DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The IDS filed 7/03/2025 is considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez Rivera et al. (US 2025/0165698 A1), hereinafter referred to as HR, and further in view of Reissman et al. (US 2012/0324476 A1).
In regard to claim 1, HR discloses a computer-implemented method for providing advanced paste functions, the method comprising (Paragraph 0106, Paragraph 0118, and Paragraph 0120):
detecting a first user input indicating a request to copy an electronic item for pasting (Paragraph 0023 lines 1-2: request to capture a content item);
an advanced paste user interface (UI) (Fig. 3A, Paragraph 0022 lines 5-9, and Paragraph 0059 lines 1-4: content management tool user interface);
selecting a first set of relevant predefined conversion functions based on a data type (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-9, Paragraph 0055 lines 1-9, and Paragraph 0071 lines 10-14: suggest a generative transformation function previously used for type of content),
and displaying the advanced paste UI with (Fig. 3B):
a first set of selectable affordances corresponding to the first set of relevant predefined conversion functions (Fig. 3B element 308 and Paragraph 0040: list of generative transformation functions including previous selected functions),
and a text input field for requesting a custom conversion function (Fig. 3B element 304 and Paragraph 0041: prompt field for defining a generative transformation function);
receiving a text input in the text input field (Paragraph 0041 and Paragraph 0060 lines 9-14: user edits or defines a generative transformation function in the prompt field);
in response to receiving the text input, generating a prompt for a language model, wherein the prompt includes the copy of the item and the text input; providing the prompt to the language model; receiving a response from the language model; obtaining a converted item based on the response (Paragraph 0019 lines 6-18, Paragraph 0025, and Paragraph 0028: the prompt in the prompt field includes any user entered text and the content “INPUT text” , which is provided to a generative large language model to perform a transformation according to the prompt and output the transformed content in an output field);
and pasting the converted item (Paragraph 0033: paste request is received and the most recently transformed content is pasted).
While HR teaches detecting a first user input indicating a request to copy an electronic item for pasting, an advanced paste user interface (UI), selecting a first set of relevant predefined conversion functions based on a data type, and displaying the advanced paste UI with: a first set of selectable affordances corresponding to the first set of relevant predefined conversion functions, and a text input field for requesting a custom conversion function, they fail to show the in response to detecting the first user input, saving a copy of the item in temporary storage; detecting a second user input indicating a request to invoke an advanced paste user interface (UI); in response to detecting the second user input: identifying a data type of the copy of the item, selecting a first set of relevant predefined conversion functions based on the data type, and displaying the advanced paste UI, as recited in the claims. Reissman teaches copying and pasting content similar to that of HR. In addition, Reissman further teaches
in response to detecting a first user input for copying an electronic item, saving a copy of the item in temporary storage (Paragraph 0040 lines 5-6 and Paragraph 0060 lines 4-6: user selects data to copy which is added to a clipboard);
detecting a second user input indicating a request to invoke an advanced paste user interface (UI); in response to detecting the second user input: identifying a data type of the copy of the item (Paragraph 0040 lines 6-9, Paragraph 0041 lines 1-3, and Paragraph 0060 lines 6-9: user pastes data in enhanced past system which activates the enhances paste and determines the type of content in the clipboard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of HR and Reissman before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the a first user input indicating a request to copy an electronic item for pasting, an advanced paste user interface (UI), selecting a first set of relevant predefined conversion functions based on a data type, and displaying the advanced paste UI with: a first set of selectable affordances corresponding to the first set of relevant predefined conversion functions, and a text input field for requesting a custom conversion function taught by HR to include the in response to detecting a first user input for copying an electronic item, saving a copy of the item in temporary storage, detecting a second user input indicating a request to invoke an advanced paste user interface (UI); in response to detecting the second user input: identifying a data type of the copy of the item of Reissman, in order to obtain in response to detecting the first user input, saving a copy of the item in temporary storage; detecting a second user input indicating a request to invoke an advanced paste user interface (UI); in response to detecting the second user input: identifying a data type of the copy of the item, selecting a first set of relevant predefined conversion functions based on the data type, and displaying the advanced paste UI with: a first set of selectable affordances corresponding to the first set of relevant predefined conversion functions, and a text input field for requesting a custom conversion function. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as utilizing a standard copy to clipboard functionality and therefore not requiring any modification to operate with a system and the ability to intuitively select information needed from an external application giving the user the ability to control what should be integrated, as suggested by Reissman (Paragraph 0026, Paragraph 0039, and Paragraph 0040 lines 3-6). Further, HR suggests that the method may include more or fewer steps (Paragraph 0050 lines 5-8) and therefore would be obvious to modify with more steps, (e.g. the additional step of a second user input indicating a request to invoke an advanced paste user interface, as taught by Reissman) to suit different user needs.
