DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment of 11/12/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 5-31 are currently pending in the application. Claim 4 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 13-14, 22, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BAI (CN 212098730).
Regarding claim 1, BAI discloses an apparatus for collecting and forwarding sensor signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (pg. 1 lines 14-15), the apparatus comprising:
at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30), wherein the at least two inputs include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12); and,
at least one output interface (6, pg. 3 line 24, Fig. 1; implied by data access, pg. 4 lines 13-14) for digital signals (Bluetooth, pg. 4 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 2, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI further discloses wherein said at least two inputs include analog inputs (implied, pg. 5 lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 3, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI further discloses wherein said at least two inputs include digital inputs (implied, pg. 5 lines 29-30).
Regarding claim 7, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI further discloses wherein said at least one output interface is a radio device (implied by Bluetooth, pg. 4 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 8, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI further discloses the apparatus comprising a receiver for radio signals (pg. 5 lines 29-30).
The limitation “for radio signals from tire pressure sensors” is considered as functional language. To establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness of a functional limitation, the prior art structure must inherently possess the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See MPEP §2114 subsection I. In the instant case, the receiver of BAI used to receive Bluetooth radio signals from hub temperature sensor is capable of receiving Bluetooth radio signals from tire pressure sensors.
Regarding claim 10, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI further discloses the apparatus further comprising a power supply via the at least one output interface (5, implied pg. 3 line 24).
Regarding claim 13, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI further discloses further comprising a housing formed as a fully enclosed box wherein said at least two inputs are accessible from outside said box (implied, i.a. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, BAI further discloses the apparatus of claim 13.
BAI further discloses wherein said at least one output interface (6) is externally accessible (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, BAI discloses a telematics system comprising:
a control unit for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (mobile phone control function, pg. 4 lines 33-34), wherein said control unit is a telematics control unit (pg. 4 lines 14-15); and,
the apparatus of claim 1 (ECU box, pg. 4 lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 25, BAI discloses the telematics system of claim 22.
BAI further discloses wherein said at least one output interface is a radio device (Bluetooth transmitter module, pg. 4 line 33); and, said control unit has a receiver for receiving radio signals of said radio device of said apparatus (implied, i.a. pg. 4 lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 27, BAI discloses a vehicle (implied throughout, i.a. pg. 4 line 8) comprising the telematics system of claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAI (CN 212098730) in view of LUDWIG (DE 10 352 268, provided by Applicant on 05/14/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 5, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI does not disclose said at least one output interface is suitable for connection to a vehicle bus.
LUDWIG teaches at least one output interface (bus interface, 0005 line 18) is suitable for connection to a vehicle bus (0005 lines 17-19; 0012 lines 14-15) so that processed signals can be transmitted to at least one further control unit (0005 lines 18-19, 0012 lines 16-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the output interface of BAI as a vehicle bus interface as taught by LUDWIG so that processed signals can be transmitted to at least one further control unit for further analysis.
Regarding claim 6, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 5.
LUDWIG is relied upon to teach the output interface is suitable for connection to a vehicle bus.
LUDWIG further teaches wherein said at least one output interface is suitable for connection to a CAN bus or LIN bus (0005 lines 47-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the output interface of BAI as a CAN or LIN bus interface as taught by LUDWIG so that processed signals can be transmitted to at least one further control unit for further analysis.
Regarding claim 11, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI is not relied upon to teach a power supply with batteries.
LUDWIG teaches an apparatus comprising a power supply with batteries (0012 lines 20-22) so that an external power supply is unnecessary (0012 line 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus of BAI with batteries as taught by LUDWIG so that an external power supply is unnecessary or as a backup if the external power supply fails.
Regarding claim 17, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI is not relied upon to teach the processing unit configured to preprocess the sensor signals.
LUDWIG teaches a processing unit configured to preprocess sensor signals (0012 lines 7-8) recording chassis parameters (0013 lines 3-6).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the processing unit of BAI to preprocess sensor signals as taught by LUDWIG to improve signal condition as is commonplace in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in preprocessing the signals in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Claims 1, 18-20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUDWIG (DE 10 352 268, provided by Applicant on 05/14/2024 IDS) in view of BAI (CN 212098730).
