DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention Claims 2, 14 recite “the estimated model parameters”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US2023/0050445 A1) in view of Chen (CN 106908128A). With respect to Claim 1 Ding teaches A computer-implemented method for monitoring vehicular traffic on a bridge, comprising the steps of (See Para[0024] at least one instruction is loaded and executed by a processor to implement the bridge model updating method based on modification of vehicle-bridge coupling force.): receiving digital data representing the response of the bridge to a traffic event on the bridge, where the digital data has been collected during the traffic event, from displacement sensors and accelerometers mounted on the superstructure of the bridge (See Para[0035] obtaining a dynamic response of a bridge structure under the action of heavy duty vehicle load by sensors have arranged on the bridge structure, wherein the measured obtained dynamic response of the bridge structure comprises vertical vibration acceleration and vertical deflection of a bridge; the sensor is arranged at a quarter point of a girder of each span of the bridge.), wherein the digital data from the displacement sensors embody bending responses of the bridge, the digital data from the accelerometers embody acceleration responses of the bridge, and the digital data from the displacement sensors and the digital data from the accelerometers are synchronised in the same time space (See Para[0038] Examiner notes the vertical acceleration a0 and vertical deflection y0 are both initial values), providing a parametric model which uses modal parameters to simulate generalized boundary conditions and two-dimensional behaviour of the bridge; using the parametric model to process the digital data to solve for deformation of the bridge and characteristics of the vehicle traffic (See Para[0014] preferably, through nonlinear parameter identification method, the modification process of finite element model of bridge structure is completed, which is implemented by energy conservation integral method and unscented Kalman filter method, wherein energy conservation integral method is used to solve structural dynamics problems, and unscented Kalman filter method is used to update bridge numerical model;), and generating an output that describes the deformation of the bridge and characteristics of the vehicle traffic (See Para[0041][0042] the center of gravity of the vehicle is determined according to the type and counterweight of the heavy-duty vehicle, the heavy-duty vehicle is parked on the vibration table array, the force measuring plate is arranged at the bottom of the wheel, and the actually measured dynamic response reconstruction of the bridge structure is provided to the vibration table as the response quantity, so that the dynamic response of the bridge structure generated by the vibration table is consistent with the dynamic response of the bridge structure when the vehicle crosses the bridge. At this time, the interaction force of the vehicle-bridge coupling model can be obtained through the force measuring plate;). However Ding is silent to the language of providing a parametric model which uses modal parameters to simulate generalized boundary conditions and two-dimensional behaviour of the bridge; Nevertheless Chen teaches providing a parametric model which uses modal parameters to simulate generalized boundary conditions and two-dimensional behaviour of the bridge (see Para[0041]-[0045]); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and use modal parameters such as that of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding because modal parameters reveal the spatial patterns of vibration for each natural frequency, showing which parts of a structure experience the most movement or stress. This insight allows targeted reinforcement, material placement, or geometric changes to reduce stress concentrations and improve performance. With respect to Claim 13 Ding teaches A system monitoring of vehicle traffic on a bridge, comprising: displacement sensors and accelerometers mounted on the superstructure of the bridge and configured to collect digital data associated with a bending response and acceleration response of at least a part of the superstructure (See Para[0035] obtaining a dynamic response of a bridge structure under the action of heavy duty vehicle load by sensors have arranged on the bridge structure, wherein the measured obtained dynamic response of the bridge structure comprises vertical vibration acceleration and vertical deflection of a bridge; the sensor is arranged at a quarter point of a girder of each span of the bridge.), a data acquisition module for receiving the digital data and a computer processing module programmed with instructions to solve a parametric model(See Para[0035] and Para[0041]) to solve for deformation of the bridge and characteristics of the vehicle traffic(See Para[0035] obtaining a dynamic response of a bridge structure under the action of heavy duty vehicle load by sensors have arranged on the bridge structure, wherein the measured obtained dynamic response of the bridge structure comprises vertical vibration acceleration and vertical deflection of a bridge; the sensor is arranged at a quarter point of a girder of each span of the bridge.), and an output module for generating an output that describes the deformation of the bridge and characteristics of the vehicle traffic (See Para[0041][0042] the center of gravity of the vehicle is determined according to the type and counterweight of the heavy-duty vehicle, the heavy-duty vehicle is parked on the vibration table array, the force measuring plate is arranged at the bottom of the wheel, and the actually measured dynamic response reconstruction of the bridge structure is provided to the vibration table as the response quantity, so that the dynamic response of the bridge structure generated by the vibration table is consistent with the dynamic response of the bridge structure when the vehicle crosses the bridge. At this time, the interaction force of the vehicle-bridge coupling model can be obtained through the force measuring plate;).. However Ding is silent to the language of which uses modal parameters to simulate generalized boundary conditions and two-dimensional behaviour of the bridge to process the digital data Nevertheless Chen teaches which uses modal parameters to simulate generalized boundary conditions and two-dimensional behaviour of the bridge to process the digital data (see Para[0041]-[0045]); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and use modal parameters such as that of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding because modal parameters reveal the spatial patterns of vibration for each natural frequency, showing which parts of a structure experience the most movement or stress. This insight allows targeted reinforcement, material placement, or geometric changes to reduce stress concentrations and improve performance.
