DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on April 23rd 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on January 23rd 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 and 18 – “comprises a same thickness” should be corrected to “comprises the same thickness”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 11764474 B2) in view of Maeda et al. (US 20090140927 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fan et al. discloses a building-block antenna structure, the building-block antenna (Budling block antenna structure as seen in figure 6 of Fan et al.) structure comprising:
an outer antenna structure comprising one or more outer antenna feeds and an outer antenna radiator, the outer antenna structure further comprising an inner antenna accommodating perimeter (Outer antenna structure comprises an outer radiator 5 and outer feed structures 6 and 7 as well as an interior perimeter area defined by a gap in which an interior antenna structure lies; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.), and
an inner antenna structure comprising a perimeter that can be accommodated within the inner antenna accommodating perimeter, the inner antenna structure comprising the one or more inner antenna feeds and an inner antenna radiator (Interior antenna structure comprises an inner radiating element 2 and inner antenna feeds 3 and 4 wherein said structure is placed inside the inner antenna accommodating perimeter which comprises a square shape, the same as the inner antenna structure; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.);
with the outer antenna structure operating at a different frequency band than the inner antenna structure (Inner antenna 2 can cooperate with antenna feed 3 to generate a first operating frequency and second antenna structure 5 can operate with feed 6 to operate at a second frequency band; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.).
Fan et al. fails to explicitly disclose the inner antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more feed clearance areas, the one or more feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more feed clearance areas and wherein the outer antenna structure comprises a same thickness as the inner antenna structure wherein the one or more feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the inner antenna structure.
However, Maeda et al. does disclose the inner antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more feed clearance areas, the one or more feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more feed clearance areas and wherein the outer antenna structure comprises a same thickness as the inner antenna structure wherein the one or more feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the inner antenna structure (Antenna structure 10 comprises an outer antenna structure 14 with an inner antenna accommodating perimeter 16 for accommodating a similar shaped inner antenna 12 wherein the permitter 16 comprises a feed clearance area shaped to accommodate a cross shaped feed 22 that is placed within the feed area of perimeter 16 to feed the patch antennas wherein inner and outer patch antennas 12/14 comprise the same thickness; Paragraph 25-40 and figure 1-6 of Maeda et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. to have the inner antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more feed clearance areas, the one or more feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more feed clearance areas and wherein the outer antenna structure comprises a same thickness as the inner antenna structure wherein the one or more feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the inner antenna structure as taught by Maeda et al. to feed desired signals to the inner and outer antenna structures while keeping them isolated (Paragraph 36-38 of Maeda et al.) and the thickness of the radiating structures would impact there operating frequencies.
Regarding Claim 2, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the one or more outer antenna feeds comprises two outer antenna feeds (The antenna assembly comprises two outer feeds 6 and 7 and two inner feeds 3 and 4; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al).
Regarding Claim 3, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the two outer antenna feeds are offset from one another by 90 degrees (90º) (Feeds 6 and 7 can be offset from each by 90 degrees as seen in figure 7; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al).
Regarding Claim 5, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the one or more inner antenna feeds comprises two inner antenna feeds (The antenna assembly comprises two outer feeds 6 and 7 and two inner feeds 3 and 4; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al).
Regarding Claim 6, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the two inner antenna feeds are positioned in an identical orientation with the two outer antenna feeds (Inner feeds 3 and 4 are orientated such that they are 90 degrees apart and outer feeds 6 and 7 are also orientated 90 degrees apart and as such inner feeds and outer feeds have the same orientation; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al).
Regarding Claim 9, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the one or more outer antenna feeds comprises a single outer antenna feed; and wherein the one or more inner antenna feeds comprises a single inner antenna feed (Feeding structures 4 and 7 can be omitted such that the invention only comprises a single inner feed 3 and single outer feed 6; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al).
