DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-5 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-5 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 5-6 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Okada and Meduna does not teach the amended limitations of “a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base, on which the art is placed, a detector that detect an object existing around the robot, the detector is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate, and a body-side support that couples to the base to the top plate.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 10/01/2025, the rejection relied upon Okada to disclose a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base (Okada: [0007], [0042]-[0045], [0047]-[0052], and FIG. 1: The cart cover 29 is supported on the cart frame 26 via a so-called gel bush 81. More specifically, two (a total of six) gel bushes 81 are arranged on the upper surfaces of the right side cover 91, the left side cover 92, and the rear cover 93. As shown in FIG. 5, the cart frame 26 and the cart cover 29 are bolted with the gel bush 81 sandwiched between the lower surface of the cart frame 26 and the upper surface of the right side cover 91 (cart cover 29). The gel bush 61 is fixed by a washer or the like),
a detector (Okada: FIG. 1 the laser range finder 17 and the proximity switch 71) that detect an object existing around the robot (Okada: [0018]-[0019], [0021]-[0023], [0035]-[0037], [0052]-[0054], [0056], [0067], and FIG. 1: The electronic control device 32 detects a contact with an obstacle or the like, and sets a preset target position based on, for example, the stored environment map and the own device position recognized by the laser range finder 17 or the like. Until the robot 1 moves autonomously. When performing autonomous movement, the electronic control unit 32 determines the presence or absence of contact with an obstacle or the like based on the detection result of the proximity switch 71 and controls the electric motor 12 based on the determination result. That is, when there is no contact with an obstacle, the electronic control unit 32 drives the electric motor 12 to continue autonomous movement, and when there is a contact, the electronic control device 32 temporarily stops or urgently stops driving the electric motor 12. The robot 1 is controlled to stop), and
a body-side support that couples to the base to the top plate (Okada: [0007], [0042]-[0045], [0047]-[0052], and FIG. 1: The cart cover 29 is supported on the cart frame 26 via a so-called gel bush 81. More specifically, two (a total of six) gel bushes 81 are arranged on the upper surfaces of the right side cover 91, the left side cover 92, and the rear cover 93. As shown in FIG. 5, the cart frame 26 and the cart cover 29 are bolted with the gel bush 81 sandwiched between the lower surface of the cart frame 26 and the upper surface of the right side cover 91 (cart cover 29). The gel bush 61 is fixed by a washer or the like).
Okada does not explicitly disclose a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base, on which the cart is placed; and
the detector is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate.
Further, Meduna discloses a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base (Meduna: [0050], [0052], FIG. 3 the pallet 380 of the cart accessory 390, and FIG. 4 the flat surface 402), on which the cart is placed (Meduna: [0050], [0052], and FIG. 3-4: The cart accessory 400 includes a cart body having a flat surface 402 on which one or more objects (e.g., boxes) can be placed. The cart accessory 400 also includes multiple wheels 404 which are coupled to the cart body by legs 406), and
the detector (Meduna: FIG. 4 the coupling sensor 540/542) is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 4: FIG. 4E depicts a coupling sensor 540 disposed on a portion of a mechanical interface 520. The coupling sensor 540 is configured to sense the presence or absence of a magnet 440 disposed on a portion of a robot interface 420 of an accessory. In some embodiments, a coupling sensor may be a contactless sensor. While a contactless sensor may include the magnetic sensors described above, a contactless sensor may include other sensor configurations).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Okada and Meduna, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the robot of Okada to include a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base, on which the cart is placed; and
the detector is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate, as suggested by Meduna. The motivation for this is to detect whether a cart connected to a robot for performing various functions in warehouse operations.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (Okada – JP 2010122916 A) in view of Meduna et al. (Meduna – US 2022/0305672 A1). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of JP 2010122916 A publication by computer.
