Detailed Office Action
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “calculate…a bonus of carbon emission reducing based on a difference between the real value of carbon emission and the estimation value of carbon emission” is rejected for failing to fully define the meets and bounds of the claimed invention. The term “bonus” as used in the claim is indefinite for failing to particularly point out the applicant’s invention. As written, it is difficult to understand the meaning of the term “bonus”. For sake of compact prosecution Examiner is construing “bonus” to be analogous to a “reward” or “incentive” as alluded to in Claim 2. However, Claim 1 remains rejected and proper correction and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
101 Analysis - With respect to Claim 1
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1:
Claim 1 is directed towards a system for monitoring vehicle carbon footprint and generating a plan of carbon emission reduction, which is directed to the statutory category of a machine. Therefore Claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis- Step 2A Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental process.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites, inter alai:
“A system for monitoring vehicle carbon footprint and generating plan of carbon emission reduction, comprising:
at least one server;
a plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server, wherein each of plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices is correspondingly disposed in each of a plurality of vehicles with contract for undertaking transportation tasks;
a plurality of user-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server; and
a plurality of sensor assemblies, wherein each of plurality of sensor assemblies is correspondingly disposed in each of the plurality of vehicles, and the sensor assembly communicating the at least one server directly or through the vehicle-end electronic device;
wherein the server comprises at least one processor and at least one storage module storing an application program, and the processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
generate, after receiving a demand of vehicle utilization sent by one of the plurality of the user-end electronic devices, an estimation value of carbon emission and a transportation plan comprising a plurality of advisory transportation routes based on the demand of vehicle utilization, at least one vehicle parameter and at least one road condition parameter; wherein the demand of vehicle utilization includes an information consisting of model of vehicle, starting location and destination location;
transmit a transportation task assigning notification to one of the plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices that stays in the vehicle meeting a requirement of the demand of vehicle utilization;
dispatch, after receiving a response information from the vehicle-end electronic device, the vehicle as a transportation vehicle;
collect, through the sensor assembly, a driving data of the transportation vehicle while the transportation vehicle travels along the advisory transportation route;
calculate, after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task, a real value of carbon emission of the transportation vehicle; and
calculate, in case of the real value of carbon emission being lower than the estimation value of carbon emission, a bonus of carbon emission reducing based on a difference between the real value of carbon emission and the estimation value of carbon emission.”
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind.
For example, “generating”, “dispatching”, and “calculating” in the context of this claim, all encompass a person looking at available data and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either manually or using a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
As drafted, the above claims, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental processes performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), that are merely completed via generic computer components. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
Regarding Prong Two of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 1 recites, inter alai:
“A system for monitoring vehicle carbon footprint and generating plan of carbon emission reduction, comprising:
at least one server;
a plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server, wherein each of plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices is correspondingly disposed in each of a plurality of vehicles with contract for undertaking transportation tasks;
a plurality of user-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server; and
a plurality of sensor assemblies, wherein each of plurality of sensor assemblies is correspondingly disposed in each of the plurality of vehicles, and the sensor assembly communicating the at least one server directly or through the vehicle-end electronic device;
wherein the server comprises at least one processor and at least one storage module storing an application program, and the processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
generate, after receiving a demand of vehicle utilization sent by one of the plurality of the user-end electronic devices, an estimation value of carbon emission and a transportation plan comprising a plurality of advisory transportation routes based on the demand of vehicle utilization, at least one vehicle parameter and at least one road condition parameter; wherein the demand of vehicle utilization includes an information consisting of model of vehicle, starting location and destination location;
transmit a transportation task assigning notification to one of the plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices that stays in the vehicle meeting a requirement of the demand of vehicle utilization;
dispatch, after receiving a response information from the vehicle-end electronic device, the vehicle as a transportation vehicle;
collect, through the sensor assembly, a driving data of the transportation vehicle while the transportation vehicle travels along the advisory transportation route;
calculate, after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task, a real value of carbon emission of the transportation vehicle; and
calculate, in case of the real value of carbon emission being lower than the estimation value of carbon emission, a bonus of carbon emission reducing based on a difference between the real value of carbon emission and the estimation value of carbon emission.”
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of:
“at least one server”
“a plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server…”
“a plurality of user-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server…”
“a plurality of sensor assemblies…”
“wherein the server comprises at least one processor and at least one storage module…”
these limitations merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Regarding the additional limitation of “transmit a transportation task …” and “collect…driving data…”, these limitations merely describes the sending, receiving, and collection of data which are insignificant extra solution activities. See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the act of collecting data and displaying data amounts to no more than merely storing and displaying information of the exception and thus is an extra-solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding dependent claims 2-18, no claim further adds a limitation that introduces any practical applications to the claimed invention, the dependent claims merely add more mental process, mathematical concepts, and post-solution activities and are thus not patent eligible.
