DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Japan Application No. 2023-131379 was received on 09 July 2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 May 2024 and 10 December 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “charge-discharge time constant” AND “wherein the intermediate potential is ground potential” (Claims 6 and Claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Note: the specification (See ¶0038-0039 and Figs. 4-7), describes the second potential Va is set to the lowest potential (ground potential) and the intermediate potential Vb is set to a potential in between first potential Vc and potential Va. Nowhere in the specification or drawings is it shown or described or supported what applicant claims in Claims 6 and 15 (wherein the intermediate potential is ground potential).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 19 recite the term “charge-discharge time constant”. It is unclear as to the meaning of this term. The drawings do not appear to disclose or provide an example of this claim limitation and the specification equally fails to provide a definition. The specification mentions the term across several instances, but does not provide a useful definition which would provide one of ordinary skill in the art to understand the meaning.
Claims 2-9 are rejected because they inherit the deficiencies of Claim 1.
Claims 11-18 are rejected because they inherit the deficiencies of Claim 10.
Claim 20 is rejected because it inherits the deficiencies of Claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US PGPub 2014/0118432 A1), hereinafter Yamamoto.
With regard to Claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a drive device (Figs. 1, 3), comprising:
a drive circuit configured to output a drive waveform to an actuator of a liquid ejection unit (Fig. 3; ¶0043-0046),
wherein
the actuator has a charge-discharge time constant (¶0047; 0052-0058), and
the drive waveform (Fig. 4) in a non-initial portion (Fig. 4; ¶0047, 0053; t2) makes, within a time period less than or equal to the charge-discharge time constant (t2; ¶0047, 0053), a transition from a first potential higher than an intermediate potential to a second potential lower than the intermediate potential and then a transition from the second potential to the intermediate potential (Fig. 4; oscillation driving pulse Pv; ¶0052-0058).
With regard to Claim 2, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the drive circuit is configured to switch between three voltages for outputting the drive waveform (Figs. 4-5; 0052-0058, drive circuit is configured to switch between three voltages as shown).
With regard to Claim 3, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the drive waveform in an initial portion before the non-initial portion makes a transition from the intermediate potential to the second potential, and then a transition from the second potential to the first potential (Fig. 4; t1 as shown).
With regard to Claim 7, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the liquid ejection unit is a inkjet head (¶0004).
With regard to Claim 8, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the drive circuit includes two voltage sources, and three switches (Fig. 3; ¶0051-0052, switch 52 as voltage sources, plurality of switches correlating to number of nozzles).
With regard to Claim 9, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the actuator is a piezoelectric actuator (¶0037, piezoelectric element 18).
With regard to Claim 10, Yamamoto discloses a liquid ejection device (Fig. 1; ¶0033), comprising: a liquid ejection head including an actuator (Fig. 2; head 2; piezo 18; ¶003); and a drive device including a drive circuit, the drive circuit configured to output a drive waveform to the actuator, wherein the actuator has a charge-discharge time constant, and the drive waveform in a non-initial portion makes, within a time period less than or equal to the charge-discharge time constant, a transition from a first potential higher than an intermediate potential to a second potential lower than the intermediate potential and then a transition from the second potential to the intermediate potential (See Claim 1; the above limitations are rejected for the same reasoning/rationale as claim 1).
With regard to Claims 11-12 and 16-18, these claims recite limitations that are similar and in the same scope of invention as claims 2-3 and 7-9 respectively above; therefore claims 11-12 and 16-18 are rejected for the same rejection rationale/basis as described in claims 2-3 and 7-9.
With regard to Claim 19, Yamamoto discloses a printer (Fig. 1; ¶0024), comprising: a sheet conveying apparatus (¶0033); an inkjet head including an actuator and configured to eject ink towards a sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying apparatus; and a drive device including a drive circuit, the drive circuit configured to output a drive waveform to the actuator, wherein the actuator has a charge-discharge time constant, and the drive waveform in a non-initial portion makes, within a time period less than or equal to the charge-discharge time constant, a transition from a first potential higher than an intermediate potential to a second potential lower than the intermediate potential and then a transition from the second potential to the intermediate potential (See Claim 1; the above limitations are rejected for the same reasoning/rationale as claim 1).
20. The printer according to claim 19, wherein, in the initial portion of the waveform, the transition from the second potential to the first potential occurs in a step waveform in which the intermediate potential is held for a predetermined time period before transitioning to the first potential.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto.
With regard to Claim 4, Yamamoto further discloses wherein, in the initial portion of the waveform, the transition from the second potential (Fig. 8b; E3) to the first potential (E4) occurs in a step waveform in which the intermediate potential (Eb) is held for a predetermined time period (p24) before transitioning to the first potential (Fig. 8b; ¶0068-0071).
The waveform as shown in Fig. 8b is an example of the non-initial portion of the waveform, however Yamamoto explicitly discloses that the configuration of any of the ejection driving pulses can be employed, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the waveform of Fig. 8b as the initial portion of the waveform, in order to be applied to various other configurations and purposes, as taught by Yamamoto (¶0071-0073).
With regard to Claim 5, the limitation of “wherein the time period for the non-initial portion of the waveform is set to compensate for an amount of charge accumulated due to the step waveform” is functional language and applicant is reminded that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
With regard to Claims 13 and 14, these claims recite limitations that are similar and in the same scope of invention as claims 4 and 5 respectively above; therefore claims 13 and 14 are rejected for the same rejection rationale/basis as described in claims 4 and 5.
With regard to Claim 20, this claim recites limitations that are similar and in the same scope of invention as claim 4 above; therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same rejection rationale/basis as described in claim 4.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, in view of Nakamura (US PGPub 2014/0192105 A1).
With regard to Claim 6, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the intermediate potential is ground potential (¶0067-0069, intermediate potential is reference potential between positive and negative polarity).
Yamamoto discloses the intermediate potential is a reference potential which is common in the art to also be ground potential and which Yamamoto discloses as being a reference voltage between the negative and positive polarity, however Yamamoto does not explicitly use the term ground or 0V.
The secondary reference of Nakamura discloses wherein a reference voltage is ground potential (Fig. 13B; ¶0106-0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference potential as 0v or ground of Nakamura, with the drive device of Yamamoto, in order to reduce the cost of the switch circuit and in order to obtain a desired ejection force, as taught by Nakamura (¶0113; 0012-0015).
With regard to Claim 15, this claim recites limitations that are similar and in the same scope of invention as claim 6 above; therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same rejection rationale/basis as described in claim 6.
Conclusion
/SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853