Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US Patent No. 9607660 B2 and Bennett hereinafter) in view of Marcade et al (US Patent No. 7139166 B2 and Marcade hereinafter) and further in view of Schroeder et al (US Patent No. 10803907 B2 and Schroeder hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) a structural drive assembly, comprising: a storage device (116) having a first mounting feature (holes) on a first side of the storage device and a second mounting feature (324-327) on a second side of the storage device (col 4, lines 1-10); and a carrier (118) connected to the storage device and comprising a top portion (310) and a bottom portion (312), wherein: the top portion is attached to the first side of the storage device by a connection component (protrusions) configured to interface with the first mounting feature (fig.4); the bottom portion is attached to the second side of the storage device by a connection component (protrusions) configured to interface with the second mounting feature; and the top portion and bottom portion have front extensions and rear extensions (306 and 308) for anchoring the structural drive assembly to a server chassis (100). Bennett does not explicitly disclose a carrier fixedly connected to the storage device and wherein the rear extensions are configured to interface with an interface component of the server chassis, and wherein the front extensions are configured to be engaged by a drive latch mechanism that is hingedly connected to the server chassis and configured to rotate over the front extensions. However, Marcade teaches (fig.1) a carrier (including 12 and 14) fixedly (screws) connected to the storage device (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a carrier fixedly connected to the storage device of Marcade to device of Bennett in order to securely attach the drive to the carrier that positioned in a front or forward position in which the hard drive is closer to the bezel (Marcade and col-4, lines 5-10). Bennett/Marcade does not explicit disclose wherein the rear extensions are configured to interface with an interface component of the server chassis, and wherein the front extensions are configured to be engaged by a drive latch mechanism that is hingedly connected to the server chassis and configured to rotate over the front extensions. However, Schroeder teaches (figs.1-11) a carrier (14) fixedly (securely connected) connected to the storage device (12) and wherein the rear extensions are configured to interface with an interface component (26) of the server chassis (16), and wherein the front extensions are configured to be engaged by a drive latch mechanism (30) that is hingedly connected to the server chassis and configured to rotate over the front extensions (42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a drive latch mechanism as claimed of Schroeder to device of Bennett/Marcade in order to extract the captured storage device from the Chassis. (Schroeder and col-10, lines 5-10)
Regarding Claim 2, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 1. Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the carrier further comprises: a first bracket disposed adjacent the front extensions, the first bracket connecting the top portion and the bottom portion together and configured to provide structural rigidity to the carrier.
Regarding Claim 3, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 2. Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the first bracket is narrower than the width of the storage device (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 4, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 2. Marcade teaches (fig.1) wherein the carrier further comprises: a second bracket (32) disposed adjacent the rear extensions and connecting the top portion and the bottom portion together, wherein the second bracket is at an opposite end of the carrier from the first bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a second bracket of Marcade to device of Bennett/ Schroeder in order to securely attach the drive to the carrier that positioned in a front or forward position in which the hard drive is closer to the bezel (Schroeder and col-4, lines 5-10)
Regarding Claim 5, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 1. Schroeder discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the drive latch mechanism is hingedly connected to a front section of the server chassis and the rear extensions connect with the interface component at a rear section of the server chassis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a drive latch mechanism as claimed of Schroeder to device of Bennett/Marcade in order to extract the captured storage device from the Chassis. (Schroeder and col-10, lines 5-10)
Regarding Claim 6, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 5. Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the front extensions and rear extensions of the top portion and bottom portion extend beyond a length of the storage device.
Regarding Claim 7, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 1. Schroeder discloses wherein the connection components are screws (36, 36) connecting with the first and second mounting features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine carrier that is connected to the storage device by screws of Schroeder to device of Bennett in order to securely attach the drive to the carrier that positioned in a front or forward position in which the hard drive is closer to the bezel (Schroeder and col-4, lines 5-10)
Regarding Claim 9, Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) a server system comprising a server chassis, wherein the server chassis has no structural bracing in a front section of the server chassis; and a structural drive assembly, comprising: a storage device (116) having a first mounting feature (holes) on a first side of the storage device and
a second mounting feature (324-327) on a second side of the storage device; and
a carrier (118) connected to the storage device and comprising a top portion (310) and a bottom portion (312), wherein: the top portion is attached to the first side of the storage device by a connection component configured to interface with the first mounting feature (fig.4); the bottom portion is configured to attach to the second side of the storage device by a connection component configured to interface with the second mounting feature; and wherein the carrier is fixedly connected to the storage device; and wherein the top portion and bottom portion have front extensions and rear extensions (306 and 308) for anchoring the structural drive assembly to the server chassis, and providing structural rigidity to the server chassis. Bennett does not explicitly disclose a carrier fixedly connected to the storage device and wherein the rear extensions are configured to interface with an interface component of the server chassis, and wherein the front extensions are configured to be engaged by a drive latch mechanism that is hingedly connected to the server chassis and configured to rotate over the front extensions. However, Marcade teaches (fig.1) a carrier (including 12 and 14) fixedly (screws) connected to the storage device (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a carrier fixedly connected to the storage device of Marcade to device of Bennett in order to securely attach the drive to the carrier that positioned in a front or forward position in which the hard drive is closer to the bezel (Marcade and col-4, lines 5-10). Bennett/Marcade does not explicit disclose wherein the rear extensions are configured to interface with an interface component of the server chassis, and wherein the front extensions are configured to be engaged by a drive latch mechanism that is hingedly connected to the server chassis and configured to rotate over the front extensions. However, Schroeder teaches (figs.1-11) a carrier (14) fixedly (securely connected) connected to the storage device (12) and wherein the rear extensions are configured to interface with an interface component (26) of the server chassis (16), and wherein the front extensions are configured to be engaged by a drive latch mechanism (30) that is hingedly connected to the server chassis and configured to rotate over the front extensions (42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a drive latch mechanism as claimed of Schroeder to device of Bennett/Marcade in order to extract the captured storage device from the Chassis. (Schroeder and col-10, lines 5-10)
Regarding Claim 10, Bennett/Schroeder discloses the server system of claim 9 . Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the carrier further comprises: a first bracket disposed adjacent the front extensions, the first bracket connecting the top portion and the bottom portion together and configured to provide structural rigidity to the carrier.