Therefore, Claims 1-18 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 and 10-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung et al (WO 2021050162 A1) in view of Ramot et al (WO 2018217640 A1) and Wang (CN 115183790 A). Hereafter referred to as Leung, Ramot, and Wang respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Leung teaches a system for monitoring vehicle carbon footprint and generating plan of carbon emission reduction (see at least Leung [Abstract and ¶ 3] Method and system for selecting a vehicle route. For example, the method includes collecting information for a future vehicle trip that will be made by a user, generating multiple routes for the same future vehicle trip…a system (e.g., a computer program product) is provided to measure a person’s carbon emission, understand a person’s carbon emission, offset a portion of a person’s carbon emission, and/or empower a person to offset the rest of the person’s carbon emission)
comprising:
at least one server (see at least Leung [¶ 132] The computing system can include client devices and servers. A client device and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network)
a plurality of user-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server (see at least Leung [¶ 132, 97] The computing system can include client devices and servers. A client device and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network...the client device 612 is a mobile device (e.g., a smartphone) that is connected (e.g., via wired or wireless links) to the vehicle 61)
a plurality of sensor assemblies, wherein each of plurality of sensor assemblies is correspondingly disposed in each of the plurality of vehicles, and the sensor assembly communicating the at least one server directly or through the vehicle-end electronic device (see at least Leung [¶ 22-23, 99] the user driving data include information related to a user driving behavior…the user driving data are collected from one or more sensors associated with the user’s vehicle….the one or more sensors include any type and number of accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, location sensors (e.g., GPS sensors), tilt sensors, yaw rate sensors, speedometers, steering angle sensors, brake sensors, proximity detectors, and/or any other suitable sensors that measure vehicle state and/or operation…the one or more sensors are part of or located in the vehicle. In some embodiments, the one or more sensors are part of a computing device (e.g., a mobile device of the user) that is connected to the vehicle while the vehicle is in operation…collected data are stored in the memory 618 before being transmitted to the server 606)
wherein the server comprises at least one processor and at least one storage module storing an application program (see at least Leung [¶ 100] According to certain embodiments, the server 606 includes a processor 630 (e.g., a microprocessor, a microcontroller), a memory 632, a communications unit 634 (e.g., a network transceiver), and a data storage 636 (e.g., one or more databases))
the processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
calculate, after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task, a real value of carbon emission of the transportation vehicle, and calculate, in case of the real value of carbon emission being lower than the estimation value of carbon emission, a bonus of carbon emission reducing based on a difference between the real value of carbon emission and the estimation value of carbon emission (see at least Leung [¶ 46, 113-114] process 320 for generating an estimated efficiency value related to the fuel consumption, process 325 for comparing the estimated efficiency value with an actual efficiency value...a quality of driving score is calculated based on how efficient an individual drives and conserves emissions… a system including a mobile device app that reports driving data to a server algorithm that uses the data and vehicle specific data to estimate the total carbon released during individual trips. As an example, the system is associated with one or more of the following features: a. Algorithm estimates fuel consumption during the trip, which is used to derive carbon release; b. Algorithm is based on a model calibrated with user-supplied fueling and driving distance inputs; c. Driving data includes location, accelerometer data, gyroscopic data, magnetometer data, and/or barometer data; d. System rewards users for mindful driving (and potentially carpooling) with insurance discounts based on carbon release; e. System provides route suggestions for a destination based on actual user driving behaviors to reduce carbon footprint; and/or f. System provides training feedback to modify driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint).
However, Leung does not explicitly teach
a plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server, wherein each of plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices is correspondingly disposed in each of a plurality of vehicles with contract for undertaking transportation tasks
the processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
transmit a transportation task assigning notification to one of the plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices that stays in the vehicle meeting a requirement of the demand of vehicle utilization
dispatch, after receiving a response information from the vehicle-end electronic device, the vehicle as a transportation vehicle
collect, through the sensor assembly, a driving data of the transportation vehicle while the transportation vehicle travels along the advisory transportation route.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches a plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices in communication with the at least one server, wherein each of plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices is correspondingly disposed in each of a plurality of vehicles with contract for undertaking transportation tasks (see at least Ramot [¶ 58] Network 140 may facilitate communications between user devices 120 and ridesharing management server 150, for example, receiving ride requests and other ride server related input from or sending confirmations to user devices, and sending ride service assignments to driver devices and driving- control devices)
the processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
transmit a transportation task assigning notification to one of the plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices that stays in the vehicle meeting a requirement of the demand of vehicle utilization (see at least Ramot [¶ 60] ridesharing management server 150 may be configured to: receive ride requests from user devices 1 20A- 120C, send ride confirmation and ride fare information to user devices 120A- 120C, and send ride service assignments (for example, including pickup and drop-off location information) to driver devices 120D and 120E, and driving-control device 120F)
dispatch, after receiving a response information from the vehicle-end electronic device, the vehicle as a transportation vehicle (see at least Ramot [¶ 12, 79] a dispatch to the pick-up location associated with the specific ride request...automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may include one or more processors 3 10, one or more memories 320 storing programs 330 including, for example, server app(s) 332, operating system 334, and data 340, and a communications interface 360 (e.g., a modem, Ethernet card, or any other interface configured to exchange data with a network, such as network 140 in Fig. 1 ). Automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may communicate with an external database 170 (which, for some embodiments, may be included within ridesharing management server 150))
collect, through the sensor assembly, a driving data of the transportation vehicle while the transportation vehicle travels along the advisory transportation route (see at least Ramot [¶ 5] The at least one processor may be configured to receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle; receive current battery-charge data for the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a plurality of vehicle end electronic devices in communication with a server, a system for transmitting transportation tasks, dispatching vehicles, and collecting vehicle data while traversing a generated route with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of including the basic functions and hardware of a ride sharing service that are common in the art.
Further, Leung does not explicitly teach the processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
generate, after receiving a demand of vehicle utilization sent by one of the plurality of the user-end electronic devices, an estimation value of carbon emission and a transportation plan comprising a plurality of advisory transportation routes based on the demand of vehicle utilization, at least one vehicle parameter and at least one road condition parameter
wherein the demand of vehicle utilization includes an information consisting of model of vehicle, starting location and destination location.