Regarding claim 1, LUDWIG discloses an apparatus for collecting and forwarding sensor signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (wheel speed sensors, brake wear sensors, TPMS sensors, are all wheel end sensors, 0013 lines 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
at least two inputs for sensor signals (2.1-2.N); and,
at least one output interface for digital signals (implied, 4, digital at 0021 line 5).
LUDWIG is silent regarding how the sensors are powered.
BAI teaches an apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30) that include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12).
Absent guidance from LUDWIG, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to power the sensors of LUDWIG as taught by BAI to provide power to the sensors. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in powering the sensors from inputs provided on the apparatus in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 18, LUDWIG discloses an electronic braking system (ABS implies electronics, 0005 line 32) comprising:
a control unit (10, Fig. 2) for vehicles with sensors (6.1-6.N) for monitoring wheel ends (0013 lines 3-5);
an apparatus having at least two inputs for sensor signals (2.1-2.N); and,
said apparatus further having at least one output interface for digital signals (implied, 4, digital at 0021 line 5).
LUDWIG is silent regarding how the sensors are powered.
BAI teaches an apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30) that include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12).
Absent guidance from LUDWIG, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to power the sensors of LUDWIG as taught by BAI to provide power to the sensors. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in powering the sensors from inputs provided on the apparatus in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 19, LUDWIG discloses the electronic braking system of claim 18.
LUDWIG further discloses wherein said control unit is connected to said apparatus via a vehicle bus (0005 lines 47-48, 0012 lines 14-15, 0018 lines 11-12, 0021 lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 20, LUDWIG discloses the electronic braking system of claim 19.
LUDWIG further discloses wherein the vehicle bus is a CAN bus or LIN bus (0005 lines 47-48, 0012 lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 26, LUDWIGH further discloses a vehicle (i.a. 0001 line 2) comprising the electronic braking system of claim 18.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUDWIG (DE 10 352 268, provided by Applicant on 05/14/2024 IDS) in view of BAI (CN 212098730) and YU (US 2015/0061853).
Regarding claim 9, LUDWIG as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
LUDWIG further discloses the apparatus comprising a receiver (2.2, Fig. 1, 0019 line 4) for radio signals from tire pressure sensors (0019 lines 3-4).
LUDWIG does not disclose the repeater as claimed.
YU teaches a repeater for amplifying radio signals from tire pressure sensors and then forwarding the amplified radio signals to a receiver of an apparatus (abstract lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the repeater taught by YU to the apparatus of LUDWIG to extend the range of the tire pressure sensors.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAI (CN 212098730) in view of REMMLINGER (DE 10326676, provided by Applicant on 05/14/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 12, BAI discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
BAI is not relied upon to teach the remaining limitations of the claim.
REMMLINGER teaches an apparatus comprising a power supply configured to obtain energy from an environment (0008 lines 1-2).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus of BAI with a power supply configured to obtain energy from the environment as taught by REMMLINGER to provide reliable power supply with the risk wire failure. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in providing a power supply configured to obtain energy from the environment in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEIBERLE (US 2004/0015281) in view of BAI (CN 212098730).
Regarding claim 1, WEIBERLE discloses an apparatus (axle modules, i.a. 0013 line 16) for collecting and forwarding sensor signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends, the apparatus comprising:
at least two inputs for sensor signals (speed, braking torque, etc., 0013 lines 16-20); and,
at least one output interface for digital signals (CAN implies digital, 0014 lines 3-5 and 0015 lines 1-3).
WEIBERLE is silent regarding how the sensors are powered.
BAI teaches an apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30) that include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12).
Absent guidance from WEIBERLE, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to power the sensors of WEIBERLE as taught by BAI to provide power to the sensors. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in powering the sensors from inputs provided on the apparatus in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEIBERLE (US 2004/0015281) in view of BAI (CN 212098730) and KRELL (EP 0307634).
Regarding claim 15, WEIBERLE as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
WEIBERLE further discloses said at least two inputs include:
an input (implied by axle module, i.a. 0002 lines 6-8, 0013 lines 7-8 and 12-13, etc.) for signals of a brake torque sensor (0013 line 19).
WEIBERLE does not disclose the apparatus (axle module) includes inputs from temperature or wear sensors as claimed.