Regarding Claim 12, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the single outer antenna feed is offset from the single inner antenna feed by one-hundred eighty degrees (180) (Single outer feed 6 is offset by 180 degrees from the single inner feed 3 as seen in figure 7; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Fan et al. further discloses wherein a plurality of solder mask areas are located on a bottom surface of the outer antenna structure and a bottom surface of the inner antenna structure (All inner and outer feed lines like 6 and 7 as well as the grounding portion 8 comprise solder portions that connect to conductive pads on the printed circuit board P wherein said feed soldering portions would be on the bottom side of the inner and outer antenna structures forming solder mask areas; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.).
Claim(s) 4, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 11764474 B2) in view of Maeda et al. (US 20090140927 A1) and Cheng’ 963 et al. (US 7592963 B2).
Regarding Claim 4, Fan et al. and Maeda et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the two outer antenna feeds are offset from one another by 180 degrees (180º).
However, Cheng’ 963 et al. does disclose wherein the two outer antenna feeds are offset from one another by 180 degrees (180º) (Multiple slot resonating antenna comprises inner and outer radiating slots with inner and outer feed elements like 918 and 916 wherein there can be multiple outer feeds like 916 and a second outer feed 916 can be disposed 180 degrees across from the first outer feed as seen in figure 12 and 14; Paragraph 26-37 and figure 11-14 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Maeda et al. to have the two outer antenna feeds be offset from one another by 180 degrees (180º) as taught by Cheng’ 963 et al. since the location of the probes that are in use would affect the antenna radiation patterns and provide multiple polarizations for polarization diversity (Paragraph 30-41 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Fan et al. and Maeda et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein a first inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is located in an identical orientation with a first outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds; and wherein a second inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is offset with a second outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds by ninety degrees (90º).
However, Cheng’ 963 et al. does disclose wherein a first inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is located in an identical orientation with a first outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds; and wherein a second inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is offset with a second outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds by ninety degrees (90º) (Multiple slot resonating antenna comprises inner and outer radiating slots with inner and outer feed elements like 918 and 916 wherein a first inner feed and first outer feed may be on the same side and a second inner and second outer feed may be offset form each other by 90 degrees seen in figure 14 wherein there are 8 inner/outer feeds on all 4 cardinal sides which can be freely selected form such that two of them meet the 90 degree offset; Paragraph 26-37 and figure 11-14 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Maeda et al. to have wherein a first inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is located in an identical orientation with a first outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds; and wherein a second inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is offset with a second outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds by ninety degrees (90º) as taught by Cheng’ 963 et al. since the location of the probes that are in use would affect the antenna radiation patterns and provide multiple polarizations for polarization diversity (Paragraph 30-41 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Fan et al. and Zheng et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein a first inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is located in an identical orientation with a first outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds; and wherein a second inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is offset with a second outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds by one-hundred eighty degrees (180).
However, Cheng’ 963 et al. does disclose wherein a first inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is located in an identical orientation with a first outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds; and wherein a second inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is offset with a second outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds by one-hundred eighty degrees (180) (Multiple slot resonating antenna comprises inner and outer radiating slots with inner and outer feed elements like 918 and 916 wherein a first inner feed and first outer feed may be on the same side and a second inner and second outer feed may be offset form each other by 90 degrees seen in figure 14 wherein there are 8 inner/outer feeds on all 4 cardinal sides which can be freely selected form such that two of them meet the 90 degree offset; Paragraph 26-37 and figure 11-14 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Zheng et al. to have wherein a first inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is located in an identical orientation with a first outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds; and wherein a second inner antenna feed of the two inner antenna feeds is offset with a second outer antenna feed of the two outer antenna feeds by one-hundred eighty degrees (180) as taught by Cheng’ 963 et al. since the location of the probes that are in use would affect the antenna radiation patterns and provide multiple polarizations for polarization diversity (Paragraph 30-41 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Fan et al. and Maeda et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the single outer antenna feed is positioned on a same side of the building-block antenna structure as the single inner antenna feed.
