DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/22/2026. Claims 1-12 are pending and have been examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations:
“first current collector exposed areas”
“second current collector exposed areas”
“tail ends”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 and 8 recites the limitation "to seal the through holes of the outer cover plate and the insulation layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as only one through hole has been introduced in the outer cover plate and thus the insulation layer does not have a through hole mentioned.
Claims 3-7 and 9-12 are rejected for depending upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (US 2021/0384576 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 2019/0348702 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Peng discloses an electronic product having a button lithium-ion battery (button cell and electronic device [0027]), comprising:
a metal housing with an opened end part (Figure 1-2; [0073] case and the conductive member can be formed of a metal material);
a battery main body sealed in the metal housing and comprising a laminated body, wherein the laminated body comprises a plurality of layers of stacked first pole pieces and second pole pieces as well as diaphragms spaced between any adjacent first pole pieces and the second pole pieces, one of each first pole piece and each second pole piece is an anode piece and the other is a cathode piece (Figure 1-2; [0087-0088] positive electrode, negative electrode and separator),
a cover plate comprising an inner cover plate and an outer cover plate that are made of metal (Figure 3; top cover and conductive member 30 are both made of metal and make up a cover plate region; [0073]), wherein an insulation layer is disposed between the inner cover plate and the outer cover plate (Figure 3; sealant ring 50), a bottom face of the inner cover plate is connected with a first metal sheet that is insulated and isolated from the outer cover plate, a bottom face of the outer cover plate is connected with a second metal sheet (Figure 3; conductive member 30 is connected to one metal plate while the bottom shell 101 is connected to the other metal plate to have different polarities), tail ends of the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet stretch out of a periphery of the cover plate in respective, the first metal sheet stretches out of the end part of the periphery of the cover plate and is stacked and fixedly connected with the various first current collector exposed areas to insulate and coat a connecting part, the second metal sheet stretches out of the end part of the periphery of the cover plate and is stacked and fixedly connected with the current collector exposed areas of the various second pole pieces (Figures 1-6; the metal plates/ first and second tabs 201/202 extend from the electrode assembly and are bent along a face of the battery cell and are connected to regions of the battery cell and read as the current collector exposed areas), and the cover plate is sealed at an opening of the metal housing (Figure 1).
Peng is silent with respect to first current collector exposed areas of the various first pole pieces stretch out of an outer edge of the laminated body and are stacked, and second current collector exposed areas of the various second pole pieces stretch out of another outer edge of the laminated body and are stacked as Peng discloses wherein the tab regions can extend into a battery stack.
Zhu discloses a button battery and manufacturing method therefor and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of button cells. Zhu discloses wherein exposed portions of the battery stack extend out on sides of the battery stack and have an outer tab 31 and 21 that extends and is bent to contact the exposed ends of the battery stack to electrically connected the battery stack layers (Figure 3-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan substitute the electrode assembly stack of Peng for the electrode assembly stack of Zhu having electrode tabs extending out from sides of the electrode stack to be electrically connected with exposed portion of the electrode stack and be folded and be electrically connected separately to the bottom shell and conductive member of Peng. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 7 as the electrode of modified Peng would have the cathode and anode current collector exposed areas that stretch out of an outer edge of the laminated body and are connected to the battery housing. Thus the structure of the claimed invention is known in the art and rendered obvious through the modification.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, modified Peng discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 7. Peng further discloses wherein the outer cover plate is an annular plate with a center as a through hole (Peng Figure 2), a top face of the outer cover plate is the top face of the cover plate, a periphery of the outer cover plate is the periphery of the cover plate, and the outer cover plate is sealed at the opening of the metal housing ([0029] button cell is sealed through the sealant ring; Figures 1-4), as an electrode of the button lithium-ion battery ([0029] button cell is sealed through the sealant ring; Figures 1-4),
