DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 with respect to the rejection of Independent Claims 1, 34 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,630,711 B1 to Wark et al. (“Wark”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 1, 34 and 35 have been amended to further require that the recited “first electrical signal” be “biphasic” and “a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds.” The Examiner agrees that Wark does not disclose such a “first electrical signal.” Accordingly, the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections is made in view of US 2020/0101291 A1 and alternatively in view of previously cited US 2019/0255331 A1 and US 2021/0106831 A1.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of dependent Claims 2-15 are based on Applicant’s arguments regarding the independent claims from which each depends. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive for the same reasons as explained above with respect to Claims 1, 34 and 35. Accordingly, the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections is made in view of US 2020/0101291 A1 and alternatively in view of previously cited US 2019/0255331 A11 and US 2021/0106831 A1.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of Claims 1-6, 34 and 35, and Claims 7-15 by dependency, under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “The present specification provides disclosure with respect to the installation location of the signal delivery devices” and highlights “paragraphs [0085] and [0086]” and “[p]aragraph [0065].”
The Examiner notes that the Present Specification as filed does not contain paragraphs numbered [0085] and [0086], so it appears Applicant is referencing US 2024/0390681 A1, which is the US Patent Publication of the foregoing application. However, Paras. [0065], [0085] and [0086] of US 2024/0390681 A1 (reproduced below) do not contain the subject matter which Applicant highlights.
Nonetheless, the Examiner agrees that the Present Specification as a whole discloses that the signal delivery devices can be implanted proximate the midline of the patient's spinal cord and identifies other locations for the signal delivery devices including nerves adjacent the muscles to be innervated, to those upstream from the muscles, and the brain as well as the spinal cord. The problem with this disclosure as it relates to possession is its breadth relative to the recited effect. The locations that Applicant highlights cover the vast majority of the human nervous system. As such, almost all muscles are implicated. The claims recite delivery of a specific first and second stimulation, which first and second stimulations have a particular effect (i.e., inducing a motor response in both the first and second muscle). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand whether that effect is achieved depends wholly on where the stimulation is applied, and would consider possession to hinge of disclosure of such positioning because positioning is critical.
The omitted specifics of such positioning is an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional or known in the art. The independent Claims recite delivery of both the first and second stimulation to a single target neural population, but the Present Specification does not describe placement with respect to that single target neural population such that the recited manner of motor response is induced. Absent such specifics, one of ordinary skill in the art would not consider the inventor to be in possession of a method or system wherein “administering a first electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device” “induce[s] a motor response in the first muscle” and “administering a second electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device” “induce[s] a motor response in the second muscle.”
The Examiner makes references to the example set forth at MPEP 2163(I)(A), wherein “the claim ‘A gene comprising SEQ ID NO:1’” is discussed. With respect to the example, the MPEP states “Although SEQ ID NO:1 is fully disclosed, there may be insufficient description of other structures embraced by the claim (e.g., promoters, enhancers, coding regions, and other regulatory elements).” Similarly here, there is insufficient description of other structures embraced by the claim, namely the placement of the claimed “signal delivery devices” such that the recited manner of motor response is induced.
The Examiner notes that a similar rejection could be made based on the recited “target neural population” constituting a broad genus regarding which the Present Specification fails to disclose a representative number of species.
Applicant’s amendments have resolved the minor informalities cited with respect to unelected Claims 28-33. The objection to Claims 28-33 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 34 recites “wherein the first electrical signal being biphasic and having a frequency…” at Ln. 5-6, but should recite -- wherein the first electrical signal is biphasic and has a frequency--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 34 and 35, and Claims 7-15 by dependency, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Independent Claims 1, 34 and 35:
Claim 1 recites “administering a first electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device to induce a motor response in the first muscle,…” and “and administering a second electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device to induce a motor response in the second muscle, the second electrical signal having a frequency of less than 1.2 kHz.” However, the Present Specification does not describe the placement of the claimed “signal delivery devices” such that the recited manner of motor response is induced in a particular muscle with sufficient specificity to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. One of ordinary skill would appreciate that different muscles are differently innervated, and that stimulation applied at different locations would likely induce different responses in different muscles. As such, one of ordinary skill would be unable to discern from the Present Specification the particulars of the recited “administering” of electrical signals necessary to induce such motor response as claimed.
