DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants communication filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 1, 20, 27 and 29 are amended. Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed July 1, 2026, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 1, 20, 27 and 29 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230254761 A1 (NOH et al.) (hereinafter NOH) in view of US 20240381111 A1 (BALDEMAIR et al.) (hereinafter BALDEMAIR) and in further view of Ericsson: "SSB Raster Design of Rel-16 NR-U", 3GPP TSG-RAN4 Meeting #90bis, R4-1904255, Vol. RAN WG4, No. Xian, China, 20190408 – 20190413 (hereinafter Ericsson).
In re claims 1 and 27, NOH discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([0018], “A terminal for receiving a downlink signal and channel in a wireless communication system includes: a communication module; and a processor configured to control the communication module, wherein the processor is configured to receive a synchronization signals and PBCH block (SSB) from a base station, and transmit an uplink channel to the base station, based on the SSB”), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 43: 130); and one or more processors (Fig. 43:110), coupled to the one or more memories ([0339], “Specifically, the UE may include a communication module configured to transmit or receive a radio signal, and a processor configured to control the communication module”) and method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0034], “The purpose of this specification is to provide a method for determining a pattern of a synchronization signal and PBCH block in a wireless communication system”), comprising:
receiving a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Fig. 44: S4410, [0016], “a method performed by a terminal includes: receiving a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) from a base station; and transmitting an uplink channel to the base station, based on the SSB”. [0072], “the terminal may include user equipment (UE)...In the present disclosure, the configuration of the terminal may indicate configuration by the base station. Specifically, the base station may transmit a channel or signal to the terminal to set an operation of the terminal or a parameter value used in a wireless communication system”);
determine whether the SSB is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT (Fig. 35, [0012], “Unlike in licensed bands in which telecommunications carriers secure exclusive use rights through procedures such as auctions, in unlicensed bands, multiple communication devices may be used simultaneously without restrictions on the condition that only a certain level of adjacent band protection regulations are observed. For this reason, when an unlicensed band is used for cellular communication service...it is likely that interference with existing wireless communication devices (e.g., wireless LAN devices) using the unlicensed band occurs”. [0013], “In order to use LTE and NR technologies in unlicensed bands, research on coexistence with existing devices for unlicensed bands and efficient sharing of wireless channels is to be conducted in advance. That is, it is required to develop a robust coexistence mechanism (RCM) such that devices using LTE and NR technologies in the unlicensed band do not affect the existing devices for unlicensed bands” (spectrum sharing across different RAT’s)) according to at least one of a configuration of a synchronization signal of the SSB ([0017], “In this specification, the SSB mapped to the first SSB candidate set and the second SSB candidate set when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 480 KHz or 960 KHz, and the SSB mapped to the first SSB candidate set, the second SSB candidate set, the third SSB candidate set, and the fourth SSB candidate set when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 120 KHz are mapped to consecutive symbols”. [0020], “In this specification, when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 480 KHz or 960 KHz, a first symbol, a second symbol, an eighth symbol, and a ninth symbol of the one slot are resources allocated for a control resource set (CORESET)”. [0021], “In this specification, when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 480 KHz or 960 KHz, the at least one gap symbol is a sixth symbol of the slot”), a configuration of a broadcast channel of the SSB, whether a control channel is scheduled by the SSB, or barring information associated with the SSB; and
obtaining system information in accordance with the determination.
NOH does not explicitly disclose determine whether the SSB is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT according to at least one of a configuration of a synchronization signal of the SSB, a configuration of a broadcast channel of the SSB, whether a control channel is scheduled by the SSB, or barring information associated with the SSB; and obtaining system information in accordance with the determination.