Wang, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches a processor executing the application program so as to be configured to:
generate, after receiving a demand of vehicle utilization sent by one of the plurality of the user-end electronic devices, an estimation value of carbon emission and a transportation plan comprising a plurality of advisory transportation routes based on the demand of vehicle utilization, at least one vehicle parameter and at least one road condition parameter (see at least Wang [English Translation pg.2 para.7 and pg. 4 para.7-9, and pg.5 para.5] obtaining the requirement information of the user, generating corresponding planning path set according to the requirement information, wherein the requirement information comprises but not limited to: starting point position, end position, arrival time...performing carbon emission cost calculation for each planning path in the planning path set, ordering the planning path according to the carbon emission cost from low to high sequentially the preferred planning path set according to the preset path number threshold; obtaining the real-time road condition information, establishing the actual carbon emission cost model corresponding to each preferred planning path in the preferred planning path set; establishing a constraint condition, solving each of the carbon emission cost model, selecting the optimal path, finishing the planning...according to the driving speed of the vehicle to be tested, fuel type, driving distance and the final oil consumption amount, establishing basic carbon emission regression model)
wherein the demand of vehicle utilization includes an information consisting of model of vehicle, starting location and destination location (see at least Wang [English Translation pg.2 para.7 and pg.2 para.14 and pg.3 para.1] obtaining the requirement information of the user, generating corresponding planning path set according to the requirement information, wherein the requirement information comprises but not limited to: starting point position, end position, arrival time…establishing the kinematics model of the vehicle to be tested…the unit distance fuel consumption and the actual load of the vehicle to be tested, and obtaining the corresponding carbon emission cost according to the parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for generating, after receiving a demand of vehicle utilization sent by one of the plurality of the user-end electronic devices, an estimation value of carbon emission and a transportation plan comprising a plurality of advisory transportation routes based on the demand of vehicle utilization, at least one vehicle parameter and at least one road condition parameter wherein the demand of vehicle utilization includes an information consisting of model of vehicle, starting location and destination location with reasonable ¶expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the accuracy of the carbon emission estimate for the vehicle traversing a route as discussed in Wang (see at least Wang [English Translation pg.2 para.4] improves the accuracy and systemic of carbon emission in the vehicle path planning, good for evaluation of carbon emission in vehicle path planning). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would additionally be motivated to make such a modification for benefit of providing the user the tools and information to reduce their own carbon emissions when using a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 2, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Leung further teaches wherein the processor executing the application program is further configured to: allot, after exchanging the bonus of carbon emission reducing to a reward, the reward to a user of the user-end electronic device and/or a driver of the vehicle-end electronic device wherein the reward comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of reward points, gift voucher, discount coupon, cash voucher, and currency (see at least Leung [¶ 113-114] a quality of driving score is calculated based on how efficient an individual drives and conserves emissions. As an example, the carbon offsets are purchased and/or trees are bought based on an individual’s efficiency…System rewards users for mindful driving (and potentially carpooling) with insurance discounts based on carbon release…System provides route suggestions for a destination based on actual user driving behaviors to reduce carbon footprint…System provides training feedback to modify driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint).
Regarding Claim 3, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the transportation vehicle is selected from a group consisting of bicycle, electric bicycle (E-bike), motorcycle, scooter, electric motorcycle, electric scooter, gasoline-powered vehicle, and electric vehicle.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the transportation vehicle is selected from a group consisting of bicycle, electric bicycle (E-bike), motorcycle, scooter, electric motorcycle, electric scooter, gasoline-powered vehicle, and electric vehicle (see at least Ramot [Abstract, ¶ 12] The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for managing a fleet of ridesharing vehicles. In some implementations, the fleet of ridesharing vehicles may include electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles...over a wireless network to the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire in need of the charge, a dispatch to the pick-up location associated with the specific ride request, route the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to a dropoff location associated with the specific ride request, and following arrival at the drop-off location associated with the specific ride request, route the specific electrically-powered vehicle-for-hire to the specific charging station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the transportation vehicle is selected from a group consisting of bicycle, electric bicycle (E-bike), motorcycle, scooter, electric motorcycle, electric scooter, gasoline-powered vehicle, and electric vehicle with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving accessibility and convenience by including transportation vehicles that are the most common among general users.
Regarding Claim 4, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the vehicle parameter is selected from a group consisting of brand of vehicle, model of vehicle, vehicle weight, and vehicle emission standard.
Wang, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicle parameter is selected from a group consisting of brand of vehicle, model of vehicle, vehicle weight, and vehicle emission standard (see at least Wang [English Translation pg.5 para.5 and pg.3 para.1] according to the driving speed of the vehicle to be tested, fuel type, driving distance and the final oil consumption amount, establishing basic carbon emission regression model...obtaining the driving distance of each planning path, the unit distance fuel consumption and the actual load of the vehicle to be tested, and obtaining the corresponding carbon emission cost according to the parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the vehicle parameter is selected from a group consisting of brand of vehicle, model of vehicle, vehicle weight, and vehicle emission standard with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the accuracy of the vehicle emission estimation by incorporating vehicle parameters that are important for estimating such a value, for example the vehicle’s weight will largely affect the efficiency of the vehicle and in turn affect the estimation of the vehicle’s emissions.
Regarding Claim 5, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Leung further teaches wherein the road condition parameter is selected from a group consisting of type of road, gradient of road, speed limit of road, current traffic flow of road, environment temperature, environment humidity, and environment wind speed (see at least Leung [¶ 28] the information for the future vehicle trip include one or more vehicle information (e.g., model/year of the vehicle), one or more distance information (e.g., total distance between the particular pair of origination and destination points), one or more congestion information (e.g., expected traffic flows based upon time of day and/or day of the week that the future trip will take place, expected traffic flows based upon weather conditions during the time that the future trip will take place), and/or one or more other suitable information (e.g., terrain information, road construction information). In various embodiments, the expected traffic flows in the congestion information are obtained (e.g., via a third party) from analysis of historical traffic data).
Regarding Claim 6, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Leung further teaches wherein the transportation plan further comprises at least one driving advice selected from a group consisting of driving speed, engine speed and tire pressure (see at least Leung [¶ 114, 120] System provides training feedback to modify driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint….configured to receive from a user information related to origin and destination and then provide the user with the best route (e.g., route planning) for the environment (e.g., reduction of carbon footprint) based on how the user actually drives (e.g., the driving characteristics of the user). In some embodiments, a system (e.g., a computer program product) is configured to provide a driver with information on how the driver can improve driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint (e.g., by making fewer hard brakes, reducing time over a certain speed threshold such as 80 MPH)).