Claims 34 and 35 recite similar limitations to those addressed above in Claim 1, and stand rejected for the same reasons explained above.
Regarding Claims 2-6, Claims 2-6 recite various responses that are induced by the “electrical signals” of Claim 1. For the same reasons explained above with respect to Claim 1, the Present Specification does not describe the placement of the claimed “signal delivery devices” such that the recited manner of motor response is induced in a particular muscle with sufficient specificity to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited US 8,630,711 B1 to Wark et al. (“Wark”) in view of US 2020/0101291 A1 to Yakovlev et al. (“Yakovlev”).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Wark teaches:
A method for inducing a motor response in a patient, comprising: (Title, “Systems and methods for treating disorders by selectively activating and/or blocking muscles through intrafasicular stimulation of the pudendal nerve”);
implanting a signal delivery device at a position proximate a target neural population in the patient, the target neural population including motor neurons associated with a first muscle and a second muscle; (Claim 1, “A method of treating a disorder comprising … d. inserting the first microelectrode array into the first pudendal nerve such that the plurality of microelectrodes penetrate intrafascicularly into the pudendal nerve … f. programming the controller for selective stimulation by microelectrodes of the first micro electrode array, said selective stimulation being tuned for selective stimulation of at least one muscle selected from the group consisting of the external urethral sphincter, the detrusor muscle, the anal sphincter, and the cavernous smooth musculature of the penis;” Claim 11, “…wherein the selective stimulation includes simultaneous low frequency stimulation by at least one microelectrode and high frequency stimulation by at least one other microelectrode of the first microelectrode array;” Col. 4, Ln. 44-50, “The system further includes a controller that is electronically associated with the first microelectrode array and that can be programmed to provide simultaneous low frequency stimulation by one or more microelectrodes to stimulate a first muscle and high frequency stimulation by one or more other microelectrodes to stimulate a second muscle.” Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25);
The pudendal nerve is such a “target neural population” as claimed.
administering a first electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device to induce a motor response in the first muscle, the first electrical signal … having a frequency in a frequency range of from 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz…; (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61, “The high frequency current can have a frequency of from about 0.5 kHz to about 20 kHz.”);
The Examiner notes that Wark does not disclose the first electrical signal “being biphasic,” and does not disclose the first electrical signal having “a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds.” These deficiencies are addressed below.
Wark’s range of .5 kHz to 20 kHz anticipates the claimed range of 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz. “Prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with ‘sufficient specificity.’” MPEP 2131.03(II). “What constitutes a ‘sufficient specificity’ is fact dependent.” Id. Here, the claimed range is quite broad, and the Present Specification provides no evidence of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range. Although the claimed range is broader than the prior art range, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect any difference in effect at the higher end of Applicant’s broader range. Accordingly, that facts suggest that Wark’s range of . 5 kHz to 20 kHz discloses the claimed range of 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz with sufficient specificity, and Wark’s range anticipate the claimed range. See Id., citing ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Wark’s high frequency stimulation is applied in the manner claimed (i.e., to such a “target neural population” as claimed and at the frequency claimed), and thus accomplished the recited result (i.e., the result of “administering a first electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device” at the recited frequency is “induc[ing] a motor response in the first muscle”)
and administering a second electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device to induce a motor response in the second muscle, the second electrical signal having a frequency of less than 1.2 kHz (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13, “For the purposes of the present invention, low frequency is from about 5 Hz to about 100 Hz;” Col 8, Ln. 48-52, “Sustained detrusor contractions were produced using pro longed low frequency (33 Hz, 60 sec, 200 usec, monophasic) stimulation via single electrodes from a USEA implanted in the pudendal nerve.”).
Wark’s range of 5 Hz to about 100 Hz as well as Wark’s specific example of “pro longed low frequency (33 Hz, 60 sec, 200 usec, monophasic) stimulation” anticipate the claimed range of “less than 1.2 kHz. See MPEP 2131.03(I), (“A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range.”); see also UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023), (“If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim.”).