However, Cheng’ 963 et al. does disclose wherein the single outer antenna feed is positioned on a same side of the building-block antenna structure as the single inner antenna feed (An inner antenna feed like 916 may be arranged on the same side as the outer feed 918 as seen in figure 11; Paragraph 26-37 and figure 11-14 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Maeda et al. to have wherein the single outer antenna feed is positioned on a same side of the building-block antenna structure as the single inner antenna feed as taught by Cheng’ 963 et al. since the location of the probes that are in use would affect the antenna radiation patterns and provide multiple polarizations for polarization diversity (Paragraph 30-41 of Cheng’ 963 et al.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 11764474 B2) in view of Maeda et al. (US 20090140927 A1) and Cheng’ 468 et al. (US 20230361468 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Fan et al. and Maeda et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the single outer antenna feed is offset from the single inner antenna feed by ninety degrees (90º).
However, Cheng’ 468 et al. does disclose wherein the single outer antenna feed is offset from the single inner antenna feed by ninety degrees (90º) (First feeding pin 13 for the outer antenna 11 is offset from the inner feed pin 23 for the inner antenna 2 by 90 degrees; Paragraph 33-38 and figure 3 of Cheng’ 468 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Maeda et al. to have wherein the single outer antenna feed is offset from the single inner antenna feed by ninety degrees (90º) as taught by Cheng ‘468 et al. since the position of the feeding structures would affect the antenna radiation patterns and polarization.
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 11764474 B2) in view of Maeda et al. (US 20090140927 A1) and McGough et al. (US 10498047 B1).
Regarding Claim 14, Fan et al. and Maeda et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the inner antenna structure comprises one or more first alignment features, the one or more first alignment features being configured to engage with one or more second alignment features located on the outer antenna structure.
However, McGough et al. does disclose wherein the inner antenna structure comprises one or more first alignment features, the one or more first alignment features being configured to engage with one or more second alignment features located on the outer antenna structure (Inner antenna structure formed by monopole antenna 22 and frame 24 wherein said frame comprises openings serving as a first alignment feature and an outer antenna structure 26 comprises tabs 44 which serve as a second alignment feature wherein the first and second alignment features engage with each other by the tabs 44 going through the holes on frame 24 such that the top surface 36 of outer antenna structure 26 is coplanar with the top surface 30 of the inner antenna 22 so they can be capacitively coupled and held in place wherein said structure comprises solder that also serves as an alignment feature wherein both the inner and outer antennas can comprise solder that connects to each other; Paragraph 13-23 and figure 1-2 of McGough et al).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Maeda et al. to have the inner antenna structure comprises one or more first alignment features, the one or more first alignment features being configured to engage with one or more second alignment features located on the outer antenna structure as taught by McGough et al. so that the antenna structure can be assembled and held together and antenna elements can be aligned (Paragraph 17-18 of McGough et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Fan et al. and Maeda et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the inner antenna structure comprises one or more first alignment features, the one or more first alignment features being configured to engage with one or more second alignment features located on the outer antenna structure.
However, McGough et al. does disclose wherein the inner antenna structure comprises one or more first alignment features, the one or more first alignment features being configured to engage with one or more second alignment features located on the outer antenna structure (Inner antenna structure formed by monopole antenna 22 and frame 24 wherein said frame comprises openings serving as a first alignment feature and an outer antenna structure 26 comprises tabs 44 which serve as a second alignment feature wherein the first and second alignment features engage with each other by the tabs 44 going through the holes on frame 24 such that the top surface 36 of outer antenna structure 26 is coplanar with the top surface 30 of the inner antenna 22 so they can be capacitively coupled and held in place wherein said structure comprises solder that also serves as an alignment feature wherein both the inner and outer antennas can comprise solder that connects to each other; Paragraph 13-23 and figure 1-2 of McGough et al).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Maeda et al. to have the inner antenna structure comprises one or more first alignment features, the one or more first alignment features being configured to engage with one or more second alignment features located on the outer antenna structure as taught by McGough et al. so that the antenna structure can be assembled and held together and antenna elements can be aligned (Paragraph 17-18 of McGough et al.).
