DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "said therapeutic result" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “said therapeutic result comprises an effective treatment of urinary incontinence” in lines 1-2. This is unclear as it is not clear what is considered an “effective treatment” and limits something not currently claimed.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said therapeutic result" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 is dependent on itself, which renders the claim unclear.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "said therapeutic result comprises an effective treatment of urinary incontinence" in lines 1-2. This is unclear as it is not clear what is considered an “effective treatment”.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 60 of U.S. Patent No. 10,500,128. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 60 of US 10,500,128 discloses a species that anticipates the present genus claims. The claims are mapped as follows:
Present Claims
US 10,500,128
1. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
an acoustic energy pulse generator; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse along a urethra of the living body in a direction along a length of the urethra, said acoustic energy pulse having an energy density field that is dimensioned to therapeutically encompass at least a portion of urethral sphincter muscles of the patient.
60. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
a housing comprising an opening and a longitudinal axis, wherein said longitudinal axis extends through said opening;
an acoustic energy pulse generator wherein at least a portion of said acoustic energy pulse generator is contained within said housing; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse along a urethra of the living body in a direction along a length of the urethra, said acoustic energy pulse having an energy density field that is dimensioned to therapeutically encompass urethral sphincter muscles of the patient; and
wherein a first volume of said energy density field having a minimum energy density that is at least 50% of a maximum energy density of said first volume is configured to encompass a second volume of at least thirty percent of the urethral sphincter muscles.
As shown in the comparison above, all elements of the present claim are disclosed by the species claim of US 10,500,128.
Claims 1, 11, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 46, 47, 48, and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,817. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 10, 46, 48, and 49 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,817 recite species that anticipate the current genus claims. The claims are mapped as follows:
Present Claims
US 12,016,817
1. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
an acoustic energy pulse generator; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse along a urethra of the living body in a direction along a length of the urethra, said acoustic energy pulse having an energy density field that is dimensioned to therapeutically encompass at least a portion of urethral sphincter muscles of the patient.
10. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
a housing comprising an opening and a longitudinal axis, wherein said longitudinal axis extends through said opening;
an acoustic energy pulse generator wherein at least a portion of said acoustic energy pulse generator is contained within said housing; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse along a female urethra of the living body in a direction along a length of the female urethra, said acoustic energy pulse having an energy density field that is configured for treating the female urethra and, as a result of said treating, reducing urinary incontinence; and
wherein a minimum energy density of a first volume of said energy density field is at least 50% of a maximum energy density of said energy density field and said first volume is configured to encompass a second volume of at least thirty percent of urethral sphincter muscles of the female urethra.
11. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a
living body, said apparatus comprising
an acoustic energy pulse generator; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and
deliver the acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least a portion of an anal sphincter or a rectum of the living body to restore or improve functionality of the anal sphincter and/or rectum, to facilitate generation of tissue of the anal sphincter and/or rectum, and/or to improve vascularization of the anal sphincter and/or rectum.
16. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein said acoustic energy pulse is provided
to have an energy flux density (EFD) in a predetermined therapeutic range where
encompassing the at least a portion of the anal sphincter or rectum; and
wherein the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range can be measured at all points within a space in the shape of an imaginary cylinder that encompasses the at least a portion of the anal sphincter or the rectum; and
wherein a minimum energy density for said acoustic pulse at all locations within said
cylindrically shaped space is at least 50% of a maximum energy density for said acoustic
energy pulse within said space.
46. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
a housing comprising an opening and a longitudinal axis, wherein said longitudinal axis extends through said opening;
an acoustic energy pulse generator wherein at least a portion of said acoustic energy pulse generator is contained within said housing; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least a portion of an anal sphincter or a rectum of the living body to restore or improve functionality of the anal sphincter and/or rectum, to facilitate generation of tissue of the anal sphincter and/or rectum, and/or to improve vascularization of the anal sphincter and/or rectum;
wherein the acoustic energy pulse is provided to have an energy flux density (EFD) in a predetermined therapeutic range where encompassing the at least a portion of the anal sphincter or rectum; and
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least 50% of an inner anal sphincter of the anal sphincter with the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range.
47. The apparatus of claim 46, wherein the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range can be measured at all points within a space in the shape of an imaginary cylinder that encompasses the at least a portion of the anal sphincter, inner anal sphincter or the rectum; and wherein a minimum energy density for said pulse at all locations within said cylindrically shaped space is at least 50% of a maximum energy density for said pulse within said space.
11. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a
living body, said apparatus comprising
an acoustic energy pulse generator; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and
deliver the acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least a portion of an anal sphincter or a rectum of the living body to restore or improve functionality of the anal sphincter and/or rectum, to facilitate generation of tissue of the anal sphincter and/or rectum, and/or to improve vascularization of the anal sphincter and/or rectum.
16. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein said acoustic energy pulse is provided
to have an energy flux density (EFD) in a predetermined therapeutic range where
encompassing the at least a portion of the anal sphincter or rectum; and
wherein the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range can be measured at all points within a space in the shape of an imaginary cylinder that encompasses the at least a portion of the anal sphincter or the rectum; and
wherein a minimum energy density for said acoustic pulse at all locations within said
cylindrically shaped space is at least 50% of a maximum energy density for said acoustic
energy pulse within said space.
48. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
a housing comprising an opening and a longitudinal axis, wherein said longitudinal axis extends through said opening;
an acoustic energy pulse generator wherein at least a portion of said acoustic energy pulse generator is contained within said housing; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least a portion of an anal sphincter, inner anal sphincter or a rectum of the living body to restore or improve functionality of the anal sphincter and/or inner anal sphincter and/or rectum, to facilitate generation of tissue of the anal sphincter and/or inner anal sphincter and/or rectum, and/or to improve vascularization of the anal sphincter and/or inner anal sphincter and/or rectum;
wherein the acoustic energy pulse is provided to have an energy flux density (EFD) in a predetermined therapeutic range where encompassing the at least a portion of the anal sphincter and/or inner anal sphincter and/or rectum;
wherein the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range can be measured at all points within a space in a shape of an imaginary cylinder that encompasses the at least a portion of the anal sphincter and/or inner anal sphincter and/or rectum; and
wherein a minimum energy density for said pulse at all locations within said cylindrically shaped space is at least 50% of a maximum energy density for said pulse within said space.
17. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver said acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least 50%
of the inner anal sphincter with the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range.
49. The apparatus of claim 48, wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse to encompass at least 50% of the inner anal sphincter with the EFD in the predetermined therapeutic range.
20. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living
body, said apparatus comprising
an acoustic energy pulse generator; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and
deliver the acoustic energy pulse from an end of a urethra of the living body to achieve a therapeutic result, said acoustic energy pulse having an energy density field that is dimensioned to therapeutically encompass at least a portion of urethral sphincter muscles of the patient.
10. An apparatus for generating acoustic energy pulses for delivery into a living body, said apparatus comprising
a housing comprising an opening and a longitudinal axis, wherein said longitudinal axis extends through said opening;
an acoustic energy pulse generator wherein at least a portion of said acoustic energy pulse generator is contained within said housing; and
a contact portion configured to be placed in contact with or adjacent to the living body, and positioned such that an acoustic energy pulse generated by said acoustic energy pulse generator passes through said contact portion;
wherein said acoustic energy pulse generator is configured to generate and deliver the acoustic energy pulse along a female urethra of the living body in a direction along a length of the female urethra, said acoustic energy pulse having an energy density field that is configured for treating the female urethra and, as a result of said treating, reducing urinary incontinence; and
wherein a minimum energy density of a first volume of said energy density field is at least 50% of a maximum energy density of said energy density field and said first volume is configured to encompass a second volume of at least thirty percent of urethral sphincter muscles of the female urethra.
For claim 1, the table above shows significant overlap between the present claim and US 12,016,817. The patent, as noted in the italicized section, discloses a more specific instance than the italicized version of the more generic limitation noted in the present claim.
For claims 11 and 16, the table above shows that the limitations of claim 11 are disclosed by claim 46 of US 12,016,817. In addition, part of claim 16 of the present application is also disclosed by claim 46 of US 12,016,817. The rest of claim 16 is disclosed by claim 47 of US 12,016,817. Claim 48 of US 12,016,817 also discloses the limitations of claims 11 and 16 of the present application.
Claim 17 is mapped to claim 49 of US 12,016,817.
