DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/25/2025 is disapproved. It does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because the POA is missing at the time of the terminal disclaimer was submitted. No additional fees are required with the resubmission.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-2 and 13 have been cancelled.
Claims 3-12 and 14-15 are pending.
The Double Patenting is maintained due to the submitted terminal disclaimer is disapproved.
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 09/25/2025 with respect to Claims 3-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 3-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/664,756 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 3, the instant application claim 3 and the reference application claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The claims differ in scope since the instant application claim 3 is a method of a broader in every aspect than all functionalities of a system in the reference application claim 1 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 3 of the instant application is anticipated by the reference application claim 1 in that claim 1 of the reference application contains all the limitations of claim 3 of the instant application. Claim 3 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 4-6 correspond to the reference application claims 2-4 respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 3-12 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 3, the instant application claim 3 and the US patent claims 1 and 7 are both drawn to the same invention.
The claims differ in scope since the instant application claim 3 is a method of a broader in every aspect than all functionalities of a system in the patent claims 1 and 7 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 3 of the instant application is anticipated by the patent claims 1 and 7 in that claims 1 and 7 of the patent contain all the limitations of claim 3 of the instant application. Claim 3 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 4-6 correspond to the patent claims 2-4 respectively.
Claim 7 corresponds to the patent claim 1.
Claims 9 and 11 correspond to the patent claims 5-6 respectively.
Claim 14 corresponds to the patent claim 8.
Claims 3 and 8 correspond to the patent claim 9.
Claims 10, 12 and 15 correspond to the patent claims 10-12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusumoto (US 2017/0347068) in view of Kellerman (US 2015/0163538) and further in view of Landfors et al (US 2022/0233272).
Regarding claim 3, Kusumoto discloses a method for altering video (Figure 1) comprising:
sending video feed by at least one camera to a hardware module (¶ [0023] and ¶ [0026]);
maintaining, by said hardware module, a predefined amount of pre-roll past video frames (¶ [0023] and ¶ [0036]);
sending said pre-roll past video frames upon connection by a user to a real time video feed display and switching to said real time video after receipt of said pre-roll past video frames (Figure 4; ¶ [0030]-[0032], ¶ [0037] and ¶ [0062] for sending recorded image then switching to live video image as user input on a switch button).
Kusumoto is silent about the pre-roll past video frames display in a fast forward manner, and combining user behavior analytics and sensory information to feed a machine learning model.
Kellerman discloses upon a user request to change to another video in a live transport stream, buffered video frames of the requested video are displayed in a fast forward manner to catch up with live video stream and switching to the live video stream after receipt of the buffered video frames (¶ [0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kusumoto system with the teaching of Kellerman about displaying buffered video frames in fast forward manner to catch up with live video stream upon a user request, so to provide an alternative way of presenting requested video content in an automatic manner in the benefits of enhancing user viewing experience.
Kusumoto in view of Kellerman is silent about combining user behavior analytics and sensory information to feed a machine learning model.
Landfors discloses hardware module combines user behavior analytics and sensory information to feed a machine learning model (¶ [0037]-[0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kusumoto in view of Kellerman system with the teaching of Landfors about feeding a machine learning model user and sensory information, so to train a machine learning to perform tasks in an automatic manner.
Regarding claim 4, Kusumoto in view of Kellerman and further in view of Landfors discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. The combined system further discloses wherein said predefined amount of pre-roll past video frames is of a set duration prior to present time (taught by Kusumoto; ¶ [0030] and ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Kusumoto in view of Kellerman and further in view of Landfors discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. The combined system further discloses sending a notification to said user based on a motion event and initiating said real time video upon response to said notification (taught by Kusumoto; ¶ [0030] and ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Kusumoto in view of Kellerman and further in view of Landfors discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. The combined system further discloses wherein said hardware module includes a software module having a process to receive a video stream and send a video stream (taught by Kusumoto; ¶ [0022]; and taught by Kellerman; ¶ [0019]-[0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 14-15 would be allowable if the resubmission of terminal disclaimer get approved to overcome the Double Patenting, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421