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 11764474 B2) in view of Adachi et al. (US 6876328 B2) and Apostolos et al. (US 20040201532 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Fan et al. discloses a building-block antenna structure (Budling block antenna structure as seen in figure 6 of Fan et al.), the building-block antenna structure comprising: an outer antenna structure comprising one or more outer antenna feeds and an outer antenna radiator,(Outer antenna structure comprises an outer radiator 5 and outer feed structures 6 and 7 as well as an interior perimeter area defined by a gap in which an interior antenna structure lies; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.); and an inner antenna structure comprising a perimeter that can be accommodated within the inner antenna accommodating perimeter, the inner antenna structure comprising the one or more inner antenna feeds and an inner antenna radiator (Interior antenna structure comprises an inner radiating element 2 and inner antenna feeds 3 and 4 wherein said structure is placed inside the inner antenna accommodating perimeter which comprises a square shape, the same as the inner antenna structure; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.).
Fan et al. fails to disclose the outer antenna structure further comprising a middle antenna accommodating perimeter, the middle antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more middle feed clearance areas, the one or more middle feed clearance areas accommodating one or more middle antenna feeds within the one or more middle feed clearance areas; a middle antenna structure comprising a middle antenna radiator, the middle antenna structure further comprising an external perimeter that can be accommodated within the middle antenna accommodating perimeter, the middle antenna structure further comprising an inner antenna accommodating perimeter, the inner antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more inner feed clearance areas, the one or more inner feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more inner feed clearance areas; and wherein the one or more middle feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the middle antenna structure.
However, Adachi et al. does the outer antenna structure further comprising a middle antenna accommodating perimeter, the middle antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more middle feed clearance areas, the one or more middle feed clearance areas accommodating one or more middle antenna feeds (Antenna 200 comprises an outer antenna 204 and a middle antenna accommodating perimeter defined by the space E, and the dielectric under portion under it, wherein it accommodates a middle antenna element 204 and also has an feed area clearance to place a feed 206 wherein antenna device can be designed with a feeding line grove like 501 in figure 14 such that said grove can accommodate the feed line electrode and also serve as a feed clearance area; Column 7- 11 and figure 10-14 of Adachi et al.); a middle antenna structure comprising a middle antenna radiator, the middle antenna structure further comprising an external perimeter that can be accommodated within the middle antenna accommodating perimeter, the middle antenna structure further comprising an inner antenna accommodating perimeter, the inner antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more inner feed clearance areas, the one or more inner feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds (Antenna 200 comprises an middle antenna 203, with the same shape as the middle perimeter, and an inner antenna accommodating perimeter defined by the space C, and the dielectric under portion under it, wherein it accommodates an inner antenna element 202 and also has an feed area clearance to place a feed 205 wherein antenna device can be designed with a feeding line grove like 501 in figure 14 such that said grove can accommodate the feed line electrode and also serve as a feed clearance area; Column 7- 11 and figure 10-14 of Adachi et al.). Adachi et al. does suggest one or more middle antenna feeds within the one or more middle feed clearance areas and one or more inner feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more inner feed clearance areas; and wherein the one or more middle feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the middle antenna structure (Middle feed clearance area is between the middle and outer antenna structure wherein using a feeding groove configuration would have feed lines disposed inside the feed clearance area however the slandered feed line configuration still has feed lines within their designated feed clearance areas; Column 7- 11 and figure 10-14 of Adachi et al.).
