DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
An IDS was not filed with this application.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Applicant has withdrawn claims 1-10 and 20-27.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities: it is not entirely clear whether the claim is intended be construed as “a data object . . . indicating a bloom filter” or “one or more channels indicating a bloom filter.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 14-19 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0140957 (hereinafter “Kiilerich”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0045034 (hereinafter “Alam”)
Regarding claim 11, Kiilerich teaches: A second wireless communication device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (410), the processing system configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: transmit ([0153]) a data object (0149] the first device 410 transmits the data of the groupcast transmission to each of the devices 420. The data is transmitted in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). The data is transmitted in the PSSCH in one or more transmission blocks to the devices 420); the bloom filter output ([0170] The algorithm may determine each resource pattern using at least one hash function.) indicating that one or more first wireless communication devices of a plurality of first wireless communication devices is to monitor for data transmission ([0177] Therefore, since the same algorithm is applied, when the devices transmit their feedback, UE A is able to match the resources patterns it determined using the algorithm to the activation pattern it receives so as to identify the devices transmitting feedback.); and transmit one or more data transmissions associated with the one or more first wireless communication devices based at least in part on the data object ([0185] If the number of such devices not transmitting ACKs and NACKs is above a threshold, UE A performs a group retransmission.).
Kiilerich discloses resources and resource pool, but does not explicitly disclose: via one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: via one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output ([0020] The term “communicatively coupled” may mean that two or more elements may be in contact with one another by a means of communication including through a wire or other interconnect connection, through a wireless communication channel or link, and/or the like. [0065], [0071] The UEs 504, 505 utilize connections (or channels); [0078]; [0079] BFP involves using a Bloom Filter (BF) to generate a randomized data structure for representing a set of node IDs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output).
Regarding claim 12, Kiilerich teaches: establish a plurality of authentication keys with the plurality of first wireless communication devices ([01669] The algorithm used to randomly select these positions for a device may use the identifier of the device as a seed to determine the index positions.); and generate one or more respective bloom filter inputs associated with the one or more first wireless communication devices based at least in part on one or more respective authentication keys of the plurality of authentication keys ([0170] The at least one hash function may take the identifier of a device as an input and output index positions indicating resources in the resource pool to be used for transmitting the feedback.), wherein the bloom filter output is based at least in part on the one or more respective bloom filter inputs ([0169] seed), a bloom filter size ([0169] The resource pattern for each device is computed using any suitable algorithm. The algorithm may determine each resource pattern by randomly selecting a predefined number of index positions in the resource pool.), and a quantity of hash functions ([0170] The algorithm may determine each resource pattern using at least one hash function.).
Kiilerich does not explicitly teach: and one or more respective randomization values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: and one or more respective randomization values ([0079] BFP involves using a Bloom Filter (BF) to generate a randomized data structure for representing a set of node IDs. See also, MAC randomization in NPL entitled, “Privacy-preserving WiFi-based Crowd Monitoring” and NPL entitled, “Privacy-Preserving People Flow Monitoring with Bloom Filters”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of randomization values and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing randomization values).
Regarding claim 14, Kiilerich does not explicitly teach: wherein the bloom filter output comprises one or more bit positions that are set to a value of 1 and that are different than one or more additional bit positions that are set to the value of 1 based at least in part on the one or more respective bloom filter inputs, the quantity of hash functions, and one or more randomized bit values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: wherein the bloom filter output comprises one or more bit positions that are set to a value of 1 and that are different than one or more additional bit positions that are set to the value of 1 based at least in part on the one or more respective bloom filter inputs, the quantity of hash functions, and one or more randomized bit values ([0079] The BF uses m bits and k independent hash functions for the probabilistic representation of a set of items S={s.sub.1, s.sub.2, . . . , s.sub.n}, wherein si is hashed with all of the k independent hash functions and each hash function h.sub.i maps s.sub.i uniformly to a position within the range [0, m−1], and then the corresponding bit of that position in the array is set to “1”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of assigning a value to one and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., assigning a value to one).
Regarding claim 15, Kiilerich teaches: select one or more bloom filter parameters, wherein a bloom filter size and a quantity of hash functions are based at least in part on the one or more bloom filter parameters ([0169] The resource pattern for each device is computed using any suitable algorithm. The algorithm may determine each resource pattern by randomly selecting a predefined number of index positions in the resource pool.).
Regarding claim 16, Kiilerich does not explicitly teach: wherein the bloom filter size is greater than a second bloom filter size associated with the one or more first wireless communication devices.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: wherein the bloom filter size is greater than a second bloom filter size associated with the one or more first wireless communication devices. ([0079] Under the BFP scheme, the source device/node sets all elements to 0 before transmitting the packet, each intermediary node in the path encodes its node ID into the array through the BF and then appends the array to the packet, and the destination device/node tests every node in the network 500 to obtain the nodes in the path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of differently sized bloom filters and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., differently sized bloom filters).
Regarding claim 17, Kiilerich teaches: wherein the data object indicates a bloom filter size, a quantity of hash functions, or both ([0022] In some examples, the apparatus comprises means for determining the resource pattern in the indicated set of resources by applying at least one hash function to the identifier to output index positions into the set of transmission resources.).
