Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/27/2025 (previously not entered), but now entered with submission of the RCE filed on 11/20/2025. Currently claims 21-40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-9, filed 10/27/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-40 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-David in view of Williamson in view of Ternes have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the additional reference of Seim et al (US 20140228912) as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-David et al (US 20080091240) hereafter known as Ben-David in view of Seim et al (US 20140228912) hereafter known as Seim
Independent claim
Regarding claim 21:
Ben-David discloses:
An implantable vagus nerve stimulation (VNS) system [see Fig. 1 and abstract… “The apparatus further includes an electrode device, adapted to be coupled to a site of the subject selected from the list consisting of: a vagus nerve of the subject”], comprising:
a sensor configured to measure a cardiac signal of a patient [see Fig. 1 element 24 and para 653… “an ECG monitor 24” and para 335… “the sensing element includes an ECG monitor”];
a stimulation subsystem configured to deliver VNS therapy to the patient [see Fig. 1 element 18 which includes element 26 and see para 732… “vagal stimulation system 18” and see para 654… “For some applications, electrode device 26 (FIG. 1) comprises electrode device 40. Alternatively, electrode device 26 comprises an electrode device known in the art of nerve stimulation, such as those described in some of the references incorporated herein by reference.” and see para 133… “a multipolar electrode device that is applied to a portion of a vagus nerve that innervates the heart of a subject.”]; and
a control system [see Fig. 1 element 20] comprising a processor configured to: monitor a heart rate variability of the patient using the cardiac signal [see paras 541-550…. “a control unit, adapted to:”… and “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability” and para 653… “Control unit 20 is typically adapted to receive and analyze one or more sensed physiological parameters or other parameters of the subject, such as heart rate, electrocardiogram (ECG)” A control unit implicitly indicates a controller of some type which is understood to be a processor.];
deliver the VNS therapy to the patient at a first intensity and changing the intensity [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.”];
performing heart rate variability analysis based on the VNS therapy [see paras 541-550…. “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability” and Fig. 6 and para 804] and adjusting the intensity of stimulation to keep the heart rate variability above a lower threshold and below an upper threshold [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.” and see para 139… “the control unit is configured to apply vagal stimulation (a) when the heart rate of the subject is above a first threshold value, in order to reduce the heart rate, and (b) when the heart rate is below a second threshold value, which is lower than the first threshold value, in order to increase the heart rate.”]
However, while Ben-David discloses a processor that adjusts intensity based on Heart rate variability, Ben-David is silent as to the exact produce used to adjust the stimulation intensities to stay between these thresholds and therefore, fails to disclose the processor as being configured to: “determine that the heart rate variability has not changed by an amount indicative of an effective dose of the VNS therapy in response to the VNS therapy being delivered at the first intensity” or “increase the VNS therapy to a second intensity based on the determination that the heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose”
Seim discloses in the analogous art of neural stimulation of the vagus nerve [see Fig. 6 and para 12… “FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a circuit of a neural stimulation system.” And para 53… “For example, different electrodes of a multi-electrode cuff can be used to stimulate a neural target. Examples of neural targets include the right and left vagus nerves, cardiac branches of the vagus nerve”] that a known way to adjust stimulation based on physiological sensor feedback to achieve a desired neural target outcome is to measure heart rate variability and adjust the intensity of the stimulation based on the resulting measured heart rate variability relative to a target range (i.e. determination that the heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose) [see para 59… “In various embodiments, the sensor circuitry is used to detect physiological responses. Examples of physiological responses include cardiac activity such as heart rate, HRV, PR interval, T-wave velocity, and action potential duration. Other examples of physiological responses include hemodynamic responses such as blood pressure, and respiratory responses such as tidal volume and minute ventilation. The controller circuitry can control the therapy provided by the system using a therapy schedule and a therapy titration routine in memory 827, or can compare a target range (or ranges) of the sensed physiological response(s) stored in the memory 827 to the sensed physiological response(s) to appropriately adjust the intensity of the neural stimulation/inhibition.”]
