DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 2024/05/15. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai (CN103809181A).
Regarding claim 1 Cai discloses: A vehicle radar (Para 0001: “The invention is an ultrasonic sensing an ultrasonic wave sensing device, especially a vehicle distance measuring radar”), comprising: a housing, defining a circumference (Para 0003: “With reference to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, is an existing vehicle ultrasonic sensor device 9. an ultrasonic sensor device 9 comprises a housing 91, a sensor 92, a fixing ring 93 and a circuit board 94.”), comprising: a front portion, formed to have a front opening (Para 0048: “hollow shell 21 is cylindrical, its outer edge forming a connected to the hollow shell 21 of the connection tube 211. wherein the hollow shell corresponding to 21 has a first opening 213 and a second opening 214, and the inner wall surface is sunken to form three limiting chute between the first opening 213 and a second opening 214 extending for the fixing ring 4 equipped with a locating and forming four 212 towards the first opening 213 for the circuit board 5 is assembled to a locating plate 216.”); a rear portion, formed to having a rear opening, wherein the front opening is in communication with the rear opening (Para 0048: “hollow shell 21 is cylindrical, its outer edge forming a connected to the hollow shell 21 of the connection tube 211. wherein the hollow shell corresponding to 21 has a first opening 213 and a second opening 214, and the inner wall surface is sunken to form three limiting chute between the first opening 213 and a second opening 214 extending for the fixing ring 4 equipped with a locating and forming four 212 towards the first opening 213 for the circuit board 5 is assembled to a locating plate 216.”); and a body, disposed between the front portion and the rear portion (Figure 3, element 2), comprising a plurality of engaging members having different distances from one another on the circumference (Figure 4, elements 212); a base, comprising a plurality of engaging portions engaged with the plurality of engaging members; and a sensor, disposed on the base (Figure 2, element 92).
Regarding claim 4 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai further teaches: wherein the front portion comprises a stop member, and the base abuts against the stop member (Para 0055: “ring main body 41 to correspond to the hollow shell 21 of the three position limiting chute 212 respectively formed with a limit bump for locating the assembly 411 protrudes outwards, and the adjacent first inner pin 43 in pin 44 of the second two opposite limiting bump 411 is respectively formed a rib 412 towards the hollow shell 21 of the first opening 213 extends. the rib 412 respectively against sealing cover 6 seals the first opening 213, and the fixing ring 4 generate a clamping effect.”).
Regarding claim 6 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai further teaches: wherein the body further comprises an inner surface, and the plurality of engaging members are disposed on the inner surface (Para 0055: “ring main body 41 to correspond to the hollow shell 21 of the three position limiting chute 212 respectively formed with a limit bump for locating the assembly 411 protrudes outwards, and the adjacent first inner pin 43 in pin 44 of the second two opposite limiting bump 411 is respectively formed a rib 412 towards the hollow shell 21 of the first opening 213 extends. the rib 412 respectively against sealing cover 6 seals the first opening 213, and the fixing ring 4 generate a clamping effect.”).
Regarding claim 8 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai further teaches: further comprising: an adhesive portion, disposed between the base and the sensor and between the base and the housing (Para 0008: “The ultrasonic sensor device 9 when the assembling fixing ring 93, the limiting bump 934 is coated with the limiting chute 913 adjacent the opening 914 of the adhesive I parent (not drawn in the figure), to the fixed ring 93 fixed. However, in the subsequent assembly process, the fixing ring 93 may be formed by coating adhesive glue position release, and affect the production yield.”).
Regarding claim 9 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai further teaches: wherein the adhesive portion completely covers a rear end surface of the base adjacent to the rear portion (Para 0008: “The ultrasonic sensor device 9 when the assembling fixing ring 93, the limiting bump 934 is coated with the limiting chute 913 adjacent the opening 914 of the adhesive I parent (not drawn in the figure), to the fixed ring 93 fixed. However, in the subsequent assembly process, the fixing ring 93 may be formed by coating adhesive glue position release, and affect the production yield.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN103809181A) in view of Zhao (CN216184835U).
Regarding claim 2 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai does not disclose “a rubber sleeve, disposed on the housing, comprising a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members; wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions, and the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members are engaged with the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions”.
