DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tai et al. (US 20210372584 A1, hereinafter, “Tai”).
Regarding claim 1, Tai teaches an air quality measuring device (vehicle light, see figures 6-9), comprising:
an upper case (front cover 7, see fig 8);
a lower case (circuit board 2, see fig 8) disposed under the upper case (7);
a circular light guide (lens 8, see fig 6) disposed between the upper case (7) and the lower case (2), having an outer portion (outer potion of 6, see fig 6) and an inner portion (inner portion of 6, see fig 6), and having a coupling boss (pegs 611, see fig 6) positioned around the outer portion (outer portion of 6) to couple with the upper case or the lower case (2, via insertion holes 25); and
a light source unit (light emitters 3, see fig 8) positioned on the inner portion (inner portion of 6), wherein the circular light guide (6) forms a light exiting surface (light outgoing face 65, see fig 6) on the outer portion (outer portion of 6), and includes a rib (microstructures 69, see fig 7) formed to protrude to one surface (third face 641, see fig 7) around the outer portion (outer portion of 6).
Regarding claim 2, Tai teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches: wherein the rib (69) is positioned between the outer portion (outer portion of 6) and the coupling boss (611).
Regarding claim 4, Tai teaches wherein the circular light guide (6) further includes a groove (see grooves formed between each rib 69, not labeled but seen in fig 7) provided between the outer portion (outer portion of 69) and the coupling boss (611).
Regarding claim 5, Tai teaches wherein the groove (see groove formed between ribs 69, not labeled but seen in fig 7) has an inner surface (see inner surface of grooves) with an uneven shape (as the grooves are v-shaped with a closed upper section and an open lower section).
Regarding claim 6, Tai teaches wherein the groove (see grooves formed between each rib 69, not labeled but seen in fig 7) is positioned outside the rib (69, as seen in fig 7).
Regarding claim 7, Tai teaches wherein the outer portion (outer portion of 6) is provided between the upper case (7) and the lower case (2) to be visible from outside (as 7 se transparent and allows light emission from 6).
Regarding claim 8, Tai teaches wherein the inner portion or the outer portion (outer portion of 6) has a surface with an uneven shape (as clearly seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 9, Tai teaches wherein the circular light guide (6) further includes a through hole (through-hole 61, see fig 6) formed radially inside of the coupling boss (611).
Regarding claim 11, Tai teaches wherein a plurality of coupling bosses (611) are configured, and wherein a plurality of ribs (69) are respectively disposed at intervals (as seen in fig 7) of the plurality of coupling bosses (611).
Regarding claim 12, Tai teaches a circular light guide (lens 6, see figures 6-9), comprising:
an inner portion (inner portion of 6, see fig 6) having a light entering surface (light incoming face 62, see fig 6) through which light enters (better seen in fig 8);
an outer portion (outer portion of 6, see fig 6) having a light exiting surface (light outgoing face 65, see fig 6) through which light exits (as seen in fig 8);
a coupling boss (pegs 611, see fig 7) positioned around the outer portion (outer portion of 6) and provided to protrude upward or downward (as seen in fig 7); and
a rib (microstructures 69, see fig 7) formed to protrude to one surface (third face 641, see fig 7) around the outer portion (outer portion of 6).
Regarding claim 13, Tai teaches wherein the rib (69) is positioned between the outer portion (outer portion of 6) and the coupling boss (611).
Regarding claim 14, Tai teaches wherein the inner portion or the outer portion (outer portion of 6) has a surface with an uneven shape (as clearly seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 15, Tai teaches further comprising a groove (see grooves formed between ribs 69, not labeled but seen in fig 7) formed between the outer portion (outer portion of 6) and the coupling boss (611), wherein the groove (grooves between 69) has an inner portion (see inner portion of groove) with an uneven shape (as the groove has a closed upper section and an open lower section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tai et al. (US 20210372584 A1, hereinafter, “Tai”) in view of Yuan et al (US 20140211497 A1, hereinafter, “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 3, Tai teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the rib partially contacts radially outside of the coupling boss.
Yuan teaches a light guide (waveguide 70, see figure 9) having a plurality of coupling bosses (four location pins 72a-72d) and including a rib (see plurality of ribs in fig 9);
wherein the rib (see plurality of ribs in fig 9) partially contacts radially outside of the coupling boss (72a-d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate ribs as taught by Yuan into the teachings of Tai in order to further enhance light refraction within the light guide. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to mix light efficiently and thus emit light more evenly.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tai et al. (US 20210372584 A1, hereinafter, “Tai”) in view of Xiao et al. (CN 208817386 U, hereinafter, “Xiao”).