BALDEMAIR discloses determine whether the SSB is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT according to at least one of a configuration of a synchronization signal of the SSB (Fig. 12: S136, [0088], “In some embodiments, the first radio access technology is New Radio, NR, and/or the second radio access technology is Long Term Evolution, LTE. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is an overlap of at least one slot defined by the first radio access technology and at least one subframe defined by the second radio access technology” (receive an indication of a transmission pattern of a SSB for the first RAT and second RAT). [0107], “In some embodiments, configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology further includes ...configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology in one of one slot and at least two slots defined by the first radio access technology to overlap with one subframe defined by the second radio access technology, the one of the one slot and the at least two slots being based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that is used for the first radio access technology”. [0111], “In some embodiments, the method further includes obtaining, such as via receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a configuration of a synchronization signal block, SSB, of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology; and receiving, such as via radio interface 82, receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84 and/or processor 86, the SSB on at least one radio resource according to the configured overlap in time. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of ... a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology...” (determining the SSB configuration to differentiate between the first RAT and th second RAT)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of NOH with BALDEMAIR to provide a method and apparatus for synchronization signal block design for multiple radio access technologies. A refarmed band (or cell) is a band (or cell) in which only a single RAT is deployed. For example, when a refarmed (or cell) may transition from a first RAT (such as a first-generation-based RAT such as 5G) to a second RAT (such as a second-generation-based RAT such as 6G), the UE supporting the first RAT may continue to search for SSBs on a channel associated with the first RAT on the refarmed band. This method of SSB design to differentiate the SSB associated with a first RAT or a second RAT so the UE does not continue to scan for SSBs associated with the first RAT on the “refarmed” band allows more efficient data transmission and reception.
NOH and BALDEMAIR do not explicitly disclose obtaining system information in accordance with the determination.
Ericsson discloses obtaining system information in accordance with the determination (Page 2, section 2.2, lines 6-7, “Once UE finds the SSB, it will read the system information to get the relative frequency position within a carrier so the NR carrier position will be derived”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of NOH and BALDEMAIR with Ericsson to provide a method and apparatus for synchronization signal block design for multiple radio access technologies. A refarmed band (or cell) is a band (or cell) in which only a single RAT is deployed. For example, when a refarmed (or cell) may transition from a first RAT (such as a first-generation-based RAT such as 5G) to a second RAT (such as a second-generation-based RAT such as 6G), the UE supporting the first RAT may continue to search for SSBs on a channel associated with the first RAT on the refarmed band. This method of SSB design to differentiate the SSB associated with a first RAT or a second RAT so the UE does not continue to scan for SSBs associated with the first RAT on the “refarmed” band allows more efficient data transmission and reception.
In re claims 2 and 28, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and the method of claim 27, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to the configuration of the synchronization signal (Fig. 12: S136, [0088], “In some embodiments, the first radio access technology is New Radio, NR, and/or the second radio access technology is Long Term Evolution, LTE. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is an overlap of at least one slot defined by the first radio access technology and at least one subframe defined by the second radio access technology” (receive an indication of a transmission pattern of a SSB for the first RAT and second RAT). [0107], “In some embodiments, configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology further includes ...configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology in one of one slot and at least two slots defined by the first radio access technology to overlap with one subframe defined by the second radio access technology, the one of the one slot and the at least two slots being based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that is used for the first radio access technology”. [0111], “In some embodiments, the method further includes obtaining, such as via receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a configuration of a synchronization signal block, SSB, of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology; and receiving, such as via radio interface 82, receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84 and/or processor 86, the SSB on at least one radio resource according to the configured overlap in time. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of ... a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology...” (determining the SSB configuration to differentiate between the first RAT and th second RAT)).
In re claim 3, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein NOH discloses wherein the synchronization signal is a primary synchronization signal (PSS) ([0086], “If the power of the UE is turned on or the UE camps on a new cell, the UE performs an initial cell search (step S101). Specifically, the UE may synchronize with the BS in the initial cell search. For this, the UE may receive a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) from the base station to synchronize with the base station, and obtain information such as a cell ID. Thereafter, the UE can receive the physical broadcast channel from the base station and obtain the broadcast information in the cell”). Ericsson also discloses (Page 2, section 2.2, lines 1-4, “In L TE, when t11e UE first time enters to an operator coverage area, the initial cell search for the synchronization signal signal (SS} is carried out based on PSS/SSS, the SS signal is located at center of the carrier, so to find SS signal, UE needs to search all the possible location of the LTE canter which is based on 100 KHz channel raster design”).