Regarding claim 18, Kiilerich teaches: wherein the data object is a broadcast data object identifying which of the plurality of first wireless communication devices is to monitor for data transmission ([0153] Reference is made to FIG. 10, which illustrates a message sequence diagram showing a groupcast sidelink transmission).
Regarding claim 19, Kiilerich does not explicitly teach: wherein the one or more first wireless communication devices comprise one or more stations (STA) and the second wireless communication device comprises an access point (AP).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: wherein the one or more first wireless communication devices comprise one or more stations (STA) and the second wireless communication device comprises an access point (AP) ([0058] As illustrated, the system 500 includes user equipment (UE) 504 and 505, access point (AP) 506, access network (AN) nodes 515 and 520, network 525, and an application server 530, each of which are incorporated with the teachings of the present disclosure.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of access points and STAs and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including access points and STAs).
Regarding claim 28, Kiilerich teaches: A method for wireless communications by a second wireless communication device, comprising: transmitting ([0153]) a data object (0149] the first device 410 transmits the data of the groupcast transmission to each of the devices 420. The data is transmitted in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). The data is transmitted in the PSSCH in one or more transmission blocks to the devices 420); the bloom filter output ([0170] The algorithm may determine each resource pattern using at least one hash function.) indicating that one or more first wireless communication devices of a plurality of first wireless communication devices is to monitor for data transmission ([0177] Therefore, since the same algorithm is applied, when the devices transmit their feedback, UE A is able to match the resources patterns it determined using the algorithm to the activation pattern it receives so as to identify the devices transmitting feedback.); and transmitting one or more data transmissions associated with the one or more first wireless communication devices based at least in part on the data object ([0185] If the number of such devices not transmitting ACKs and NACKs is above a threshold, UE A performs a group retransmission.).
Kiilerich discloses resources and resource pool, but does not explicitly disclose: via one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: via one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output ([0020] The term “communicatively coupled” may mean that two or more elements may be in contact with one another by a means of communication including through a wire or other interconnect connection, through a wireless communication channel or link, and/or the like. [0065], [0071] The UEs 504, 505 utilize connections (or channels); [0078]; [0079] BFP involves using a Bloom Filter (BF) to generate a randomized data structure for representing a set of node IDs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing one or more channels indicating a bloom filter output).
Regarding claim 29, Kiilerich teaches: establish a plurality of authentication keys with the plurality of first wireless communication devices ([01669] The algorithm used to randomly select these positions for a device may use the identifier of the device as a seed to determine the index positions.); and generate one or more respective bloom filter inputs associated with the one or more first wireless communication devices based at least in part on one or more respective authentication keys of the plurality of authentication keys ([0170] The at least one hash function may take the identifier of a device as an input and output index positions indicating resources in the resource pool to be used for transmitting the feedback.), wherein the bloom filter output is based at least in part on the one or more respective bloom filter inputs ([0169] seed), a bloom filter size ([0169] The resource pattern for each device is computed using any suitable algorithm. The algorithm may determine each resource pattern by randomly selecting a predefined number of index positions in the resource pool.), and a quantity of hash functions ([0170] The algorithm may determine each resource pattern using at least one hash function.).
Kiilerich does not explicitly teach: and one or more respective randomization values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: and one or more respective randomization values ([0079] BFP involves using a Bloom Filter (BF) to generate a randomized data structure for representing a set of node IDs. See also, MAC randomization in NPL entitled, “Privacy-preserving WiFi-based Crowd Monitoring” and NPL entitled, “Privacy-Preserving People Flow Monitoring with Bloom Filters”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of randomization values and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing randomization values).
Regarding claim 30, Kiilerich does not explicitly teach: wherein the bloom filter output comprises one or more bit positions that are set to a value of 1 and that are different than one or more additional bit positions that are set to the value of 1 based at least in part on the one or more respective bloom filter inputs, the quantity of hash functions, and one or more randomized bit values.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Alam teaches: wherein the bloom filter output comprises one or more bit positions that are set to a value of 1 and that are different than one or more additional bit positions that are set to the value of 1 based at least in part on the one or more respective bloom filter inputs, the quantity of hash functions, and one or more randomized bit values ([0079] The BF uses m bits and k independent hash functions for the probabilistic representation of a set of items S={s.sub.1, s.sub.2, . . . , s.sub.n}, wherein si is hashed with all of the k independent hash functions and each hash function h.sub.i maps s.sub.i uniformly to a position within the range [0, m−1], and then the corresponding bit of that position in the array is set to “1”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kiilerich to include the feature of assigning a value to one and a combination of Kiilerich with Alam renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., assigning a value to one).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The above references and those found in the search, in combination, do not render obvious the claimed invention regarding transmission of one or more respective randomization values via the data object, via one or more separate messages, or both when viewed as a whole. Therefore, claim 13 recites allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Non-patent literature entitled, “Privacy-Preserving People Flow Monitoring with Bloom Filters”
Non-patent literature entitled, “Privacy-preserving WiFi-based Crowd Monitoring”
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643