For claim 20, the underlined limitations show the sections that are disclosed by US 12,016,817. The difference in the present claim and the patent is the phrase “to achieve a therapeutic result”, which is an intended use recitation, and the italicized sections. The italicized section of the patent discloses a more specific instance than the italicized version of the more generic limitation noted in the present claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 20, 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0246481 (Mishelevich).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Mishelevich discloses devise used for neuromodulation. Of note is paragraph 675 which suggests the presence of an acoustic energy pulse generating apparatus (stimulation using vibration or ultrasound) that is contacting a body of the patient (which requires a contact portion) where the contact is with or adjacent to the anus/end of the urethra (stimulation of clitoris or vagina can be considered as being adjacent to an end of the urethra/anal sphincter/rectum and would therapeutically encompass a part of urethral sphincter muscles) of the patient and providing a stimuli to the pelvic organ (which requires the generation of the acoustic pulse and delivery of the acoustic pulse into the body). The pulse would naturally be delivered in a direction along a length of the urethra when the stimulation occurs.
The limitation “to restore…rectum” and “to achieve a therapeutic result” are recitations of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Mishelevich discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 20. Due to the 112 issue of the claims, Mishelevich would meet the limitations of the present claims.
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 23, Mishelevich discloses the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 20. Note that as currently written, the limitations of claims 5, 14, and 23 appear to be recitations of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0246481 (Mishelevich).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 22, Mishelevich discloses the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 20. Mischelevich does not explicitly state that the number of repetitions of the generating and delivering steps. However, Applicant has not stated the criticality of the number of repetitions. Mishelevich shows the process of iterating parameters in treatment and using feedback until an optimal treatment plan is made (paragraph 259, 263, 514, 606, 614, 626, 651, and 677-679). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to repeat generation and delivery multiple times to arrive at optimal number of repetitions during an optimization process of a therapy in order to achieve an optimal therapeutic result in a patient.
Claim(s) 3-6, 12-15, and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0246481 (Mishelevich) as applied to claims 1, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of US 2014/0330174 (Warlick et al., hereinafter Warlick).
Regarding claims 3-6, 12-15, and 22-24, Mishelevich discloses the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 20 but does not explicitly state that the acoustic energy pulse is a low energy acoustic pulse or that the acoustic energy pulse is unfocused. In a related area, Warlick discloses the use of acoustic shockwave treatments for treatments of inflamed or damaged tissue in the pelvic area due to surgical mesh complications (title and abstract). Warlick states that the use of low energy, unfocused acoustic waves to affected areas does not require anesthesia of the patient and that the low energy, unfocused acoustic pulses reduce localized hemorrhaging and allows for multiple sequential treatments to a single target site (paragraphs [0015] and [0081]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mishelevich to use low energy, unfocused acoustic pulses, as taught by Warlick in order to reduce localized hemorrhaging and allow for multiple sequential treatments to a single target site.
Claim(s) 7, 18, 19, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0246481 (Mishelevich) as applied to claims 1, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of US 2012/0239055 (Spector et al., hereinafter Spector).
Regarding claims 7, 18, 19, and 25, Mischelevich discloses the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 20 but does not state maximum energy densities. In a related area of acoustic shockwave treatment, Spector states in paragraphs 30, 54, and 63 treatment intensities of about 0.02 to 0.18, preferably 0.09 mJ/mm², which falls within or overlaps the claimed ranges. Spector shows different treatment intensities being used based on the therapy type. Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Mishelevich to use the EFD ranges disclosed by Spector in order to treat specific patient ailments and would have arrived at the claimed EFD ranges during a therapy optimization process that would optimize results in a therapy for the patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, wherein said maximum energy density of said acoustic energy pulse is located within an energy density field of said acoustic energy pulse in a space of an imaginary cylinder having a length greater than or equal to 2 cm and a diameter greater than or equal to 10 mm; and
wherein a minimum energy density for said acoustic energy pulse, within said space of said imaginary cylinder is at least 50% of said maximum energy density.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, what includes a housing connected to said contact portion and having a longitudinal axis passing through said contact portion;
said housing having a dimension orthogonal to said longitudinal axis, said dimension orthogonal to said longitudinal axis being less than or equal to 175mm.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a device, as claimed by Applicant, that includes a housing connected to said contact portion and having a longitudinal axis passing through said contact portion;
said housing having a width dimension orthogonal to said longitudinal axis, wherein a maximum of said width dimension is less than or equal to 140 mm.
Conclusion
The examiner notes that, though no art has been applied against claims 16 and 17 at this time, they are not presently allowable. The question of prior art will be revisited upon resolution of the numerous issues noted above.
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791