Regarding Claim 7, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the driving data comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of real transportation route, trip corresponding to the foregoing real transportation route, and fuel consumption corresponding to the foregoing real transportation route.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the driving data comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of real transportation route, trip corresponding to the foregoing real transportation route, and fuel consumption corresponding to the foregoing real transportation route (see at least Ramot [¶ 5, 7] The at least one processor may be configured to receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle; receive current battery-charge data for the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, wherein the current battery-charge data is indicative of a driving distance in which each electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle can operate before charging; receive current occupancy data for the plurality of charging stations, wherein the current occupancy data includes a current capacity utilization for each charging point and current battery-charge data for each electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle located at a charging station; select a charging station for a specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle...wherein the current battery-charge data is indicative of a driving distance in which the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle can operate before recharging; and based on the current vehicle location data, the current battery-charge data, the desired destinations of passengers currently riding the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, and the stored locations of the charging stations, determine a route for the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle that ends at a charging station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the driving data comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of real transportation route, trip corresponding to the foregoing real transportation route, and fuel consumption corresponding to the foregoing real transportation route with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of collecting data during the traveling of a route that is important for calculating what route is the most fuel efficient as discussed in Ramot (see at least Ramot [¶ 215] The first driving route may be optimized based on models for shortest distance, shortest distance time, a combination of distance and travel time optimization, and/or a fuel efficiency optimization).
Regarding Claim 10, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the vehicle-end electronic device comprises a first processor and a first storage module storing a first application program, the first processor executes the first application program so as to be configured to:
control the vehicle-end electronic device to communicate with the server;
control a first display of the vehicle-end electronic device to show a driver operation interface;
receive a driver operation through the driver operation interface, wherein the driver operation is selected from a group consisting of vehicle owner registering, management of vehicle owner information, vehicle information management, vehicle owner log in, acceptation or rejection of transportation task, giving of user score, giving of system score, bank account setting, and enquiry for specific remuneration defrayment corresponding the transportation task.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicle-end electronic device comprises a first processor and a first storage module storing a first application program, the first processor executes the first application program so as to be configured to:
control the vehicle-end electronic device to communicate with the server (see at least Ramot [¶ 56, 64] ridesharing management server 150 may communicate with driving-control device 120F to direct autonomous vehicle OOF to pick up and drop off users 130A- 130C. In one example, autonomous vehicles capable of detecting objects on the road and navigate to designated locations may be utilized for providing ridesharing services...As shown in Fig. 1 , users 130A- 130E may include a plurality of users 130A- 130C, and a plurality of drivers 130D and 130E, who may communicate with one another, and with ridesharing management server 150 using various types of mobile communications devices 120)
control a first display of the vehicle-end electronic device to show a driver operation interface (see at least Ramot [¶ 64, 88, 110] As shown in Fig. 1 , users 130A-130E may include a plurality of users 130A- 130C, and a plurality of drivers 130D and 130E, who may communicate with one another, and with ridesharing management server 150 using various types of mobile communications devices 120. As an example, a mobile communications device 120 may include a display such as a television, tablet, computer monitor, video conferencing console, or laptop computer screen...communications interface 360 may be configured to receive ride requests (e.g., from user devices 120A - 120C) headed to differing destinations, and receive indications of the current locations of the ridesharing vehicles (e.g., from driver devices 120D and 120E or driving-control device 120F). In one example, communications interface 360 may be configured to continuously or periodically receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of ridesharing vehicles that are part of ridesharing management system 100....a user interface of a driver device, such as driver device 120D, may include an option to send notification messages to the user, for example, a pre-defined message button of "I'm here." Once the vehicle arrives at the pick-up location, the driver may click the message button to send the message to the user. This way, the driver may not need to dial out or type a message in order to notify the user of the vehicle's arrival, reducing driver distraction and associated safety hazards)
receive a driver operation through the driver operation interface wherein the driver operation is selected from a group consisting of vehicle owner registering, management of vehicle owner information, vehicle information management, vehicle owner log in, acceptation or rejection of transportation task, giving of user score, giving of system score, bank account setting, and enquiry for specific remuneration defrayment corresponding the transportation task (see at least Ramot [¶ 88, 107] communications interface 360 may be configured to receive ride requests (e.g., from user devices 120A - 120C) headed to differing destinations, and receive indications of the current locations of the ridesharing vehicles (e.g., from driver devices 120D and 120E or driving-control device 120F). In one example, communications interface 360 may be configured to continuously or periodically receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of ridesharing vehicles that are part of ridesharing management system 100…the ridesharing request is accepted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the vehicle-end electronic device comprises a first processor and a first storage module storing a first application program, the first processor executes the first application program so as to be configured to: control the vehicle-end electronic device to communicate with the server; control a first display of the vehicle-end electronic device to show a driver operation interface; and to receive a driver operation through the driver operation interface wherein the driver operation is selected from a group consisting of vehicle owner registering, management of vehicle owner information, vehicle information management, vehicle owner log in, acceptation or rejection of transportation task, giving of user score, giving of system score, bank account setting, and enquiry for specific remuneration defrayment corresponding the transportation task with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the functionality of the system by including generic devices and hardware that are commonly used in the ride sharing and vehicle dispatching industry, along with functions of such devices and hardware that allow for ride sharing to take place such as accepting and rejecting ride requests.
Regarding Claim 11, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 10 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the user-end electronic device comprises a second processor and a second storage module storing a second application program, the second processor executes the second application program so as to be configured to:
control the user-end electronic device to communicate with the server;
control a second display of the user-end electronic device to show a user operation interface; and
receive a user operation through the user operation interface wherein the user operation is selected from a group consisting of user registering, user information management, user log in, editing of the demand of vehicle utilization, sending out of the demand of vehicle utilization, giving of vehicle owner score, giving of system score, order querying, order revising, order canceling, bank account setting, and enquiry for specific expense payment corresponding the transportation task.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the user-end electronic device comprises a second processor and a second storage module storing a second application program, the second processor executes the second application program so as to be configured to:
control the user-end electronic device to communicate with the server (see at least Ramot [¶ 56, 58] The plurality of mobile communications devices 120A- 120F may further include a plurality of user devices 120A- 120C associated with users 130A- 130C respectively, a plurality of driver devices 120D and 120E associated with drivers 130D and 130E, and a driving-control device 120F associated with an autonomous vehicle 130F...Network 140 may facilitate communications between user devices 120 and ridesharing management server 150)
control a second display of the user-end electronic device to show a user operation interface (see at least Ramot [¶ 64, 107] a mobile communications device 120 may include a display...At step 415, ridesharing management server 150 may send a first message to a user device associated with the first user, which is, in this example, user device 120A. The first message may be configured to cause an indication of the calculated first estimated pick-up time to appear on a display of user device 120A.)
