DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group 1 claims 1 – 4 & 11 - 14. Claims 5 – 10 & 15 – 19 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/14/2026. The restriction is made FINAL.
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 2016/0197633 Jennifer Noel Nye (‘Nye hereafter), App 14/588862,
U.S. 2014/0174125 Lauper et al. (‘Lauper hereafter), App 14/132129,
CN 216966854 Dong et al. (‘Dong hereafter), Filed 03/15/2022; Pub 07/15/2022;
U.S. 2016/0128440 Wyner et al. (‘Wyner hereafter), App 14/936482, Filed 11/09/2015; U.S. 2018/0027938 Roberts et al. (‘Roberts hereafter), App 15/661762,
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 19 are currently being examined.
Claims 5 – 10 & 15 – 19 have been withdrawn.
No Claims have been canceled.
No Claims are allowed or objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2016/0197633 Jennifer Noel Nye (‘Nye hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2014/0174125 Lauper et al. (‘Lauper hereafter), and in view of CN 216966854 Dong et al. (‘Dong hereafter), and in further view of U.S. 2016/0128440 Wyner et al. (‘Wyner hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Nye discloses all the claim limitations including: A method of stone inset for a mobile device (‘Nye, Abst, Paras 0008, 0010, teaches decorating and adding ornamentation to enhance the style of a mobile device),
Except ‘Nile is silent regarding: stone insetting.
However, ‘Lauper, Para 0004 teaches a manufacturing method of mounting stones, gemstones.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a method of stone inset on a mobile device as taught by ‘Lauper in order to manufacture a decorative piece (‘Lauper, Para 0005). Further ‘Lauper provides a known method to yield predictable results.
Except ‘Nile is silent regarding: providing a mobile device and securing it using a fixture,
However, ‘Dong, Abst, Clm 1, “NOVELTY - The embodiment of the application claims a production line automatic rolling fixture, comprising a supporting frame and a rolling mechanism; the rolling mechanism is assembled on the production line by the supporting frame in a lifting manner; the rolling mechanism comprises a mounting piece, a driving piece, a connecting piece and a rolling wheel; when the auxiliary material moves to the lower part of the rolling wheel along the conveyor belt of the production line, the driving piece can drive the rolling wheel to descend, so as to roll and press the surface of the auxiliary material, the air bubbles are rolled out from the auxiliary material, it effectively ensures the pressing effect of the auxiliary material.” “1. A pipeline automatic rolling fixture, wherein it comprises: a supporting frame, the supporting frame comprises at least one cross beam, the cross beam can set up above the production line, at least one group of rolling mechanism, the rolling mechanism is installed on the cross beam, the rolling mechanism comprises a mounting piece and a driving piece mounted on the mounting piece, a rolling pressing wheel, the driving piece is used for driving the rolling wheel to lift up and down relative to the mounting piece.” Teaches “a production line automatic rolling fixture,” “a supporting frame,” secures the mobile device.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a means of securing the mobile device using a fixture as taught by ‘Dong, in order to provide a means to press the surface of the auxiliary material (‘Dong, Abst. Further, ‘Dong uses a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way.
Except ‘Nile is silent regarding: the mobile device being provided with at least one function key, a charger jack, at least one speaker hole and an antenna module;
However, ‘Wyner, Para 0038 & 0050 teaches: “Apertures for Function keys, charging ports, speaker, and antenna are provided.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a method of providing apertures for function keys, charging ports, speaker and antenna as taught by ‘Wyner in order to keep items such as speakers, charging ports power keys free of obstruction (‘Wyner, Para 0038). Further ‘Lauper provides a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predicable results.
Except ‘Nile is silent regarding: providing a drilling and milling device and processing a side of the mobile device with the drilling and milling device to form at least one inset slot and processing a surrounding of the inset slot to form at least one claw,
However, ‘Lauper, teaches Para 0003 & 0099, setting precious, semi-precious or synthetic stones with a claw, by milling, or the manufacturing can have a device to set stones by drilling.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a method of milling. And Drilling as taught by ‘Lauper, in order to provide a method of insetting stones (‘Lauper, 0003 & 0099). Further, ‘Lauper, provides a use of known technique to improve similar devices methods in the same way.
