DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/1/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,460,746 to Amram in view of US Patent 9,730,499 to Ford and US Design Patent D646,556 to Kelleghan.
Regarding claim 1, Amram discloses a bag comprising: a back panel (64 – Fig. 7) extending from a bottom end toward a top end, the back panel including: a plurality of loops (Fig. 7 – loops securing upper and lower rings 130, 34; see also Col. 8, lines 45-48) disposed along the top end and the bottom end (Fig. 7A); at least one detachable strap (32), the at least one detachable strap including a strap loop (loop portion of strap holding one end of snap buckle) disposed adjacent to a first end of the at least one detachable strap; at least two fasteners (132), wherein at least one of the at least two fasteners is coupled to the strap loop of the at least one detachable strap (Fig. 7A), wherein each fastener of the at least two fasteners is able to be detachably coupled to the back panel via at least one of the plurality of loops (Fig. 7A). Amram fails to disclose the loops changing shape when the fasteners are coupled to them. However, Ford discloses a bag with a strap that is connected via a fastener and loops (Fig. 5 – right side of bag) wherein the loops are configured to change shape when the fastener is coupled thereto (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Ford’s fastener and loops in Amram because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap connecting element for another to obtain predictable results. The combination fails to disclose the fastener being detachably coupled to the strap loop. However, Kelleghan discloses an attachment clip with a detachable connector on each side of the clip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used a double-sided clip to connect the strap to the pack in the combination because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent strap connecting element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, using a releasable connector would allow for separate cleaning or replacement of the shoulder strap as necessary.
Regarding claim 2, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the plurality of loops includes six loops (Amram Fig. 7A); wherein a first loop (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A below) of the plurality of loops is positioned at a first side of the back panel on the top end, a second loop (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A) of the plurality of loops is positioned at the first side of the back panel on the top end adjacent to the first loop of the plurality of loops, a third loop (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A) of the plurality of loops is positioned at a second side of the back panel on the top end, a fourth loop (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A) of the plurality of loops is positioned at the second side of the back panel on the top end adjacent to the third loop, a fifth loop (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A) of the plurality of loops is positioned at the first side of the back panel at the bottom end, and a sixth loop (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A) of the plurality of loops is positioned at the second side of the back panel at the bottom end.
Amram Annotated Fig. 7A
Regarding claim 3, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the first loop of the plurality of loops is disposed adjacent to an outermost edge of the first side of the back panel, and the fourth loop of the plurality of loops is disposed adjacent to an outermost edge of the second side of the back panel (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 4, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the second loop of the plurality of loops is disposed adjacent to the first loop of the plurality of loops, and the third loop of the plurality of loops is disposed adjacent to the fourth loop of the plurality of loops (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 5, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the fifth loop of the plurality of loops is disposed adjacent to a first portion of a base, and the sixth loop of the plurality of loops is disposed adjacent to a second portion of the base (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one strap is configured to be coupled to the first loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the fifth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the first loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the sixth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the second loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the fifth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 9, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the second loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the sixth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the third loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the fifth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the third loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the sixth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 12, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the fourth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the fifth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 13, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap is configured to be coupled to the fourth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners and the sixth loop of the plurality of loops via a fastener of the at least two fasteners (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A – the strap is capable of attachment as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap includes a first strap (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 15, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one detachable strap includes a second strap (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amram in view of Kelleghan and US Published Application 2008/0078795 to Burkeybyle.
