DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jasion et al. (US 20210311250; “Jasion”).
Regarding claim 1, Jasion discloses a hollow-core optical fiber 30 comprising the following features defined in present claim 1 (Jasion see figures 4 to 6): a substrate 12 that is tubular comprising an inner surface surrounding a central longitudinal axis of the hollow-core optical fiber 30; and a plurality of cladding elements 14 spaced apart from each other and disposed within the substrate 12 (e.g., ¶ 0039), the plurality of cladding elements 14 together defining a hollow-core region 18 surrounding the central longitudinal axis of the hollow-core optical fiber 30 with the plurality of cladding elements 14 disposed radially between the substrate 12 and the hollow-core region 18 (Jasion see figures 4 to 6), each of the plurality of cladding elements 14 extending parallel to the central longitudinal axis, and each of the plurality of cladding elements 14 comprising: a first capillary 14 that is tubular comprising (i) an outer surface having an outer diameter and contacting the inner surface of the substrate 12 at a first contact region 16 and (ii) an inner surface defining a first cavity with a first longitudinal axis parallel to the central longitudinal axis, and a second capillary 20 that is tubular disposed within the first cavity defined by the first capillary 14 (Jasion see figures 4 to 6), the second capillary 20 comprising (i) an outer surface having an outer diameter and contacting the inner surface of the first capillary at a second contact region 22 and (ii) an inner surface defining a second cavity with a second longitudinal axis parallel to the central longitudinal axis, wherein, for each of the plurality of cladding elements 14, a first line extends orthogonally from the central longitudinal axis through the first longitudinal axis and the first contact region 16, wherein, for each of the plurality of cladding elements 14, a second line extends through the second longitudinal axis, the second contact region 22, and the first longitudinal axis, wherein, for each of the plurality of cladding elements 14, the first line and the second line are separated by an angle that is within a range of from 20 degrees to 120 degrees (figures 4 to 6) show an angle of 90 degrees (Jasion see figures 4 to 6), and wherein the number of cladding elements is within a range of from 5 to 8 (figures 4 and 5 show 6 cladding elements 14).
According to Jasion each first capillary 14 comprises two second capillaries 20. The second capillaries are generally sized and positioned so that they are not in contact with each other, and a gap having a width dnest remains between them (Jasion ¶ 0040; figure 8). Consequently, the ratio of the diameter of the second capillary to the diameter of the first capillary is generally substantially smaller than 0.5 (e.g., Jasion see figures 4 to 6). Nevertheless, Jasion also contemplates embodiments wherein the gap between the second capillaries is 0, or even negative, which implies that the second capillaries are in contact, and even partially merged at their contact point (see Jasion ¶s 0058-0059; figures 9 and 10).
In this case, the ratio of the diameter of the second capillary to the diameter of
the first capillary is about 0.5, i.e., within the range from 0.47 to 0.85 defined in present claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Jasion discloses the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above), wherein none of the plurality of cladding elements further includes another capillary disposed within the second cavity that the second capillary forms (e.g., according to Jasion the second cavity formed by the second capillary does not include any further capillary see figures 4 to 6).
Thus claim 11 is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jasion et al. (US 20210311250; “Jasion”).
Regarding claim 2, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the inner surface of the substrate comprises an inner diameter that is within a range of from 30 µm to 140 µm.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the inner surface of the substrate comprises an inner diameter that is within a range of from 30 µm to 140 µm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 2 is rejected.
Regarding claim 3, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 8 µm to 52 µm.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, each of the plurality of cladding elements, the outer diameter of the first capillary being within a range of from 8 µm to 52 µm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 3 is rejected.
Regarding claim 4, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state the first capillaries of adjacent cladding elements of the plurality of cladding elements are separated by a shortest distance that is within a range of from 1.8 µm to 6.0 µm.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the first capillaries of adjacent cladding elements of the plurality of cladding elements are separated by a shortest distance that is within a range of from 1.8 µm to 6.0 µm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 4 is rejected.
Regarding claim 5, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 4 (see above).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the first capillary has a thickness, and a ratio of the shortest distance to the thickness of the first capillary is within a range of from 5 to 7.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, each of the plurality of cladding elements, the first capillary has a thickness, and a ratio of the shortest distance to the thickness of the first capillary is within a range of from 5 to 7 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 5 is rejected.
Regarding claim 6, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness that is within a range of from 0.20 µm to 2.0 µm.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, each of the plurality of cladding elements, the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness that is within a range of from 0.20 µm to 2.0 µm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 6 is rejected.
Regarding claim 7, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 10 µm to 60 µm.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 10 µm to 60 µm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 7 is rejected.
Regarding claim 8, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 13 µm to 24 µm.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, each of the plurality of cladding elements, the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 13 µm to 24 µm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 8 is rejected.
Regarding claim 9, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, a ratio of the outer diameter of the second capillary to the inner diameter of the inner surface of the substrate is within a range of from 0.14 to 0.25.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, for each of the plurality of cladding elements, a ratio of the outer diameter of the second capillary to the inner diameter of the inner surface of the substrate is within a range of from 0.14 to 0.25 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 9 is rejected.