Except ‘Nye is silent regarding: the inset slot being separate from each of the function key, the charger jack, the speaker hole, and the antenna module, and
However, ‘Wyner, Para 0038, 0039 & 0050, Fig 2 teaches: separate holes for function key, speaker hole and antenna, to keep items free from obstruction.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with separate holes for function key, speaker hole and antenna as taught by ‘Wyner in order to keep items free from obstruction (‘Wyner, Para 0038).
collectively covering the side of the mobile device (‘Nye, Figs 1 & 3, Para 0045 teaches covering the side of the mobile device, #108a & 108b (anchor portion) are attached to the lateral edges or anchor surfaces #200 of the cover portion #102); and
Except ‘Nile is silent regarding: providing a press-fit device and providing at least one ornament, the press-fit device pressing the ornament into the inset slot and deforming the claws to secure the ornament in the inset slot by means of a claw-set inset.
However, ‘Lauper, Para 0003, 0102 teaches: method of setting the stones by pressing stone #2, ‘Lauper refers to the slot as a hole. The stones are set with the help of claws.
Regarding Claim[s] 3 & 13 ‘Nye, ‘Lauper, ‘Dong and ‘Wyner discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: characterized in that the press-fit device is for pressing one ornament at a time into the inset slot, or at least one ornament at a time at the same time into the inset slot (‘Lauper, Paras 0087, 0102, teaches: Pressing the stone/ ornament #2 into a hole/ slot).
Regarding Claim[s] 4 & 14 ‘Nye, ‘Lauper, ‘Dong and ‘Wyner discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: characterized in that the drilling and milling device processes the claws so that the appearance of the claws away from the inset slots forms a rounded shape or a straight angled shape (‘Lauper, Para 0003, claws and milling, Clm 1, stones are mounted).
Regarding Claim[s] 11, ‘Nye discloses all the claim limitations including: A method of stone inset a mobile device (‘Nye, Abst, Paras 0008, 0010, teaches decorating and adding ornamentation to enhance the style of a mobile device) frame (‘Nye, Figs 1 & 3, #104 (opposite ornamental surface (case)/ frame)),
Except ‘Nile is silent regarding: stone insetting.
However, ‘Lauper, Para 0004 teaches a manufacturing method of mounting stones, gemstones.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a method of stone inset on a mobile device as taught by ‘Lauper in order to manufacture a decorative piece (‘Lauper, Para 0005). Further ‘Lauper provides a known method to yield predictable results.
comprising:
providing a frame and a mobile device model (‘Nye, #118 (communication system/ model/ model)), the frame (‘Nye, Figs 1 & 3, #104 (opposite ornamental surface (case)/ frame)) comprising a top wall,
a bottom wall (‘Nye, Fig 2 (below)) and two side walls (‘Nye, Fig 2 (below)) together enclosing to form a holding slot (‘Nye, Fig 2 (below), holding slot is within #104 (opposite ornamental surface (case)/ frame)),
Except ‘Nye is silent regarding: the mobile device model being provided with at least one function key, a charger jack, at least one speaker hole and an antenna module,
However, ‘Wyner, Para 0038 & 0050 teaches: “Apertures for Function keys, charging ports, speaker, and antenna are provided.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a method of providing apertures for function keys, charging ports, speaker and antenna as taught by ‘Wyner in order to keep items such as speakers, charging ports power keys free of obstruction (‘Wyner, Para 0038). Further ‘Lauper provides a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predicable results.
Except ‘Nye is silent regarding: fixing the frame using a fixture;
However, ‘Dong, Abst, Clm 1, “NOVELTY - The embodiment of the application claims a production line automatic rolling fixture, comprising a supporting frame and a rolling mechanism; the rolling mechanism is assembled on the production line by the supporting frame in a lifting manner; the rolling mechanism comprises a mounting piece, a driving piece, a connecting piece and a rolling wheel; when the auxiliary material moves to the lower part of the rolling wheel along the conveyor belt of the production line, the driving piece can drive the rolling wheel to descend, so as to roll and press the surface of the auxiliary material, the air bubbles are rolled out from the auxiliary material, it effectively ensures the pressing effect of the auxiliary material.” “1. A pipeline automatic rolling fixture, wherein it comprises: a supporting frame, the supporting frame comprises at least one cross beam, the cross beam can set up above the production line, at least one group of rolling mechanism, the rolling mechanism is installed on the cross beam, the rolling mechanism comprises a mounting piece and a driving piece mounted on the mounting piece, a rolling pressing wheel, the driving piece is used for driving the rolling wheel to lift up and down relative to the mounting piece.” Teaches “a production line automatic rolling fixture,” secures the mobile device.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a means of using a fixture on a mobile device as taught by ‘Dong, in order to provide a means to press the surface of the auxiliary material (‘Dong, Abst. Further, ‘Dong uses a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way.