the inner cover plate is a panel whose diameter is greater than that of the through hole of the outer cover plate (Figure 3; conductive member 30 has a greater thickness than that of the through hole of the top cover 102), the inner cover plate is sealed and combined with a bottom face of the outer cover plate through the insulation layer, to seal the through holes of the outer cover plate and the insulation layer (Figure 3; sealant 50), a boss of the top face of the inner cover plate stretches out of the through holes of the outer cover plate and the insulation layer to be exposed on the top face of the cover plate, as another electrode of the button lithium-ion battery (Figure 3; conductive member has extension part 303 that extends and passes through the opening 1021 and appears to read as the boss member),
one end of the first metal sheet is connected to a bottom face of the inner cover plate while the other end is bent from the top of the laminated body to one side thereof; and on this side: exposed areas of current collectors of the various first pole pieces are closely attached and welded together due to bending, and the first metal sheet is closely attached and welded to the outermost side that is closely attached to the exposed areas of the current collectors of the various first pole pieces (Zhu figures 2-6, see modification of claim 1 as the electrode assembly can be substituted; Zhu [0071] and claim 15; Peng also discloses connection with the members of the cover plate in Figures 3-5 and wherein the tabs can be bent); and
one end of the second metal sheet is connected to the bottom face of the outer cover plate while the other end is bent from the top of the laminated body to the other side thereof; and on this side: exposed areas of current collectors of the various second pole pieces are closely attached and welded together due to bending, and the second metal sheet is closely attached and welded to the outermost side that is closely attached to the exposed areas of the current collectors of the various second pole pieces (Zhu figures 2-6, see modification of claim 1 as the electrode assembly can be substituted; Zhu [0071] and claim 15; Peng also discloses connection with the members of the cover plate in Figures 3-5 and wherein the tabs can be bent).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, modified Peng discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 7. Zhu further discloses wherein the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet stretch out of two opposite sides of the cover plate, respectively (Zhu figures 3-5); and
The current collector exposed areas of the various first pole pieces and the current collector exposed areas of the various second pole pieces stretch out of both sides of the battery main body relatively (Zhu Figures 3-5).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, modified Peng discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 and 7. Zhu further discloses wherein each first pole piece is an anode piece, while each second pole piece is a cathode piece ([0088] first plate can be a positive plate while the second plate is a negative plate).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, modified Peng discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 and 7. Peng further discloses wherein an liquid injection hole for pouring electrolyte is also provided on the metal housing or the inner cover plate or the outer cover plate, and a sealing nail is covered at the liquid injection hole, to seal the liquid injection hole (Abstract; sealing member covers the liquid injection port and the sealing member can be a sealing nail, [0010]).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (US 2021/0384576 A1) and Zhu et al. (US 2019/0348702 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 100788591 B1).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, modified Peng discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 7. Peng further discloses wherein the case 10 includes a bottom shell 101 and a top cover 102 and are connected in a sealed manner such as by welding and the like ([0071]). Peng is silent with respect to wherein the metal housing and the cover plate are combined through metal melting.
Kim discloses a prismatic type rechargeable battery and method of manufacturing the same and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Kim discloses wherein a can and a cap plate can be welded together by melting the can/cap plate at the area in which a weld is formed to couple the can and the cap plate together ([0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the forming of the weld as taught by Kim into the battery of Peng such that the cap plate and the housing are connected to each other by a weld formed through melting of the metal cap plate/housing to form a secured integral connection to seal the battery as taught by Kim. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claims 4 and 10 as the cover plate can be melt welded together to form an integral and sealed battery casing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakanishi et al. (US 2003/0162088 A1)- discloses a coin shaped battery having leads 16 and 15 extending from the stacked electrode assembly and are folded within the regions of the battery casing.
Gaugler (US 2018/0013101 A1)- discloses a button cell having a winding electrode with electrical conductors 301 and 302 that extend past an electrode assembly and are folded to overlap with the electrode assembly body.
Dong (US 2024/0030521 A1)-discloses a battery and electric device having pole members that can extend past an electrode assembly body.
He (CN 213583900 U)- discloses a button type lithium ion battery having positive ears 91 and negative ears extending from the electrode assembly.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728