Regarding claim 16, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 17 μm to 21 μm; and for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 13 μm to 17 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 8.5 μm to 11.5 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.25 μm to 0.35 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 40 degrees to 120 degrees.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 17 μm to 21 μm; and for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 13 μm to 17 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 8.5 μm to 11.5 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.25 μm to 0.35 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 40 degrees to 120 degrees would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 16 is rejected.
Regarding claim 17, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 26 μm to 32 μm, and, for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 20 μm to 26 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 12 μm to 18 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.38 μm to 0.48 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 20 degrees to 120 degrees.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 26 μm to 32 μm, and, for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 20 μm to 26 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 12 μm to 18 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.38 μm to 0.48 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 20 degrees to 120 degrees would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 17 is rejected.
Regarding claim 18, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 31 μm to 37 μm; and, for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 23 μm to 31 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 15 μm to 21 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.4 μm to 0.6 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 40 degrees to 110 degrees.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 31 μm to 37 μm; and, for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 23 μm to 31 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 15 μm to 21 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.4 μm to 0.6 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 40 degrees to 110 degrees would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 18 is rejected.
Regarding claim 19, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 50 μm to 56 μm; and,for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 39 μm to 45 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 23 μm to 32 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.7 μm to 0.9 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 35 degrees to 110 degrees.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 50 μm to 56 μm; and,for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 39 μm to 45 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 23 μm to 32 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.7 μm to 0.9 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 35 degrees to 110 degrees would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 19 is rejected.
Regarding claim 20, Jasion teaches the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above 102 rejection).
Jasion does not explicitly state wherein the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 22 μm to 28 μm and, for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 17 μm to 23 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 10 μm to 15 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.4 μm to 0.6 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 40 degrees to 110 degrees.
However, according to Jasion the hollow core optical fiber comprises a hollow core region having a diameter of approximately 30 μm (see Jasion ¶ 0047). The first capillaries have a diameter within the same order of magnitude. The wall thickness of the capillaries is about 0.55 μm (¶ 0047), and the distance between adjacent first capillaries is in the order of the transmission wavelength (¶ 0062).
Consequently, the hollow-core region has an effective diameter within a range of from 22 μm to 28 μm and, for each of the plurality of cladding elements: the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 17 μm to 23 μm; the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 10 μm to 15 μm; the first capillary and the second capillary both have a thickness within a range of from 0.4 μm to 0.6 μm; and the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 40 degrees to 110 degrees would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on obvious choices for designing a hollow core fiber based on the teaching of Jasion [e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose and/or obviousness of ranges MPEP §2144.05].
Thus claim 20 is rejected.
Regarding claim 12, Jasion discloses the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above), wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 60 degrees to 110 degrees (e.g., in the rejection of claim 1, the angle separating the first line and the second line is 90° which is within the stated range and therefore would have at least been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention).
Thus claim 12 is rejected.
Regarding claim 13, Jasion discloses the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above), wherein the outer diameters of the first capillaries of each of the plurality of cladding elements are approximately the same, the outer diameters of the second capillaries of each of the plurality of cladding elements approximately the same, and the angles separating the first line and the second line of each of the plurality of cladding elements are approximately the same (e.g., in the rejection of claim 1, it is suggested the angle separating the first line and the second line is 90° for all cladding elements; a mere glance at figs. 4-5 would clearly suggest in an obvious manner to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the outer diameters of the first capillaries of each of the plurality of cladding elements are approximately the same, the outer diameters of the second capillaries of each of the plurality of cladding elements approximately the same).
Thus claim 13 is rejected.
Regarding claim 14, Jasion discloses the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 1 (see above), wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the angle separating the first line and the second line is within a range of from 80 degrees to 105 degrees (e.g., in the rejection of claim 1, it is suggested the angle separating the first line and the second line is 90° for all cladding elements which means a range from 80 degrees to 105 degrees would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention), and for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the outer diameter of the second capillary is within a range of from 17 μm to 19 μm [ as stated in the rejection of claim 1, Jasion also contemplates embodiments wherein the gap between the second capillaries is 0, or even negative, which implies that the second capillaries are in contact, and even partially merged at their contact point (see Jasion ¶s 0058-0059; figures 9 and 10); moreover, ¶ 0047 states other wavelengths may be guided and the core radius is about 10 wavelengths {which means it could be 11 wavelengths since that is only a 1/10 deviation (perhaps even 12 wavelengths); that can qualify as “about”} so a value of 17 μm to 19 μm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; see also: MPEP § 2144.04 changes in size/shape of an invention involves only routine skill in the art].
Thus claim 14 is rejected.
Regarding claim 15, Jasion renders as obvious the hollow-core optical fiber of claim 14 (see above), wherein the hollow-core optical fiber exhibits a confinement loss of less than 0.1 dB/km for electromagnetic radiation having a wavelength of 1550 nm [Jasion discloses fibers having a loss of less than 0.1 dB/km for a wavelength of 1550 nm see e.g., figure 7].
Thus claim 15 is rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art, either alone or in combination, does not disclose or render obvious wherein for each of the plurality of cladding elements, the ratio of the outer diameter of the second capillary to the outer diameter of the first capillary is within a range of from 0.60 to 0.72 in combination with the rest of claim 10.
It is noted that claim 10 is allowable because the unique combination of each and every specific element stated in the claim.
/MICHAEL P MOONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874