DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Anniversary Edition (as shown by NPL document: “How to Use the Skyrim Compass”, hereinafter referred to as Skyrim; game released on November 11th, 2021, as shown by NPL document: “Skyrim: Anniversary Edition”) in view of Yang (US 2020/0316470 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 20, Skyrim discloses a method for guiding movement of a virtual object in a virtual environment, the method comprising:
displaying a guidance indicator for guiding the movement of the virtual object in the virtual environment (see pg. 2, 1st par. The Compass appears on the top-center of the screen to show various locations, from cities to dungeons and even enemies; also see figure on pg. 3 showing the Compass);
when a distance between a first game asset and the virtual object in the virtual environment is less than or equal to a first distance associated with the first game asset, displaying, on the guidance indicator, guidance information corresponding to the first game asset based on a relative position of the first game asset to the virtual object (see pg. 3, 1st par., Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger; thus distance is the determining factor in how to display the icons with nearer objects and locations being given more importance than further away objects and locations); and
adjusting a display attribute of the guidance information based on a change in the relative position of the first game asset to the virtual object (see pg. 3, 1st par., Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger; thus as the player moves throughout the virtual world, the icons will adjust in size according to distance).
Though Skyrim discloses displaying, on the guidance indicator, guidance information corresponding to the first game asset based on a relative position of the first game asset to the virtual object, Skyrim does not explicitly disclose a distance threshold.
Yang teaches a method and terminal for displaying distance information in a virtual scene including displaying guidance information corresponding to the first game asset based on a relative position of the first game asset to the virtual object and based on a distance threshold between the first game asset and the virtual object (see par. [0100], For example, the developer sets the distance threshold to 10 m according to experience, and in a case that the distance between the current controlled object corresponding to the terminal and the target location point is greater than 10 m, the terminal displays the distance information corresponding to the indication icon of the target location point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and distance indicator of Skyrim to display based on a distance threshold as taught by Yang in order to improve the display effect of the distance information (see Yang, par. [0031]).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Skyrim discloses determining a category of the first game asset (see pg. 2, 1st par., Various points of interest have white-and-black icons, depending on what type of location it is, while enemies are marked by red dots). Yang teaches determining, based on the category of the first game asset, the first distance threshold corresponding to the first game asset from a plurality of distances associated with different game asset categories (see par. [0100], The foregoing distance threshold may be preset by a developer. For example, the developer sets the distance threshold to 10 m according to experience, and in a case that the distance between the current controlled object corresponding to the terminal and the target location point is greater than 10 m, the terminal displays the distance information corresponding to the indication icon of the target location point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have different thresholds based on categories of game assets so that certain items can be prioritized for display (i.e. enemy characters are more important than buildings, etc).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Skyrim discloses wherein the guidance indicator includes a horizontal indicator bar, and a position of the guidance information on the horizontal indicator bar indicates the relative position of the first game asset to the virtual object (see figure on pg. 3 showing the Compass and various icons displaying objects or locations of interest).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Skyrim discloses wherein the displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information comprises:
displaying a guidance icon corresponding to the first game asset on the guidance indicator (see pg. 2, 1st par., Various points of interest have white-and-black icons, depending on what type of location it is, while enemies are marked by red dots), and
displaying position indication information corresponding to the first game asset in an associated display area of the guidance icon (see figure on pg. 3 showing the Compass and various icons along the Compass indicating relative position); and
the position indication information indicates at least one of a distance between the first game asset and the virtual object or a height difference between the first game asset and the virtual object (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Skyrim discloses wherein the adjusting the display attribute of the guidance information comprises:
as the relative position of the first game asset to the virtual object changes, adjusting a display size of the guidance icon based on the change in the relative position (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger); and
updating the position information indicated by the position indication information based on the change in the relative position (see figure on pg. 3 showing the Compass and various icons along the Compass indicating relative position).
Regarding claim 8, Skyrim discloses wherein the guidance information includes a guidance icon corresponding to the first game asset (see pg. 2, 1st par., Various points of interest have white-and-black icons, depending on what type of location it is, while enemies are marked by red dots);
the displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information includes, when distances between the virtual object and a plurality of game assets are different, displaying, on the guidance indicator, guidance icons corresponding to the plurality of game assets, the plurality of game assets including the first game asset (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger);
display sizes of the guidance icons corresponding to the plurality of game assets are different (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger); and
the display sizes of the guidance icons are negatively correlated with the corresponding distances between the virtual object and the plurality of game assets (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger).