KRELL teaches an apparatus (axle interface 10, 0011 line 7) for collecting and forwarding sensors signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (Fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
an input for signals of a temperature sensor (bearing temperature sensor, 0004 line 4; brake temperature sensor, 0004 line 5);
an input for signals of a brake pad wear sensor (0004 line 5);
such that important operating data can be continuously determined, recorded (0005 lines 1-3), and evaluated after a driving trip (0005 line 5) to make an important contribution to road safety (0005 line 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the inputs for signals taught by KRELL to the apparatus (axle module) of WEIBERLIE such that important operating data can be continuously determined, recorded, and evaluated after a driving trip to make an important contribution to road safety.
Regarding claim 16, WEIBERLE as modified teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
WEIBERLE further discloses said at least two inputs include:
at least two inputs (implied by axle module, i.a. 0002 lines 6-8, 0013 lines 7-8 and 12-13, etc.) for recording (0013 line 17) signals from brake torque sensors (0013 line 19).
WEIBERLE does not disclose the apparatus (axle module) includes inputs from temperature or wear sensors as claimed.
KRELL teaches an apparatus (axle interface 10, 0011 line 7) for collecting and forwarding sensors signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (Fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
at least four inputs for signals from temperature sensors (bearing temperature sensor, 0004 line 4; brake temperature sensor, 0004 line 5; x2 implied for both knuckles and brakes on an axle, 0004 lines 4-8); and
at least two inputs for signals from brake pad wear sensors (0004 line 5; x2 implied for both knuckles and brakes on an axle, 0004 lines 4-8);
such that important operating data can be continuously determined, recorded (0005 lines 1-3), and evaluated after a driving trip (0005 line 5) to make an important contribution to road safety (0005 line 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the inputs for signals taught by KRELL to the apparatus (axle module) of WEIBERLIE such that important operating data can be continuously determined, recorded, and evaluated after a driving trip to make an important contribution to road safety.
Claims 1, 18, 21, 28-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FISCHER (US 10,710,418) in view of BAI (CN 212098730).
Regarding claim 1, FISCHER discloses an apparatus (10-n, Fig. 1) for collecting and forwarding sensor signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends, the apparatus comprising:
at least two inputs for sensor signals (implied, for 12, 13, Fig. 2); and,
at least one output interface for digital signals (implied, for 16; digital implied i.a. col. 11 lines 3-5).
FISCHER is silent regarding how the sensors are powered.
BAI teaches an apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30) that include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12).
Absent guidance from FISCHER, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to power the sensors of FISCHER as taught by BAI to provide power to the sensors. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in powering the sensors from inputs provided on the apparatus in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 18, FISCHER discloses an electronic braking system (ABS implies electronics, col. 1 line 61) comprising:
a control unit (20, col. 11 line 2) for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (col. 11 lines 32 and 34);
an apparatus (10-n, Fig. 1) having at least two inputs for sensor signals (implied, for 12, 13, Fig. 2); and,
said apparatus further having at least one output interface for digital signals (implied, for 16; digital implied i.a. col. 11 lines 3-5).
FISCHER is silent regarding how the sensors are powered.
BAI teaches an apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30) that include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12).
Absent guidance from FISCHER, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to power the sensors of FISCHER as taught by BAI to provide power to the sensors. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in powering the sensors from inputs provided on the apparatus in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 21, FISCHER discloses the electronic braking system of claim 18.
FISCHER further discloses wherein said at least one output interface is a radio device; and, said control unit has a receiver for receiving radio signals of said radio device of said apparatus (16, col. 11 line 57).
Regarding claim 28, FISCHER discloses a method for operating an apparatus (10-n, Fig. 1) for collecting and forwarding sensor signals for vehicles with sensors for monitoring wheel ends (col. 11 lines 32 and 34), the apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (implied, for 12, 13, Fig. 2); and, at least one output interface for digital signals (implied, for 16; digital implied i.a. col. 11 lines 3-5), the method comprising:
transferring sensor signal dependent digital signals to the at least one output interface (implied, col. 11 lines 43-47).
FISCHER is silent regarding how the sensors are powered.