Since Ben-Davis is silent as to exactly how stimulation is adjusted, and Seim discloses a known way to tailor electrical stimulation for vagus stimulation, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ben-Davis’s processor to determine the resulting heart rate variability (HRV), compare HRV to a target range (i.e. determine that the heart rate variability has not changed by an amount indicative of an effective dose of the VNS therapy as claimed) and change the intensity of the stimulation based this comparison as needed because this is a known way to effectively adjust stimulation for neural simulation devices.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ben-Davis in view of Seim by changing the intensity of the therapy specifically by increasing the intensity because there are a limited number of ways to change to the intensity (i.e. either increase intensity or decrease increase intensity) and increasing intensity is one of those limited number of ways (i.e. thereby reciting increase the VNS therapy to a second intensity based on the determination as claimed).
Independent claim:
Regarding claim 28:
A method of delivery vagus nerve stimulation (VNS) therapy to a patient [see para 3…“The present invention relates generally to treating subjects by application of electrical signals to a selected nerve or nerve bundle, and specifically to methods and apparatus for stimulating the vagus nerve for treating heart conditions.”], the method comprising:
monitoring, using a cardiac signal measured via a sensor [see Fig. 1 element 24 which is a sensor and para 653… “an ECG monitor 24” and para 335… “the sensing element includes an ECG monitor” ] of an implantable VNS system [see Fig. 1 which is an implanted VNS system and abstract… “The apparatus further includes an electrode device, adapted to be coupled to a site of the subject selected from the list consisting of: a vagus nerve of the subject”], a heart rate variability of the patient [see paras 541-550…. “a control unit, adapted to:”….. and “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability”. This section describes a controller using the sensor to measure heart rate variability];
delivering, via a stimulation subsystem of the implantable VNS system, the VNS therapy to the patient at a first intensity [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.];
Also, Ben-David discloses performing heart rate variability analysis based on the VNS therapy [see paras 541-550…. “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability” and Fig. 6 and para 804] and adjusting the intensity of stimulation to keep the heart rate variability above a lower threshold and below an upper threshold [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.” and see para 139… “the control unit is configured to apply vagal stimulation (a) when the heart rate of the subject is above a first threshold value, in order to reduce the heart rate, and (b) when the heart rate is below a second threshold value, which is lower than the first threshold value, in order to increase the heart rate.”]
However, while Ben-David discloses adjusting intensity based on heart rate variability, Ben-David is silent as to the exact procedure used to adjust the stimulation intensities to stay between these thresholds and therefore, fails to disclose the steps of:
“determining that the heart rate variability has changed by less than a threshold amount indicative of an effective dose of the VNS therapy in response to the VNS therapy being delivered at the first intensity” or “increasing the VNS therapy to a second intensity based on the determination that the heart rate variability has changed by less than the threshold amount indicative of the effective dose of the VNS therapy in response to the VNS therapy being delivered at the first intensity”.
Seim discloses in the analogous art of neural stimulation of the vagus nerve [see Fig. 6 and para 12… “FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a circuit of a neural stimulation system.” And para 53… “For example, different electrodes of a multi-electrode cuff can be used to stimulate a neural target. Examples of neural targets include the right and left vagus nerves, cardiac branches of the vagus nerve”] that a known way to adjust stimulation based on physiological sensor feedback to achieve a desired neural target outcome is to measure heart rate variability and adjust the intensity of the stimulation based on the resulting measured heart rate variability relative to a target range (i.e. determination that the heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose) [see para 59… “In various embodiments, the sensor circuitry is used to detect physiological responses. Examples of physiological responses include cardiac activity such as heart rate, HRV, PR interval, T-wave velocity, and action potential duration. Other examples of physiological responses include hemodynamic responses such as blood pressure, and respiratory responses such as tidal volume and minute ventilation. The controller circuitry can control the therapy provided by the system using a therapy schedule and a therapy titration routine in memory 827, or can compare a target range (or ranges) of the sensed physiological response(s) stored in the memory 827 to the sensed physiological response(s) to appropriately adjust the intensity of the neural stimulation/inhibition.”]