Wark’s low frequency stimulation is applied in the manner claimed (i.e., to such a “target neural population” as claimed and at the frequency claimed), and thus accomplished the recited result (i.e., the result of “administering a second electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device” at the recited frequency is “induc[ing] a motor response in the second muscle”).
Wark does not disclose:
first electrical signal being biphasic and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds;
Yakovlev describes “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR NEUROMODULATION TREATMENTS OF PAIN AND OTHER CONDITIONS” (Title). Yakovlev is analogous art.
Yakovlev teaches:
first electrical signal being biphasic (Para. [0354]);
and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds; (Para. [0075], “The electrical stimulation parameters can be configured to have the following parameters: … pulse width in the range between 10 and 500 microseconds…”).
Yakovlev’s range of between 10 and 500 microseconds anticipates the claimed range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds. “Prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with ‘sufficient specificity.’” MPEP 2131.03(II). “What constitutes a ‘sufficient specificity’ is fact dependent.” Id. Here, the claimed range is quite broad, and the Present Specification provides no evidence of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range. Although the claimed range is broader than the prior art range, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect any difference in effect at the higher end of Applicant’s broader range. Accordingly, that facts suggest that Yavkolev’s range of between 10 and 500 microseconds discloses the claimed range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds with sufficient specificity, and Yavkolev’s range anticipate the claimed range. See Id., citing ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Yakovlev (i.e., to employ such a biphasic signal as taught by Yakovlev as Wark’s first signal) in order to increase device efficacy (Yakovlev at Para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Yakovlev (i.e., to employ such a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds as taught by Yakovlev) in order to increase device efficacy (Yakovlev at Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein administering the first electrical signal preferentially induces a motor response in the first muscle relative to any motor response induced in the second muscle (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark administers the same stimulation claimed in the same manner claimed. Claim 2 recites an effect of delivering such stimulation. Wark’s same stimulation delivered in the same manner thus has the same effect.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein administering the first electrical signal induces a motor response in the first muscle without inducing a patient-detectable motor response in the second muscle (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark administers the same stimulation claimed in the same manner claimed. Claim 3 recites an effect of delivering such stimulation. Wark’s same stimulation delivered in the same manner thus has the same effect.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein administering the second electrical signal preferentially induces a motor response in the second muscle relative to any motor response induced in the first muscle (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark administers the same stimulation claimed in the same manner claimed. Claim 4 recites an effect of delivering such stimulation. Wark’s same stimulation delivered in the same manner thus has the same effect.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein administering the second electrical signal induces a motor response in the second muscle without inducing a patient-detectable motor response in the first muscle (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark administers the same stimulation claimed in the same manner claimed. Claim 5 recites an effect of delivering such stimulation. Wark’s same stimulation delivered in the same manner thus has the same effect.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein administering both the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal increases the overall motor response in the patient relative to administering only the first electrical signal or only the second electrical signal (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark administers the same stimulation claimed in the same manner claimed. Claim 6 recites an effect of delivering such stimulation. Wark’s same stimulation delivered in the same manner thus has the same effect.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the signal delivery device includes at least one electrode, and wherein administering the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal includes administering the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal from the same at least one electrode (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark’s “first microelectrode array” is such an “at least one electrode” as claimed, and Wark administers Wark’s first and second electrical signals via Wark’s “first microelectrode array” in Wark’s above-cited embodiment.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 7 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the at least one electrode includes a pair of electrodes, and wherein the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are administered via the same pair of electrodes (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52; Claim 3, “further comprising a second microelectrode array implanted in the first pudendal nerve and electronically associated with the controller for unilateral stimulation.”).