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein NOH discloses wherein the configuration of the synchronization signal indicates a sequence for the PSS, wherein a first sequence for the PSS is associated with the first RAT and a second sequence for the PSS is associated with the second RAT ([0094], “The UE may detect the PSS and identify one of the three unique physical-layer identifiers. In addition, the UE can detect the SSS and identify one of the 336 physical layer cell IDs associated with the physical-layer identifier. In this case, the sequence dPSS(n) is...”. [0307], “When a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz is used, the duration of a DBTW may not be greater than 5 ms. A PBCH payload size included in the SSB may not be larger than a payload size used in a frequency band exceeding 6 GHz in the existing NR system. The number of sequences of a PBCH DMRS may be the same as the number of sequences used in the frequency band exceeding 6 GHz in the existing NR system” (different sequences can be associated with different RATS’s such as here exceeding 6GHz in the NR system)).
In re claim 5, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein NOH discloses wherein the synchronization signal is a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) ([0086], “If the power of the UE is turned on or the UE camps on a new cell, the UE performs an initial cell search (step S101). Specifically, the UE may synchronize with the BS in the initial cell search. For this, the UE may receive a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) from the base station to synchronize with the base station, and obtain information such as a cell ID. Thereafter, the UE can receive the physical broadcast channel from the base station and obtain the broadcast information in the cell”). Ericsson also discloses (Page 2, section 2.2, lines 1-2, “In LTE, when the UE first time enters to an operator coverage area, the initial cell search for the synchronization signal (SS) is carried out based on PSS/SSS”).
In re claim 6, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein NOH discloses wherein the configuration of the synchronization signal indicates a structure for the SSS, wherein a first structure of the SSS is associated with the first RAT and a second structure of the SSS is associated with the second RAT (Fig. 9-10, [0134], “On the other hand, FIGS. 9 and 10 illustrate the subframe structure of the 3GPP LTE-A system, and the same or similar configuration may be applied to the 3GPP NR system. However, in the 3GPP NR system, the subframes of FIGS. 9 and 10 may be replaced with slots”).
In re claim 7, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein NOH discloses wherein the configuration of the synchronization signal indicates a sequence for the SSS, wherein a first sequence of the SSS is associated with the first RAT and a second sequence of the SSS is associated with the second RAT ([0094], “The UE may detect the PSS and identify one of the three unique physical-layer identifiers. In addition, the UE can detect the SSS and identify one of the 336 physical layer cell IDs associated with the physical-layer identifier. In this case, the sequence dPSS(n) is...”. [0307], “When a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz is used, the duration of a DBTW may not be greater than 5 ms. A PBCH payload size included in the SSB may not be larger than a payload size used in a frequency band exceeding 6 GHz in the existing NR system. The number of sequences of a PBCH DMRS may be the same as the number of sequences used in the frequency band exceeding 6 GHz in the existing NR system” (different sequences can be associated with different RATS’s such as here exceeding 6GHz in the NR system)).
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to the configuration of the broadcast channel ([0113], “In some embodiments, a reference signal of a first radio access technology (RAT), such as, NR CSI-RS and/or TRS are placed, by network node 16, (scheduled, allocated and/or configured) in a time resource, such as an NR slot, that overlaps in time with a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service Single Frequency Network, MBSFN, subframe of a second RAT different from the first RAT, such as, an LTE MBSFN subframe. In some aspects, this may be especially beneficial if an LTE MBSFN subframe is configured to overlap in time with an NR slot carrying NR SSB (to avoid CRS-SSB collisions). In this case the same MBSFN subframe is reused, i.e. no additional overhead is introduced. Expressed differently, in some embodiments, CSI-RS and/or TRS are configured, e.g. by network node 16, to appear in the same slots as SSB” (associated with different RATS according to configuration of broadcast channel)).