Except ‘Nye is silent regarding: providing a drilling and milling device and machining the drilling and milling device on the holding slot to form at least one perforation,
However, ‘Lauper, teaches Para 0003 & 0099, setting precious, semi-precious or synthetic stones with a claw, by milling, or the manufacturing can have a device to set stones by drilling.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a method of milling/ drilling as taught by ‘Lauper, in order to provide a method of insetting stones (‘Lauper, 0003 & 0099). Further, ‘Lauper, provides a use of known technique to improve similar devices methods in the same way.
the perforation being at a position corresponding to the position of the function key, the charger jack, the speaker hole, and the antenna module respectively (‘Wyner, teaches, Para 0038 & 0050 teaches: “Apertures for Function keys, charging ports, speaker, and antenna and the perforations are provided),
in the model of a mobile device (‘Nye, #118 (communication system/ model/ model)); using a fitting device (‘Dong, Clm 1, “a rolling pressing wheel, the driving piece is used for driving the rolling wheel to lift up and down relative to the mounting piece,”) tucking the mobile device model into the holding slot such that the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side walls fit against the sides of the mobile device model, respectively (‘Nye, Fig 2 (below) shows model tucked into holding slot within #104 (opposite ornamental surface (case)/ frame));
using a drilling and milling device to further process the holding slot to form at least one inset slot and to process at least one claw around the surrounding area of the inset slot (‘Lauper, teaches Para 0003 & 0099, milling/ drilling to process claws),
the inset slot being separate from the perforations and together covering the holding slot (‘Nye, Fig 2 (below)); and providing a press-fit device and providing at least one ornament (‘Lauper, Para 0003, 0102 teaches: method of setting the stones by pressing stone #2),
the press-fit device pressing the ornament into the inset slot (‘Lauper, Para 0102 teaches: pressing stones into holes/ slots) and deforming the claws to secure the ornament in the inset slot by means of a claw-set inset (‘Lauper, Para 0003, teaches: method of setting the stones are set with the help of claws).
Claims 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2016/0197633 Jennifer Noel Nye (‘Nye hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2014/0174125 Lauper et al. (‘Lauper hereafter), and in view of CN 216966854 Dong et al. (‘Dong hereafter), and in view of U.S. 2016/0128440 Wyner et al. (‘Wyner hereafter), and in further view of U.S. 2018/0027938 Roberts et al. (‘Roberts hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 2 and 12, ‘Nye, ‘Lauper, ‘Dong and ‘Wyner discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: characterized in that the fixture is a robotic arm and the work is done automatically by means of an automated control system.
However, ‘Roberts, does teach: Para 0045, “A mechanical collapsible core retracts and a robotic/computer controlled arm picks up the sub-assembly and transfers the moulded component to a second injection moulding machine where the sub-assembly is inserted into another collapsible core to over-mould the inner layer 12. This method is fully automated but requires a more complex machine to injection mould material in a three stage process.”
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Nye with a robotic arm as taught by ‘Roberts in order to provide a method of semi-automatic and fully automatic (‘Roberts, Para 0045). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to use a robot for an automated control system, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Top wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
U.S. 2016/0197633 Figure 2, Partial
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. 2019/0357651 John B. Adrain (‘Adrain hereafter) – Cell phone case.
U.S. 2007/0204463 Apprederisse et al. (‘Apprederisse hereafter) – Method of setting stones in support element.
U.S. 2017/0095046 Igor Lobortas (‘Lobortas hereafter) – Method of stone setting.
U.S. 20120074006 Monaco et al. (‘Monaco hereafter) – Cases and covers for electronic devices.
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
09/15/2026