Regarding Claim 11, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the server system of claim 10. Schroeder teaches (fig.1) wherein the carrier further comprises: a second bracket (32) disposed adjacent the rear extensions, the second bracket connecting the top portion and the bottom portion together at an opposite end of the carrier from the first bracket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a second bracket of Schroeder to device of Bennett in order to securely attach the drive to the carrier that positioned in a front or forward position in which the hard drive is closer to the bezel (Schroeder and col-4, lines 5-10)
Regarding Claim 12, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the server system of claim 9. Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the front extensions and rear extensions of the top portion and bottom portion extend beyond a length of the storage device.
Regarding Claim 13, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the server system of claim 12. Bennett discloses (figs. 1-5) wherein the rear extensions connect portion of the top portion and bottom portion connects with the interface component at a rear section of the server chassis.
Regarding Claim 19, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 1. Schroeder wherein the interface component is a hem of the server chassis (fig.9).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. in view of Marcade et al in view of Schroeder et al and further in view of Chen et al (US Patent No. 6592327 B2 and Chen hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 8, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the structural drive assembly of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the top portion further includes a T-flange disposed on the top portion. However, Chen teaches (figs. 1-2) wherein the top
portion further includes a T-flange disposed on the top portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine T-flange disposed on the top portion of Chen to device of Bennett/Schroeder in order to conveniently install the drive in the chassis (Chen and Col 3, lines 30-35)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. in view of Marcade in view of Schroeder et al and further in view of Conn et al (US Pub No. 2016/0057887 A1 and Conn hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 16, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the server system of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the drive latch mechanism comprises two separate drive latch mechanisms configured to anchor the structural drive assembly to the server chassis. Conn teaches (figs. 1-10) wherein the drive latch mechanism comprises two separate drive latch mechanisms (162 and 162) configured to anchor the structural drive assembly to the server chassis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive latch mechanism is hingidly connected to the server chassis of Conn to device of Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder in order to move into the proper position in the chassis (Conn and [0030])
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. in view of Marcade in view of Schroeder et al in view of Conn et al and further in view of Peng et al (US Patent No. 7611328 B2 and Peng hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 17, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder/Conn discloses the server system of claim 16 but fails to disclose wherein a first drive latch mechanism is disposed at a bottom of the server chassis and a second drive latch mechanism is disposed at a top of the server chassis. However, Peng teaches (figs. 1-5) wherein a first drive latch mechanism (30) is disposed at a bottom of the server chassis (10) and a second drive latch mechanism (30) is disposed at a top of the server chassis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a first/second drive latch mechanism of Peng to device of Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder/Conn in order to provide two locking members disposed within the bracket as a unit, thereby the drive is secured within the lock (Peng and Col 2, lines 45-50)
Regarding Claim 18, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder/Conn/Peng discloses the server system of claim 17. Conn discloses (figs. 1-10) wherein the first drive latch mechanism and the second drive latch mechanism include tabs (165, 165) configured to interface with a front bracket of the carrier (230). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive latch mechanism having tabs of Conn to device of Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder/Peng in order to move into the proper position in the chassis (Conn and [0030])
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. in view of Marcade in view of Schroeder et al and further in view of Yu et al (US Pub No. 2022/0015250 A1 and Yu hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 20, Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder discloses the server system of claim 9, but fails to disclose a perforated metal baffle positioned between a front bracket of the carrier and a front opening of the server chassis. However, Yu teaches (figs. 1-3) a perforated metal baffle (metal sheet, [0020]) positioned between a front bracket (24) of the carrier (12) and a front opening of the server chassis (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a perforated metal baffle of Yu to device of Bennett/Marcade/Schroeder in order to generate the Emi shielding effects. (Yu and [0030])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The title of the invention has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adrian et al (US Patent No. 10558248 B2) (figs. 1-5) the carrier case 1 is a plastic piece comprising a housing 11, a pair of elastic arms 12 connected with the housing 11 and a push block 13 located between the pair of elastic arms 12. The housing 11 is formed with a receiving space 100 for accommodating the data storage unit 2, and the push block 13 has a tab 130 at a side away from the receiving space 100.
Li et al (US Patent No. 10847188 B1) the carrier case 1 is a plastic piece comprising a housing 11, a pair of elastic arms 12 connected with the housing 11 and a push block 13 located between the pair of elastic arms 12. The housing 11 is formed with a receiving space 100 for accommodating the data storage unit 2.
Choyikkunnil et al (US Pub No. 20190/174642 A1) the carrier case 1 is a plastic piece comprising a housing 11, a pair of elastic arms 12 connected with the housing 11 and a push block 13 located between the pair of elastic arms 12. The housing 11 is formed with a receiving space 100 for accommodating the data storage unit 2
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841