In re claim 9, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the configuration of the broadcast channel is one of a first configuration or a second configuration, wherein the first configuration is associated with the first RAT and the second configuration is associated with the second RAT, and wherein the first configuration differs from the second configuration with regard to at least one of: an encoding scheme of the broadcast channel, a structure of the broadcast channel, a symbol location of the broadcast channel, a demodulation reference signal configuration of the broadcast channel, or a size of the broadcast channel (Fig. 4, [0049], “In LTE, CRS are sent periodically which can be used by LTE WDs for, e.g., frequency offset estimation. NR does not have CRS but relies on the demodulation reference signal (DM-RS or DMRS) for demodulation instead. DM-RS are only sent when data is sent and also does not have the best structure for frequency offset estimation. Therefore, NR has an additional DL Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) which can be used for frequency tracking” [0111], “In some embodiments, the overlap in time is configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of: a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology; and signaling on one of a first one and a first two orthogonal frequency division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols of the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology”).
In re claim 10, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT further according to a periodicity of at least one of the synchronization signals or the broadcast channel ([0118], “In NR, TRS may be configured by network node 16 via a special CSI-RS resource (TRS may actually be considered a type of CSI-RS reference signal that are configured to be used for tracking). TRS slot periodicity and slot offset are configured via RRC parameter CSI-ResourcePeriodicity AndOffset of the CSI resource used for tracking. This parameter may be set (e.g., by network node 16) so that 1) CSI-RS (used for tracking) and SSB occur in the same slot (if SSB and CSI-RS have different periodicities CSI-RS and SSB may not always occur in pairs) and/or 2) CSI-RS (used for tracking) and SSB periodicity have an LCM of 20 ms (CSI-RS periodicity ≤20 ms), or CSI-RS periodicity is integer dividable by 20 ms (CSI-RS periodicity ≥20 ms)”).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein NOH discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to the barring information associated with the SSB ([0298], “In the NR system, one subcarrier spacing may be defined for each frequency band to transmit an SSB. Accordingly, complexity of detecting an SSB by the UE for initial cell access can be reduced. A subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz or 30 kHz may be used for the SSB in a frequency band of 6 GHz or less, and a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz or 240 kHz may be used for the SSB in a frequency band of 6 GHz or greater”. [0298], “When transmitting an SSB for performing initial access, the base station may map different beam indexes to different SSB indexes and transmit SSBs having different SSB indexes to the UE through beam sweeping. In this case, for the existing frequency band of 6 GHz or greater, a beam switching time during beam sweeping is required to be guaranteed up to 100 ns. In this case, since 100 ns is a time smaller than the length of the CP, the base station has been able to guarantee the time. However, since a subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz, 960 kHz, or 1920 kHz, which is greater than the existing subcarrier spacing, may be used in the NR for a frequency band of 52.6 GHz or greater, a case where the length of the CP is smaller than 100 ns may occur”).
In re claim 12, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein NOH discloses wherein the SSB indicates a control resource set, and wherein the system information is in the control resource set and carries the barring information ([0152], “In a case where the NR system is used in an unlicensed band, 60 KHz subcarrier spacing may be used for SSB transmission so as to increase channel access opportunities. 15 kHz or 30 kHz subcarrier spacing may be used for SSB transmission in a below-6 GHz licensed band. In addition, 15 kHz, 30 kHz, or 60 kHz subcarrier spacing may be used for data transmission in a below-6 GHz licensed band. In addition, 120 kHz or 240 KHz subcarrier spacing may be used for SSB transmission in an above-6 GHz licensed band. When the NR system is used in a below-7 GHz (e.g., lower than 7.125 GHz) unlicensed band, 15 kHz or 30 kHz subcarrier spacing which is the same as that used in a below-6 GHz licensed band may be considered. However, if 60 KHz subcarrier spacing is used for SSB transmission in an unlicensed band, an OFDM symbol duration is ¼ of that in a case where 15 kHz subcarrier spacing is used. Therefore, in a case where 60 kHz subcarrier spacing is used for the NR system in an unlicensed band, the opportunities of transmission of SSBs and data channels in a unit of symbols after channel access may be increased”. [0295], “In this case, when the UE detects one specific SS/PBCH block index, the UE may assume that the same SS/PBCH block index as the one specific SS/PBCH block index firstly transmitted in the DBTW is not transmitted. The UE may not assume that the SS/PBCH block is transmitted for an index of a candidate SS/PBCH block corresponding to the one specific SS/PBCH block index in a resource after the detection of the one specific SS/PBCH block index. Before the detection, a resource for repeated PUSCH transmission may be configured in consideration of a UL symbol and a flexible symbol other than a symbol including a location of the candidate SS/PBCH block index” (SSB indicates a control resource set containing barring information)).