Since Ben-Davis is silent as to exactly how stimulation is adjusted, and Seim discloses a known way to tailor electrical stimulation for vagus stimulation, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ben-Davis to determine the resulting heart rate variability (HRV), compare HRV to a target range (i.e. determining that the heart rate variability has not changed by an amount indicative of an effective dose of the VNS therapy as claimed) and change the intensity of the stimulation based this comparison as needed because this is a known way to effectively adjust stimulation for vagus stimulation.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ben-Davis in view of Seim by changing the intensity of the therapy specifically by increasing the intensity because there are a limited number of ways to change to the intensity (i.e. either increase intensity or decrease increase intensity) and increasing intensity is one of those limited number of ways (i.e. thereby reciting increasing the VNS therapy to a second intensity based on the determination as claimed).
Independent Claim
Regarding claim 35:
A vagus nerve stimulation (VNS) system [see Fig. 1 and abstract… “The apparatus further includes an electrode device, adapted to be coupled to a site of the subject selected from the list consisting of: a vagus nerve of the subject” and para 805… “In an embodiment of the present invention, in which control unit 20 (FIG. 1) is implantable, vagal stimulation system 18 further comprises an external monitoring unit (not shown in figures).” The external monitoring unit with Fig. 1 together is the system], comprising:
a local telemetry device comprising a processor [see Fig. 1 element 20 and para 805… “In an embodiment of the present invention, in which control unit 20 (FIG. 1) is implantable, vagal stimulation system 18 further comprises an external monitoring unit (not shown in figures).” The control unit and the external monitoring unit are at least a local telemetry device with the control unit being the processor]; and
an implantable system [see Fig. 1 and abstract… “The apparatus further includes an electrode device, adapted to be coupled to a site of the subject selected from the list consisting of: a vagus nerve of the subject”], comprising:
a sensor configured to measure a cardiac signal of a patient and transmit the cardiac signal to the local telemetry device [see Fig. 1 element 24 and para 653… “an ECG monitor 24” and para 335… “the sensing element includes an ECG monitor”]; and
a stimulation subsystem configured to deliver VNS therapy to the patient, the stimulation subsystem [see Fig. 1 element 18 which includes element 26 and see para 732… “vagal stimulation system 18” and see para 654… “For some applications, electrode device 26 (FIG. 1) comprises electrode device 40. Alternatively, electrode device 26 comprises an electrode device known in the art of nerve stimulation, such as those described in some of the references incorporated herein by reference.” and see para 133… “a multipolar electrode device that is applied to a portion of a vagus nerve that innervates the heart of a subject.”];
wherein the processor of the local telemetry device is configured to:
receive the cardiac signal from the implantable system [see paras 541-550…. “a control unit, adapted to:”….. and “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability” and para 653… “Control unit 20 is typically adapted to receive and analyze one or more sensed physiological parameters or other parameters of the subject, such as heart rate, electrocardiogram (ECG)”] ;
monitor a heart rate variability of the patient using the cardiac signal [see paras 541-550…. “a control unit, adapted to:”….. and “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability” and para 653… “Control unit 20 is typically adapted to receive and analyze one or more sensed physiological parameters or other parameters of the subject, such as heart rate, electrocardiogram (ECG)”];
cause the implantable system to deliver the VNS therapy to the patient at a first intensity [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.”];
determine that the heart rate variability has not changed by an amount indicative of effectiveness [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.”];
Also, Ben-David discloses the processor as performing heart rate variability analysis based on the VNS therapy [see paras 541-550…. “determine whether the applied current affects a physiological parameter selected from the list consisting of: heart rate and heart rate variability” and Fig. 6 and para 804] and adjusting the intensity of stimulation to keep the heart rate variability above a lower threshold and below an upper threshold [see para 734… “Precise graded slowing of the heart beat is typically achieved by varying the number of nerve fibers stimulated, in a smaller-to-larger diameter order, and/or the intensity of vagus nerve stimulation, such as by changing the stimulation amplitude, pulse width, PPT, and/or delay.” and see para 139… “the control unit is configured to apply vagal stimulation (a) when the heart rate of the subject is above a first threshold value, in order to reduce the heart rate, and (b) when the heart rate is below a second threshold value, which is lower than the first threshold value, in order to increase the heart rate.”]
