymer layers) has a thickness in the range of 80 to 120 μm, as taught by Nakamura, for better rigidity ([0054] in Nakamura).
Lee/Watanabe/Wang/Nakamura does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer has an average thickness in a range from 50 to 300 μm.
Here, the claimed ranges for the thickness of the first light reflecting layer overlaps with the range disclosed by Nakamura. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Wang/Nakamura so that the thickness of the first light reflecting layer lies within the claimed range, for the purpose of better performance, e.g., better rigidity, see [0054] of Nikamura.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses
a radiative cooling material comprising a laminate 200 for radiative cooling (Fig. 2, [0001], [0065]), the laminate comprising:
a first light reflecting layer 220 having a reflectance for near-infrared light with a wavelength in a range from 780 to 1,300 nm and a transmittance for visible light with a wavelength in a range from 400 to 780 nm (Fig. 6, [0120], [0122]); and
an infrared radiating layer 230 (Fig. 2, [0082]).
Lee does not disclose a reflectance equal to or higher than 80% for infrared light in the claimed wavelength range and a transmittance equal to or higher than 70% for visible light in the claimed wavelength range.
However, Lee discloses the first light reflecting layer having transmittance in the range between 400 and 780 nm (visible) between around 60% and 50% with peaks around 80% and reflectance in the range between 780 and 1300 nm (near infrared) around 90% (Fig. 6, [0122]).
The parameters of the transmittance and the reflectivity of the incident light are result-effective variables, i.e., they are recognized to achieve a recognized result, for example, reflecting sunlight in the near infrared region and emitting radiant heat while allowing external viewing ([0001], [0006] in Lee).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for R>80% in near infrared and T>70% in visible. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee so that T and R lie within the claimed ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
In the current instance, T and R are art recognized result-effective variables in that they help realize the effective cooling of the interior and viewing of the exterior, as taught by Lee.
Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize T and R because they are an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process”.
Moreover, Lee does not disclose a second light reflecting layer on the first light reflecting layer, wherein a first metal protective layer, a metal layer, and a second metal protective layer are sequentially stacked in the second light reflecting layer.
Watanabe discloses an infrared laminate film 100 comprising a first metal oxide (aka protective) layer 21, a metal layer 25 and a second metal oxide (aka protective) layer 22 arranged in this order on a base layer 10 (Fig. 2, [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee so that the radiative cooling laminate of Lee includes a laminate metal oxide/metal/metal oxide formed on the first light reflecting layer, as taught by Watanabe, for achieving additional heat insulating properties ([0001] in Watanabe).
Lee/Watanabe does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer comprises a first polymer layer and a second polymer layer that has a lower refractive index than the first polymer layer.
Yang discloses a reflective multilayer optical film 200 (Fig. 1, [0017]). In one embodiment, the reflective film 200 comprises a reflective stack 20 of alternating polymer films 21, 22 ([0022], [0023]). The materials of the two polymer films are different and they have different refractive indices, one lower than the other [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/ Watanabe so that the first light reflecting layer comprises a stack of alternating polymer films with unequal refractive indices, as taught by Yang, for selecting desired reflection at a specific wavelength ([0023] in Yang).
Finally, Lee/Watanabe/Yang does not disclose the radiative cooling material being provided for a mobility, e.g., for a vehicle.
Nakamura discloses a laminate for radiative cooling for a door glass of a vehicle (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang so that the radiative cooling material is provided for a mobility, as taught by Nakamura, for achieving additional heat insulating properties ([0001] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 18, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses the mobility of claim 17.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura does not disclose wherein the second light reflecting layer has an average thickness in a range from 30 to 300 nm.
However, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 80 nm and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 50 nm ([0039] in Watanabe), thus a range would be from 9 to 210 nm.
Here, the claimed range for the thickness of the second light reflecting layer overlaps with the range disclosed by Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura so that the thickness of the second light reflecting layer lies within the claimed range, for the purpose of allowing the infrared reflective layer to transmit visible rays while selectively reflecting near-infrared rays,, see [0039] of Watanabe.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses that the thickness of the first layer of the first light reflecting layer may be 63, 70, 71 nm and the thickness of the second layer of the first light reflecting layer may be 174 nm ([0091] in Lee).
Nakamura discloses a laminate for radiative cooling (Abstract). In one embodiment, the laminate comprises a multi-layer infrared reflective film 5 comprising multiple alternating polymer layers of different refractive index, and having a thickness of less or equal to 120 μm and equal or greater than 80 μm (Fig. 2, [0023], [0054], [0060]).
Both Lee and Nakamura disclose radiative cooling laminates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura so that the first light reflecting layer (comprising multiple polymer layers) has a thickness in the range of 80 to 120 μm, as taught by Nakamura, for better rigidity ([0054] in Nakamura).
Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura does not disclose wherein the first light reflecting layer has an average thickness in a range from 50 to 300 μm.
Here, the claimed ranges for the thickness of the first light reflecting layer overlaps with the range disclosed by Nakamura. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura so that the thickness of the first light reflecting layer lies within the claimed range, for the purpose of better performance, e.g., better rigidity,, see [0054] of Nakamura.
Regarding claim 19, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses the mobility of claim 17.
Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura does not disclose wherein each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 15 to 200 nm; and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 1 to 100 nm.
However, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 80 nm and the metal layer has an average thickness in a range from 3 to 50 nm ([0039] in Watanabe).
Here, the claimed ranges for the thickness of the first and second metal protective layer and the metal layer overlap with the ranges disclosed by Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura so that the thickness of the first and second metal protective layer and the metal layer lie within the claimed ranges, for the purpose of allowing the infrared reflective layer to transmit visible rays while selectively reflecting near-infrared rays, see [0039] of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 20, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses the mobility of claim 17, wherein
each of the first metal protective layer and the second metal protective layer independently comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of indium-doped tin oxide, aluminum-doped zinc oxide, fluorine-doped tin oxide, titanium dioxide, neodymium oxide, and silicon dioxide ([0002] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 21, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses the mobility of claim 17, wherein
the metal layer comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of silver, aluminum, gold, aluminum oxide, chromium, and copper ([0002] in Watanabe).
Regarding claim 22, Lee/Watanabe/Yang/Nakamura discloses the mobility of claim 17, wherein
the infrared radiating layer has an average thickness in a range from 10 to 1,000 μm (thickness being 50 μm, [0085] in Lee).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant stated “The pending '697 application was filed after the present application and, therefore, no terminal disclaimer is needed at this time. Applicant makes no assertion as to whether or not the claims are obvious variations of one another”, see p. 6 of the Remarks. The Office notes that the current double patenting rejection is provisional and will remain until it is the only rejection remaining.
Regarding independent claim 1 (similarly for independent claims 8, 17) Applicant stated “Lee neither explicitly discloses nor even suggests the possibility of using a polymer as the material for the first reflective layer, nor any effect resulting therefrom, and is therefore entirely different from the present invention.”, see p. 7 of the Remarks.
Applicant’s above argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang.
The rejection of claim 1 and its dependents is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B./
Patent Examiner, AU 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872