In re claim 13, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein NOH discloses wherein the barring information indicates that UEs associated with the first RAT are barred from accessing a cell associated with the SSB (Implicitly covered. See also “In re claim 11” and “In re claim 12”).
In re claim 14, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein NOH discloses wherein the barring information is included in a cell barring information flag field of a master information block ([0032], “In this specification, the indicator is a parameter indicating an offset in a frequency domain included in the MIB, and the offset is an offset between resource blocks (RBs) available in a cell in which the terminal and the SSB are included”).
In re claim 15, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein NOH discloses wherein one or more bits, not included in the cell barring information flag field, indicate cell barring information for the second RAT ([0319], “The base station may indicate a location (e.g., a symbol) in time where an SSB having one SSB index is transmitted through numerology used to transmit RMSI of an MIB, that is, one bit of a parameter for indicating a subcarrier spacing”. [0320], “The base station may indicate a location (e.g., a symbol) in time where an SSB having one SSB index is transmitted through one bit of a parameter indicating an offset in a frequency domain included in an MIB”).
In re claim 16, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the broadcast channel is a first broadcast channel associated with the first RAT and the SSB includes a second broadcast channel associated with the second RAT ([0113], “In some embodiments, a reference signal of a first radio access technology (RAT), such as, NR CSI-RS and/or TRS are placed, by network node 16, (scheduled, allocated and/or configured) in a time resource, such as an NR slot, that overlaps in time with a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service Single Frequency Network, MBSFN, subframe of a second RAT different from the first RAT, such as, an LTE MBSFN subframe. In some aspects, this may be especially beneficial if an LTE MBSFN subframe is configured to overlap in time with an NR slot carrying NR SSB (to avoid CRS-SSB collisions). In this case the same MBSFN subframe is reused, i.e. no additional overhead is introduced. Expressed differently, in some embodiments, CSI-RS and/or TRS are configured, e.g. by network node 16, to appear in the same slots as SSB (possibly in sub- or super-sets of slots, depending on CSI-RS/TRS periodicity)”).
In re claim 17, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the first broadcast channel is on a first set of resources and the second broadcast channel is on a second set of resources different than the first set of resources ([0088], “In some embodiments, the processing circuitry 68 is configured to transmit the at least one reference signal on radio resources according to the configured overlap in time; and/or receive feedback based on measurements of the at least one reference signal on the radio resources. In some embodiments, the at least one reference signal includes at least one of a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, and a tracking reference signal, TRS. In some embodiments, the first radio access technology is New Radio, NR, and/or the second radio access technology is Long Term Evolution, LTE. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is an overlap of at least one slot defined by the first radio access technology and at least one subframe defined by the second radio access technology”).