Wark’s “first microelectrode array” in combination with Wark’s “second microelectrode array” are such a “pair of electrodes” as claimed in the embodiment of Claim 3, wherein Wark’s stimulation is unilateral.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal are administered without repositioning the signal delivery device (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13; Col 8, Ln. 48-52)
Wark’s “signal delivery device” is implanted, and thus remains in the same position post-implantation when Wark’s signals are delivered.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the first electrical signal has a frequency in a frequency range of from about 5 kHz to about 15 kHz (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61, “The high frequency current can have a frequency of from about 0.5 kHz to about 20 kHz.”);
Wark’s range of .5 kHz to 20 kHz anticipates the claimed range of 5 kHz to 20 kHz. “Prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with ‘sufficient specificity.’” MPEP 2131.03(II). “What constitutes a ‘sufficient specificity’ is fact dependent.” Id. Here, the claimed range is quite broad, and the Present Specification provides no evidence of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range. Although the claimed range is broader than the prior art range, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect any difference in effect at the higher end of Applicant’s broader range. Accordingly, that facts suggest that Wark’s range of . 5 kHz to 20 kHz discloses the claimed range of 5 kHz to 20 kHz with sufficient specificity, and Wark’s range anticipate the claimed range. See Id., citing ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the first electrical signal has a frequency of about 10 kHz (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61, “The high frequency current can have a frequency of from about 0.5 kHz to about 20 kHz.”);
The Present Specification sets forth a specific definition for the term “about.” Para. [0017] states “…the terms ‘generally,’ ‘about,’ and ‘approximately’ refer to values within 10% of a stated value. For example, the use of the term ‘about 100’ refers to a range of 90 to 110, inclusive.”
The term “about 10 kHz” is thus being interpreted in accordance with the Present Specification to mean “a range of 9 to 11 kHz, inclusive.”
Wark’s range of .5 kHz to 20 kHz anticipates the claimed range of 9 kHz to 11 kHz. “Prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with ‘sufficient specificity.’” MPEP 2131.03(II). “What constitutes a ‘sufficient specificity’ is fact dependent.” Id. Here, the claimed range is quite broad, and the Present Specification provides no evidence of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range. Although the claimed range is broader than the prior art range, one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect any difference in effect at the higher end of Applicant’s broader range. Accordingly, that facts suggest that Wark’s range of . 5 kHz to 20 kHz discloses the claimed range of 9 kHz to 11 kHz with sufficient specificity, and Wark’s range anticipate the claimed range. See Id., citing ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the second electrical signal has a frequency of less than 100 Hz (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13, “For the purposes of the present invention, low frequency is from about 5 Hz to about 100 Hz;” Col 8, Ln. 48-52, “Sustained detrusor contractions were produced using pro longed low frequency (33 Hz, 60 sec, 200 usec, monophasic) stimulation via single electrodes from a USEA implanted in the pudendal nerve.”).
Wark’s range of 5 Hz to about 100 Hz anticipates the claimed range of “less than 100 Hz.” See MPEP 2131.03(II).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the second electrical signal has a frequency of less than 10 Hz Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 6, Ln. 11-13, “For the purposes of the present invention, low frequency is from about 5 Hz to about 100 Hz;” Col 8, Ln. 48-52, “Sustained detrusor contractions were produced using pro longed low frequency (33 Hz, 60 sec, 200 usec, monophasic) stimulation via single electrodes from a USEA implanted in the pudendal nerve.”).
Wark’s range of 5 Hz to about 100 Hz anticipates the claimed range of “less than 10 Hz.” See MPEP 2131.03(II).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Wark and Yakovlev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
Wark additionally discloses:
wherein the patient is diagnosed with an indication characterized by motor dysfunction (Claim 1, “A method of treating a disorder comprising, a. identifying a patient suffering from at least one disorder selected from the group consisting of bladder dysfunction, erectile dysfunction, and bowel elimination disorders…”).
Regarding Independent Claim 34, Wark discloses:
A method for treating a patient, comprising: (Title, “Systems and methods for treating disorders by selectively activating and/or blocking muscles through intrafasicular stimulation of the pudendal nerve”);
programming a signal generator to: (Claim 1, “…f. programming the controller for selective stimulation by microelectrodes of the first micro electrode array…”);
administer a first electrical signal to a target neural population via an implanted signal delivery device, the target neural population including motor neurons associated with a first muscle and a second muscle, (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25);
This limitation is being interpreted similarly to the similar Claim 1 limitation, as explained above.
wherein the first electrical signal … has a frequency in a frequency range of from 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz …, and wherein the first electrical signal induces a motor response in the first muscle; (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61);
The Examiner notes that Wark does not disclose the first electrical signal “being biphasic,” and does not disclose the first electrical signal having “a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds.” These deficiencies are addressed below.