In regard to claim 2, HR discloses wherein the response includes the converted item (Paragraph 0028 lines 1-4: the content transformer writes the transformed content item).
In regard to claim 6, HR discloses after obtaining the converted item: storing the converted item (Paragraph 0030 lines 7-11: copy request causes transformed content to be stored), and detecting a third user input requesting to paste the converted item, wherein the converted item is pasted based on receiving the third user input (Paragraph 0033: the transformed content that is copied is pasted in response to a paste request) and Reissman teaches storing copied content in the temporary storge (Paragraph 0040 lines 5-6 and Paragraph 0060 lines 5-6: copied content stored in the clipboard), therefore the combination teaches after obtaining the converted item: storing the converted item in the temporary storage, and detecting a third user input requesting to paste the converted item, wherein the converted item is pasted based on receiving the third user input. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as utilizing a standard copy to clipboard functionality and therefore not requiring any modification to operate with a system and the ability to intuitively select information needed from an external application giving the user the ability to control what should be integrated, as suggested by Reissman (Paragraph 0026, Paragraph 0039, and Paragraph 0040 lines 3-6).
In regard to claim 7, HR discloses before detecting the third user input, displaying a preview of the converted item (Paragraph 0028: the transformed content is output in an output field before it is pasted).
In regard to claim 8, HR discloses wherein a data type of the converted item is different from a data type of the item (Paragraph 0033 lines 10-16: modality of transformed content item is different from a modality of the original content item).
In regard to claims 15, 16, and 20, system claims 15, 16, and 20 correspond generally to method claims 1, 2, and 6, respectively, and recite similar features in system form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
5. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez Rivera et al. (US 2025/0165698 A1), hereinafter referred to as HR, Reissman et al. (US 2012/0324476 A1), and further in view of Kramer et al. (US 2024/0086164 A1).
In regard to claim 9, while HR teaches a content transformer (Paragraph 0025 lines 1-6) and first text (Paragraph 0023 lines 4-5) and the converted item, they fail to show the wherein the item comprises first text in a first computer language and the converted item comprises second text in a second computer language, as recited in the claims. Kramer teaches a content transformer similar to that of HA. In addition, Kramer further teaches
transformer language models for translating between programming languages (Paragraph 0001: Language models for translating between programming languages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of HA, Reissman, and Kramer before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the content transformer, first text, and converted item taught by HR to include the transformer language models for translating between programming languages of Kramer, in order to obtain wherein the item comprises first text in a first computer language and the converted item comprises second text in a second computer language. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing popular transformer language models therefore providing benefit for users that are programmers, as suggested by Kramer (Paragraph 0001).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 3-5, 10, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claims 3-5, the prior art of record fails to disclose the limitations of claim 3 in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose the limitations of claim 10 in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claims 17-19, the prior art of record fails to disclose the limitations of claim 17 in combination with the other elements recited.
7. Claims 11-14 are allowed.
In regard to claims 11-14, claim 11 recites similar subject matter as claim 1 except for the recited “in response to receiving the text input: generating a prompt for a language model, wherein the prompt includes the copy of the first item and a list of the first set of relevant predefined conversion functions, and providing the prompt to the language model;”. The applied prior art references (to claim 1) are not found to teach or suggest the above limitations in combination with the other elements recited. As the references do disclose generating a prompt that includes a copy of the first items (see above detailed rejection of claim 1) they fail to disclose generating a prompt that includes the copy of the first item and a list of the first set of relevant predefined conversion functions, as required by the claim. No other references, alone or in combination, were found to teach this combination of subject matter. Accordingly, claim 11 and claims 12-14 that depend therefrom are allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Voicu et al. (US 2025/0165695 A1), see at least Paragraphs 0026-0027.
Kochura et al. (US 2021/0064448 A1), see at least the abstract.
Jung et al. (US 2020/0265040 A1), see at least the abstract.
Auger et al. (US 2014/0280132 A1), see at least Paragraph 0056.
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179