In re claim 18, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to whether the control channel is scheduled by the SSB, wherein the control channel is scheduled only when the SSB is associated with the second RAT ([0073], “A channel may generally be a logical, transport or physical channel. A channel may comprise and/or be arranged on one or more carriers, in particular a plurality of subcarriers. A channel carrying and/or for carrying control signaling/control information may be considered a control channel, in particular if it is a physical layer channel and/or if it carries control plane information”. [0113], “In some embodiments, a reference signal of a first radio access technology (RAT), such as, NR CSI-RS and/or TRS are placed, by network node 16, (scheduled, allocated and/or configured) in a time resource, such as an NR slot, that overlaps in time with a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service Single Frequency Network, MBSFN, subframe of a second RAT different from the first RAT, such as, an LTE MBSFN subframe” (includes the scenario of scheduling only when SSB associated with the second RAT for unlicensed spectrum sharing)).
In re claim 19, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to a time configuration of the SSB ([0024], “In some embodiments of this aspect, the method further includes configuring a synchronization signal block, SSB, of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology; and transmitting the SSB on at least one radio resource according to the configured overlap in time. In some embodiments of this aspect, the configuration of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology is further configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of: a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology”).
In re claims 20 and 29, NOH discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Fig. 43: 200, [0339], “a base station in this case may be the base station described with reference to Fig. 43”), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 43:230); and one or more processors (Fig. 43: 210), coupled to the one or more memories ([0339], “The base station may also include a communication module configured to transmit or receive a radio signal, and a processor configured to control the communication module”) and a method of wireless communication performed by a network node ([0019], “This specification relates to a method for transmitting a downlink signal and channel in a wireless communication system, the method being performed by a base station and including: transmitting a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) to a terminal; and receiving an uplink channel based on the SSB from the terminal”) comprising:
determine whether a synchronization signal block (SSB) is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT (Fig. 35, [0012], “Unlike in licensed bands in which telecommunications carriers secure exclusive use rights through procedures such as auctions, in unlicensed bands, multiple communication devices may be used simultaneously without restrictions on the condition that only a certain level of adjacent band protection regulations are observed. For this reason, when an unlicensed band is used for cellular communication service...it is likely that interference with existing wireless communication devices (e.g., wireless LAN devices) using the unlicensed band occurs”. [0013], “In order to use LTE and NR technologies in unlicensed bands, research on coexistence with existing devices for unlicensed bands and efficient sharing of wireless channels is to be conducted in advance. That is, it is required to develop a robust coexistence mechanism (RCM) such that devices using LTE and NR technologies in the unlicensed band do not affect the existing devices for unlicensed bands” (spectrum sharing across different RAT’s)) according to at least one of a configuration of a synchronization signal of the SSB ([0017], “In this specification, the SSB mapped to the first SSB candidate set and the second SSB candidate set when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 480 KHz or 960 KHz, and the SSB mapped to the first SSB candidate set, the second SSB candidate set, the third SSB candidate set, and the fourth SSB candidate set when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 120 KHz are mapped to consecutive symbols”. [0020], “In this specification, when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 480 KHz or 960 KHz, a first symbol, a second symbol, an eighth symbol, and a ninth symbol of the one slot are resources allocated for a control resource set (CORESET)”. [0021], “In this specification, when the subcarrier spacing (SCS) is 480 KHz or 960 KHz, the at least one gap symbol is a sixth symbol of the slot”), a configuration of a broadcast channel of the SSB, whether a control channel is scheduled by the SSB, or barring information associated with the SSB;
transmitting the SSB (Fig. 44: S4410, [0016], “a method performed by a terminal includes: receiving a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) from a base station; and transmitting an uplink channel to the base station, based on the SSB”. [0072], “the terminal may include user equipment (UE)...In the present disclosure, the configuration of the terminal may indicate configuration by the base station. Specifically, the base station may transmit a channel or signal to the terminal to set an operation of the terminal or a parameter value used in a wireless communication system”); and
transmitting system information in accordance with the determination.
NOH does not explicitly disclose determine whether the SSB is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT according to at least one of a configuration of a synchronization signal of the SSB, a configuration of a broadcast channel of the SSB, whether a control channel is scheduled by the SSB, or barring information associated with the SSB; and obtaining system information in accordance with the determination.