As to claim 1, Okada discloses a robot, comprising:
a main body (Okada: [0018]-[0020], [0022], [0025], [0038], [0042]-[0043], [0052], and FIG. 1 the main body portion 16 and the carriage 40); and
a cart (Okada: FIG. 1 the cart 19) that is coupleable to the main body (Okada: [0018], [0024]-[0029], [0038]-[0044], and FIG. 1 the cart 19 connected to the carriage 40 via the connecting portion 18: As shown in FIG. 1, the robot 1 includes a main body portion 16, a laser range finder (detection portion) 17, a carriage 40, a cover 41, a proximity switch 71, and an electronic control device 32. The robot 1 also includes a connecting portion 18 for connecting a cart 19 as a transported portion such as a wagon. In the present embodiment, a cart 19 is connected and fixed to the rear of the main body of the robot 1 via a connecting portion 18, and the robot 1 can move to a predetermined destination while towing the cart 19 as a towing vehicle), wherein
the main body includes:
a body (Okada: [0018]-[0020], and FIG. 1 the main body portion 16: As shown in FIG. 1, the robot 1 includes a main body portion 16, a laser range finder (detection portion) 17, a carriage 40, a cover 41, a proximity switch 71, and an electronic control device 32) including a controller (Okada: FIG. 1 the electronic control unit 32) that performs integrated control of operation of the main body (Okada: [0022]-[0023], and FIG. 1: The electronic control device 32 detects a contact with an obstacle or the like, and sets a preset target position based on, for example, the stored environment map and the own device position recognized by the laser range finder 17 or the like. Until the robot 1 moves autonomously. When performing autonomous movement, the electronic control unit 32 determines the presence or absence of contact with an obstacle or the like based on the detection result of the proximity switch 71 and controls the electric motor 12 based on the determination result. That is, when there is no contact with an obstacle, the electronic control unit 32 drives the electric motor 12 to continue autonomous movement, and when there is a contact, the electronic control device 32 temporarily stops or urgently stops driving the electric motor 12. The robot 1 is controlled to stop);
a base (Okada: FIG. 1 the cart main body 25) fixed to a lower portion of a rear surface of the body (Okada: [0007], [0042]-[0045], [0047]-[0052], and FIG. 1: The front end portion of the transmission shaft 80 is sandwiched between the concave portions of the transmitted portion 85 when the cart 40 and the cart 19 are connected. Therefore, when the transmission shaft 80 moves in the forward direction, the transmitted portion space. The cart frame 26 is configured in a frame shape and holds the cart body 25. Four wheels (caster wheels) 27 are attached to the lower portion of the cart frame 26 so as to be able to turn 360 degrees in plan view);
a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base (Okada: [0007], [0042]-[0045], [0047]-[0052], and FIG. 1: The cart cover 29 is supported on the cart frame 26 via a so-called gel bush 81. More specifically, two (a total of six) gel bushes 81 are arranged on the upper surfaces of the right side cover 91, the left side cover 92, and the rear cover 93. As shown in FIG. 5, the cart frame 26 and the cart cover 29 are bolted with the gel bush 81 sandwiched between the lower surface of the cart frame 26 and the upper surface of the right side cover 91 (cart cover 29). The gel bush 61 is fixed by a washer or the like);
a body-side support that couples to the base to the top plate (Okada: [0007], [0042]-[0045], [0047]-[0052], and FIG. 1: The cart cover 29 is supported on the cart frame 26 via a so-called gel bush 81. More specifically, two (a total of six) gel bushes 81 are arranged on the upper surfaces of the right side cover 91, the left side cover 92, and the rear cover 93. As shown in FIG. 5, the cart frame 26 and the cart cover 29 are bolted with the gel bush 81 sandwiched between the lower surface of the cart frame 26 and the upper surface of the right side cover 91 (cart cover 29). The gel bush 61 is fixed by a washer or the like); and
a detector (Okada: FIG. 1 the laser range finder 17 and the proximity switch 71) that detect an object existing around the robot (Okada: [0018]-[0019], [0021]-[0023], [0035]-[0037], [0052]-[0054], [0056], [0067], and FIG. 1: The electronic control device 32 detects a contact with an obstacle or the like, and sets a preset target position based on, for example, the stored environment map and the own device position recognized by the laser range finder 17 or the like. Until the robot 1 moves autonomously. When performing autonomous movement, the electronic control unit 32 determines the presence or absence of contact with an obstacle or the like based on the detection result of the proximity switch 71 and controls the electric motor 12 based on the determination result. That is, when there is no contact with an obstacle, the electronic control unit 32 drives the electric motor 12 to continue autonomous movement, and when there is a contact, the electronic control device 32 temporarily stops or urgently stops driving the electric motor 12. The robot 1 is controlled to stop).