However, Zhao in the analogous arts discloses: a rubber sleeve, disposed on the housing, comprising a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members (Figures 2 and 5); wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions, and the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members are engaged with the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions (Specific implementation examples: “In the embodiment of the utility model, Referring to FIG. 2 and FIG. 5, the sealing assembly 3 comprises a connecting cylinder 31. a rubber sleeve 32 and a fixing cylinder 33, the connecting cylinder 31 and the fixing cylinder 33 are elastically connected through the rubber sleeve 32, the bottom side of the rubber sleeve 32 is fixedly connected with the top side of the connecting cylinder 31, the top side of the rubber sleeve 32 is fixedly connected with the inner wall of the fixing cylinder 33, and the bottom side of the fixing cylinder 33 is fixedly connected with the inner bottom wall of the box body 1.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Zhao to incorporate the feature of: a rubber sleeve, disposed on the housing, comprising a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members; wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions, and the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members are engaged with the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions. Cai and Zhao are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of sensor devices. However, Cai fails to disclose a device incorporating a rubber sleeve. This feature is disclosed by Zhao. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Zhao to incorporate the feature of: a rubber sleeve, disposed on the housing, comprising a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members; wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions, and the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging members are engaged with the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Cai and Zhao discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Zhao further teaches: wherein the plurality of engaging members are aligned with the plurality of rubber sleeve engaging portions (Specific implementation examples: “It should be noted that: working staff control the connecting cylinder 31 in the wiring hole 1b through the screw thread structure to rotate, at the same time of the connecting cylinder 31 rotating, can stretch the rubber sleeve 32, and the rubber sleeve 32 for stretching at the same time, the rubber sleeve 32 can be rotatably locked, Therefore, the inner wall of the rubber sleeve 32 can be tightly jointed with the outer wall of the connecting wire, so as to reduce the outer wall water source through the wiring hole 1b into the box body 1 phenomenon, can make the sealing effect of the box body 1 more excellent.”).
The reason to modify Cai with Zhao is similar to one given in claim 2 above.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN103809181A) in view of Sun (US2015008796).
Regarding claim 5 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai does not teach “wherein the front portion comprises a fastening portion, the base is formed to have a fastening channel, and the fastening portion is accommodated in the fastening channel “.
However, Sun in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the front portion comprises a fastening portion, the base is formed to have a fastening channel, and the fastening portion is accommodated in the fastening channel (Para 0055: “The housing 1100 is the body that accommodates the case 1200 and various elements. A through hole 1110 is formed in the one end direction of the housing 1100, and a coupling groove 1140 for coupling the case 1200 is formed in a ring shape at a position, which is separated in the other end direction of the housing 1100 from the through hole 1110, and at an inner side of the housing 1100. The housing 1110 is provided in a hollow shape in which the accommodating port 1120 is opened and formed, in the other end direction of the housing 1100.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Sun to incorporate the feature of: wherein the front portion comprises a fastening portion, the base is formed to have a fastening channel, and the fastening portion is accommodated in the fastening channel. Cai and Sun are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of ranging sensor devices. However, Cai fails to disclose a device with fastening portions. This feature is disclosed by Sun. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Sun to incorporate the feature of: wherein the front portion comprises a fastening portion, the base is formed to have a fastening channel, and the fastening portion is accommodated in the fastening channel as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN103809181A) in view of Yu (US11435465B2)
Regarding claim 7 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Cai does not teach “wherein the front portion, the body and the rear portion are arranged sequentially along a longitudinal direction, and an outer diameter of the front portion gradually increases along the longitudinal direction “.
However, Yu in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the front portion, the body and the rear portion are arranged sequentially along a longitudinal direction, and an outer diameter of the front portion gradually increases along the longitudinal direction (Figure 2F, Para 56: “FIG. 2F is a schematic view of a parameter A12 of the vehicle radar device 200 according to the 2nd embodiment, and the main lobes HL1, HL2 are not physical structures of the vehicle radar device 200 in FIG. 2F. Under the operating frequency of the first antenna unit 211 and the operating frequency of the second antenna unit 212, an angle between the centerline C1 of the main lobe HL1 of the first antenna unit 211 on a plane and the centerline C2 of the main lobe HL2 of the second antenna unit 212 on the plane is A12, and the aforementioned plane is vertical to the first board portion 271, the second board portion 272 and the outer surface 284, as shown in FIG. 2F. In the 2nd embodiment, A12 is 60 degrees.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Yu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the front portion, the body and the rear portion are arranged sequentially along a longitudinal direction, and an outer diameter of the front portion gradually increases along the longitudinal direction. Cai and Yu are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of sensor devices. However, Cai fails to disclose a sensor device with a gradually increasing diameter. This feature is disclosed by Yu. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Yu to incorporate the feature of: wherein the front portion, the body and the rear portion are arranged sequentially along a longitudinal direction, and an outer diameter of the front portion gradually increases along the longitudinal direction as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the sensor device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN103809181A) in view of Ohara (US20230273295A1).
Regarding claim 10 Cai discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Cai does not teach “: wherein the adhesive portion is a silicone substrate “.
However, Ohara in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the adhesive portion is a silicone substrate (Para 0031: “In a case where waterproof property is required in view of the equipment environment of the in-vehicle radar device 1, the interfaces between the first cover 2, the second cover 3, and the heat sink 4 may be filled with a seal material such as silicon adhesive, so as to ensure waterproof property of the in-vehicle radar device 1. The positions where the through holes 4c are provided are not limited to the side portion 4b.).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Ohara to incorporate the feature of: wherein the adhesive portion is a silicone substrate. Cai and Ohara are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the design of sensor devices. However, Cai fails to disclose a device using silicone-based adhesive. This feature is disclosed by Ohara. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cai with Ohara to incorporate the feature of: wherein the adhesive portion is a silicone substrate as such a feature would increase the range of temperature over which the device can operate thereby increasing its efficiency.
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645