However, Ben-David is silent as to the exact procedure used to adjust the stimulation intensities to stay between these thresholds and therefore, fails to disclose the processor as being configured to “determine that the heart rate variability has not changed by an amount indicative of an effective dose of the VNS therapy in response to the VNS therapy being delivered at the first intensity” or “cause the implantable system to increase the VNS therapy to a second intensity based on the determination that the heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose”
Seim discloses in the analogous art of neural stimulation of the vagus nerve [see Fig. 6 and para 12… “FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a circuit of a neural stimulation system.” And para 53… “For example, different electrodes of a multi-electrode cuff can be used to stimulate a neural target. Examples of neural targets include the right and left vagus nerves, cardiac branches of the vagus nerve” that a known way to adjust stimulation based on physiological sensor feedback to achieve a desired neural target outcome is to measure heart rate variability and adjust the intensity of the stimulation based on the resulting measured heart rate variability relative to a target range (i.e. determination that the heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose) [see para 59… “In various embodiments, the sensor circuitry is used to detect physiological responses. Examples of physiological responses include cardiac activity such as heart rate, HRV, PR interval, T-wave velocity, and action potential duration. Other examples of physiological responses include hemodynamic responses such as blood pressure, and respiratory responses such as tidal volume and minute ventilation. The controller circuitry can control the therapy provided by the system using a therapy schedule and a therapy titration routine in memory 827, or can compare a target range (or ranges) of the sensed physiological response(s) stored in the memory 827 to the sensed physiological response(s) to appropriately adjust the intensity of the neural stimulation/inhibition.”]
Since Ben-Davis is silent as to exactly how stimulation is adjusted, and Seim discloses a known way to tailor electrical stimulation for vagus stimulation, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ben-Davis’s processor to determine the resulting heart rate variability (HRV), compare HRV to a target range (i.e. determine that the heart rate variability has not changed by an amount indicative of an effective dose of the VNS therapy as claimed) and change the intensity of the stimulation based this comparison as needed because this is a known way to effectively adjust stimulation for neural simulation devices.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ben-Davis in view of Seim by changing the intensity of the therapy specifically by increasing the intensity because there are a limited number of ways to change to the intensity (i.e. either increase intensity or decrease increase intensity) and increasing intensity is one of those limited number of ways (i.e. thereby reciting increase the VNS therapy to a second intensity based on the determination as claimed).
Dependent claims:
Regarding claims 22, 29 and 36, para 49 of Seim discloses how the controller is configured to perform modulate the therapy and para 84 of Seim [see “Some system embodiments modify, over time, the response of the device to a patient trigger over time. The alteration to the response may be automatically modified based on previous episodes and memory of the device.”] which discloses how the system includes an overall automatic design. Based on these, features Ben-David in view of Seim is understood to recite increasing the VNS therapy to the second intensity automatically (i.e. performed automatically) if the heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of effectiveness / changed by less than threshold amount as recited by these claims.
Regarding claims 23 and 30, paras 805-807 of Ben-David [see “vagal stimulation system 18 further comprises an external monitoring unit (not shown in figures)” and “implantable control unit 20 is adapted to transmit a communication signal to the external monitoring unit upon each application of vagal stimulation.”] discloses the inclusion of an external monitor that is provided with a communication signal for every applied stimulation. Given this includes stimulations where the HRV (heart rate variability) has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose this is at least a notification to an external device as recited in claims 23 and 30.