Okada does not explicitly disclose a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base, on which the cart is placed;
the detector is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate, and
the body-side support is included in a detection range of the detector.
However, it has been known in the art of robot design to implement a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base, on which the cart is placed;
the detector is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate, and
the body-side support is included in a detection range of the detector, as suggested by Meduna, which discloses
a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base (Meduna: [0050], [0052], FIG. 3 the pallet 380 of the cart accessory 390, and FIG. 4 the flat surface 402), on which the cart is placed (Meduna: [0050], [0052], and FIG. 3-4: The cart accessory 400 includes a cart body having a flat surface 402 on which one or more objects (e.g., boxes) can be placed. The cart accessory 400 also includes multiple wheels 404 which are coupled to the cart body by legs 406);
the detector (Meduna: FIG. 4 the coupling sensor 540/542) is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 4: FIG. 4E depicts a coupling sensor 540 disposed on a portion of a mechanical interface 520. The coupling sensor 540 is configured to sense the presence or absence of a magnet 440 disposed on a portion of a robot interface 420 of an accessory. In some embodiments, a coupling sensor may be a contactless sensor. While a contactless sensor may include the magnetic sensors described above, a contactless sensor may include other sensor configurations), and
the body-side support (Meduna: Abstract, [0040], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0058], [0061], and FIG. 4 the mechanical interface 520: The at least one interface comprises an electrical interface configured to transmit power and/or data between the robot and the at least one accessory, and a mechanical interface configured to enable physical coupling between the robot and the at least one accessory) is included in a detection range of the detector (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 4: FIGS. 4E and 4F illustrate different embodiments of a coupling sensor. A coupling sensor may be configured to determine if a robot and an accessory are physically coupled through a mechanical interface of the robot. In some embodiments, the coupling sensor may be a magnetic sensor, such as a hall effect sensor or a reed switch. For example, FIG. 4E depicts a coupling sensor 540 disposed on a portion of a mechanical interface 520. The coupling sensor 540 is configured to sense the presence or absence of a magnet 440 disposed on a portion of a robot interface 420 of an accessory. In some embodiments, a coupling sensor may be a contactless sensor. While a contactless sensor may include the magnetic sensors described above, a contactless sensor may include other sensor configurations. For example, a contactless sensor may include an emitter/receiver pair. FIG. 4F shows one embodiment of a coupling sensor that includes an emitter 542 configured to emit energy (e.g., an IR beam) and a receiver 544 configured to receive the energy emitted by the emitter. When the robot interface 420 is coupled to the mechanical interface 520, the energy emitted from the emitter is blocked from reaching the receiver, thereby providing a signal indicative of coupling. It should be appreciated that other types of coupling sensors are contemplated, and the present disclosure is not limited to magnetic and/or contactless coupling sensors).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Okada and Meduna, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the robot of Okada to include a top plate disposed above the base and fixed to the base, on which the cart is placed;
the detector is disposed in a space provided between the base and the top plate, and
the body-side support is included in a detection range of the detector, as suggested by Meduna. The motivation for this is to detect whether a cart connected to a robot for performing various functions in warehouse operations.
As to claim 2, Okada and Meduna disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the robot according to claim 1, wherein the detector is located below the cart in a coupling state between the main body and the cart (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 4: FIG. 4E depicts a coupling sensor 540 disposed on a portion of a mechanical interface 520. The coupling sensor 540 is configured to sense the presence or absence of a magnet 440 disposed on a portion of a robot interface 420 of an accessory. In some embodiments, a coupling sensor may be a contactless sensor. While a contactless sensor may include the magnetic sensors described above, a contactless sensor may include other sensor configurations).