BALDEMAIR discloses determine whether the SSB is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT according to at least one of a configuration of a synchronization signal of the SSB (Fig. 12: S136, [0088], “In some embodiments, the first radio access technology is New Radio, NR, and/or the second radio access technology is Long Term Evolution, LTE. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is an overlap of at least one slot defined by the first radio access technology and at least one subframe defined by the second radio access technology” (receive an indication of a transmission pattern of a SSB for the first RAT and second RAT). [0107], “In some embodiments, configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology further includes ...configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology in one of one slot and at least two slots defined by the first radio access technology to overlap with one subframe defined by the second radio access technology, the one of the one slot and the at least two slots being based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that is used for the first radio access technology”. [0111], “In some embodiments, the method further includes obtaining, such as via receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a configuration of a synchronization signal block, SSB, of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology; and receiving, such as via radio interface 82, receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84 and/or processor 86, the SSB on at least one radio resource according to the configured overlap in time. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of ... a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology...” (determining the SSB configuration to differentiate between the first RAT and th second RAT)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of NOH with BALDEMAIR to provide a method and apparatus for synchronization signal block design for multiple radio access technologies. A refarmed band (or cell) is a band (or cell) in which only a single RAT is deployed. For example, when a refarmed (or cell) may transition from a first RAT (such as a first-generation-based RAT such as 5G) to a second RAT (such as a second-generation-based RAT such as 6G), the UE supporting the first RAT may continue to search for SSBs on a channel associated with the first RAT on the refarmed band. This method of SSB design to differentiate the SSB associated with a first RAT or a second RAT so the UE does not continue to scan for SSBs associated with the first RAT on the “refarmed” band allows more efficient data transmission and reception.
NOH and BALDEMAIR do not explicitly disclose obtaining system information in accordance with the determination.
Ericsson discloses transmitting system information in accordance with the determination (Page 2, section 2.2, lines 6-7, “Once UE finds the SSB, it will read the system information to get the relative frequency position within a carrier so the NR carrier position will be derived”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of NOH and BALDEMAIR with Ericsson to provide a method and apparatus for synchronization signal block design for multiple radio access technologies. A refarmed band (or cell) is a band (or cell) in which only a single RAT is deployed. For example, when a refarmed (or cell) may transition from a first RAT (such as a first-generation-based RAT such as 5G) to a second RAT (such as a second-generation-based RAT such as 6G), the UE supporting the first RAT may continue to search for SSBs on a channel associated with the first RAT on the refarmed band. This method of SSB design to differentiate the SSB associated with a first RAT or a second RAT so the UE does not continue to scan for SSBs associated with the first RAT on the “refarmed” band allows more efficient data transmission and reception.
In re claims 21 and 30, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20 and the method of claim 29, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to the configuration of the synchronization signal (Fig. 12: S136, [0088], “In some embodiments, the first radio access technology is New Radio, NR, and/or the second radio access technology is Long Term Evolution, LTE. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is an overlap of at least one slot defined by the first radio access technology and at least one subframe defined by the second radio access technology” (receive an indication of a transmission pattern of a SSB for the first RAT and second RAT). [0107], “In some embodiments, configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology further includes ...configuring the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology in one of one slot and at least two slots defined by the first radio access technology to overlap with one subframe defined by the second radio access technology, the one of the one slot and the at least two slots being based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing that is used for the first radio access technology”. [0111], “In some embodiments, the method further includes obtaining, such as via receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a configuration of a synchronization signal block, SSB, of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology; and receiving, such as via radio interface 82, receiver unit 34, processing circuitry 84 and/or processor 86, the SSB on at least one radio resource according to the configured overlap in time. In some embodiments, the overlap in time is configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of ... a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology...” (determining the SSB configuration to differentiate between the first RAT and th second RAT)).