This limitation is being interpreted similarly to the similar Claim 1 limitation, as explained above.
and administer a second electrical signal to the target neural population via the implanted signal delivery device, wherein the second electrical signal has a frequency of less than 1.2 kHz, and wherein the second electrical signal induces a motor response in the second muscle. (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61).
This limitation is being interpreted similarly to the similar Claim 1 limitation, as explained above.
Wark does not disclose:
first electrical signal being biphasic and has … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds;
Yakovlev describes “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR NEUROMODULATION TREATMENTS OF PAIN AND OTHER CONDITIONS” (Title). Yakovlev is analogous art.
Yakovlev teaches:
first electrical signal being biphasic (Para. [0354]);
and has … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds; (Para. [0075], “The electrical stimulation parameters can be configured to have the following parameters: … pulse width in the range between 10 and 500 microseconds…”).
Yakovlev’s range of between 10 and 500 microseconds anticipates the claimed range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds as explained above.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Yakovlev (i.e., to employ such a biphasic signal as taught by Yakovlev as Wark’s first signal) in order to increase device efficacy (Yakovlev at Para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Yakovlev (i.e., to employ such a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds as taught by Yakovlev) in order to increase device efficacy (Yakovlev at Para. [0003]).
Regarding Independent Claim 35, Wark discloses:
A patient treatment system, comprising: (Title, “Systems and methods for treating disorders by selectively activating and/or blocking muscles through intrafasicular stimulation of the pudendal nerve”);
a signal delivery device configured to be implanted at a position proximate a target neural population in the patient, the target neural population including motor neurons associated with a first muscle and a second muscle; (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25);
This limitation is being interpreted similarly to the similar Claim 1 limitation, as explained above.
and a signal generator having a computer readable storage medium with instructions that, when executed, cause the signal generator to: (Claim 1, “…f. programming the controller for selective stimulation by microelectrodes of the first micro electrode array…”);
deliver a first electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device to induce a motor response in the first muscle, the first electrical signal …having a frequency in a frequency range of from 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz ….; (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61);
The Examiner notes that Wark does not disclose the first electrical signal “being biphasic,” and does not disclose the first electrical signal having “a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds.” These deficiencies are addressed below.
This limitation is being interpreted similarly to the similar Claim 1 limitation, as explained above
and deliver a second electrical signal to the target neural population via the signal delivery device to induce a motor response in the second muscle, the second electrical signal having a frequency less than 1.2 kHz. (Claim 1; Claim 11; Col. 4, Ln. 44-50; Col. 1, Ln. 58 through Col. 2, Ln. 20; Col. 6, Ln. 18-25; Col. 5, Ln. 59-61).
This limitation is being interpreted similarly to the similar Claim 1 limitation, as explained above
Wark does not disclose:
first electrical signal being biphasic and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds;
Yakovlev describes “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR NEUROMODULATION TREATMENTS OF PAIN AND OTHER CONDITIONS” (Title). Yakovlev is analogous art.
Yakovlev teaches:
first electrical signal being biphasic (Para. [0354]);
and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds; (Para. [0075], “The electrical stimulation parameters can be configured to have the following parameters: … pulse width in the range between 10 and 500 microseconds…”).
Yakovlev’s range of between 10 and 500 microseconds anticipates the claimed range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds as explained above.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Yakovlev (i.e., to employ such a biphasic signal as taught by Yakovlev as Wark’s first signal) in order to increase device efficacy (Yakovlev at Para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Yakovlev (i.e., to employ such a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds as taught by Yakovlev) in order to increase device efficacy (Yakovlev at Para. [0003]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited US 8,630,711 B1 to Wark et al. (“Wark”) in view of US 2020/0101291 A1 to Yakovlev et al. (“Yakovlev”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of previously cited US 2022/0233848 A1 to Gad et al. (“Gad”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Wark and Yakolev renders obvious the entirety of Claim 1 as explained above.