BAI teaches an apparatus comprising at least two inputs for sensor signals (7, pg. 3 lines 26-29, Fig. 1; pg. 5 lines 29-30) that include a power supply for the sensors (implied by “inputs voltage to the sensor”, pg. 5 lines 11-12).
Absent guidance from FISCHER, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to power the sensors of FISCHER as taught by BAI to provide power to the sensors. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in powering the sensors from inputs provided on the apparatus in the practice of Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 29, FISCHER discloses the method as claimed in claim 28.
FISCHER further discloses additional installation location dependent signals are transferred to the at least one output interface (implied, col. 8 lines 47-55).
Regarding claim 31, FISCHER discloses the method of claim 28.
FISCHER further discloses preprocessing sensor signals in the apparatus (col. 11 lines 39-47).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAI (CN 212098730) in view of RISSE (US 2015/0349977).
Regarding claim 23, BAI discloses the telematics system of claim 22.
BAI discloses said mobile-phone-telematics control unit (mobile phone control function, pg. 4 lines 33-34) is connected to said apparatus via Bluetooth (pg. 4 line 33) rather than a vehicle bus as claimed.
RISSE teaches a vehicle-integrated telematics control unit (21, 0032 line 2, Fig. 1), wherein said control unit is connected to an apparatus (e.g., 13) via a vehicle bus (CAN bus 17, 0029 lines 4-5, 0034 lines 8-9, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vehicle-integrated telematics control unit taught by RISSE for the mobile-phone-telematics control unit of BAI to eliminate the need for a user to pair their mobile phone to the apparatus in order for the telemetry data to be uploaded.
Regarding claim 24, BAI as modified teaches the telematics system of claim 23.
RISSE is relied upon to teach the vehicle-integrated telematics control unit and vehicle bus.
RISSE further teaches the vehicle bus is a CAN bus (CAN bus 17, 0029 lines 4-5, 0034 lines 8-9, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vehicle-integrated telematics control unit taught by RISSE for the mobile-phone-telematics control unit of BAI to eliminate the need for a user to pair their mobile phone to the apparatus in order for the telemetry data to be uploaded.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FISCHER (US 10,710,418) in view of BAI (CN 212098730) and SHOSTAK (US 7,786,864).
Regarding claim 30, FISCHER discloses the method of claim 28.
FISCHER is not relied upon to teach the further limitations of the claim.
SHOSTAK teaches a sensor plug-and-play scenario wherein additional sensor-type-dependent signals are transferred to a system (col. 66 lines 4-11), which, by the method, the configuration and quantity of sensing systems on a vehicle can be easily changed and the system interrogating these sensors need only be updated with software upgrades which could occur automatically, such as over the Internet and by any telematics communication channel including cellular and satellite (col. 66 lines 16-22) to permit new kinds of sensors to be retroactively installed on a vehicle (col. 66 lines 12-13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transfer additional sensor-type-dependent signals to the at least output interface of FISCHER to permit new kinds of sensors to be retroactively installed on a vehicle because SHOSTAK teaches a sensor plug-and-play scenario wherein additional sensor-type-dependent signals are transferred to a system, which, by the method, the configuration and quantity of sensing systems on a vehicle can be easily changed and the system interrogating these sensors need only be updated with software upgrades which could occur automatically, such as over the Internet and by any telematics communication channel including cellular and satellite to permit new kinds of sensors to be retroactively installed on a vehicle.
FISCHER as modified teaches wherein additional sensor type dependent signals are transferred to the at least one output interface.
Response to Arguments
The following remarks respond to Applicant’s arguments filed 11/12/2025.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the SIEKE reference failing to teach particular limitations of claim 1, see pgs. 1-2, have been fully considered but are moot as the reference is not relied upon in any of the current rejections hereinabove.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 9, see pgs. 2-3, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because they do not apply to newly discovered reference YU applied in the current rejections hereinabove.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 30, see pgs. 3-4, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because they do not apply to newly discovered reference SHOSTAK applied in the current rejection of the claim hereinabove.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 22, see pgs. 4-5, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because they do not apply to newly discovered reference BAI applied in the current rejection of the claim hereinabove.
Applicant’s arguments regarding various dependent claims, see pg. 6, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the independent claims have not been found allowable.
Conclusion
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747