DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, Figures 4A-5D, claims 1-5, 7-12, 15 and 17-20, in the reply filed on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 13, 14 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 (lines 6-9) recites the limitations of "the at least one additional blocking pin… in an associated blocking position… [and] in an associated releasing position". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships which render the claim indefinite are as follows:
Claim 17 (lines 5-9) recites “wherein the at least one additional locking ball is biased into an associated locking position by the at least one additional blocking pin when the at least one additional blocking pin is in an associated blocking position, wherein the at least one additional locking ball is released for moving into an associated unlocking position when the at least one additional blocking pin is in an associated releasing position”.
It is unclear as to how the additional locking pin structurally engages the primary spring and/or redundant spring such to “bias [the at least one additional locking ball] into an associated locking position by the at least one additional blocking pin when the at least one additional blocking pin is in an associated blocking position”.
Moreover, claim 17 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine how the additional locking pin structurally engages each of the locking pin, and the primary spring and/or the redundant spring such to allow the additional locking pin to be moved between an “blocking position” and a “releasing position”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baus (US 8,821,061).
As to claim 1, Baus discloses a ball lock pin comprising:
a pin body 12 with a length axis, an inner accommodation, and at least one locking ball accommodation 22;
a blocking pin 14 that is at least partly arranged in the inner accommodation and movable along the length axis between a blocking position and a releasing position;
at least one locking ball 30 that is movably arranged in the at least one locking ball accommodation, wherein the at least one locking ball is biased into a locking position by the blocking pin if the blocking pin is in the blocking position, and wherein the at least one locking ball is released for moving into an unlocking position if the blocking pin is in the releasing position;
a primary spring element 18 that is arranged in the inner accommodation and biases the blocking pin into the blocking position; and
a redundant spring element 19 that is arranged in the inner accommodation and biases the blocking pin into the blocking position (redundant spring 19 biases blocking pin 14 into the blocking position via the spring exerting a biasing force on collar 16a, which exerts a biasing force on the blocking pin; Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 2, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the pin body 12 comprises an enlarged cup-shaped end section A (Figure 5B reprinted below with annotations, and wherein the primary spring element 18 is arranged in the enlarged cup-shaped end section between the blocking pin 14 and the enlarged cup-shaped end section (Figures 3A-5C).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 3, Baus discloses a ball lock pin comprising a closure cap A that closes the enlarged cup-shaped end section A (cap B closes the lower end of cup-shaped end section A; Figure 5B), wherein the closure cap comprises an opening, and wherein the blocking pin 14 comprises an actuatable end section that extends through the opening (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 4, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the blocking pin 14 comprises a collar 14b that delimits the actuatable end section on the blocking pin, and wherein the primary spring element 18 biases the collar in the blocking position of the blocking pin against the closure cap B (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 5, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the blocking pin 14 comprises at least one notch 24 for reception of the at least one locking ball 30 in the releasing position of the blocking pin, and wherein the at least one notch and the collar B are arranged on opposed axial ends of the blocking pin (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 7, Baus discloses a ball lock pin comprising at least one additional blocking pin 16 (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 8, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the blocking pin 14 is tube-shaped and comprises an inner through hole, and wherein the at least one additional blocking pin 16 is at least partly accommodated in the inner through hole (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 9, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the at least one additional blocking pin 16 comprises a collar 16a that abuts against the blocking pin 14 (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 10, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the redundant spring element 19 biases the collar 16a of the at least one additional blocking pin 16 against the blocking pin 14 (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 12, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein the blocking pin 14 and the at least one additional blocking pin 16 are simultaneously actuatable via an associated actuation tool 20 (Figures 3A-5C).
As to claim 20, Baus discloses a ball lock pin comprising:
a pin body 12 with a length axis, an inner accommodation, and a locking ball accommodation 22;
a blocking pin 14 in the inner accommodation and movable along the length axis between a blocking position and a releasing position;
a locking ball 30 movable in the locking ball accommodation, wherein the locking ball is biased into a locking position by the blocking pin if the blocking pin is in the blocking position, and wherein the locking ball is released for moving into an unlocking position if the blocking pin is in the releasing position;
a primary spring 18 in the inner accommodation biasing the blocking pin into the blocking position; and
a redundant spring 19 in the inner accommodation biasing the blocking pin into the blocking position (redundant spring 19 biases blocking pin 14 into the blocking position via the spring exerting a biasing force on collar 16a, which exerts a biasing force on the blocking pin; Figures 3A-5C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baus in view of Mewse (US 3,0698,737).
As to claim 15, Baus fails to explicitly disclose that the ball lock pin is used within an aircraft.
Mewse teaches the use of a ball lock pin structurally and functionally similar to the ball lock pin disclosed by Buas used within an aircraft (Figures 1-5; C3 L36-40).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ball lock pin disclosed by Baus within an aircraft, as taught by Mewse, as the two ball lock pins are structural and functional equivalents within the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 17 and best understood, Baus discloses the claimed ball lock pin with the exception of comprising at least one additional locking ball, wherein the pin body comprises at least one additional locking ball accommodation, wherein the at least one additional locking ball is movably arranged in the at least one additional locking ball accommodation, wherein the at least one additional locking ball is biased into an associated locking position by the at least one additional blocking pin when the at least one additional blocking pin is in an associated blocking position, wherein the at least one additional locking ball is released for moving into an associated unlocking position when the at least one additional blocking pin is in an associated releasing position, and wherein the at least one locking ball and the at least one additional locking ball form separate locking levels.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball lock pin disclosed Baus to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1 and 20, Attorney argues that:
Baus fails to disclose a ball lock pin wherein the redundant spring element biases the blocking pin into the blocking position, as redundant spring 19 of the Baus reference does not directly act upon pin shaft 14, but instead applies its bias to additional pin shaft 16.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 1 and 20, Baus discloses a ball lock pin wherein a redundant spring element 19 that is arranged in the inner accommodation biases the blocking pin 14 into the blocking position (redundant spring 19 biases blocking pin 14 into the blocking position via the spring exerting a biasing force on collar 16a, which exerts a biasing force on the blocking pin; Figures 3A-5C).
As to Attorney’s argument that redundant spring 19 of the Baus reference does not directly act upon pin shaft 14, but instead applies its bias to additional pin shaft 16, Examiner notes that within the elected embodiment of Figures 4A-5A redundant spring 274 likewise does not directly act upon blocking pin 242 and instead applies its bias to additional blocking pin 246, as clearly shown in Figure 5A. Accordingly, the Baus reference clearly discloses such limitations to the same extent which Applicant does.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10/30/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619