and receive a user operation through the user operation interface wherein the user operation is selected from a group consisting of user registering, user information management, user log in, editing of the demand of vehicle utilization, sending out of the demand of vehicle utilization, giving of vehicle owner score, giving of system score, order querying, order revising, order canceling, bank account setting, and enquiry for specific expense payment corresponding the transportation task (see at least Ramot [¶ 64] A mobile communications device 120 may also include one or more software applications that facilitate the mobile communications devices to engage in communications, such as IM, VoIP, video conferences. For example, user devices 130A- 130C may send requests to ridesharing management server 150, and receive confirmations therefrom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the user-end electronic device comprises a second processor and a second storage module storing a second application program, the second processor executes the second application program so as to be configured to: control the user-end electronic device to communicate with the server; control a second display of the user-end electronic device to show a user operation interface; and receive a user operation through the user operation interface wherein the user operation is selected from a group consisting of user registering, user information management, user log in, editing of the demand of vehicle utilization, sending out of the demand of vehicle utilization, giving of vehicle owner score, giving of system score, order querying, order revising, order canceling, bank account setting, and enquiry for specific expense payment corresponding the transportation task with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the functionality of the system by including generic devices and hardware that are commonly used in the ride sharing and vehicle dispatching industry, along with functions of such devices and hardware that allow for ride sharing to take place such as requesting ride requests from drivers.
Regarding Claim 12, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 11 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach a plurality of administrator-end electronic devices in communication to the at least one server;
wherein the administrator-end electronic device comprises at least one third processor and at least one third storage module storing a third application program, and the third processor executing the third application program so as to be configured to:
control the administrator-end electronic device to communicate with the server;
control a third display of the administrator-end electronic device to show an administrator operation interface; and
receive an administrator operation through the administrator operation interface wherein the administrator operation is selected from a group consisting of bonus management, user data management, vehicle owner data management, vehicle data management, transportation task management, order management, user score management, and vehicle owner score management.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches a plurality of administrator-end electronic devices in communication to the at least one server (see at least Ramot [¶ 90] Automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may also include one or more I/O devices 350 having one or more interfaces for receiving signals or input from devices and providing signals or output to one or more devices that allow data to be received and/or transmitted by automated ridesharing dispatch system 300. For example, automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may include interface components for interfacing with one or more input devices, such as one or more keyboards, mouse devices, and the like, that enable automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 to receive input from an operator or administrator (not shown))
wherein the administrator-end electronic device comprises at least one third processor and at least one third storage module storing a third application program (see at least Ramot [¶ 79] As shown in Fig. 3, automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may include one or more processors 3 10, one or more memories 320 storing programs 330 including, for example, server app(s) 332, operating system 334, and data 340, and a communications interface 360 (e.g., a modem, Ethernet card, or any other interface configured to exchange data with a network, such as network 140 in Fig. 1))
and the third processor executing the third application program so as to be configured to:
control the administrator-end electronic device to communicate with the server (see at least Ramot [¶ 79] Automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may communicate with an external database 170 (which, for some embodiments, may be included within ridesharing management server 150). Automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may include a single server (e.g., ridesharing management server 150) or may be configured as a distributed computer system including multiple servers, server farms, clouds, or computers that interoperate to perform one or more of the processes and functionalities associated with the disclosed embodiments)
control a third display of the administrator-end electronic device to show an administrator operation interface (see at least Ramot [¶ 90] Automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may also include one or more I/O devices 350 having one or more interfaces for receiving signals or input from devices and providing signals or output to one or more devices that allow data to be received and/or transmitted by automated ridesharing dispatch system 300. For example, automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may include interface components for interfacing with one or more input devices, such as one or more keyboards, mouse devices, and the like, that enable automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 to receive input from an operator or administrator (not shown))
and receive an administrator operation through the administrator operation interface wherein the administrator operation is selected from a group consisting of bonus management, user data management, vehicle owner data management, vehicle data management, transportation task management, order management, user score management, and vehicle owner score management (see at least Ramot [¶ 79, 89] As shown in Fig. 3, automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may include one or more processors 3 10, one or more memories 320 storing programs 330 including, for example, server app(s) 332, operating system 334, and data 340...In some embodiments, data 340 may include, for example, profiles of users, such as user profiles or driver profiles. Data 340 may further include ride requests from a plurality of users, user ride history and driver service record, and communications between a driver and a user regarding a particular ride request. In some embodiments, data 340 may further include traffic data, toll road information, and navigation information, which may be used for handling and accommodating ride requests).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for a plurality of administrator-end electronic devices in communication to the at least one server; wherein the administrator-end electronic device comprises at least one third processor and at least one third storage module storing a third application program, and the third processor executing the third application program so as to be configured to: control the administrator-end electronic device to communicate with the server; control a third display of the administrator-end electronic device to show an administrator operation interface; and receive an administrator operation through the administrator operation interface; wherein the administrator operation is selected from a group consisting of bonus management, user data management, vehicle owner data management, vehicle data management, transportation task management, order management, user score management, and vehicle owner score management with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the functionality of the system by including generic devices and hardware that are commonly used in the ride sharing and vehicle dispatching industry, along with functions of such devices and hardware that allow for ride sharing to take place such as administrators or operators that are not drivers or riders to manage and monitor the services as they are performed such as overseeing user and driver data.
Regarding Claim 13, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 12 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the storage module, the first storage module, the second storage module, and the third storage module are all selected from a group consisting of hard drive (HD), external hard drive, solid-state drive (SSD), and flash drive.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the storage module, the first storage module, the second storage module, and the third storage module are all selected from a group consisting of hard drive (HD), external hard drive, solid-state drive (SSD), and flash drive (see at least Ramot [¶ 55, 81] As used herein, a "non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" refers to any type of physical memory on which information or data readable by at least one processor can be stored. Examples include random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), volatile memory, nonvolatile memory, hard drives, CD ROMs, DVDs, flash drives, disks, and any other known physical storage medium).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the storage module, the first storage module, the second storage module, and the third storage module are all selected from a group consisting of hard drive (HD), external hard drive, solid-state drive (SSD), and flash drive with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of including data storage hardware that is commonly used in the art such as hard drives and flash drives.