Regarding claim 10, Tai teaches wherein the circular light guide (6) protrudes downward (see inner rim of 6 in fig 7 protruded downwards to couple with 2, also seen in fig 2) to allow the coupling boss (611) to couple with the lower case (2), further includes a coupling hole (see upper opening of 6 surrounded by 65, see fig 6) provided to couple with the upper case (7, see fig 8).
Tai does not teach further includes a plurality of screws coupled to the coupling boss and the coupling hole, and wherein the plurality of screws are coupled to allow a screw head to face downward.
Xiao teaches a light guide (light guide 3, see figure 3) having a plurality of coupling bosses (positioning pins 31) connected to a lower case (PCB1); further
includes a plurality of screws (bolts 5, see fig 3) coupled to the coupling boss (31) and the coupling hole (positioning holes 12), and wherein the plurality of screws (5) are coupled to allow a screw head (see head of bolts 5) to face downward (as clearly seen in fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate plurality of screws as taught by Xiao into the teachings of Tai in order to further secure the light guide on the lower case. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure positioning of the light guide against shocks or vibration.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraz et al. (US 20190208095 A1, hereinafter, “Kraz”) in view of Yuan et al (US 20140211497 A1, hereinafter, “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 1, Kraz teaches an air quality measuring device (Smart-home device light rings with lens spacing for uniform output, see figures 17-20, and figures 1-16 and 21-24 to show common elements and features to all embodiments), comprising:
an upper case (output ring 1810, see fig 18);
a lower case (circuit board 1801, see fig 18) disposed under the upper case (1810);
a circular light guide (light guide 1806, see fig 18) disposed between the upper case (1810) and the lower case (1801), having an outer portion (see outer portion of 1806) and an inner portion (see inner portion of 1806), and having a coupling boss (plurality of features 1908, see fig 19) positioned around the outer portion (outer portion of 1806) to couple with the upper case or the lower case (1801); and
a light source unit (LEDs 1802, see fig 19) positioned on the inner portion (inner portion of 1806), wherein the circular light guide (1806) forms a light exiting surface (upper surface of 1806) on the outer portion (outer portion of 1806).
Kraz does not explicitly teach a rib formed to protrude to one surface around the outer portion.
Yuan teaches a light guide (waveguide 70, see figure 9) having a plurality of coupling bosses (four location pins 72a-72d);
a rib (see plurality of ribs in fig 9) formed to protrude to one surface (lower surface of 70) around the outer portion (outer portion of 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate ribs as taught by Yuan into the teachings of Kraz in order to further enhance light refraction within the light guide. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to mix light efficiently and thus emit light more evenly.
Regarding claim 12, Tai teaches a circular light guide (light guide 1806, see figure 18-19), comprising:
an inner portion (inner portion of 1806) having a light entering surface (surface of cutouts 1905) through which light enters (better seen in fig 19);
an outer portion (outer portion of 1806) having a light exiting surface (upper surface of 1806) through which light exits (as seen in fig 19);
a coupling boss (plurality of features 1908, see fig 19) positioned around the outer portion (outer portion of 1806) and provided to protrude upward or downward (as seen in fig 19).
Kraz does not explicitly teach a rib formed to protrude to one surface around the outer portion.
Yuan teaches a light guide (waveguide 70, see figure 9) having a plurality of coupling bosses (four location pins 72a-72d);
a rib (see plurality of ribs in fig 9) formed to protrude to one surface (lower surface of 70) around the outer portion (outer portion of 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate ribs as taught by Yuan into the teachings of Kraz in order to further enhance light refraction within the light guide. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to mix light efficiently and thus emit light more evenly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 16-17, although Kraz and Tai teach the air quality measuring device, as described in claim 1 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach further comprising: an air quality detector disposed between the upper case and the lower case; and a controller configured to communicate with the air quality detector and the light source unit, wherein the controller is configured to control an operation of the light source unit based on data received from the air quality detector; and
wherein the operation of the light source unit includes a color of a light emitted by the light source unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Franken et al. (US 4868384 A) discloses a circular light guide used to illuminate a pressure switch and a having inner and outer portions and a plurality of coupling bosses to attach to a lower case. The device provides excellent visibility of the switch.
Conclusion
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875