Apostolos et al. does disclose one or more middle antenna feeds within the one or more middle feed clearance areas and one or more inner feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more inner feed clearance areas; and wherein the one or more middle feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the middle antenna structure (Antenna structure comprising an outer antenna structure 72 with a middle cavity/permitter designed to accommodate a middle antenna structure 82 which itself comprises an inner cavity/permitter which is designed to accommodate an inner antenna structure 90 wherein the middle/inner cavities/perimeters are also designed to accommodate the middle/inner feeds 84 and 92 thus having portions serving as feed clearance areas wherein the feeds specifically have bottom portions that fit into the cavities and support top feed portions as seen in figure 8; Paragraph 55- 69 and figure 8-9 of Apostolos et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. to have the outer antenna structure further comprising a middle antenna accommodating perimeter, the middle antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more middle feed clearance areas, the one or more middle feed clearance areas accommodating one or more middle antenna feeds; a middle antenna structure comprising a middle antenna radiator, the middle antenna structure further comprising an external perimeter that can be accommodated within the middle antenna accommodating perimeter, the middle antenna structure further comprising an inner antenna accommodating perimeter, the inner antenna accommodating perimeter further comprising one or more inner feed clearance areas, the one or more inner feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds taught by Adachi et al. to provide an additional radiating element with an additional feed so that the antenna can be used to operate in three frequency bands (Paragraph 30-36 and figure 10a-b of Adachi et al.).
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. and Adachi et al. to have one or more middle antenna feeds within the one or more middle feed clearance areas and one or more inner feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more inner feed clearance areas; and wherein the one or more middle feed clearance areas are disposed between the outer antenna structure and the middle antenna structure as taught by Apostolos et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from wanting to make a compact ultra-wide band antenna (Paragraph 13 of Apostolos et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Fan et al. fails to disclose wherein the outer antenna structure comprises a same thickness as the middle antenna structure and the inner antenna structure.
However, Adachi et al. does disclose wherein the outer antenna structure comprises a same thickness as the middle antenna structure and the inner antenna structure (All the patch antenna structures are formed the same using thick film printing and comprise the same thickness; Paragraph 30-36 and figure 10a-b of Adachi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. to have the outer antenna structure comprises a same thickness as the middle antenna structure and the inner antenna structure since the thickness of the antenna structures would affect their radiating characteristics.
Regarding Claim 19, Fan et al. further discloses wherein the outer antenna structure operates at a different frequency band than the inner antenna structure (Inner antenna 2 can cooperate with antenna feed 3 to generate a first operating frequency and second antenna structure 5 can operate with feed 6 to operate at a second frequency band; Paragraph 19-29 and figure 6-9 of Fan et al.).
Regarding Claim 20, Fan et al. fails to disclose wherein the middle antenna structure operates at a different frequency band than both the inner antenna structure and the outer antenna structure.
However, Adachi et al. does disclose wherein the middle antenna structure operates at a different frequency band than both the inner antenna structure and the outer antenna structure (The middle radiating structure 203 operates at a middle frequency which is different from the lower and higher frequency bands of the inner and outer antennas 202 and 204; Paragraph 30-40 and figure 10a-b of Fan et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Fan et al. to have the middle antenna structure operate at a different frequency band than both the inner antenna structure and the outer antenna structure as taught by Adachi et al. to provide an additional radiating element with an additional feed so that the antenna can be used to operate in three frequency bands (Paragraph 30-36 and figure 10a-b of Adachi et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1 and 18, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of a “the engagement of the one or more first alignment features with the one or more second alignment features enables a bottom surface of the inner antenna structure to be coplanar with a bottom surface of the outer antenna structure” as recited in claim 16.
Fan et al., Maeda et al., and McGough et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an building block antenna structure comprising an outer antenna structure, outer antenna feed, outer antenna radiator, inner accommodating perimeter, inner feed clearance areas, an inner antenna structure, an inner antenna radiator, inner antenna feeds, a first alignment feature, and a second alignment feature. Fan et al., Maeda et al., and McGough et al. fail to disclose wherein the bottom surface of the inner antenna structure is coplanar with a bottom surface of the outer antenna structure due to an alignment feature.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
“As set forth in the English translation of the specification of Zheng found at the Google Patents "The feeding electrode structure 4 is coupled to the first radiation structure 2 and the second radiation structure 3." Accordingly, there appears to be no such inner antenna feed disclosed in Zheng as the feeding electrode structure 4 is coupled to both radiation structures 2, 3. Nonetheless, and in the interest of advancing prosecution, Applicant has amended Claim 1 so that it now recites, inter alia, that "the one or more feed clearance areas accommodating one or more inner antenna feeds within the one or more feed clearance areas,
Hence, no new matter has been entered by virtue of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1. As shown in FIG. 3 of Zheng, the Office has pointed to the clearance zone between the first radiation structure 2 and the antenna feed 4 as the alleged 'feed clearance area ". However, the antenna feed 4 is not accommodated within this clearance area. Rather the antenna feed 4 is disposed adjacent to this alleged feed clearance area. Fan does not remedy the deficiencies of Zheng. Accordingly, the Office's rejection of Claim 1 in view of the combined teachings of Fan
and Zheng has been successfully overcome.