Regarding Claim 14, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 12 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the storage module includes a user database, a vehicle owner database, a vehicle database, a transport task database.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the storage module includes a user database, a vehicle owner database, a vehicle database, a transport task database (see at least Ramot [¶ 61] Database 170 may include one or more physical or virtual storages coupled with ridesharing management server 150. Database 170 may be configured to store user account information (including registered user accounts and driver accounts), corresponding user profiles such as contact information, profile photos, and associated mobile communications device information. With respect to users, user account information may further include ride history, service feedbacks, complaints, or comments. With respect to drivers, user account information may further include number of ride service assignments completed, ratings, and ride service history information. Database 170 may further be configured to store various ride requests received from user devices 120A- 120C and corresponding starting point and desired destination information, user input regarding various service parameters, pickup and drop-off locations, time of pick-up and drop-off, ride fares, and user feedbacks, etc)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the storage module includes a user database, a vehicle owner database, a vehicle database, a transport task database with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of including data bases that store data that is necessary to the operation of a ride sharing service as discussed by Ramot, such as user, driver, and vehicle databases and ride information and history.
Regarding Claim 15, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 14 as set forth above. Leung further teaches a fifth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to: calculate, after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task, the real value of carbon emission of the transportation vehicle and a ninth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to: calculate the bonus based on the difference between the real value of carbon emission and the estimation value of carbon emission; exchange the bonus of carbon emission reducing to the reward; and allot the reward to the user of the user-end electronic device and/or the driver of the vehicle-end electronic device (see at least Leung [¶ 46, 113-114] process 320 for generating an estimated efficiency value related to the fuel consumption, process 325 for comparing the estimated efficiency value with an actual efficiency value...a quality of driving score is calculated based on how efficient an individual drives and conserves emissions… a system including a mobile device app that reports driving data to a server algorithm that uses the data and vehicle specific data to estimate the total carbon released during individual trips. As an example, the system is associated with one or more of the following features: a. Algorithm estimates fuel consumption during the trip, which is used to derive carbon release; b. Algorithm is based on a model calibrated with user-supplied fueling and driving distance inputs; c. Driving data includes location, accelerometer data, gyroscopic data, magnetometer data, and/or barometer data; d. System rewards users for mindful driving (and potentially carpooling) with insurance discounts based on carbon release; e. System provides route suggestions for a destination based on actual user driving behaviors to reduce carbon footprint; and/or f. System provides training feedback to modify driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint).
However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the application program comprises a plurality of subprograms, and the plurality of subprograms comprise:
a first subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to receive the driver operation through a communication interface of the server, and then manage the driver operation;
a second subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to receive the user operation through the communication interface, and then manage the user operation;
a third subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to receive the administrator operation through the communication interface, and then manage the administrator operation;
a fourth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
generate an original transportation route based on the demand of vehicle utilization; and
generate, after applying N times of route adjusting process to the original transportation route under taking the at least one vehicle parameter and the at least one road condition parameter as a plurality of adjusting factors, the plurality of advisory transportation routes; wherein N is a positive integer;
a fifth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
receive the demand of vehicle utilization through the communication interface;
transmit, through the communication interface, the transportation task assigning notification to one of the plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices;
record a device information of the vehicle-end electronic device while receiving the response information from the vehicle-end electronic device, and simultaneously record a vehicle information of the vehicle carrying the vehicle-end electronic device;
record the driving data and a real transportation route of the transportation vehicle and the transportation task in the transport task database;
a sixth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
communicate with the vehicle-end electronic device through the communication interface, so as to receive a user score data or a first system score data; and
communicate with the user-end electronic device through the communication interface so as to receive a vehicle owner score data or a second system score data;
a seventh subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to communicate with the user-end electronic device so as to receive and manage a user operation of order querying, a user operation of order revising, or a user operation of order canceling;
an eighth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
communicate with the vehicle-end electronic device through the communication interface, so as to send a remuneration defrayment notification to the vehicle-end electronic device after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task;
receive and manage a driver operation of enquiry for specific remuneration defrayment corresponding the transportation task;
communicate with the user-end electronic device through the communication interface, so as to send an expense payment notification to the user-end electronic device after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task; and
receive and manage a user operation of enquiry for specific expense payment corresponding the transportation task.
Ramot, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches:
wherein the application program comprises a plurality of subprograms, and the plurality of subprograms comprise:
a first subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to receive the driver operation through a communication interface of the server, and then manage the driver operation (see at least Ramot [¶ 64, 88] a user interface of a driver device, such as driver device 120D, may include an option to send notification messages to the user, for example, a pre-defined message button of "I'm here." Once the vehicle arrives at the pick-up location, the driver may click the message button to send the message to the user.)