In re claim 22, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to the configuration of the broadcast channel ([0113], “In some embodiments, a reference signal of a first radio access technology (RAT), such as, NR CSI-RS and/or TRS are placed, by network node 16, (scheduled, allocated and/or configured) in a time resource, such as an NR slot, that overlaps in time with a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service Single Frequency Network, MBSFN, subframe of a second RAT different from the first RAT, such as, an LTE MBSFN subframe. In some aspects, this may be especially beneficial if an LTE MBSFN subframe is configured to overlap in time with an NR slot carrying NR SSB (to avoid CRS-SSB collisions). In this case the same MBSFN subframe is reused, i.e. no additional overhead is introduced. Expressed differently, in some embodiments, CSI-RS and/or TRS are configured, e.g. by network node 16, to appear in the same slots as SSB” (associated with different RATS according to configuration of broadcast channel)).
In re claim 23, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein NOH discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to the barring information associated with the SSB ([0298], “In the NR system, one subcarrier spacing may be defined for each frequency band to transmit an SSB. Accordingly, complexity of detecting an SSB by the UE for initial cell access can be reduced. A subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz or 30 kHz may be used for the SSB in a frequency band of 6 GHz or less, and a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz or 240 kHz may be used for the SSB in a frequency band of 6 GHz or greater”. [0298], “When transmitting an SSB for performing initial access, the base station may map different beam indexes to different SSB indexes and transmit SSBs having different SSB indexes to the UE through beam sweeping. In this case, for the existing frequency band of 6 GHz or greater, a beam switching time during beam sweeping is required to be guaranteed up to 100 ns. In this case, since 100 ns is a time smaller than the length of the CP, the base station has been able to guarantee the time. However, since a subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz, 960 kHz, or 1920 kHz, which is greater than the existing subcarrier spacing, may be used in the NR for a frequency band of 52.6 GHz or greater, a case where the length of the CP is smaller than 100 ns may occur”).
In re claim 24, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the broadcast channel is a first broadcast channel associated with the first RAT and the SSB includes a second broadcast channel associated with the second RAT ([0113], “In some embodiments, a reference signal of a first radio access technology (RAT), such as, NR CSI-RS and/or TRS are placed, by network node 16, (scheduled, allocated and/or configured) in a time resource, such as an NR slot, that overlaps in time with a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service Single Frequency Network, MBSFN, subframe of a second RAT different from the first RAT, such as, an LTE MBSFN subframe. In some aspects, this may be especially beneficial if an LTE MBSFN subframe is configured to overlap in time with an NR slot carrying NR SSB (to avoid CRS-SSB collisions). In this case the same MBSFN subframe is reused, i.e. no additional overhead is introduced. Expressed differently, in some embodiments, CSI-RS and/or TRS are configured, e.g. by network node 16, to appear in the same slots as SSB” (associated with different RATS according to configuration of broadcast channel)).
In re claim 25, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to whether the control channel is scheduled by the SSB ([0073], “A channel may generally be a logical, transport or physical channel. A channel may comprise and/or be arranged on one or more carriers, in particular a plurality of subcarriers. A channel carrying and/or for carrying control signaling/control information may be considered a control channel, in particular if it is a physical layer channel and/or if it carries control plane information”. [0113], “In some embodiments, a reference signal of a first radio access technology (RAT), such as, NR CSI-RS and/or TRS are placed, by network node 16, (scheduled, allocated and/or configured) in a time resource, such as an NR slot, that overlaps in time with a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service Single Frequency Network, MBSFN, subframe of a second RAT different from the first RAT, such as, an LTE MBSFN subframe”).
In re claim 26, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein BALDEMAIR discloses wherein the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT according to a time configuration of the SSB ([0024], “In some embodiments of this aspect, the method further includes configuring a synchronization signal block, SSB, of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology; and transmitting the SSB on at least one radio resource according to the configured overlap in time. In some embodiments of this aspect, the configuration of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology to overlap in time with the MBSFN subframe of the second radio access technology is further configured to avoid a collision of the at least one reference signal of the first radio access technology with at least one of: a cell-specific reference signal, CRS, of the second radio access technology”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649