Regarding claim 9, Skyrim discloses wherein the displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information comprises:
when distances between the virtual object and a plurality of game assets are different, determining, based on the distances, scale factors corresponding to the plurality of game assets, the plurality of game assets including the first game asset (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger);
scaling, based on the scale factors, guidance icons corresponding to the plurality of game assets (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger); and
displaying the scaled guidance icons on the guidance indicator (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger; also see figure on pg. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Skyrim discloses wherein the displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information includes displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information corresponding to a first game asset (see pg. 3, 1st par., When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger); and
the adjusting the display attribute of the guidance information includes, when the virtual object moves to the first game asset, replacing the guidance information displayed on the guidance indicator with guidance information corresponding to a second game asset (see pg. 3, 1st par., Locations can be Fast Traveled to by clicking their corresponding icon in the Map menu; thus when the player travels to a particular location, the compass can display other locations that the player can travel to).
Regarding claim 12, Skyrim discloses wherein the displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information comprises displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information corresponding to the first game asset at a position on the guidance indicator that is mapped to a directional angle of the first game asset relative to a forward facing direction of the virtual object (see figure on pg. 3 showing the Compass and various icons along the Compass indicating relative position; thus if a player character is facing north and a point of interest is in a northwest direction, the icons on the Compass would be displayed accordingly).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches when the virtual object moves to the first game asset, canceling the displaying, on the guidance indicator, of the guidance information corresponding to the first game asset (see par. [0101], That is, in a case that the distance between the current controlled object corresponding to the terminal and the target location point is greater than 1 m, the terminal displays the distance information corresponding to the indication icon of the target location point. Otherwise, the terminal does not display the distance information).
Regarding claim 14, Skyrim discloses displaying the guidance information corresponding to the first game asset with at least one of a target color, highlighting, strobing, or a special effect (see pg. 3, 1st par., Undiscovered but known locations are black in color, while visited locations are white. When traveling around Skyrim, map icons appear on the compass at the top center of the screen. Locations farther in the distance appear smaller on the compass, whereas closer locations appear larger). Yang teaches determining when the distance between the first game asset and the virtual object does not exceed one of the first distance threshold and a third distance threshold that is greater than the first distance threshold (see par. [0124], Then the terminal calculates a distance D (for example, D may be a horizontal distance between the coordinates A and the coordinates B minus a radius r of the safe zone, and the distance D is rounded off to an integer) between the current controlled object and a point on an edge of the safe zone closest to the current controlled object (1250), and determines whether the distance D is greater than 1 m (that is, the distance threshold is 1 m) (1260). If yes, the terminal displays the distance D corresponding to the second icon indicating a relative direction between the safe zone and the current controlled object (1270)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and distance indicator of Skyrim to display according to a distance threshold in order to improve the display effect of the distance information (see Yang, par. [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest when the display size of the guidance icon is adjusted, displaying, in the associated display area of the guidance icon, a special effect element corresponding to the guidance icon, wherein the special effect element indicates that the distance between the first game asset and the virtual object is less than a second distance threshold, the second distance threshold being less than the first distance threshold; wherein the position indication information indicates the height difference, and the method further comprises obtaining a first connection line between the virtual object and the first game asset; obtaining a first angle between the first connection line and a horizontal line on which the virtual object is located; and determining the height difference between the first game asset and the virtual object based on the first angle; and wherein the displaying, on the guidance indicator, the guidance information comprises obtaining a first relative position between the first game asset and the virtual object; obtaining a first mapping relationship between a second relative position and an indication graduation on the guidance indicator, the second relative position being between the first game asset and the virtual object; determining, based on the first mapping relationship, a first target indication graduation corresponding to the first relative position on the guidance indicator; and displaying, at the first target indication graduation on the guidance indicator, the guidance information corresponding to the first game asset.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 2020/0298116 A1), Shao (US 2019/0099673 A1), Atlas et al. (US 10,984,242 B1)
/ALLEN CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 2/5/2026