DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are active.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/14/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2, 7-9, and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 15, “mechanical” in line 2 should say “mechanism”.
Regarding claim 7, a colon (“:”) should be inserted after “comprising” in line 1 in order to differentiate the preamble of the claim from the body.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, clarification is required regarding the limitation “other metal having structural support for the first layer” in lines 3-4. Specifically, it is unclear what other metals qualify as “having structural support for the first layer”, as claimed, since no such examples are provided in applicant’s disclosure. Additionally, it is unclear whether “structural support” is intended to be a structural limitation or a functional one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perez et al. (US 2024/0263479), herein ‘Perez’.
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, and 14, Perez discloses a ballistic panel (100), comprising:
a ballistic material (102, 108; par. 26, 30); and
a fastening mechanism (202, 204) adapted to dispose the ballistic material with standoff (302; par. 35) over a surface (Figs. 1-3) of an asset (106, 206).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 15, Perez discloses wherein the fastening mechanism includes:
a rail (204) coupled to the asset (Figs. 2-3; par. 34-35);
a standoff coupled to the rail (Figs. 2-3; par. 34-35; the standoff being the horizontal frame members 202 which extend away from energy transmission equipment 106); and
a bracket coupled between the standoff and the ballistic material (Figs. 2-3; par. 34-35; the bracket being the horizontal and/or vertical frame members 202 which extend parallel to the outer surface of energy transmission equipment 106).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Perez discloses wherein the asset includes a power transformer or other electric equipment (106; par. 21).
Regarding claim 20, Perez discloses overlapping a plurality of the ballistic panels over the surface of the asset (Figs. 1 and 4; par. 26, 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 10-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al. (US 2024/0263479) as applied to claims 1, 7, and 14 above, respectively, and further in view of Leber (US 10840677), herein ‘Leber’.
Regarding claims 3-5, 10-12, and 16-18, Perez discloses wherein the ballistic material can be manufactured from any suitable material, such as non-woven aramid, ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene, or other composites in one embodiment (par. 26, 45), or a non-woven composite or metal material in another embodiment (par. 45), but does not expressly teach wherein the ballistic material includes a first layer bonded to a second layer, wherein the first layer includes a material selected from the group consisting of polyethylene, aramid fiber, ballistic fabric, adhesives, ceramics, and aluminum oxide, and wherein the second layer includes a material selected from the group consisting of steel, galvanized steel, iron, and aluminum.
Leber teaches a ballistic panel (4) comprising a ballistic material (7) and a fastening mechanism (5) adapted to dispose the ballistic material over a surface of a transformer (1), wherein the ballistic material may be a multilayered panel made of a composite of a metal material and a synthetic material (col. 3 lines 46-47; col. 7 lines 27-29), where the synthetic material may be aramid fiber or polyethylene (col. 7 lines 33-36) and the metal material may be steel (col. 7 lines 24-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the ballistic material of Perez to comprise a first layer of polyethylene or aramid fiber and a second layer of steel as taught by Leber with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/BENJAMIN S. GOMBERG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3641