As set forth at page 22 of the Office Action, the Office alleges that "a middle antenna accommodating perimeter defined by the space E, and the dielectric under portion under it, wherein it accommodates a middle antenna element 204 and also has an feed area clearance to place a feed 206 wherein said feed clearance zone can be a grove {sic} formed in the dielectric
region making up the middle perimeter." However, there is no mention whatsoever of the alleged "groove" within the description contained at Col. 7, line 41 - Col. 8, line 50 (i.e., the description that pertains to FIGS. 10A and lOB). FIGS. 10A and lOB are also devoid of any illustrated "groove". Accordingly, Adachi does not teach or suggest, inter alia, "one or more middle feed clearance areas ".
Nonetheless, and in the interest of advancing prosecution, Applicant has amended Claim 17 so that it now recites, inter alia, that "the one or more middle feed clearance areas accommodating one or more middle antenna feeds within the one or more middle feed clearance areas ". Hence, no new matter has been entered by virtue of Applicant's amendment to Claim 17. Again, as noted above, Adachi does not teach or suggest, inter alia, "one or more middle feed clearance areas ", let alone "accommodating one or more middle antenna feeds within the one or more middle feed clearance areas". Accordingly, the Office's rejection of Claim 17 in view of the combined teachings of Fan and Adachi has been successfully overcome. Withdrawal of this rejection and allowance of this application is respectfully requested.”
Applicant's arguments filed April 23rd 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding a feeding electrode structure to feed an inner and outer antenna, the examiner notes that such a structure would still be considered an inner feeding antenna structure. An inner feed is just a feed that feeds an inner antenna and a prior art teaching a feed feeding both an inner and outer antenna can still be considered an inner antenna feed. As such even if a feeding electrode couples to two different radiators as long as it feeds an inner radiator it constitutes an inner antenna feed.
Furthermore the examiner notes that in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Feed clearance areas as cavity structures) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The applicant has amended the claims to recite “an inner/middle feed accommodated within an inner/middle feed clearance areas” and based on the drawings believes the prior art fails to teach this. However, the examiner notes that this only applies with the interpretation of the feed clearance areas being cavities as shown in applicants drawings. This however is not what is being claimed since the claims only mention “Feed clearance areas” and not said areas being cavities. While claims may be read in light of the drawings or specifications we cannot import limitations from them into the claims. Using broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) a “Feed clearance area” would just be an area designed to accommodate a feed which can include many things beside a cavity. The prior art of Madea et al. shows this wherein permitter 16 (Fig. 1 of Madea et al.) is shaped specifically to accommodate a cross shaped feed wherein this specifically shaped portion constitutes a feed clearance area and the cross shaped feed is placed within it. For the applicants arguments to carry weight the feed clearance areas would have to be claimed as cavities or hollowed out portions, wherein the feeds are accommodated within by being placed inside the cavity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20090140927 A1 (Maeda; Hiroyuki et al.) discloses an inner antenna with an outer antenna surrounding it wherein said antennas can comprise multiple shapes and multiple inner and outer feeds.
US 11855363 B2 (Sampo; Takeshi) discloses an outer antenna with a space formed serving as an perimeter in which an inner antenna structure can be placed wherein said antennas comprise multiple feeds.
US 20180090843 A1 (US 20180090843 A1) discloses a patch antenna structure with alignment features to align the radiating element.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845