Regarding claims 24, 31 and 38:
determining a stimulation heart rate variability of the patient during a stimulation period of the VNS therapy in which stimulation is delivered to the patient [see Fig. 6 and para 804 of Ben-David …. “Each point on the graph (indicated by an "x") represents a single stimulation period, including a single "on" period and the "off" periods immediately preceding and following the "on" period. The y-coordinate of each point indicates the average R-R interval during the respective "on" period, and the x-coordinate indicates the average R-R interval during the respective "off" periods immediately preceding and following the "on" period.”]
determining a baseline heart rate variability of the patient during a baseline period of the VNS therapy in which no stimulation is delivered to the patient [Fig. 6 and para 804 of Ben-David …. “Each point on the graph (indicated by an "x") represents a single stimulation period, including a single "on" period and the "off" periods immediately preceding and following the "on" period. The y-coordinate of each point indicates the average R-R interval during the respective "on" period, and the x-coordinate indicates the average R-R interval during the respective "off" periods immediately preceding and following the "on" period.”]
comparing a difference between the baseline heart rate variability and the stimulation heart rate variability to a/the threshold value [see rejection to claims 21, 28, 35 which disclose comparing the HRV to a target range].
Regarding claims 25, 32 and 39, para 135 of Ben-David [see… “Parameters of stimulation are varied in real time in order to vary the heart-rate-lowering effects of the stimulation. In embodiments of the present invention in which the stimulation is applied in a series of bursts that are synchronized with the cardiac cycle of the subject, such as described hereinabove, parameters of such bursts typically include, but are not limited to: (a) timing of the stimulation within the cardiac cycle, (b) pulse duration (width), (c) pulse repetition interval within each burst, (d) number of pulses per burst, also referred to herein as "pulses per trigger" (PPT), (e) amplitude, (f) duty cycle” ] which discloses how stimulation is configured to be delivered / delivers therapy according to a duty cycle as claimed and para 804 of Ben-David [see.. “Intermittent vagal stimulation was applied to a conscious dog during alternating "on" and "off" periods having durations of 1 minute and 2 minutes, respectively.”] which discloses how the stimulation period has an ON and OFF period as claimed.
Regarding claims 26, 33 and 40, see rejection to claims 21, 28 and 35 above which cite
paras 653 of Ben David [see “an ECG monitor 24”] and para 335 of Ben David [see… “the sensing element includes an ECG monitor”] which discloses an ECG signal as claimed.
Regarding claims 27 and 34:
measuring R-R intervals between successive R-waves within the ECG signal measured during the stimulation period of the VNS therapy and the baseline period of the VNS therapy [see para 134 of Ben-David… “The application of each of the bursts in each cardiac cycle typically commences after a variable delay after a detected R-wave, P-wave, or other feature of an ECG. The delay is typically calculated in real time using a function, the inputs of which include one or more pre-programmed but updateable constants and one or more sensed parameters, such as the R-R interval between cardiac cycles and/or the P-R interval.” And see para 804 of Ben-David…. “Intermittent vagal stimulation was applied to a conscious dog during alternating "on" and "off" periods having durations of 1 minute and 2 minutes, respectively. Each point on the graph (indicated by an "x") represents a single stimulation period, including a single "on" period and the "off" periods immediately preceding and following the "on" period. The y-coordinate of each point indicates the average R-R interval during the respective "on" period, and the x-coordinate indicates the average R-R interval during the respective "off" periods immediately preceding and following the "on" period.”]; and
comparing the R-R intervals measured during the stimulation period to the R-R intervals measured during the baseline period [See para 403 of Ben-David… “determine a magnitude of a heart-rate-lowering effect of the stimulation by comparing an aspect of each "on" period to an aspect of each "off" period” and para 804 of Ben-David… “As can be seen in the graph, nearly all of the points lie above the x=y line, indicating that the vagal stimulation lowered the heart rate during the stimulation "on" periods more than non-stimulation lowered the heart rate during the corresponding non-stimulation "off" periods.”]
Regarding claim 37, paras 805-807 of Ben-David [see “vagal stimulation system 18 further comprises an external monitoring unit (not shown in figures)” and “implantable control unit 20 is adapted to transmit a communication signal to the external monitoring unit upon each application of vagal stimulation.”] discloses the inclusion of an external monitor that is provided a communication signal for every applied stimulation. Given this includes stimulations where the HRV has not changed (i.e. Heart rate variability has not changed by the amount indicative of the effective dose) this is at least a notification to an external device which is understood to include a healthcare provider as recited in 37.
Conclusion
SEBASTIAN X LUKJAN
/SXL/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792