Regarding claim 16, Amram discloses a bag comprising: a base (Fig. 7A – bottom surface of bag) forming a level surface of the bag; a top end opposite the base (Fig. 7A); and a panel (64) extending from the base to the top end, the panel including: one or more hooks (132) having a first end and a second end (ends of each hook 132), wherein the first end is secured by a first clip (slide clip on 132 closing the hook), the first clip configured to be positioned in an open position and a closed position; one or more loops (rings 130 on top and bottom of backpanel – see Annotated Fig. 7A(II) below) disposed adjacent to the top end, the one or more loops are configured to receive either the first end or the second end of at least one of the one or more hooks (the loops receive the hook end of the snap latch), thereby coupling the one or more hooks to the panel adjacent to the top end; and one or more straps (32), each strap of the one or more straps including a strap loop (loop portion of strap holding one end of snap buckle) and a body (main strap portion of 32) having a first end, the body including a first surface (inner surface) facing the panel of the bag and a second surface (outer surface) disposed opposite the first surface, the strap loop disposed adjacent to the first end of the body, the one or more straps coupled to another of the first end or the second end of at least one of the one or more hooks via the strap loop, such that the one or more hooks are configured to couple the one or more straps to the panel adjacent to the top end via the one or more loops (Fig. 7A). Amram fails to disclose the second clip and the strap being removably coupled to the other end of the hook. However, Kelleghan discloses that it is known to have a hook on both ends of a fastener, each being closed by a clip (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included a hook closed by a slide clip on the strap side of the hook in Amram (i.e. duplicating the hook/clip and using it on the opposite side of the fastener) because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent connection element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, using a closeable hook would allow for removal of the hook and/or strap for cleaning, replacement, or storage when not in use. The combination fails to disclose the strap loop extending from the second surface of the body. However, Burkeybyle discloses a strap connection in which the strap connection (buckle 301a – Fig. 3) extends from the outer surface of the body of the strap (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have made the strap loop extend from the second surface of the body of the strap in the combination because it would protect the user from contacting the buckle. Further, the modification would have been obvious because it only involves a mere rearrangement of known parts (i.e. moving the strap loop) having predictable results. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Amram Annotated Fig. 7A(II)
Regarding claim 17, the combination from claim 16 discloses wherein the one or more loops include a first loop, a second loop, a third loop, a fourth loop, a fifth loop, and a sixth loop, the first loop and the second loop are disposed on a left side of the panel adjacent to the top end, wherein the first loop is disposed proximate to a left edge of the left side relative to the second loop, and wherein the fifth loop is disposed on the left side of the panel adjacent to the base (Amram Annotated Fig. 7A(III)).
Regarding claim 18, Amram discloses wherein the one or more straps extend from the top end at either the first loop or the second loop to the fifth loop (see arrow to first loop in Amram Fig. 7A).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amram in view of Kelleghan and US Patent 11,612,232 to Ward.
Regarding claim 19, Amram discloses a bag (Fig. 7A) comprising: a main compartment having interior surfaces that define an interior volume (interior of backpack), the main compartment including a first side, a second side, a front side, and a back side (sides of backpack); and two shoulder straps (32) releasably coupled to the back side of the main compartment (Fig. 7A), wherein the two shoulder straps include: at least two loops (loops of material on opposite ends of straps receiving one end of hooks 132) disposed on opposite ends of at least one of the two shoulder straps, and at least two hooks (132, top and bottom in Amram Fig. 7A) configured to engage the at least two loops (Fig. 7A). Amram fails to disclose a shoulder strap cushion. However, Ward discloses a backpack that includes shoulder strap cushions (24 – Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included cushions in the shoulder straps in the combination because it would make carrying the backpack more comfortable for the user. The combination fails to disclose the hooks configured to releasably engage the at least two loops. However, Kelleghan discloses that it is known to have a hook on both ends of a fastener, each being closed by a clip (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included a hook closed by a slide clip on the strap side of the hook in Amram (i.e. duplicating the hook/clip and using it on the opposite side of the fastener) because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent connection element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, using a closeable hook would allow for removal of the hook and/or strap for cleaning, replacement, or storage when not in use.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amram, Ford and Kelleghan, further in view of US Patent 12,274,338 to Sturm.
Regarding claim 21, the combination from claim 1 fails to disclose a panel retention mechanism. However, Sturm discloses a backpack Figs. 13-14) including a panel retention mechanism disposed adjacent to the back panel, the panel retention mechanism comprising: a hook (170) including a closed end and a free end disposed opposite the closed end, the hook having an opening disposed adjacent to the free end (Figs. 13-14); a panel strap (172) including a first end coupled to the hook and a second end disposed opposite the first end (Fig. 14); wherein the panel retention mechanism translates parallel to an axis extending from the top end of the back panel to the bottom end of the back panel (the retention mechanism is aligned and translatable vertically). The combination fails to disclose a ring. However, Amram discloses strap connections that use a ring connected to the strap (Fig. 7A – see loop of material connected to rings, which are connected to snap buckles at bottom of backpack, which are connected to straps 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used a loop of material/ring/snap buckle/strap connection to attach the hooks to the backpack because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent connection element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, using this connection would allow for removal of the hook when not in use, and separate cleaning and replacement of the strap/hook as needed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to applicant’s argument that the previously applied art fails to disclose the new claim language (page 10), see the new rejection of claims 1, 16 and 19 above.
Conclusion
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734