Claim(s) (2, 3, 5, 6, 7) and (14, 15, 17, 18, 19) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US2023/0050445 A1) in view of Chen (CN 106908128A) as applied to claims 1, 3 respectively and further in view of Winant (US2021/0247265 A1).
With respect to Claim 2 Ding is silent to the language of The method of claim 1, wherein the estimated modal parameters are generated from digital data collected from the displacement sensors and accelerometers mounted when there is no traffic event on the bridge. Nevertheless Winant teaches wherein the estimated modal parameters are generated from digital data collected from the displacement sensors and accelerometers mounted when there is no traffic event on the bridge (See Fig 5B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and estimate parameters such as that of Winant. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding, because estimating parameters would describe the condition without the external force cause by traffic and would result in a simple model. With respect to Claim 3 Ding teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the parametric model further comprises a coupled moving mass vehicle-bridge model and wherein the bridge modal parameters are represented parametrically as a Fourier series. (See Para[0042]. Examiner notes that represented parametrically as a Fourier series is a mere representation and is viewed as a design choice since such a representation has the same function as in the prior art and solves no stated problem and does not yield a new or unexpected result compared to the prior art) With respect to Claim 5 Ding is silent to the language of The method of claim 3, wherein the displacement sensors comprise strain sensors. Nevertheless Winant teaches wherein the displacement sensors comprise strain sensors (See Para[0091]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and comprise a strain sensor such as that of Winant. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding, because strain gauges offer high accuracy, small size, and a low cost for measuring structural deformation and stress. With respect to Claim 6 Ding teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising reformulating the parametric model and solving the reformulated parametric model to obtain the parameters of a vehicle traveling on the bridge during the traffic event (See Para[0042]). With respect to Claim 7 Ding teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the vehicle parameters are selected from the group consisting of the gross weight of the vehicle, the weight of each axle of the vehicle, the spacing of the axles on the vehicle, the number of axles of the vehicle, the speed of the vehicle, and the direction of travel of the vehicle. (See Fig 3) With respect to Claim 14 Ding is silent to the language of The system of claim 13, wherein the estimated modal parameters are generated from digital data collected from the displacement sensors and accelerometers mounted when there is no traffic event on the bridge. Nevertheless Winant teaches wherein the estimated modal parameters are generated from digital data collected from the displacement sensors and accelerometers mounted when there is no traffic event on the bridge (See Fig 5B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and estimate parameters such as that of Winant. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding, because estimating parameters would describe the condition without the external force cause by traffic and would result in a simple model. With respect to Claim 15 Ding teaches The system of claim 14, wherein the parametric model further comprises a coupled moving mass vehicle-bridge model and wherein the bridge modal parameters are represented parametrically as a Fourier series. (See Para[0042]. Examiner notes that represented parametrically as a Fourier series is a mere representation and is viewed as a design choice since such a representation has the same function as in the prior art and solves no stated problem and does not yield a new or unexpected result compared to the prior art) With respect to Claim 17 Ding is silent to the language of The system of claim 15, wherein the displacement sensors comprise strain sensors. Nevertheless Winant teaches wherein the displacement sensors comprise strain sensors (See Para[0091]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and comprise a strain sensor such as that of Winant. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding, because strain gauges offer high accuracy, small size, and a low cost for measuring structural deformation and stress. With respect to Claim 18 Ding teaches The system of claim 15, further comprising reformulating the parametric model and solving the reformulated parametric model to obtain the parameters of a vehicle traveling on the bridge during the traffic event(See Para[0042]). With respect to Claim 19 Ding teaches The system of claim 18, wherein the vehicle parameters are selected from the group consisting of the gross weight of the vehicle, the weight of each axle of the vehicle, the spacing of the axles on the vehicle, the number of axles of the vehicle, the speed of the vehicle, and the direction of travel of the vehicle (See Fig 3).
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US2023/0050445 A1) in view of Chen (CN 106908128A) and Winant (US2021/0247265 A1) as applied to claims 2, 14 respectively and further in view of Kong (CN114993452 A).
With respect to Claim 4 Ding is silent to the language of The method of claim 2, wherein the modal parameters embody torsional and transverse behaviour of the bridge in response to the traffic event. Nevertheless Kong teaches wherein the modal parameters embody torsional and transverse behaviour of the bridge in response to the traffic event (See Para[0091]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and embody torsional and transverse behaviour such as that of Kong. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding because the vibration of a bridge is divided into vertical vibration (vibration in the vertical plane), transverse vibration (vibration in the horizontal plane) and torsional vibration. With respect to Claim 16 Ding is silent to the language of The system of claim 14, wherein the modal parameters embody torsional and transverse behaviour of the bridge in response to the traffic event. Nevertheless Kong teaches wherein the modal parameters embody torsional and transverse behaviour of the bridge in response to the traffic event (See Para[0091]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ding and embody torsional and transverse behaviour such as that of Kong. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Ding because the vibration of a bridge is divided into vertical vibration (vibration in the vertical plane), transverse vibration (vibration in the horizontal plane) and torsional vibration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 and 20-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes with respect to Claims, 8, 20 the prior art searched fails to teach or make obvious wherein the parametric model is expressed as the non-linear differential equation:
Conclusion
YOSHIHISA . ISHIZUKA
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857