a second subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to receive the user operation through the communication interface, and then manage the user operation (see at least Ramot [¶ 64] A mobile communications device 120 may also include one or more software applications that facilitate the mobile communications devices to engage in communications, such as IM, VoIP, video conferences. For example, user devices 130A- 130C may send requests to ridesharing management server 150, and receive confirmations therefrom)
a third subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to receive the administrator operation through the communication interface, and then manage the administrator operation (see at least Ramot [¶ 79, 89, 90] Automated ridesharing dispatch system 300 may also include one or more I/O devices 350 having one or more interfaces for receiving signals or input from devices and providing signals or output to one or more devices that allow data to be received and/or transmitted by automated ridesharing dispatch system 300)
a fourth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
generate an original transportation route based on the demand of vehicle utilization (see at least Ramot [¶ 11] each ride request includes pick-up and drop-off location information, assign a plurality of passengers to a specific electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, transmit to the specific electrically- powered ridesharing vehicle a first driving route for transporting the plurality of passengers)
generate, after applying N times of route adjusting process to the original transportation route under taking the at least one vehicle parameter and the at least one road condition parameter as a plurality of adjusting factors, the plurality of advisory transportation routes; wherein N is a positive integer (see at least Ramot [¶ 133, 201] Additionally or alternatively, battery-charge module 620 (or the vehicle) may estimate the driving duration and/or distance using real-time traffic data along a current route of the vehicle. Accordingly, the driving duration and/or distance may be dynamically re-determined whenever the current route is changed, as explained below with respect to charging station module 630. Additionally or alternatively, battery-charge module 620 (or the vehicle) may estimate the driving duration and/or distance using terrain data, such as elevation changes, along a current route of the vehicle. Accordingly, the driving duration and/or distance may be dynamically re-determined whenever the current route is changed, as explained below with respect to charging station module 630...The second driving route may be generated based on, among other factors, the battery charge level, a location of a charging station closest to a current location of the ridesharing vehicle)
a fifth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
receive the demand of vehicle utilization through the communication interface (see at least Ramot [¶ 139, 201] Additional variables may be used in the optimization algorithm. For example, historical data associated with demand for ridesharing vehicles in the geographic area may be considered…The second driving route may be generated based on, among other factors…a location of a charging station in the vicinity of an area with expected passenger demand)
transmit, through the communication interface, the transportation task assigning notification to one of the plurality of vehicle-end electronic devices (see at least Ramot [¶ 58] Network 140 may facilitate communications between user devices 120 and ridesharing management server 150, for example, receiving ride requests and other ride server related input from or sending confirmations to user devices, and sending ride service assignments to driver devices and driving- control devices)
record a device information of the vehicle-end electronic device while receiving the response information from the vehicle-end electronic device, and simultaneously record a vehicle information of the vehicle carrying the vehicle-end electronic device (see at least Ramot [¶ 7, 65, 109] once a driver accepts the request, the driver may then use his device to input the ride request information...The at least one processor may be configured to receive ride requests from a plurality of users, wherein each ride request includes a starting point and a desired destination within the geographic area… receive current vehicle location data for the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with the electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle)
record the driving data and a real transportation route of the transportation vehicle and the transportation task in the transport task database (see at least Ramot [¶ 5] The at least one processor may be configured to receive current vehicle location data for the plurality of electrically-powered ridesharing vehicles, wherein the current vehicle location data includes global positioning system (GPS) data generated by at least one GPS component associated with each electrically-powered ridesharing vehicle)
a sixth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
communicate with the vehicle-end electronic device through the communication interface, so as to receive a user score data or a first system score data (see at least Ramot [¶ 205] The ride requests may include information such as a pick-up location, a drop-off location, and identity of the user, a rating of the user, etc.)
communicate with the user-end electronic device through the communication interface so as to receive a vehicle owner score data or a second system score data (see at least Ramot [¶ 109] According to this embodiment, step 415 may also include receiving a proposal selection reflective of a selected pick-up vehicle and sending an addition message that includes information about the selected vehicle, and the driver associated with the vehicle. For example, the vehicle information may include the license plate number, brand, color, and/or model of the vehicle. The driver information may include a name, nickname, profile photo, ratings, number of previous rides, and/or contact information of the driver. The message may further include a contact option allowing the user to contact the driver, for example, a "contact the driver" button, which the user may select to initiate a communication session with the driver)
a seventh subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to communicate with the user-end electronic device so as to receive and manage a user operation of order querying, a user operation of order revising, or a user operation of order canceling (see at least Ramot [¶ 76, 186, 15] ride request module 930 may use a communications interface to transmit data to mobile communications devices of each of the plurality of users, the transmitted data including walking directions to the determined pick-up locations. Additionally or alternatively, the transmitted data may include an update about a change in the drop-off location...Graphical user interface instructions 256 may include a software program that facilitates a user associated with the mobile communications device to receive messages from ridesharing management server 150, provide user input, and so on.)
an eighth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to:
communicate with the vehicle-end electronic device through the communication interface, so as to send a remuneration defrayment notification to the vehicle-end electronic device after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task; receive and manage a driver operation of enquiry for specific remuneration defrayment corresponding the transportation task; communicate with the user-end electronic device through the communication interface, so as to send an expense payment notification to the user-end electronic device after the transportation vehicle completes the transportation task; and receive and manage a user operation of enquiry for specific expense payment corresponding the transportation task (see at least Ramot [¶ 66, 93, 237] driver devices 120D and 120E, and driving-control device 120F may be embodied in a vehicle control panel, as a part of the vehicle control system associated with a particular vehicle. For example, a traditional taxi company may install a drive device in all taxi vehicles managed by the taxi company. In some embodiments, driver devices 120D and 120E, and driving-control device 120F, may be further coupled with a payment device, such as a card reader installed as a part of the vehicle control panel or as a separate device associated with the vehicle. A user may then use the payment device as an alternative payment mechanism. For example, a user who hails the taxi on the street may pay through the payment device, without using a user device providing ridesharing service…The ride requests may include information including a pick-up location, a desired destination, an identity of the user, a rating of the user, payment information associated with the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain programs for executing conventional ride share service activities with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of including applications for carrying out and handling a wide variety of commonly practiced ride share activates within the industry.
Regarding Claim 16, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 15 as set forth above. Leung further teaches a tenth subprogram, including instructions for configuring the processor to: input the real value of carbon emission, the estimation value of carbon emission, the real transportation route, the driving data, the at least one vehicle parameter, and the at least one road condition parameter into a pre-trained factor anal1ysis model, such that at least one factor leading the real value of carbon emission to be lower than the estimation value of carbon emission is found out by the factor analysis model (see at least Leung [¶ 46, 51, 114, 120] in generating the estimated efficiency value, the first set of parameters related to the one or more driving features associated with the fuel consumption are calculated by the artificial neural network…the estimated efficiency value is compared with the actual efficiency value to determine an accuracy of the estimated efficiency value according to some embodiments…process 320 for generating an estimated efficiency value related to the fuel consumption, process 325 for comparing the estimated efficiency value with an actual efficiency value…According to certain embodiments, a system including a mobile device app that reports driving data to a server algorithm that uses the data and vehicle specific data to estimate the total carbon released during individual trips… the system is associated with one or more of the following features: a. Algorithm estimates fuel consumption during the trip, which is used to derive carbon release…b. Algorithm is based on a model calibrated with user-supplied fueling and driving distance inputs; c. Driving data includes location, accelerometer data, gyroscopic data, magnetometer data, and/or barometer data; d. System rewards users for mindful driving (and potentially carpooling) with insurance discounts based on carbon release; e. System provides route suggestions for a destination based on actual user driving behaviors to reduce carbon footprint; and/or f. System provides training feedback to modify driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint…System provides training feedback to modify driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint… a system (e.g., a computer program product) is configured to provide a driver with information on how the driver can improve driving techniques to reduce carbon footprint (e.g., by making fewer hard brakes, reducing time over a certain speed threshold such as 80 MPH).
