DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final communication in response to communication filed 5/14/24.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11989050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar and cover the same subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. [20190140647] in view of Arp et al. [20180331676].
With respect to claim 1, figures 4-7 of Lim et al. disclose a method for clock delay compensation in a multiple chiplet/sub-circuit system [102, 104], comprising:
distributing a clock signal [210] to a plurality of chiplets/sub-circuit [104, 102];
for a chiplet/sub-circuit [102] of the plurality of chiplets/sub-circuit, delaying propagation of the clock signal through a distribution tree of the chiplet/sub-circuit [fig. 4, 133, in 104], wherein the delaying is based on a delay offset [174, figs. 5-7] and a local delay offset [162, figs 5-7] that are based on phase measurements indicative of propagation speed of the clock signal through a plurality of paths of the distribution tree.
Lim et al. does not disclose specifically a chiplet.
However, Arp et al. discloses a multiple sub-circuit system [Fig. 1] with clocking system for skew reduction in Fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to use the clocking system of Lim et al. for a multiple chiplet/sub-circuit system.
With respect to claim 2, figures 4-7 of Lim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the distributing comprises distributing, by a clock generator [generates 210], of the clock signal, across distribution trees of the plurality of chiplets, wherein the distribution trees include the distribution tree of the chiplet.
With respect to claim 3, figures 4-7 of Lim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring, by a plurality of phase detectors [162,172] of the plurality of chiplets, a plurality of phase measurements including the phase measurement.
With respect to claim 4, figures 4-7 of Lim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the phase measurement is further indicative of a difference [174] in arrival times of the clock signal to a first sink point, which feeds a first logic unit[150D] of the chiplet, and to a second sink point, which feeds a second logic unit [150C] in a second chiplet [104].
With respect to claim 7, figures 4-7 of Lim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: for each respective chiplet of the plurality of chiplets: determining, based on a respective phase measurement associated with the respective chiplet [162s], local delay offsets; and delaying, based on the local delay offsets, propagation of the clock signal through respective paths of a distribution tree of the respective chiplet.
With respect to claim 8, figures 4-7 of Lim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the delay offset comprises a global delay offset. [delays 174 provided to all branches of clock trees in 102, 104]
With respect to claim 9, the above combination discloses a system [50] comprising: at least one processor [Arp et al. paragraph 0108-0110]; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: distribute the clock to: distribute a clock signal to a plurality of chiplets;
for a chiplet of the plurality of chiplets, delay propagation of the clock signal through a distribution tree of the chiplet, wherein the delaying is based on a delay offset and a local delay offset that are based on phase measurements indicative of propagation speed of the clock signal through a plurality of paths of the distribution tree.
With respect to claim 10, the above combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the distributing comprises distributing, by a clock generator, of the clock signal, across distribution trees of the plurality of chiplets, wherein the distribution trees include the distribution tree of the chiplet. [see claim 2]
With respect to claim 11, the above combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the system to: measure, by a plurality of phase detectors of the plurality of chiplets, a plurality of phase measurements including the phase measurement. [see claim 3]
With respect to claim 12, the above combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the phase measurement is further indicative of a difference in arrival times of the clock signal to a first sink point, which feeds a first logic unit of the chiplet, and to a second sink point, which feeds a second logic unit in a second chiplet. [See claim 4]
With respect to claim 15, the above combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the system to: for each respective chiplet of the plurality of chiplets: determining, based on a respective phase measurement associated with the respective chiplet, local delay offsets; and delaying, based on the local delay offsets, propagation of the clock signal through respective paths of a distribution tree of the respective chiplet. [see claim 7]
With respect to claim 16, the above combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the delay offset comprises a global delay offset. [see claim 8]
With respect to claim 17, the above combination discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: distributing a clock signal to a plurality of chiplets;
for a chiplet of the plurality of chiplets, delaying propagation of the clock signal through a distribution tree of the chiplet, wherein the delaying is based on a delay offset and a local delay offset that are based on phase measurements indicative of propagation speed of the clock signal through a plurality of paths of the distribution tree. [see claim 9]
With respect to claim 18, the above combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the distributing comprises distributing, by a clock generator, of the clock signal, across distribution trees of the plurality of chiplets, wherein the distribution trees include the distribution tree of the chiplet. [see claim 10]
With respect to claim 19, the above combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise: measuring, by a plurality of phase detectors of the plurality of chiplets, a plurality of phase measurements including the phase measurement. [see claim 11]
With respect to claim 20, the above combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the phase measurement is further indicative of a difference in arrival times of the clock signal to a first sink point, which feeds a first logic unit of the chiplet, and to a second sink point, which feeds a second logic unit in a second chiplet. [see claim 12]
Conclusion
/RYAN JAGER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842
1/21/26