As to claim 3, Okada and Meduna disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the robot according to claim 1, wherein on a scan surface of the detector when the main body and the cart are coupled to each other, the body-side support, the detector, and a cart-side structure of the cart are arranged in series (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 3-4: FIGS. 4E and 4F illustrate different embodiments of a coupling sensor. A coupling sensor may be configured to determine if a robot and an accessory are physically coupled through a mechanical interface of the robot. In some embodiments, the coupling sensor may be a magnetic sensor, such as a hall effect sensor or a reed switch. For example, FIG. 4E depicts a coupling sensor 540 disposed on a portion of a mechanical interface 520. The coupling sensor 540 is configured to sense the presence or absence of a magnet 440 disposed on a portion of a robot interface 420 of an accessory. In some embodiments, a coupling sensor may be a contactless sensor. While a contactless sensor may include the magnetic sensors described above, a contactless sensor may include other sensor configurations. For example, a contactless sensor may include an emitter/receiver pair. FIG. 4F shows one embodiment of a coupling sensor that includes an emitter 542 configured to emit energy (e.g., an IR beam) and a receiver 544 configured to receive the energy emitted by the emitter. When the robot interface 420 is coupled to the mechanical interface 520, the energy emitted from the emitter is blocked from reaching the receiver, thereby providing a signal indicative of coupling. It should be appreciated that other types of coupling sensors are contemplated, and the present disclosure is not limited to magnetic and/or contactless coupling sensors).
As to claim 4, Okada and Meduna disclose the limitations of claim 3 further comprising the robot according to claim 3, wherein the cart-side structure is a support that supports a storer, the storer storing a thing (Okada: [0002] and FIG. 1: In recent years, research and development of autonomous mobile devices (automated guided vehicles) such as robots that autonomously travel while pulling a towed portion (conveyed portion) such as a wagon has been promoted. For example, it is possible to contribute to the reduction of human burdens by causing this type of robot to carry out the work of transporting medical records, medicines, catered items and the like in a hospital or the like. Since such an autonomous mobile robot is not operated by a person, it is necessary to deal with obstacles in the travel route and Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0034]-[0036], [0040], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 3-4: the mobile base is configured to interface with various accessories through accessory interfaces, such as a mechanical interface 118 and/or an electrical interface 119. Some accessories configured to attach to mechanical interface 118 and/or electrical interface 119 may be designed to facilitate performance of one or more particular tasks performed by the robot 100. For instance, a cart that is pulled by the robot, or a conveyor to which the robot anchors itself may facilitate performance of an object manipulation task in which objects (e.g., boxes) manipulated by the robot can be placed on or removed from the accessory).
As to claim 5, Okada and Meduna disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the robot according to claim 1, wherein: on a scan surface of the detector, the cart includes no structure behind a rear end portion of a side surface of the cart (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 3-4), and on the scan surface of the detector when the main body and the cart are coupled to each other, the body-side support, the detector, and the rear end portion of the side surface of the cart are arranged in series (Meduna: [0012]-[0013], [0055]-[0056], [0061], and FIG. 4: FIGS. 4E and 4F illustrate different embodiments of a coupling sensor. A coupling sensor may be configured to determine if a robot and an accessory are physically coupled through a mechanical interface of the robot. In some embodiments, the coupling sensor may be a magnetic sensor, such as a hall effect sensor or a reed switch. For example, FIG. 4E depicts a coupling sensor 540 disposed on a portion of a mechanical interface 520. The coupling sensor 540 is configured to sense the presence or absence of a magnet 440 disposed on a portion of a robot interface 420 of an accessory. In some embodiments, a coupling sensor may be a contactless sensor. While a contactless sensor may include the magnetic sensors described above, a contactless sensor may include other sensor configurations. For example, a contactless sensor may include an emitter/receiver pair. FIG. 4F shows one embodiment of a coupling sensor that includes an emitter 542 configured to emit energy (e.g., an IR beam) and a receiver 544 configured to receive the energy emitted by the emitter. When the robot interface 420 is coupled to the mechanical interface 520, the energy emitted from the emitter is blocked from reaching the receiver, thereby providing a signal indicative of coupling. It should be appreciated that other types of coupling sensors are contemplated, and the present disclosure is not limited to magnetic and/or contactless coupling sensors).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ulbrich et al., US 2024/0067510 A1, discloses autonomous industrial truck.
Pratt, JR. et al., US 2023/0341859 A1, discloses autonomous vehicle for airports.
Xu et al., US 2022/0332526 A1, discloses position detection apparatus and method of distribution object, robot, distribution apparatus, and controller.
Detert et al., US 2022/0301260 A1, discloses systems and methods for area wide object dimensioning.
Sonoura et al., US 2020/0150664 A1, discloses unmanned transport vehicle, method of controlling unmanned transport vehicle, and storage medium.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685