Because the system disclosed in Leung recommends driving actions that can improve the driver’s carbon footprint after comparing the driver’s estimated efficiency and actual efficiency (which are related and proportional to carbon emissions) it must be true that the system has identified what parameters have caused the better efficiency and lower emissions in order to recommend them to the driver.
Regarding Claim 18, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Leung further teaches a vehicle management system, characterized by comprising one system for monitoring vehicle carbon footprint and generating plan of carbon emission reduction (see at least Leung [Abstract and ¶ 3, 114, 115] Method and system for selecting a vehicle route. For example, the method includes collecting information for a future vehicle trip that will be made by a user, generating multiple routes for the same future vehicle trip…a system (e.g., a computer program product) is provided to measure a person’s carbon emission, understand a person’s carbon emission, offset a portion of a person’s carbon emission, and/or empower a person to offset the rest of the person’s carbon emission).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung et al (WO 2021050162 A1) in view of Ramot et al (WO 2018217640 A1), Wang (CN 115183790 A), and Dyeyev (US 20180114377 A1). Hereafter referred to as Leung, Ramot, Wang, and Dyeyev respectively.
Regarding Claim 8, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor assembly is selected from a group consisting of OBD (on-board diagnostics) device, ODB-II (second generation on-board diagnostics) device, OTA (over-the-air technology) device, and TMS (transportation management system) device.
Dyeyev, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the sensor assembly is selected from a group consisting of OBD (on-board diagnostics) device, ODB-II (second generation on-board diagnostics) device, OTA (over-the-air technology) device, and TMS (transportation management system) device (see at least Dyeyev [¶ 19 and 26] In the primary processing unit, electronic data from external sources is broken down into categories, and the distance traveled by the vehicle during a trip, trip driving time, night trip driving time, trip fuel consumption, trip carbon emissions, and vehicle diagnostic trouble codes are immediately analyzed…The vehicle electronic data unit contains an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer, vehicle position sensor, and vehicle diagnostic data unit, which are connected to a GSM module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the sensor assembly is selected from a group consisting of OBD (on-board diagnostics) device, ODB-II (second generation on-board diagnostics) device, OTA (over-the-air technology) device, and TMS (transportation management system) device with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the vehicle system by including diagnostic hardware that is commonly used in the art to monitor the health of a vehicle, and to collect data that may also be used to better understand carbon emissions as discussed in Dyeyev.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung et al (WO 2021050162 A1) in view of Ramot et al (WO 2018217640 A1), Wang (CN 115183790 A), and Saleh et al (US 20210063181 A1). Hereafter referred to as Leung, Ramot, Wang, and Saleh respectively.
Regarding Claim 9, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of advisory transportation routes comprises transportation route with shortest-distance, transportation route with lowest amount of time spending, transportation route with lowest price, and transportation route with lowest carbon emission.
Saleh, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of advisory transportation routes comprises transportation route with shortest-distance, transportation route with lowest amount of time spending, transportation route with lowest price, and transportation route with lowest carbon emission (See at least Saleh [¶ 56] The system might present a plurality of different routes identified as, for example, the eco-friendly route (e.g. the route that results in consumption of the least amount of energy or is the most environmentally friendly), the most cost-effective route, the fastest route, the shortest route, and so on. Accordingly, a final route can be selected solely based on cost, or based on cost in combination with other factors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the plurality of advisory transportation routes comprises transportation route with shortest-distance, transportation route with lowest amount of time spending, transportation route with lowest price, and transportation route with lowest carbon emission with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the ease at which a user can select an optimal route and further improving the convenience of the vehicle system as discussed in Saleh.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung et al (WO 2021050162 A1) in view of Ramot et al (WO 2018217640 A1), Wang (CN 115183790 A), and Liu et al (CN 109253734 A). Hereafter referred to as Leung, Ramot, Wang, and Liu respectively.
Regarding Claim 17, Leung in view of Ramot and Wang teach all limitations of Claim 16 as set forth above. However, Leung does not explicitly teach wherein the possessor modulates a first weight corresponding to the vehicle parameter and a second weight corresponding to the road condition parameter while generating the transportation plan.
Liu, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the possessor modulates a first weight corresponding to the vehicle parameter and a second weight corresponding to the road condition parameter while generating the transportation plan (see at least Liu [English Translation pg.4 para.1] a weight calculating unit for determining the corresponding traffic information of each of the traffic weight value RSi;, wherein i is the number of the target site, and further used for determining each of the queue corresponding to the queue information values OSi; further for using the distance weight calculating formula to calculate the distance weighting value DWi; wherein the distance weight calculating formula is the predicted target location DWi= E Distancei-RSi, Distancei whose number is i and the vehicle driving distance; is further used for according to the residual fuel amount calculation of the vehicle running distance >P is further used for using the navigation weight calculation formula to calculate said each said target site navigation weight value, wherein the navigation weight calculation formula is AOPrivityi = (LD-DWi)*nlSi, AOPrivityi whose number is i corresponding to the target place navigation weight value...list generating unit, used for according to the navigation weight value from high-to-low order of ordering all of the target locations to obtain the list of destinations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Leung to contain a system for wherein the possessor modulates a first weight corresponding to the vehicle parameter and a second weight corresponding to the road condition parameter while generating the transportation plan with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving a route calculation by weighting multiple parameters that may affect the efficiency of the route such as traffic (which is analogous to a road condition) and distance travelled and navigation weight (which are analogous to vehicle parameters) as discussed in Liu.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ANDERSON YANOSKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664