DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 5, 6, 10, and 12 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the term renders the recited dimensions of the claims unclear, and the boundaries of the ranges indefinite. While the specification broadly defines the term (see instant specification paragraph 0042), it fails to provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree and does not clearly define the bounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220085379 A1) in view of Endo et al. (US 20200006778 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an electrode assembly comprising: a stacked-type electrode assembly in which positive electrodes, separators, and negative electrodes are alternately stacked, wherein the positive electrode is on an outermost side of the stacked-type electrode assembly (paragraphs 0104, 0118-0119, separator between positive and negative electrode), the positive electrode comprises a substrate and an electrode active region (paragraphs 0088, 0097-0098, conductive layer 102, active material layer 20), an active material layer on one surface of the substrate in the electrode active region (active material layer 20), and a ceramic layer on the opposite surface of the substrate in the electrode active region (paragraphs 0058, 0080, figure 5, support layer 101), and the one surface of the substrate is facing toward the negative electrode and the center of the stacked-type electrode assembly in a stacking direction of the stacked-type electrode assembly (paragraph 0097, 0118-0119, figure 6, active material layer 20 may be on the upper side of the substrate). Liu is silent regarding the substrate having an electrode uncoated region.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the protective layer includes ceramic material, and that the current collector comprises uncoated regions to form positive electrode leads (Endo paragraphs 0023, 0036). Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Liu to include the uncoated part disclosed by Endo for the purpose of forming positive electrode leads.
Regarding claim 2, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 1. Liu further discloses a functional layer between the substrate and the active material layer (paragraph 0066, figure 5, protective layer 103).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 2. Liu is silent regarding wherein, the functional layer comprises a first portion that overlaps the electrode active region and a second portion that extends from the first portion to the electrode uncoated region.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the protective layer comprises a first region overlapping the positive electrode mixture layer and a second region which protrudes from the edge of the mixture layer into the electrode lead (Endo paragraphs 0031, 0044, first region 23A, second region 23B). The reference teaches that the regions function to prevent short-circuiting and contamination of the electrode (Endo paragraph 0032). Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer disclosed by Liu to include the regions disclosed by Endo. Doing so would prevent short-circuiting and contamination of the electrode.
Regarding claim 4, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 3. Liu further discloses that the ceramic layer is in the same planar shape as the functional layer (figure 5, support layer 101 and protective layer 103).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 3. Liu is silent regarding wherein, the area of the second portion is less than 60% of the electrode uncoated region.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the protective layer comprises a second region which is formed in the area of about one-third of the uncoated lead (Endo paragraph 0044, figure 3, within the claimed range). The reference teaches that the region enhances safety in contamination of foreign matter (Endo paragraph 0044). Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer disclosed by Liu to include the regions area disclosed by Endo. Doing so would enhance safety in contamination of foreign matter.
Regarding claim 6, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 5. Liu is silent regarding wherein, the width of the second portion is about 0.1 mm to about 3 mm.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the protective layer comprises a second region which is formed in the area of about one-third of the uncoated lead to be formed on an area of current concentration on the lead, improving safety (Endo paragraph 0044, figure 3). Endo is clearly teaching that the length of the second region is a results-effective variable that controls the safety in contamination and depends on the length of the electrode lead. Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer disclosed by Liu to include the second region disclosed by Endo in the length of the claimed range based on the length of the electrode lead because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 2. Liu is silent regarding wherein, a resistance value of the functional layer is greater than each of the substrate and the active material layer.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the protective layer comprises inorganic particles with a high resistance value in order to suppress the occurrence of a low-resistance internal short-circuit generating the flow of a large current (Endo paragraph 0035). Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer disclosed by Liu to include the high resistance layer disclosed by Endo. Doing so would suppress the occurrence of a low-resistance internal short-circuit generating the flow of a large current.
Regarding claim 8, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 2. Liu further discloses wherein, a boundary of the functional layer is positioned within a boundary of the substrate (figure 5, protective layer 103).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 1. Liu is silent regarding wherein, the width of the electrode uncoated region is about 2 mm to about 7 mm.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the protective layer comprises a second region which is formed in the area of about one-third of the uncoated lead to be formed on an area of current concentration on the lead, improving safety (Endo paragraph 0044, figure 3). Endo is clearly teaching that the length of the uncoated region is a results-effective variable that controls the safety in contamination and the length of the electrode lead. Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layer disclosed by Liu to include the second region disclosed by Endo in the length of the claimed range based on the length of the electrode lead because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 1. Liu is silent regarding wherein, the electrode uncoated region protrudes from one side of the electrode active region.
Endo discloses a positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; a positive electrode mixture layer; and a protective layer interposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode mixture layer (Endo paragraph 0006). Endo further discloses that the current collector comprises uncoated regions to form positive electrode leads (Endo paragraphs 0023, 0036, figure 3, lead 25). Endo and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with ceramic layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Liu to include the uncoated part protruding from one side as disclosed by Endo for the purpose of forming positive electrode leads.
Regarding claim 13, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 1. Liu further discloses a rechargeable battery comprising: the electrode assembly and an electrolyte (paragraphs 0005, 0105).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220085379 A1) in view of Endo et al. (US 20200006778 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yue (US 20230042151 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 2. Liu is silent regarding wherein: the functional layer comprises a material comprising a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, a compound represented by Chemical Formula 2, or a combination thereof.
Yue discloses a positive electrode comprising a functional layer which is disposed between the positive active material layer and the positive current collector (Yue paragraph 0013-0014). Yue further discloses that the functional layer comprises lithium iron phosphate or lithium manganese iron phosphate (Yue paragraphs 0014, 0140-0141, embodiments 23-24 meeting formulas 1 and 2, respectively). The reference teaches that the functional layer protects and cushions the current collector and active material particles (Yue paragraph 0056). Yue and Liu are analogous because they both disclose positive electrodes with functional layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the functional layer disclosed by Liu to include the lithium iron phosphate material of Yue for the purpose of protecting the active material and current collector.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220085379 A1) in view of Endo et al. (US 20200006778 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ogata (US 20240154177 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Liu discloses the limitations of claim 11. Liu is silent regarding wherein, a distance between a border of the positive electrode and a border of the negative electrode is about 0.5 mm to about 3.0 mm.
Ogata discloses an electrode assembly, and a lithium rechargeable battery that may reduce the risk of short circuits (Ogata paragraph 0007). Ogata further discloses that the distance between the edge of the positive electrode and the corresponding edge of the negative electrode in a plane view is 0.3 mm or more, and specifically discloses that it is 2 mm (Ogata paragraph 0018, 0093). The reference teaches that the battery is subsequently improved in energy density and efficiency per unit volume and weight (Ogata paragraph 0021). Ogata and Liu are analogous because they both disclose lithium electrode assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly disclosed by Liu to include the distance between electrodes disclosed by Ogata. Doing so would improve energy density and efficiency per unit volume and weight.
Conclusion
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727