The combination of Wark and Yakolev does not disclose:
wherein the second electrical signal has a frequency of less than 1 Hz
Gad describes “electrical stimulators are provided for transcutaneous and/or epidural stimulation” (Abstract). Gad is analogous art.
Gad teaches:
wherein the second electrical signal has a frequency of less than 1 Hz (Para. [0520], “In certain embodiments the transcutaneous electrical stimulation and/or epidural stimulation is applied at a frequency ranging from about 0.5 Hz up to about 100 Hz, or from about 1 Hz up to about 50 Hz, or from about 10 Hz up to about 30 Hz, or from about 0.5 Hz to about 1 Hz…”).
Gad’s range of “from about 0.5 Hz to about 1 Hz” is “a frequency of less than 1 Hz.”
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of combined Wark and Yakovlev with the teachings of Gad (i.e., to use Gad’s frequency of “about 0.5 Hz to about 1 Hz”) in order to “induce bladder or bowel retention” (Gad at Para. [0520]).
Claims 1 and 34-35 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited US 8,630,711 B1 to Wark et al. (“Wark”) in view of previously cited US 2019/0255331 A1 to Subbaroyan (“Subbaroyan”) and US 2021/0106831 A1 to Tai (“Tai”).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Wark discloses the entirety of Claim 1 with the exception of “first electrical signal being biphasic and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds” as explained above at the first rejection of Claim 1.
Subbaroyan describes “Systems and methods for treating a patient having pelvic pain and one or more gastrourogenital conditions using electrical stimulation…” (Abstract). Subbaroyan is analogous art.
Subbaroyan teaches:
“a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds” (Para. [0049], “…the electrical stimulation may be applied with at least a portion of the therapy signal having a pulse width within a pulse width range of from about 10 microseconds to about 333 microseconds…”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wark with the teachings of Subbaroyan (i.e., to employ such a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds as taught by Subbaroyan) in order to “reduce and/or treat pelvic pain and reduce and/or treat gastrourogenital conditions via … modulating the patient's … parasympathetic (pelvic, pudendal) nervous system” (Subbaroyan at Para. [0036]).
Tai describes “a method of blocking a nerve or neuron by applying an electrical stimulation to the nerve or neuron, wherein the electrical stimulation is of an intensity below the excitation threshold of the nerve or neuron for a length of time sufficient to produce a block of nerve conduction or neuron excitation” (Abstract). Tai is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, and is thus analogous art.
Tai teaches:
first electrical signal being biphasic (Para. [0136], “Damage to nerves by the application of an electrical current may be minimized, as is known in the art, by application of biphasic pulses or biphasic waveforms to the nerve(s), as opposed to monophasic pulses or waveforms that can damage nerves in some instances of long-term use.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of combined Wark and Subbaroyan with the teachings of Tai (i.e., to employ such a biphasic signal as taught by Tai as Wark’s first signal) in order to minimize damage to nerves (Tai at Para. [0136).
Regarding Independent Claim 34, Wark discloses the entirety of Claim 34 with the exception of “first electrical signal being biphasic and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds” as explained above at the first rejection of Claim 34.
This limitation is similar to that addressed above with respect to Claim 1. The combination of Wark, Subbaroyan and Tai renders obvious the entirety of Claim 34 for the same reasons as explained above with respect to Claim 34.
Regarding Independent Claim 35, Wark discloses the entirety of Claim 35 with the exception of “first electrical signal being biphasic and having … a pulse width range of from 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds” as explained above at the first rejection of Claim 35.
This limitation is similar to that addressed above with respect to Claim 1. The combination of Wark, Subbaroyan and Tai renders obvious the entirety of Claim 35 for the same reasons as explained above with respect to Claim 35.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
1 US 2019/0255331 A1 was cited at Para. 45 of the Non-Final Office Action dated 5/11/2026 in the “Notice of Art Deemed Relevant Though Not Relied Upon” section.